Driving records are also referred to motor vehicle records (MVRs). These are the documents that contain the record of your driving history. This document can be requested from Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. The reasons why Tennessee driving records are ordered include:

  • To conduct background checks of prospective employees
  • To prevent identity theft
  • To ensure that your driving records are accurate
  • Insurance companies may request your driving record to use them when they are calculating your insurance premiums.

Information of your Tennessee Driving Record

In Tennessee, your motor vehicle driving record shows a record of your driving history for the last three year. This information includes:

  • Driver’s license revocations and suspensions
  • Traffic violations, fines and citations
  • Accidents and points placed on your record
  • Tennessee driver’s license classifications and endorsements.

Who Can See Your Driving Record?

Other entities can order your Tennessee driving record if their request falls into any of the following categories:

  • Employment background checks
  • Legal requirements
  • Fraud investigation
  • Insurance
  • Statistical research
  • Government business
  • Law enforcement
  • Part of a private investigation.

Ordering Your Tennessee Driving Record

You can order your Tennessee driving record in person, by mail or online.

Online

You can request your Tennessee driving record online by visiting Department of Safety website. You must provide the following:

  • Your last name
  • Date of birth
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Payment of $7 fee.

If your request is approved, you will be provided with a PDF version of your driving record. You can choose to save or print your driving record. NOTE: Sometimes you may be blocked from requesting your driving record online. If this is the case, you can opt to use mail or in person option.

In Person

You can order your Tennessee driving record in person by visiting a Driver Service Center. You will be required to provide:

  • Your name
  • Date of birth
  • Driver’s license number
  • Payment for the $5 fee.

You can also send another person to request your Tennessee driving record on your behalf. To do so, your friend must carry with him notarized statement of authorization signed by you.

By Mail

To obtain your Tennessee driving record by mail, make a request containing your name, date of birth and Tennessee driver’s license number. If you had been blocked from accessing your driving record, be sure to include Form SF-1282 in your mail. Also send your request accompanied with a $5. All these are sent to: Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security MVR Request PO BOX 945 Nashville, TN 37202 You will get your driving record within two weeks from the mailing date.

Lowering Your Insurance Rates

Many vehicle insurance providers offer lower premium rates for drivers with clean driving records. So make sure your driving record is clean and is error free.

Attorney, Employer and Insurance Requests

Under Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), attorney, employer or insurance company may request someone else’s driving record. If you are eligible to order these records, you must provide:

  • A completed Form SF-1279 (Request for Record Authorized Requester)
  • Company letterhead for verification of the request
  • Payment for the $5 fee.

Tennessee Driving Record Fees

Your Tennessee driving record fee depends on the mode of ordering it; whether online, by mail or in person. The fee is as follows:

  • $7 when ordering online
  • $5 when using mail
  • $5 when you use in person option.

If you are an investigator requesting a driver’s record as a result of accident involved or caused, it will cost you $4.

Accepted Payment Methods

When you are requesting your Tennessee driving record online, the accepted credit cards include:

  • VISA
  • MasterCard
  • American Express
  • Discover.

If you are using mail option, you must include in your mail a money order or check payable to Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. For in person option, you can either pay cash, use check or money order.

Correcting Your Tennessee Driving Record

If your Tennessee driving record is incorrect, contact the Tennessee Department of Safety to have it corrected. You can do so by calling them at: (615) 253-5221 or by using their toll free number (866) 849-3548,