Home / Complaints ( Chevrolet Cruze 2012 )

CHEVROLET CRUZE 2012

Cruze

The Chevrolet Cruze doesn't have history on its side. The Chevrolet division of Vehicle has in the past done "large" well: large trucks, large family sedans and large V8 muscle cars. If this involves small cars, though, the overall has not been so good, using the lamentable Cavalier and Cobalt being two of the most recent good examples. But that is transformed using the compact Chevrolet Cruze sedan, a genuine first-class upgrade that leaves pedestrian design and suspect quality behind in favor of well-rounded sophistication that fits its world-class competition mind-on.


Date Complaint Filed: 10/25/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/19/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 888952

Squish VIN: 1G1PF5SCXC7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 12 MPH DURING A RAIN STORM WHEN THE WIPERS WERE ACTIVATED BUT WOULD ONLY OPERATE EXTREMELY SLOW. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER BECAUSE HE WAS UNABLE TO SEE THE ROADWAY BECAUSE OF THE FAULTY WIPERS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE WIPER SPEED WAS SLOWER THAN NORMAL. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER BUT THE MANUFACTURER PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE SAFETY OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000. UPDATED 11/14/11 *BF UPDATED 11/21/11

Date Complaint Filed: 10/28/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/07/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 889421

Squish VIN: 1G1PK5SC3C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE ECO WITH THE 6-SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION HAS OCCASIONALLY REFUSED TO GO INTO 4TH GEAR, AND GRINDS OCCASIONALLY WHEN GOING INTO 2ND GEAR. I GET THE GRIND AT ABOUT 1200 RPM AND UP. MOST OF MY SHIFTING IS DONE AT OR BELOW 2500 RPM FOR FUEL ECONOMY REASONS. THE CLUTCH PEDAL CAN BE PUSHED TO THE FLOOR, THE ENGINE REV-MATCHED, AND IT WILL STILL BALK/GRIND IN THOSE GEARS.THIS IS MY SECOND MANUAL TRANSMISSION CAR AFTER PUTTING 70,000 MILES ON MY FIRST ONE, SO I KNOW HOW TO DRIVE A MANUAL TRANSMISSION WITHOUT GRINDING THE GEARS. THE CAR PRESENTLY HAS 4700 MILES ON IT, AND THE PROBLEM STARTED AT APPROXIMATELY 1000 MILES. I'M WORRIED THAT I MIGHT NEED TO DO A QUICK SHIFT TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION AND BE UNABLE TO DO SO THANKS TO THE BALKINESS OF THE TRANSMISSION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/23/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/23/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893541

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 TO 80 MPH, HE WOULD HEAR WIND ENTERING THE VEHICLE FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE FAILURE MAY BE A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT AND WAS PRESENT ON ALL THE NEW VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 2,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/27/2011

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893891

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I JUST BOUGHT A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. AT TAKE OFF AND TURNING AROUND CURVES AT LOW SPEED THE STEERING AND THE WHEELS SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT. VERY UPSETTING THAT IT IS BRAND NEW AND ALREADY HAVING PROBLEMS. I REALLY LIKE MY CAR BUT WISH IT WAS FIXED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/27/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893892

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I JUST BOUGHT A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. AT TAKE OFF AND TURNING AROUND CURVES AT LOW SPEED THE STEERING AND THE WHEELS SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT. VERY UPSETTING THAT IT IS BRAND NEW AND ALREADY HAVING PROBLEMS. I REALLY LIKE MY CAR BUT WISH IT WAS FIXED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/27/2011

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893893

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I JUST BOUGHT A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. AT TAKE OFF AND TURNING AROUND CURVES AT LOW SPEED THE STEERING AND THE WHEELS SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT. VERY UPSETTING THAT IT IS BRAND NEW AND ALREADY HAVING PROBLEMS. I REALLY LIKE MY CAR BUT WISH IT WAS FIXED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/27/2012

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 903780

Squish VIN: 1G1PH5SCXC7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE LTZ. THE CONTACT STATED THE REAR VIEW MIRROR WAS AUTOMATIC DIMMING LIGHT AND IT DOESN'T FUNCTION AS IT SHOULD. WHEN SOMEONE IS DRIVING BEHIND HIM WITH THEIR HEADLIGHTS ON IT CAUSED A GLARE IN THE MIRROR WHICH OBSCURED HIS VISION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED HIM THAT THEY WOULD REPLACE THE MIRROR WITH ONE THAT HAD TINT IN IT. AFTER HAVING THE REAR VIEW MIRROR REPLACED, THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150. UPDATED 03/05/12*LJ UPDATED 03/07/12

