Helmet Laws

  • Motorcycles: All motorcycle riders, regardless of age, are required by law to wear a helmet.
  • Bicycles: There is no state-wide bicycle law. However each municipality enforces its helmet law.

Headlights

  • Vehicles: The state requires you to turn on your vehicle’s headlights between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise. Headlights must also be turned on when the weather can’t allow you to see past 1000 feet ahead.
  • Motorcycles: All motorcycle riders in Washington must turn on headlights at all times whenever they are in motion.

Cell Phones and Texting

All drivers in Washington, regardless of age, are not allowed to use hand-held cell phones while driving. In addition, all drivers holding intermediate license or learner’s permit are not allowed to use cell phones of all kinds. All drivers in Washington, regardless of age and license status, are banned from texting while operating a vehicle.

Child Car Seat

  • All children younger than 8 years old must be secured by a child restraint system unless the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
  • All children older than 8 years old and 4 feet 9 inches or taller must wear a secured seat belt.

Reporting Drunk or Dangerous Drivers

If you spot a drunk or dangerous driver, contact the law enforcement officers. When reporting a drunk driver, be sure to report the vehicle’s license number, current location, where it is heading to and the vehicle’s description.

Unattended Kids in Vehicles

You will be charged with misdemeanor if you leave a 16 years old child unattended in a vehicle whose engine is running. If you face similar charges in future, your driver’s license will be revoked or suspended. If you suspect an unattended kid in a vehicle, inform the law enforcement authorities immediately. If the kid is in danger, dial 911 immediately.

Unattended Pets in Vehicles

If you suspect an unattended pet in a vehicle, inform the animal control unit immediately. If the pet is in danger, dial 911 immediately.