Helmet Laws

  • Motorcycles: Motorcycle riders younger than 18 years old must wear a helmet while riding on public roads and streets. All motorcycle riders, regardless of age, with a learner’s permit must wear a helmet while riding.
  • Bicycles: There is no state-wide bicycle helmet law in Wisconsin. However, the state strongly encourages bicycle riders to wear a helmet while riding.

Headlights

  • Vehicles: You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise. You must also turn on headlights whenever the weather can’t allow you to see clearly past 500 feet ahead. You must also make your vehicle’s high beams dim when an approaching vehicle is within 500 ft ahead or when the vehicle ahead of you is within 500 feet.
  • Motorcycles: The Wisconsin safety law requires all riders to turn on their motorcycle headlights during the day and at night.
  • Snowmobiles: You must turn on your snowmobile’s headlights when operating on highway right-of-way or at night.

Cell Phones and Texting

There is no state-wide law that regulates the use of cell phones while driving. However, there is a law that bans texting while driving for all drivers regardless of age and license status.

Child Car Seat Laws

  • All children younger than 4 years old and less than 40 lbs must ride in a secured child seat that has been approved federally.
  • All children younger than 8 years old must ride in a booster seat or sit in federally approved safety seats until they turn 4 feet 9 inches tall or weigh over 80 lbs. in weight. If the child weighs more or is taller than the above requirements, he or she can sit in a normal seat but use a seat belt.

Reporting a Drunk or Dangerous Driver

If you suspect drunk or dangerous drivers, report them to the Wisconsin law enforcement officers. You can do so by dialing 911. Be sure to record the vehicle’s license number, the current location and where it is heading to.

Reporting an Unattended Child in a Vehicle

If you suspect an unattended kid in a vehicle, inform the law enforcement authorities immediately. If the kid is in danger, dial 911 immediately.

Reporting an Unattended Pet in a Car

If you suspect an unattended pet in a vehicle, inform the animal control unit immediately. If the pet is in danger, dial 911 immediately.