Date Complaint Filed: 04/23/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/12/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 917176

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH3C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TRANSMISSION FAILURES IN WHICH THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO CHANGE GEARS WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING TO SPECIFICATIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100. UPDATED 07/06/12 *BF

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2012

Component(s): EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/17/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917843

Squish VIN: 1G1PK5SCXC7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE FLOOR MATS DO NOT STAY IN PLACE AND SLIDE UP UNDER THE PEDALS. THERE ARE RETAINING PINS, BUT THESE DO NOT WORK DUE TO POOR DESIGN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917950

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH2C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BACK IN JANUARY 2012, I BOUGHT A CHEVY CRUZE 2012 WITH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. AFTER TWO MONTH USING THIS VEHICLE, I FOUND OUT IT HAS A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING UP/DOWN HILL. DRIVING UPHILL, ONCE I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO DRIVE AND RELEASE THE BRAKE PEDAL THIS CAR ROLLS BACK AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. DRIVING DOWNHILL, ONCE I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO REAR AND RELEASE THE BRAKE PEDAL THIS CAR GOES DOWN AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. I WENT TO A CHEVROLET DEALER, THEY TESTED MY CAR AND ANOTHER 2012 CRUZE FROM THEIR INVENTORY AND BOTH CARS DID THE SAME AS I DESCRIBE ABOVE. HOWEVER, THEY TOLD ME THE CAR IS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND AT THIS TIME. THEN, I CONTACTED GM, GM CONTACTED ITS DEALER, AND THREE DAYS LATER GM CALLED ME BACK TELLING ME THE SAME ���NO PROBLEMS FOUND���. SO, I REQUESTED A LETTER WHERE GM TELLS ME THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG AND THEY WILL COVER ANY FUTURE ISSUES WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION BUT GM TOLD ME THAT THEY CANNOT PROVIDE ME ANY DOCUMENT. AS A CUSTOMER, I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION BECAUSE IN MY OPINION THOSE ISSUES ARE DESIGN DEFECTS. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917951

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH2C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BACK IN JANUARY 2012, I BOUGHT A CHEVY CRUZE 2012 WITH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. AFTER TWO MONTH USING THIS VEHICLE, I FOUND OUT IT HAS A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING UP/DOWN HILL. DRIVING UPHILL, ONCE I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO DRIVE AND RELEASE THE BRAKE PEDAL THIS CAR ROLLS BACK AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. DRIVING DOWNHILL, ONCE I PUT THE TRANSMISSION INTO REAR AND RELEASE THE BRAKE PEDAL THIS CAR GOES DOWN AND THE ENGINE CUT OFF. I WENT TO A CHEVROLET DEALER, THEY TESTED MY CAR AND ANOTHER 2012 CRUZE FROM THEIR INVENTORY AND BOTH CARS DID THE SAME AS I DESCRIBE ABOVE. HOWEVER, THEY TOLD ME THE CAR IS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED AND NO PROBLEMS FOUND AT THIS TIME. THEN, I CONTACTED GM, GM CONTACTED ITS DEALER, AND THREE DAYS LATER GM CALLED ME BACK TELLING ME THE SAME ���NO PROBLEMS FOUND���. SO, I REQUESTED A LETTER WHERE GM TELLS ME THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG AND THEY WILL COVER ANY FUTURE ISSUES WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION BUT GM TOLD ME THAT THEY CANNOT PROVIDE ME ANY DOCUMENT. AS A CUSTOMER, I WOULD LIKE TO REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION BECAUSE IN MY OPINION THOSE ISSUES ARE DESIGN DEFECTS. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/04/2012

