Child Car Seat Laws

All children younger than 8 years old must ride in a properly secured child safety seat that has been approved by the federal government, unless they have at least 57 inches tall. All children aged between 8 years old and 12 years old must wear a safety belt or ride in a child restraint device. This law does not apply to vehicles manufactured without safety belts or school buses. You can buy a child car seat online any time. The state enforces child passenger seat inspection exercises. This inspection is done on various stations within Utah. For more information about this inspection, check the Utah Department of Public Safety website.

Seat Belts

All passengers over 16 years old must wear a safety belt whenever they are traveling in a vehicle that has been fitted with seat belts. Law enforcement officers are authorized to pull over any vehicle whose occupants younger than 19 years old violates this law. Any person who violates this law may be faced with a citation and a fine of up to $40. It is the responsibility of all drivers to enforce this law for any passenger younger than 16 years old. The law does not apply to vehicles manufactured without safety seat belts or school buses. For more information on safety seat laws, visit the Utah Office of Highway Safety website.

Cell Phones and Texting

  • All drivers in Utah, regardless of age, are not allowed to send text messages while they are behind the wheel.
  • Driving while using a hand-held cell phone in Utah is classified as careless driving. You will not be stopped since the state considers it as a secondary offense.

Headlights

You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise. You are also required to turn on your headlights whenever you can’t see clearly ahead (at least 1,000 ft. ahead).

Helmets

All motorcycle riders younger than 18 years old must wear an approved helmet.

Unattended Children in a Vehicle

If you suspect an unattended kid (under 9 years old) in a vehicle, inform the law enforcement authorities immediately. If the kid is in danger, dial 911 immediately. If you are an offender, you will be charged with misdemeanor.