If you purchase a vehicle from a dealer, the dealer will handle all the paperwork for registration and titling on your behalf. If you purchase from a private seller, you will handle the paperwork by yourself. This article contains more information about car buying and selling regulations in South Dakota.

Buying a Vehicle

You must apply for a title within 30 days of vehicle purchase. If there is an active lien in the vehicle, you should ask the seller to get a lien release. The lien release needs to be attached to the title certificate. Otherwise the county treasurer needs to mark the release on the title. You will need to obtain the title from the seller at the time of vehicle purchase in order to register your vehicle with the DMV county treasurer’s office. You’ll also need to complete Form MV-608 (Motor Vehicle Title and Registration). Make sure that the title has been properly filled and assigned to you by the seller. Both the seller and the buyer should fill the appropriate sections of the title. If the vehicle is under 9 years old, ask the seller to record the odometer reading on the back of the title. Also ask the seller to fill out Form MV-610 (Salvage, Recovered Theft, and Uniform Damage Disclosure Statement). The disclosure section shows that the vehicle had been involved in an accident that lead to at least $5,000 in damages. It doesn’t matter whether the damaged was repaired or not. The issue has to be recorded. You will also need to obtain a completed Form MV-016 (bill of sale) from the seller. For more information about this form, check our bill of sale page. After collecting all documents for vehicle registration and titling, take them to your local South Dakota county treasurer. You will need to pay 3% excise tax, which vary depending on the vehicle’s purchase price. You will also be required to pay $5 title fee and any other fees that may apply.

Penalties

If you fail to title your vehicle within a week after purchase, you will face a $1 fine for every week you are late, up to a maximum of $50.

Delayed Title

If you haven’t received your title after 30 days of purchase, you can file a complaint with the south Dakota DMV through mail. Be sure to include a copy of the bill of sale or Form MV-016.

Selling Your Vehicle

If you are selling your vehicle to a private party, you will need to release any active lien. You will receive a lien release form from the lienholder within 20 days of paying it off. Also, ask the lienholder to provide you with the title or send it to the county treasurer’s office. Make sure that the title has been properly filled and assigned to the buyer. Both the seller and the buyer should fill the appropriate sections of the title. If the vehicle is under 9 years old, you should record the odometer reading on the back of the title. You should also fill out Form MV-610 (Salvage, Recovered Theft, and Uniform Damage Disclosure Statement). The disclosure section shows that the vehicle had been involved in an accident that lead to least $5,000 in damages. It doesn’t matter whether the damaged was repaired or not. The issue has to be recorded. You will also need to provide the buyer with completed Form MV-016 (bill of sale). You should also submit the Seller’s Report of Sale to the South Dakota DMV at the address listed below. This form is available online or at the treasurer’s office.

Additional Information

For more information on vehicle registration and titling, contact the South Dakota DMV: 445 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501 Phone: (605) 773-3541 Fax: (605) 773-2550