The following are various resources that can help you get more information on Mississippi safety laws:

  • The Mississippi Driver's Manual.
  • Title 63: Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulations.
  • The Mississippi Department of Public Safety and driver license locations.
  • The Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol.

Seat Belts

The Department of Public Safety requires all passenger vehicle drivers and front-seat passengers to wear safety belts. Exemptions include:

  • Drivers and passengers with disabilities or medical conditions that make safety belts impossible or dangerous to use. These drivers and passengers must have written documentation from their physicians.
  • Drivers and passengers of vehicles designed for farm use.
  • On-duty drivers of United States Postal Service vehicles and on-duty meter readers.

Child Car Seat Laws

All kids younger than 7 years old are required to ride in child restraint seat at all times. If you’re in the market for one, you can shop for a car seat any time online.

Cell Phones and Texting

At the time of this writing, only school bus drivers are banned from cell phone usage while driving. However there is a ban on texting for any teen with a learner or provisional license.

Helmets

  • Motorcycles: The Department of Public Safety requires all operators and passengers of motorcycles and scooters to wear American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators-approved helmets.
  • Bicycles: Bicycle riders should check with local authority regarding bicycle helmet laws. Bike Walk Mississippi is a great place to stay up to date with bicycle-related goings-on in Mississippi.

Headlights

Vehicle’s headlights must be turned on 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and whenever visibility is less than 500 feet ahead. Additionally, you must turn on headlights whenever you use windshield wipers.

Unattended Motor Vehicles

If you plan to leave your vehicle unattended, you must:

  • Turn off the engine.
  • Lock the ignition.
  • Remove the key.
  • Set the brake.

Unattended Children and Pets

It is illegal if you are found to have left a child or your pet unattended in a vehicle for long during extreme cold or heat conditions. Under Mississippi safety law, you will be charged for endangering the life of your kid or pet. If you spot such incidences, inform your local animal control unit or enforcement officers immediately.

Reporting Unsafe and Drunk Drivers

If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, report them to the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol. You may also call 911 if you spot a person driving dangerously. Be sure to record the vehicle’s model, make, year, license plate number or current location to the law enforcement officers.