Helmet Laws

  • Motorcycles: All motorcycle drivers regardless of age, are required to wear a helmet while driving.
  • Bicycles: Bicycle riders, regardless of age, are not required to wear a helmet. However, it is a wise idea to wear a helmet since it reduces the risks of injury or death if any accident occur.

Cell Phones and Texting

All drivers younger than 18 years old years old are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All drivers in Vermont, regardless of license status or age, are not allowed to text while driving.

Child Car Seat Laws

  • All children who weigh less than 20 lbs. or those who are younger than 1 year old must use a federally-approved child safety seat located on the rear side of your car.
  • All children aged between 1 and 7 years old and those who weigh 20 lbs. or more, must ride in booster seat or child safety seat.
  • All children aged between 8 years old to 15 years old must use a seat belt or be secured by a child passenger restraining system.

Penalties

If you are found with an unapproved child safety seat, you will face the following penalties:

  • 1st offense — a penalty of up to $25.
  • 2nd offense — a penalty of up to $50.
  • 3rd offense — a penalty of over $100.

Reporting Drunk or Dangerous Drivers

If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, report them to the law enforcement authorities. You may also call 911 if you spot a person driving dangerously. Be sure to record the vehicle’s model, make, year, license plate number or current location to the law enforcement officers.

Unattended Child and Pet in a Vehicle

It is illegal if you are found to have left a child or your pet unattended in a vehicle for long during extreme cold or heat conditions. Under Vermont safety law, you will be charged for endangering the life of your kid or pet. If you spot such incidences, inform your local animal control unit or enforcement officers immediately.