In order to obtain an Alaska motorcycle license referred to as Class M, you must be at least 16 years old. However, if you are younger than 18 years old, you must first apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit and hold it for at least 6 months before applying for a motorcycle license. If you are younger than 18 years old, you are also required to get authorization from your parent or legal guardian in order to obtain the learner’s permit. In Alaska, the law requires all minors to wear a helmet when riding motorcycles. It is illegal to carry passengers while you are a minor.

Motorcycle Driver Tests

Just like when applying for a regular Alaska driver’s license, you must pass certain tests before you apply for a motorcycle license. Below are the tests you must take and pass before you can receive an Alaska motorcycle driver’s license: The motor vehicle written knowledge test (this test is for those who don’t have a valid Alaska learner’s permit or driver’s license).

  • Written motorcycle knowledge test (if you do not have a valid Alaska motorcycle learner's permit).
  • A vision test. You will also need to:
  • Pay the appropriate fees.
  • Pass a motorcycle road test.

Motorcycle Safety Foundation Courses

If you successfully complete any Motorcycle Safety Foundation course, your road test will be waived. These courses are offered by Motorcycle Safety Foundation and the state normally approves them. You must have taken and passed any of the courses below within the last year. If you took the course in another state other than Alaska, your application will be accepted. If you are from out of state, you will need to go in person to the nearest Alaska driver’s licensing office to apply for a motorcycle permit. These courses include:

  • Easy Rider Course.
  • Experienced Rider Course.
  • Basic Rider Course.
  • Beginning Rider Course.
  • Motorcycle Rider Course.

M2 Motorized Cycle Permit

To ride a motorized bicycle or scooter with an engine capacity smaller than 50 cc, you must apply for a M2 motorcycle license. You must be at least 14 years and obtain your parent or guardian’s authorization before applying for this type of motorcycle license. The following are the steps for obtaining this permit.

  • Pass a written knowledge test (if you don’t have a valid learner’s permit).
  • Pass the written motorcycle knowledge test.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pay the appropriate fees.
  • Pass a motorcycle road test.

Motorcycle Instruction Permit

You must be at least 14 years old to apply for a motorcycle instruction permit. If you are younger than 18 years old, you are also required to get authorization from your parent or legal guardian in order to obtain the learner’s permit. You will also need to present proof of identification to verify your date of birth. You must accomplish the following steps before you apply for a motorcycle M1 learner’s permit:

  • Pass a written knowledge test (if you don’t have a valid driver’s license).
  • Pass the written motorcycle knowledge test.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pay the appropriate fees.

Keep in mind that, while you hold a motorcycle learner’s permit, you will not be allowed to carry any passenger or ride a motorcycle at night. You will also be required to be accompanied by a licensed motorcycle driver above 21 years old and with at least 1 year experience. For more information about motorcycle license and permit, contact your local Alaska DMV office.