The process of obtaining a Florida motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement is very easy and straightforward. These are some of the steps you will need to follow:

  • Visit your local Florida tax collector's office.
  • Complete an application for a motorcycle license or endorsement.
  • Present documents that prove your identity and place of residence.
  • Pass the knowledge test.
  • Take and pass a Basic Rider Course.
  • Pay the $7 motorcycle endorsement fee and any other fees that may apply.

Florida Motorcycle Endorsement

To apply for a Florida motorcycle endorsement, you must be aged at least 16 years old. If you are younger than 18 years old, you must have no traffic convictions the past year. Also, you must hold at least a regular Florida Class E driver license. The DMV also requires all applicants of a motorcycle endorsement to complete the Basic Rider Course. To start the application process, you will need to take and pass a motorcycle written exam. This test comes with multiple questions and it is designed to test your knowledge on motorcycle laws and road safety. You will also have to pass a driving test, as well as the hearing and vision test. The Florida Motorcycle Handbook contains useful information that may help you pass these tests. You have to schedule an appointment with your testing center in order to take the written and skill tests. Inquire from your local DMV office about the test location, time and date.

Florida Motorcycle-only License

You can opt for a motorcycle-only license if you don’t have a regular Florida driver’s license. You will be required to undergo the safe eligibility and testing requirements as that of a motorcycle endorsement. However, you will be exempted from taking a four-wheeled vehicle driving skills test.

Helmet Laws

If you have a minimum insurance policy of $10,000 and you are at least 21 years old, you will be exempted from wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle on public roads and streets. Otherwise, it will be of your own benefit to wear a helmet and other body protective gears whenever you are riding a motorcycle.

Mopeds and Scooters

A motorcycle endorsement will not be required if you plan to apply for a regular Florida Class E driver license or higher. However, you will still need to register your scooter or moped with the Florida DMV. If you are younger than 16 years old, you will be required to wear a helmet.

Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP)

The law requires all applicants of a motorcycle-only license or endorsement to complete a basic motorcycle safety course before submitting their applications. This course is normally approved by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). You can start with FRTP Basic Rider Course (BRC) which is designed to train riders on basic skills about motorcycle riding and safety. To sign up for this course, you will need at least a Class E learner’s license.

Florida Military Motorcycle Applicants

If you are a military officer stationed outside the state, and you need to apply for a motorcycle endorsement on your Florida driver’s license, you will need to:

  • Complete a MSF-approved motorcycle safety or a military-sponsored course.
  • You will be required to submit the completion card from the course to request for a duplicate license with a motorcycle endorsement. You will be charged $25 for license and $7 for endorsement, which you have to pay through a check or money order.

Send your application to the address below: Division of Driver Licenses Bureau of Records P.O. Box 5775 Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775 You should include your full name, driver’s license number, mailing address and date of birth when sending your application.