Georgia requires residents to have car insurance. It is a unique state that does not require drivers to show insurance card as proof of insurance. In this article, you will learn more about Georgia’s car insurance policy, requirements, rates and discounts.

Policy Requirements

If you own a car in Georgia, it is mandatory to purchase liability insurance. This insurance will help you pay the cost of damages and injuries resulting from a car accident. You will be required to produce proof of liability insurance coverage in order to register your car in Georgia. The following are minimum requirements of Georgia car insurance policy:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for body injury involving multiple people in an accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per incident.

Optional Car Insurance

There are also additional insurance coverages that you may consider purchasing. These coverages are optional but they are equally important. So when you are looking for a good Georgia car insurance company, look for the one with the following optional insurances:

  • Collision – Coverage that helps cover damages to your car as a result of accident
  • Comprehensive – Covers all damages to your car not necessarily caused by accidents
  • Medical and funeral services
  • Uninsured drivers
  • Rental car.

NOTE: Comprehensive and collision insurance are not mandatory in this state, but they are required by your bank or financing institution if you are intending to finance your car through a loan or lease agreement.

Georgia Proof of Insurance

As explained earlier, a car insurance ID is not needed as proof of insurance if you are stopped by a traffic officer. Instead, traffic officers use George Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) to check whether you have a valid Georgia car insurance cover. It is the responsibility of your car insurer to report the status of your car to the George Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS) database. Make sure you confirm all the information in this electronic system to verify your insurance information. Note: Even if your car insurance card is not needed at traffic stops, it is important to carry it. In case of an accident, information can be exchanged with other drivers.

Driving Without Car Insurance

Through GRATIS and GEICS, the Department of Driver Services (DDS) in Georgia will be informed if there is any change on your insurance coverage. If your car insurance is canceled by your car insurance company, the DDS will notify you to comply with required Georgia car insurance laws. They will give you a specific timeline to comply with these requirements, if not then they will impose some penalties and fines. If George Electronic Insurance Compliance System shows that your auto insurance policy is out of date, you will not be allowed to register your car or renew its registration.

Driver’s License Suspensions

If your driver’s license is suspended because you were found driving without car insurance, you can get it reinstated. The procedures are straightforward. First, you have to wait until the first 60 days of your driver’s license suspension have passed. The second step is to purchase a minimum Georgia car insurance coverage. Then you have to pay a $200 reinstatement fee in person at a local DDS office or by mail to: Department of Driver Services (DDS) Validation Unit P.O. Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30013 The steps above apply if you are a first offender. If you have committed a second offense and your driver’s license has been suspended, then to have it reinstated you must take the following steps:

  • Wait until the first 60 days of your driver’s license suspension have passed
  • Purchase a minimum Georgia car insurance coverage and file a Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22A) through your insurance career
  • Pay a reinstatement fee of $310 in person at any local DDS office or $300 by mail using the address above.

NOTE: As of September 2013, DDS stopped processing online driver’s license reinstatement fees payment if your driver’s license was suspended because you didn’t have required car insurance.

Car Insurance Rates

Georgia car insurance rates vary from one person to another. The following are some factors that most car insurance companies use to determine the rates of your car insurance:

  • Your driving record
  • The make and model of your car
  • Your car insurance claim history
  • Your gender
  • Your age
  • Your marital status
  • Your credit history.

If you want to maintain low car insurance rates, you should always adhere to the stated traffic rules and drive safely all the time.

Car Insurance Discounts

These are some of the discounts that most of Georgia car insurance companies may offer:

  • Good driver discount
  • Good student discount
  • Multiple-car discount.

Car Insurance Fraud in Georgia

Insurance fraud is very common in Georgia. These frauds are very costly not only to your car insurance company but also to you. They may trickle down to you by increasing your car insurance rates. Car insurance fraud could involve:

  • Staging car accidents
  • Faking an injury after involving in an accident
  • Giving false personal information to your car insurance company
  • Medical professional overcharging treatment costs.

If you suspect a car insurance fraud, you can report it to Georgia’s Office of Commissioner of Insurance Consumer Services Division through their hotline (404) 656-2070 or toll free number (800) 656-2298.

Most Stolen Cars in Georgia

If your car is always targeted by thieves, you are likely to pay higher insurance rates. According to www.nicb.org, the following is a list of 2013 most stolen cars:

  1. Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
  2. Dodge Caravan
  3. Ford Pickup (Fill Size)
  4. Honda Civic and Honda Accord
  5. Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
  6. Chevrolet Impala
  7. Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
  8. Toyota Camry
  9. Ford Explorer.