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 918802

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN ENTERING A CURVE VEHICLE SHAKES AFTER ABOUT A HOUR OF DRIVING DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE SO I TOOK IT TO A FRIEND OF MINE WHO IS A RACE CAR MECHANIC FOR 30 YEARS AND HE SHOWED ME THE ISSUE THE TIRES THEY PUT ON THE CHEVY CRUZE THE 215-60-16 FIRESTONE FR710 IS A S SPEED RATED TIRE THIS SHOULD BE A T OR A H SPEED RATED THE CRUZE WILL EXCEED THE 112MPH THE TIRES ARE RATED FOR AND THIS COULD CAUSE THEM TO BUST I ACTUALLY HAD ONE POP OFF THE RIM AND DEFLATE THIS LOW GRADE OF TIRE IS NOT MADE FOR CURVY ROADS WHICH IS WHAT IS CAUSING THE BUMPING PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING DURING CORNERING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/04/2012

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 918803

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN ENTERING A CURVE VEHICLE SHAKES AFTER ABOUT A HOUR OF DRIVING DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE SO I TOOK IT TO A FRIEND OF MINE WHO IS A RACE CAR MECHANIC FOR 30 YEARS AND HE SHOWED ME THE ISSUE THE TIRES THEY PUT ON THE CHEVY CRUZE THE 215-60-16 FIRESTONE FR710 IS A S SPEED RATED TIRE THIS SHOULD BE A T OR A H SPEED RATED THE CRUZE WILL EXCEED THE 112MPH THE TIRES ARE RATED FOR AND THIS COULD CAUSE THEM TO BUST I ACTUALLY HAD ONE POP OFF THE RIM AND DEFLATE THIS LOW GRADE OF TIRE IS NOT MADE FOR CURVY ROADS WHICH IS WHAT IS CAUSING THE BUMPING PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING DURING CORNERING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/10/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/29/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919566

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH THE CONTACT NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING OF A PROBLEM. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED TO EXSTINGUSIH THE FIRE AND NO ONE WAS INJURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 17,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/10/2012

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919575

Squish VIN: 1G1PF5SC5C7

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS INVOLVED IN A COLLISION ON MAY 5, 2012 IN WHICH I COLLIDED INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE WITH THE FRONT END OF MY CAR. MY CAR IS BRAND NEW, LESS THAN A MONTH OLD HOWEVER, THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT HOLD AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY DURING THE CRASH. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 30-35 MPH AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH. THE COLLISION WAS BAD ENOUGH THAT MY CAR WAS NO LONGER DRIVABLE AFTER THE COLLISION. I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR WHICH IS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE AND AM NOW AFRAID TO KEEP IT NOT KNOWING WHY THE SAFETY EQUIPMENT DIDN'T WORK. ALSO, I HAD ACTIVATED MY "ON STAR" SERVICE BUT THAT DIDN'T WORK EITHER. I WOULD LIKE FOR SOMEONE TO INSPECT MY CAR BEFORE THE REPAIRS ARE STARTED. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHERE TO GO FROM HERE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/10/2012

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919576

Squish VIN: 1G1PF5SC5C7

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS INVOLVED IN A COLLISION ON MAY 5, 2012 IN WHICH I COLLIDED INTO THE SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE WITH THE FRONT END OF MY CAR. MY CAR IS BRAND NEW, LESS THAN A MONTH OLD HOWEVER, THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT HOLD AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY DURING THE CRASH. I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 30-35 MPH AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH. THE COLLISION WAS BAD ENOUGH THAT MY CAR WAS NO LONGER DRIVABLE AFTER THE COLLISION. I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR WHICH IS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE AND AM NOW AFRAID TO KEEP IT NOT KNOWING WHY THE SAFETY EQUIPMENT DIDN'T WORK. ALSO, I HAD ACTIVATED MY "ON STAR" SERVICE BUT THAT DIDN'T WORK EITHER. I WOULD LIKE FOR SOMEONE TO INSPECT MY CAR BEFORE THE REPAIRS ARE STARTED. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHERE TO GO FROM HERE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2012

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/09/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919885

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH8B7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED DECEMBER 2010 AND SINCE THE PURCHASE ALL THE ISSUES THAT 2012 CHEVY CRUZE HAS BEEN SUBJECTED TO REGARDING RECALLS WE HAVE SUFFERED THEM. THIS COMPLAINT IS FILED DUE TO THE FACT THAT, ALTHOUGH THE CAR IS UNDER WARRANTY, GM AND THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO HONOR THE WARRANTY, FOR THE REPAIR OF THE FLY WHEEL BOLTS. THESE BOLTS ARE INTERNAL AND ARE CURRENTLY LOOSE AND WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND THEN SUDDENLY STOPS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/09/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919886

