In order to legally ride a motorcycle in Georgia, you must obtain a Class M license from the Department of Driver Services (DDS). The state law defines a motorcycle as any vehicle with a saddle and that operates with 2 or 3 wheels.

About the Georgia Motorcycle License

If you reside in Georgia, you must be at least 17 years old in order to obtain a Class M motorcycle license. These are some few steps you can follow in order to obtain this kind of license:

  • If you are at least 16 years old, you can start with applying for a Class MP Motorcycle license (learner’s permit) and use it to practice riding a motorcycle before taking your road test.
  • You can enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course. If you successfully complete this course, your motorcycle on-cycle tests will be waived.
  • You can choose to take the knowledge and on-cycle test instead of going through the above methods.
  • If you are younger than 18 years old, you will need to obtain consent from your parent or legal guardian when applying for a Class M license or instruction permit.

NOTE: In Georgia, an instruction permit is not mandatory. You can proceed to taking Class M tests when applying for a motorcycle license.

New to Georgia

If you are a new resident in Georgia, you must transfer your out-of-state license within 30 days of arrival. You must be at least 18 years old to do so. Otherwise you will need to undergo the following process:

  • Visit your local DDS Customer Service Center in person.
  • Surrender your out-of-state motorcycle license.
  • Provide proof of date of birth, citizenship, Georgia residency.
  • Provide proof of your Social Security number.
  • Pass the vision exam.

NOTE: If your out-of-state license is expired for more than 2 years, you will also need to pass both the road test and the written knowledge test.

Georgia Motorcycle Permit (Class MP)

You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a Class MP motorcycle permit. You must prepare yourself to take some tests for obtaining a permit. If you are 16 years old, you must also complete 30 hours of a Driver Training/Driver Education Course, the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) and 40 hours of a certified Georgia Behind-the-Wheel program. You will need to schedule an appointment with your local DDS office, in order to apply for an instruction permit. Be sure to:

  • Provide proof of date of birth, citizenship, Georgia residency.
  • Provide proof of your Social Security number.
  • Submit a license application.
  • If under 18 years old, you must also provide: Certificate of Attendance (Form DS-1) dated within the last 30 days. High school diploma. GED.
  • Pass the vision exam.
  • Pass the motorcycle knowledge exam.
  • Pay the $10 permit fee.

Your Georgia motorcycle instruction permit is valid for 6 months. During this period, you will need to practice riding your motorcycle in preparation for the on-cycle road test. If you pass this test, you will be provided with a full Georgia Class M motorcycle license.

Instruction Permit Restrictions

Georgia instruction permit (Class MP License) comes with some restrictions which include:

  • Driving a motorcycle only during the day.
  • No carrying of passengers.
  • Driving on limited access roadways.
  • You must wear safety equipment.

Georgia Motorcycle License (Class M)

You must be at least 17 years old to apply for a Georgia motorcycle license. You will need to go to the nearest local DDS customer service center to apply for the license. Be sure to:

  • Provide proof of date of birth, citizenship, Georgia residency.
  • Provide proof of your Social Security number.
  • Submit a license application.
  • Present your Georgia motorcycle learner’s permit, if applicable.
  • If under 18 years old, you must also provide: Certificate of Attendance (Form DS-1) dated within the last 30 days. High school diploma. GED.
  • Pass the vision exam.
  • Pass the motorcycle written knowledge exam.
  • Pay the license fee: $20 for a 5-year motorcycle license. $32 for an 8-year motorcycle license.

Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Courses

Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Courses are designed to equip both inexperienced and experienced motorcycle riders with motorcycle knowledge and skills. These courses teach you how to be safe and responsible as a motorcycle rider. You can enroll for any of the motorcycle courses mentioned below through Georgia DDS online system. You may also call them to do so:

  • Metro-Atlanta area-(678) 413-8400.
  • Outside of Atlanta-(866) 754-3687.

Georgia Basic Riders Course

The Basic Riders course is designed to equip riders with essential motorcycle skills and knowledge through on-cycle practical instruction and classroom instruction. Once you enroll, you are provided with a motorcycle and a helmet. You will take both written knowledge and on-cycle skill road tests as part of the curriculum of this course. To enroll:

  • Submit a signed enrollment waiver.
  • Wear only an approved motorcycle safety gears and equipment.
  • If you are younger than 18 years old, you will need to obtain consent from your parents.

The Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course comes with a 90 day waiver, in that you can obtain a Class M license without taking the skill test and Knowledge test. You must present this waiver on time to be exempted from the above requirements. The cost of this course is $250 for riders who reside in Georgia and $300 for out-of-state residents.

Georgia Experienced Riders Course

The Experienced Riders Course is designed to help riders learn both the mental and on-cycle skills. To take this course, you must have ridden a motorcycle for at least 500 miles or for 6 months. To enroll, you must provide:

  • Your own registered motorcycle and helmet.
  • Proof of insurance.
  • Current Class MP instructional permit or Class M license endorsement.
  • Motorcycle safety gear and equipment.

If you currently hold a valid motorcycle permit only, you will need to complete the ERCLW course. If you successfully complete this course, your will receive up to 90 days waiver for your Georgia motorcycle license. Costs of the classes are:

  • ERC: $100 for residents and $100 for out-of-state residents.
  • ERCLW: $100 for residents and $150 for out-of-state residents.

Advanced Riders Course

The Advanced Riders Course can be taken within 1 day. This course is designed to equip riders with tips on how to assess their motorcycle skills and manage them. It teaches riders some advanced riding skills and strategies. To enroll for this course, you will need to pay $100 regardless of the place of residence. To enroll, you must:

  • Have a valid Class M motorcycle license endorsement.
  • Provide your own registered motorcycle.
  • Show proof of insurance for your motorcycle.
  • Wear an approved helmet and other safety gears.
  • If under 18 years old, you must obtain consent from your parent or legal guardian.

To take this course, you must have operated a motorcycle for at least 1,000 miles or at least 6 months. You must also have completed the Basic Rider Course or the Experienced Rider course.