Child Car Seat Laws

The state of Delaware has enacted laws that protect the safety of child passengers. The Office of Highway Safety is the department that enforces these laws. Each month, this department carries out free child-seat safety checks. If you have any concern or question about safety seats installation, placement or any other concern, call their officers at (302) 744-2740. You don’t need to schedule an appointment with them. You can call them anytime to inquire when the next child-seat safety checks will be conducted in your area. Key features of child car seat laws:

  • All children less than 12 years old must sit at the back seat of the car.
  • Kids less than 1 year old must be secured in a state approved rear-facing car carrier. The kid must be fastened with straps at appropriate points.
  • Kids between 1 years old and 3 years old should use the infant seat.
  • Kids between 4-7 years old should use an approved forward-facing car seat. They should also be fastened with harness straps at appropriate points.
  • Toddlers and kids between 8 and 12 years old should use a booster seat.
  • All kids aged 12 years old and 16 years old must use a seat belt at all times.

Seat Belts

Delaware safety law requires all passengers regardless of age to use seat belts all the time. If any of your passengers is caught without a seat belt, you will be held responsible for that offense.

Cell Phones

Delaware safety law bans all drivers, regardless of age and license status, from using a hand-held cell phone and texting while driving.