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH8B7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED DECEMBER 2010 AND SINCE THE PURCHASE ALL THE ISSUES THAT 2012 CHEVY CRUZE HAS BEEN SUBJECTED TO REGARDING RECALLS WE HAVE SUFFERED THEM. THIS COMPLAINT IS FILED DUE TO THE FACT THAT, ALTHOUGH THE CAR IS UNDER WARRANTY, GM AND THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO HONOR THE WARRANTY, FOR THE REPAIR OF THE FLY WHEEL BOLTS. THESE BOLTS ARE INTERNAL AND ARE CURRENTLY LOOSE AND WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE AND THEN SUDDENLY STOPS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/16/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 929721

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH5C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING 30 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE JERKED WHILE CHANGING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 760 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,300. UPDATED 8/23/12 *CN

Date Complaint Filed: 07/16/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 929722

Squish VIN: 1G1PC5SH5C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT WAS TRAVELING 30 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE JERKED WHILE CHANGING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 760 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,300. UPDATED 8/23/12 *CN

Date Complaint Filed: 07/17/2012

Component(s): TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/13/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 930174

Squish VIN: 1G1PH5SC1C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM GIVES WARNING THAT IT NEEDS SERVICE, HAVE BEEN TO DEALERSHIP TWICE IN THE PAST TWO DAYS FOR SAME PROBLEM AND NOW MUST GO AGAIN BECAUSE WARNING LIGHT IS BACK ON TO SERVICE TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/17/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/13/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 930175

Squish VIN: 1G1PH5SC1C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM GIVES WARNING THAT IT NEEDS SERVICE, HAVE BEEN TO DEALERSHIP TWICE IN THE PAST TWO DAYS FOR SAME PROBLEM AND NOW MUST GO AGAIN BECAUSE WARNING LIGHT IS BACK ON TO SERVICE TIRE MONITOR SYSTEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/18/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 930377

Squish VIN: 1G1PD5SH9C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V288000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE REPAIR, THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH WHEN SHE NOTICED HESITATION WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE FELT SLUGGISH. THE CONTACT WAS DISSATISFIED WITH THE REPAIR PERFORMED UNDER THE RECALL BECAUSE THE AREA WHERE THE SHIELD WAS REMOVED WOULD BE ACCESSIBLE TO CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED ADDITIONALLY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,422.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/26/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/24/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 932099

Squish VIN: 1G1PF5SC7C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE MAKE / MODEL: MODEL YEAR(S): CHEVROLET / CRUZE 2011-2012 MANUFACTURER: GENERAL MOTORS LLCMFR'S REPORT DATE: JUNE 21, 2012 NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 12V288000NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE12010 COMPONENT: ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING POTENTIAL NUMBER OF UNITS AFFECTED: 413,148 I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE FIX FOR THIS ISSUE. THEY HAVE COMPLETELY REMOVED THE WHOLE CENTER SECTION OF THIS SHIELD SO NOW MY ENGINE IS EXPOSED TO ROAD SPRAY. THIS WAS A SELLING POINT ON THIS VEHICLE AND I FEEL WE HAVE BEEN CHEATED OUT OF THIS FEATURE. THEY SHOULD HAVE OFFERED TO REPLACE IT WITH A NON COMBUSTIBLE UNIT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 932447

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

COLD START AND BACK UP OR GOING FORWARD, BRAKE LOCKS AND CAR JUST ROLLS. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER (HUFFINES CHEVROLET IN PLANO TEXAS) AND DEALER SAID THEY WOULD HAVE IT READY IN TWO DAYS. AFTER A WEEK WITHOUT THE CAR, THE SERVICE ADVISOR EXPLAIN THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE ANYWHERE AND THE FACTORY WOULD NOT PUSH OUT MORE OF THE BRAKE VACUUM PARTS UNTIL OCTOBER. IN THE MEANTIME, MY CAR WITH 19K IS SITTING UNDER THE HOT TEXAS SUN AT THE DEALER (MOST LIKELY RUINING ITS LEATHER INTERIOR) AND THE DEALER HAS NO OTHER INFORMATION AND THEY "WISH THEY COULD DO MORE." I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO BUY A CHEVY CRUZE UNTIL THIS PROBLEM IS CLEAR. THE DEALER ALSO SAID THEY HAVE NOT HEARD ABOUT THIS EVER BEFORE AND LOOKING IN THIS WEBSITE THERE ARE FOUR MORE CASES. NOT TRUTHFUL! GMC NEEDS TO RESOLVE OR RECALL! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/30/2012

