Headlight Laws

You must turn on headlights after sunset until sunrise and whenever the road visibility is reduced due to bad weather or rain. Your beams should be dimmed when daylight draws near. Parking lights should not be turned on when the vehicle is in motion. For information about headlight laws, check the Nebraska Driver’s Manual.

Seat Belt

All drivers and front-seat passengers are required to wear seat belts when the vehicle is in motion. If you violate this law, you will face a fine of up to $25. You won’t be cited for violating seat belt laws. The following car occupants are exempted from seat belt requirements, as per Section 60-6,270:

  • Drivers and passengers with physical or medical condition that makes it hard to use a seat belt.
  • US Postal Service workers.
  • Emergency medical practitioners offering treatment in a car.

Child Car Seat Laws

Children younger than 6 years old must ride in federally approved child safety seats. If you fail to comply with this law, you will be slapped with a citation. If you are shopping for a child safety seat, you can purchase one online. Before making your order, consider your child’s age, weight and height. Read the Nebraska’s Child Passenger Safety to get more information on child safety seats.

Leaving a Child or Pet Unattended

Section 28-710 provides penalties for those who leave children or pets unattended in a vehicle. It is considered neglect and child abuse if you are found to have left a child younger than 6 years unattended in a vehicle. Unattended children or pets in a vehicle are at risk due to factors such as extreme weather conditions, kidnapping or petnapping.

Nebraska Cell Phone Law

  • All drivers with intermediate license or learner’s license are not allowed to use cell phones while driving.
  • All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while driving.

Helmets law

Bicycles

Each jurisdiction in Nebraska has its own law regarding the use of helmets while riding a bicycle. Be sure to consult with your local authorities before riding a bicycle. For more information about bicycle-related safety laws, read Section 60-6,315.

Motorcycles

All moped and motorcycle passengers and drivers in Nebraska are required by law to wear helmets. The helmets must meet the Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218 of the US Department of Transportation. Check the online list of approved motorcycle helmets according to description. This list is provided by the Highway Safety Division.

Reporting Unsafe or Drunk Drivers

You can report unsafe or drunk drivers to the authorities using the Nebraska Emergency Highway Help Line. To do so you will need to dial *55 or call (800) 525-5555.

Research Nebraska’s Safety Laws

The following are other resources on Nebraska’s Safety Laws:

  • Chapter 60 of Nebraska's legislative statutes.
  • Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Highway Safety Division.
  • Nebraska's Motorcycle Operator Manual.
  • The Nebraska Driver's Manual.
  • The Nebraska Manual for Commercial Driver's Licensing.