Headlights

  • Motorcycles: All motorcycle riders are required to turn on headlights during daylight.
  • Vehicles: All motor vehicle drivers are required to turn on headlights 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise. In addition, they are also required to turn on headlights when the weather is limiting visibility to less than 200 feet ahead.

Cell Phones and Texting

At the time of writing this article, the state of South Carolina had no law that prosecutes drivers who use cell phones or texting while driving.

Child Car Seat Laws

  • All children weighing less than 40 lbs and under 5 years old are required by the law to use a federally-approved booster seat or car seat.
  • All children under 17 years old must use a seat belt if they are not seated in a booster or safety seat.

Drunk or Dangerous Driver

If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, report them to the law enforcement authorities. You may also call 911 if it is an emergency (If you spot a person driving dangerously).

Unattended Kids in Cars

It is illegal if you are found to have left a child unattended in a vehicle for long during extreme cold or heat conditions. Under South Dakota child safety law, you will be charged for endangering the life of your kid.

Unattended Pets in Cars

If you spot unattended pet in a car and you notice that its health is in danger due to cold or heat, inform your local animal control unit or law enforcement officers.