Seat Belts

Front-car occupants, regardless of age, must wear a seat belt. All rear-seat occupants aged between 4 and 16 years old must be secured by an appropriate safety system. Drivers who fail to wear a seat belt or fail to ensure that their passengers comply with the above will be faced with a $92 fine. A traffic offer may pull a driver over if he suspects that you are not wearing a seat belt.

Child Car Seat Laws

Children under 16 years old or those below 60 pounds must be secured by an appropriate child safety seat. For infants, they must be in a rear-facing seat until they reach 20 pounds or turn 1 year old. When they reach these age limit, they must be secured in a booster seat fastened with a shoulder and lap belt. Any driver who is found violating these regulations will be faced with an order to complete a car seat education class or a fine.

Bicycle Helmets

All bicycle riders under 16 years old must wear a helmet while riding. Connecticut provides safety information for bicycle riders of all ages.

Motorcycle Helmets and Eyewear

Motorcycle riders aged between 16 and 17 years old must wear a helmet while riding on public roads and streets. Motorcycle riders over 18 years old are required to wear a helmet if they hold a motorcycle permit. The Connecticut safety law requires all riders, regardless of age, to wear protective eye gears such as goggles, sun glasses or face-shield.

Cell Phones and Texting

Drivers less than 18 years old are banned from using hand-free cell phones while driving. These include the use of texting systems, voice calls or personal digital assistants (PDAs). Driver’s over 18 years old are only allowed to use hands-free cell phones when calling, but not for texting purposes. In a nutshell, all drivers regardless of age are not allowed to send texts while driving. However, drivers of all ages are allowed to use cell phones only when there is an emergency, i.e., when calling an ambulance when there is an accident.

Snow Tires

Drivers are only allowed to drive on studded snow tires during winter conditions, which is usually between November and April.

Headlights

Drivers are required to turn on their headlights 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunset or when the weather can’t allow them to see past 500 feet ahead.

Unattended Children

If you spot a driver knowingly engaging in a conduct that jeopardizes the safety of a child in a car (leaves a child unattended), report him or her to the security agencies. The driver will be charged with class A misdemeanor. If the incident happens between 8 pm and 6 am, the driver will be charged with class C felony.

Reporting an Unsafe Driver

The state encourages its residents to report any drunk or unsafe driver to the police or any relevant state agency.