Child Car Seat Laws

Child car seat laws in Iowa State require all parents to secure their children in a car seat whenever they are driving them. These laws state:

  • All kids younger than 1 year old and who weigh less than 20 lbs. must ride in a child restraint systems located in the rear side of the car.
  • All kids younger than 6 years old must ride in a booster seat or be secured in a safety seat.
  • All kids between 6 and 11 years old must wear a seat belt or be secured in a child restraint system.
  • All kids younger than 18 years old must wear a seat belt.

Iowa provides a free guide with more information about Iowa’s car seat laws. You can download this guide from the DPS website. You should never leave your kid in a car unattended at any time. For instance, during the summer season, the temperature in any vehicle rises to 125 degrees Fahrenheit immediately after the vehicle is exposed to the environment even if the windows are cracked. A kid’s life can be threatened by this temperature while the vehicle is in motion. If you leave a child unattended in a car and he or she gets injured or dies, you will be charged with misdemeanor or felony.

Reporting a Drunk Driver

Drunk drivers pose greatest risk to the general public. According NHTSA, the following signs show that someone is driving under the influence of alcohol:

  • Weaving across the road.
  • Erratic braking.
  • Improper signaling.
  • Following too closely.
  • Almost striking another vehicle.
  • Drifting into opposing traffic.
  • Driving outside designated roadways.

If you spot such drivers, contact the law enforcement officers. When reporting a drunk driver, be sure to report the vehicle’s license number, current location, where it is heading to and the vehicle’s description.

Headlight Usage

Remember to turn on your vehicle’s headlights whenever you can see clearly ahead on you. You should also turn on your headlights immediately after sunset until sunrise. You should not confuse the vehicle’s headlights with parking lights. The later are used for parking vehicles only.

Cell Phones and Texting

The safety law in Iowa does not allow any driver who holds the intermediate permit or learners permit to use cell phones. Also all drivers, regardless of age and license status, are not allowed to text while driving.

Helmet Laws

Iowa falls under the 29 US states without a law that regulate the use of helmet by bicycle riders. Iowa is also one of the 3 US states without a law that regulate the use of helmet by motorcycle riders. However, it is a good idea to use a helmet whenever you are riding on busy highways and streets.