Seat Belts

The Maine safety law requires all car occupants to wear seat belts unless:

  • The occupant is older than 1 year old and all seat belts in a car have been used by other occupants.
  • The occupant has a medical condition or disability that makes him or her unsafe or impossible to use a seat belt.
  • The driver is employed by US Portal as a mail carrier.

It is the responsibility of all drivers to make sure their passengers comply with the seat belt law. However, limousine and taxicab drivers will not be held responsible if their passengers are caught without a seat belt.

Child Car Seat Laws

The Maine Revised Statutes under Title 29-A requires children weighing less than 40 pounds to ride in a federally approved safety seat. If you are shopping for a car seat, you can purchase one from online. Before you make your purchase, consider your child’s age, height and weight.

Cell Phones and Texts

All drivers in Maine holding intermediate license or learner’s permit are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All drivers, regardless of age or license status, are banned from sending or reading texts while driving.

Helmets

Motorcycle: All motorcycle riders younger than 15 years old are required by law to wear a protective headgear while riding. If you are holding a leaner’s permit for less than 1 year, the law also requires you to wear headgear while riding. ATV Riders: All riders under 18 years old operating ATV and their passengers must wear helmets while riding. For more information on safety law regarding ATVs, check the Maine ATV Laws and Rules. Bicycle Riders: The Maine Revised Statutes under Title 29-A, 2323, requires bicycle riders younger than 16 years old to wear headgears while riding on public roads or streets. Check this statute for more information.

Headlights

The Maine Revised Statutes under Title 29-A, 2067, requires you to turn on headlights:

  • Between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise.
  • Whenever the weather can’t allow you to see past 1,000 ahead.
  • Whenever you use your windshield wipers.

For more information about headlights, refer to this statute.

Unattended Motor Vehicles

If you are planning to leave your vehicle unattended, be sure to:

  • Lock the ignition.
  • Turn off the engine.
  • Set the brakes.
  • Remove the key.

For more information about car parking in Maine, refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Title 29-A, 2068.

Unattended Children and Pets

Leaving your child or pet unattended in a vehicle especially during extreme weather condition is jeopardizing their health and safety. Especially the kid might be kidnapped or tamper with the vehicle. If you suspect unattended pet or child in a car and you think they are in danger, dial 911. Remain at the scene until the authorities arrive.

Reporting Unsafe or Drunk Drivers

If you suspect unsafe or drunk driver, report to the Maine law enforcement agencies. If the suspected driver is driving recklessly, dial 911. You can also report a drunk or unsafe driver or any crime online.

More Safety Law Info

For more information about Maine safety law, check out:

  • Maine's Vehicle Code.
  • Maine's Motorist Handbook and Study Guide.
  • The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
  • The Maine State Police.