Helmet Laws

Motorcycles — Safety Laws in Alaska requires all licensed motorcycle riders under 18 years old to wear a helmet. This law also requires all motorcycle passengers regardless of the age to wear a helmet. Snowmobiles — People on snowmobiles are not required by the law to wear a helmet.

Cell Phone Laws

The safety law in Alaska does not restrict the use of cell phones. However, it is illegal if you are found texting while driving. This applies to drivers of all ages.

Headlight Laws

You must use your headlights:

  • When the visibility is less than 1,000 feet.
  • Between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise.
  • When driving on public roads and streets that require headlights.

Child Car Seat

  • All children under 4 years old must be fastened in a state approved seat while in a motor vehicle.
  • All children above 4 years old must wear a seat belt or be fastened in a child safety seat.

Unattended Pets or kids in Cars

If you encounter a pet or kid that has been left unattended in a vehicle for a considerable amount of time, especially during extreme weather conditions, inform the police by calling 911. It is a wise idea to remain in the vehicle in question until the relevant authorities arrive.

Reporting Unsafe or Drunk Drivers

The Alaska law enforcement authorities enforce the federally recognized Report Every Drunk Driver Immediately (REDDI) program. If you spot a drunk or unsafe driver, report to the relevant authorities immediately.