Investing in a car, you have to dig deep into your pocket. You also want to feel protected in your purchase, and for this reason, Arizona Lemon law was enacted. This law is defined under the Arizona statutes 44-1261 to 1267. It clearly defines your rights when dealing with defective vehicles. We have outline below the basics of Arizona Lemon law.

Vehicles Covered by the Arizona Lemon Law

This law only offers cover to new vehicles. It doesn’t cover section of used automobiles. You must have obtained your vehicle from a manufacturer or an authorized dealer, but not from public option. It protects vehicles that weigh 10,000 lbs or less. If you purchase a car and find it defective, you can file your complain at bbb.org website or get advice from your attorney.

Statute of Limitations

If your new car does not “conform to express warranties,” the manufacturer, manufacturer’s agent or dealer from whom you purchased that vehicle should be compelled to repair it to make it conform to the stated regulations. In order to get this cover, you must report the defect within the 24, 000 miles or within the first two years you have owned the car.

Getting cover for New Cars

Arizona lemon law covers new cars if:

  • You have owned it within 2 years.
  • It has covered 24,000 miles or less
  • It is within the period of manufacturer's warranty.

Don’t bear the burden of defective cars. Report it to the manufacturer, manufacturer’s agent or an authorized dealer.

Used Cars

Arizona lemon law provides cover for used car for the first 500 miles or 25 days after your purchase. If your car is defective during this period, you are required to contact an authorized dealer or manufacturer. You will only pay not more than $25 for the first and second repair.

Responsibilities bestowed on Vehicle Manufacturer

The Arizona Motor Vehicle Warranties Law allows the dealer, manufacturer or manufacturer’s agent from which you purchased your defective vehicle to make your vehicle conform to express warranty standards. It gives them, up to 4 attempts to repair the vehicle or a 30 day period. If during this 30 day period or after these attempts, the defects on the car are not corrected, you are entitled to a refund of the purchase price or a vehicle replacement. The manufacturer or dealer will only subtract a fair amount equivalent to the time the vehicle has been used.

Protecting Yourself with Paperwork

Arizona lemon law has straightforward laws that can enable you to deal with a lemon vehicle. You don’t need to worry if you find that you have purchased a defective vehicle. You need to arm yourself with documents for the vehicle purchase, repairs, as well as evidence of communication with the manufacturer or dealer to repair the vehicle. While armed with your documents, consult Arizona lawyer with experience in consumer affairs.