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 932684

Squish VIN: 1G1PF5SC0C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RECALL 2012081 WAS SOLD A BRAND NEW VEHICLE WITHOUT THIS RECALL BEING DONE FROM CHAPMAN CHEVROLET 6925 ESSINGTON AVE.PHILADELPHIA PA 19153 ... PURCHASED ON SAT JULY 28TH 2012.. INFORMED OF RECALL ON JULY 29TH BY ON-STAR AND CONFIRMED BY DEALERSHIP ON MON. 7-30-2012 AND FEEL DEALERSHIP MISLED ME AND HID RECALL IN ORDER TO COMPLETE SALE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/31/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 932857

Squish VIN: 1G1PJ5SC9C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS SAFETY RECALL *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED HIS WIFE SAW A NEWS REPORT, WHERE 30 VEHICLES HAD PROBLEMS WITH OIL IN THE BELLYPAN. THERE WAS SUFFICIENT DANGER TO INITIATE A RECALL. WHEN THE CONSUMER WENT TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGE AT THE DEALER, HE BROUGHT UP THE RECALL. HOWEVER, THE DEALER CLAIMED TO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT . THE DEALER THEN CHECKED ONLINE AND RECEIVED A DIAGRAM AS TO HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THE OIL CHANGED REVEALED AND EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL IN THE BELLYPAN. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED IT WAS DIFFICULT TO CHANGE A FLAT TIRE, DUE TO THE POORLY DESIGNED JACK.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/31/2012

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:MECHANICAL:JACKS

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 932858

Squish VIN: 1G1PJ5SC9C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS SAFETY RECALL *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED HIS WIFE SAW A NEWS REPORT, WHERE 30 VEHICLES HAD PROBLEMS WITH OIL IN THE BELLYPAN. THERE WAS SUFFICIENT DANGER TO INITIATE A RECALL. WHEN THE CONSUMER WENT TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGE AT THE DEALER, HE BROUGHT UP THE RECALL. HOWEVER, THE DEALER CLAIMED TO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT . THE DEALER THEN CHECKED ONLINE AND RECEIVED A DIAGRAM AS TO HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THE OIL CHANGED REVEALED AND EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL IN THE BELLYPAN. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED IT WAS DIFFICULT TO CHANGE A FLAT TIRE, DUE TO THE POORLY DESIGNED JACK.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 933283

Squish VIN: 1G1PK5SC3C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED 4/25/2012. AFTER DRIVING A LITTLE, NOTICED LACK OF POWER, EASILY STALLS, SOMETHING ROLLING AROUND IN THE TRUNK LID, CONSOLE PIECE GAPED OUT, PASSENGER SIDE TAIL LAMP INSIDE TRUNK BENT, ENGINE SHUTTERS (AFTER 500 MILES IT STARTED) WHEN TURNED ON AND OFF. THE LACK OF POWER AND ENGINE STALLING ARE THE MAJOR SAFETY CONCERNS. WHEN IN A STOPPED POSITION, THE CAR WILL STALL WHEN THE CLUTCH IS OPERATED CORRECTLY. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN FROM A STOP SIGN, ONTO ROUTE 30, AT A BLIND INTERSECTION, THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE, ONCE I LET THE CLUTCH OUT AND WAS IN 1ST GEAR, THE CAR JUST DID NOT MOVE, I HAD THE GAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND I WAS ONLY MOVING INCHES FORWARD. I WAS SCARED, I HAD MY CHILD IN THE CAR WITH ME, A TRACTOR TRAILER COULD HAVE COME UP ON ME 50+ MPH HIT ME OR SWERVED TO MISS ME AND HIT SOMEONE ELSE. THE CAR FINALLY MOVED AFTER ABOUT 45 SEC. I THEN GOT UP TO SPEED IN 6TH GEAR. THE CAR THEN AGAIN LOST POWER, I HAD TO DOWN SHIFT FROM 6TH GEAR TO 4TH GEAR TO GET SPEED BUILT BACK UP. I GOT HOME, ABOUT 2 MILES, WAS UPSET AND SCARED, CALLED APPLE CHEVROLET, THE CAR SAT UNTIL I DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP 35 MINS FROM MY HOME THE NEXT MORNING. I TOLD THEM THAT IT DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY DAY SO THE CHANCES OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN ARE SLIM. THIS WOULD BE THE 3RD VISIT TO THE SERVICE DEPT FOR THE LACK OF POWER COMPLAINT. I DROVE WITH THE TECH ANYWAY KNOWING THAT IT WAS NOT GOING TO BE DUPLICATED. I TOLD THE SERVICE REP THAT I WANTED A TURBO BOOST GAUGE PUT ON IT BECAUSE IT DOES NOT SEEM TO BE BOOSTING ALL THE TIME. WHEN I WAS CALLED THAT MY CAR WAS DONE AND NOTHING WAS DUPLICATED, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS BOOSTING IN RANGE. WHEN I PICKED MY CAR UP THE NEXT DAY, THERE WAS NOTHING ON MY BILL THAT STATED THAT THE TURBO WAS EVEN CHECKED. I WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT PUT EVERY PIECE OF EQUIPMENT THAT THEY USE ON EACH CAR ON EVERY BILL. ETC...

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 933284

Squish VIN: 1G1PK5SC3C7

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED 4/25/2012. AFTER DRIVING A LITTLE, NOTICED LACK OF POWER, EASILY STALLS, SOMETHING ROLLING AROUND IN THE TRUNK LID, CONSOLE PIECE GAPED OUT, PASSENGER SIDE TAIL LAMP INSIDE TRUNK BENT, ENGINE SHUTTERS (AFTER 500 MILES IT STARTED) WHEN TURNED ON AND OFF. THE LACK OF POWER AND ENGINE STALLING ARE THE MAJOR SAFETY CONCERNS. WHEN IN A STOPPED POSITION, THE CAR WILL STALL WHEN THE CLUTCH IS OPERATED CORRECTLY. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN FROM A STOP SIGN, ONTO ROUTE 30, AT A BLIND INTERSECTION, THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE, ONCE I LET THE CLUTCH OUT AND WAS IN 1ST GEAR, THE CAR JUST DID NOT MOVE, I HAD THE GAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND I WAS ONLY MOVING INCHES FORWARD. I WAS SCARED, I HAD MY CHILD IN THE CAR WITH ME, A TRACTOR TRAILER COULD HAVE COME UP ON ME 50+ MPH HIT ME OR SWERVED TO MISS ME AND HIT SOMEONE ELSE. THE CAR FINALLY MOVED AFTER ABOUT 45 SEC. I THEN GOT UP TO SPEED IN 6TH GEAR. THE CAR THEN AGAIN LOST POWER, I HAD TO DOWN SHIFT FROM 6TH GEAR TO 4TH GEAR TO GET SPEED BUILT BACK UP. I GOT HOME, ABOUT 2 MILES, WAS UPSET AND SCARED, CALLED APPLE CHEVROLET, THE CAR SAT UNTIL I DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP 35 MINS FROM MY HOME THE NEXT MORNING. I TOLD THEM THAT IT DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY DAY SO THE CHANCES OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN ARE SLIM. THIS WOULD BE THE 3RD VISIT TO THE SERVICE DEPT FOR THE LACK OF POWER COMPLAINT. I DROVE WITH THE TECH ANYWAY KNOWING THAT IT WAS NOT GOING TO BE DUPLICATED. I TOLD THE SERVICE REP THAT I WANTED A TURBO BOOST GAUGE PUT ON IT BECAUSE IT DOES NOT SEEM TO BE BOOSTING ALL THE TIME. WHEN I WAS CALLED THAT MY CAR WAS DONE AND NOTHING WAS DUPLICATED, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS BOOSTING IN RANGE. WHEN I PICKED MY CAR UP THE NEXT DAY, THERE WAS NOTHING ON MY BILL THAT STATED THAT THE TURBO WAS EVEN CHECKED. I WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT PUT EVERY PIECE OF EQUIPMENT THAT THEY USE ON EACH CAR ON EVERY BILL. ETC...

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode