Home / Complaints ( Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2011 )

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 2011

Silverado 1500

Just like its rivals, present day Chevrolet Silverado 1500 is provided with a multitude of body styles, powertrains and trim levels. Because of this versatility, the half-ton Silverado pickup is equally as skilled at becoming the week day family vehicle because it is at moving home-improvement supplies or towing a ship for fun on saturday. And when one wants something sporty, you will find always the SS versions that come with a rumbling V8, bucket seats and fancy wheels.


Date Complaint Filed: 01/16/2011

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/10/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 839147

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE35BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, PASSENGER SIDE DOOR OPENED. IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THE DOOR OPENED, WARNING BEEPER WENT OFF. *LN

Date Complaint Filed: 02/02/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 842043

Squish VIN: 3GCPCSE38BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SLOW AFTER HE TRIED TO DECELERATE. HE THEN CRASHED INTO A TREE AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED IN THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 400.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/02/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 842044

Squish VIN: 3GCPCSE38BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SLOW AFTER HE TRIED TO DECELERATE. HE THEN CRASHED INTO A TREE AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED IN THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 400.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/18/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 844943

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. CONSUMER STATES TRANSMISSION CLUNK AND A LEAKY (WATER) DRIVERS CABIN AND EXPRESSES DISCONTENT IN REGARDS TO GM *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES FOR THE TRANSMISSION NOISE. *JB THE CONSUMER STATED GM BOUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK AND FURNISHED HIM WITH A NEW VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO HEAT IN THE VEHICLE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THE INLET HOSE WAS INSTALLED UPSIDE DOWN DURING MANUFACTURING. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE NEW TRUCK ALSO EXHIBITED THE SAME TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. UPDATED 04/08/11

Date Complaint Filed: 02/18/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 844944

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. CONSUMER STATES TRANSMISSION CLUNK AND A LEAKY (WATER) DRIVERS CABIN AND EXPRESSES DISCONTENT IN REGARDS TO GM *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES FOR THE TRANSMISSION NOISE. *JB THE CONSUMER STATED GM BOUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK AND FURNISHED HIM WITH A NEW VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THERE WAS NO HEAT IN THE VEHICLE. IT WAS DISCOVERED THE INLET HOSE WAS INSTALLED UPSIDE DOWN DURING MANUFACTURING. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE NEW TRUCK ALSO EXHIBITED THE SAME TRANSMISSION PROBLEM. UPDATED 04/08/11

Date Complaint Filed: 02/24/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/24/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 846064

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE39BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON 2/23/11 I PURCHASED A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 AND DROVE 40 MILES HOME WHEN I ACTIVATED ONSTAR 2/24/11 I WAS INFORMED THE VEHICLE HAD A DANGEROUS REAR AXLE CONDITION AND NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE.WHY IS NATIONAL HIGHWAY ALLOWING GENERAL MOTORS TO SELL A VEHICLE HAVING THIS DEFECT TO A CUSTOMER WITHOUT REPAIRING THE VEHICLE BEFORE THE SALE OR DELIVERY. IF ANYONE IS HURT THE LIABILITY WILL GO TO GENERAL MOTORS BUT ALSO TO NATIONAL HIGHWAY FOR ALLOWING THIS TO HAPPEN. I WILL MAKE A EFFORT TO NOTIFY THE MEDIA TO INFORM THEM OF THIS DANGEROUS PRACTICE GM RECALL #10426 PLEASE STOP THIS NOW BEFORE ANYONE IS HURT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/31/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 851515

Squish VIN: 1GCNCPEX4BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING WITHOUT WARNING. WITHIN 6-10 SECONDS MAX YOU ARE UNABLE TO SEE. BF

Date Complaint Filed: 05/03/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 856476

Squish VIN: 1GCRKREA4BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DRIVING 20 MPH AND ABOVE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES WOULD ACTIVATE INDEPENDENTLY WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO DECELERATE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED TO REPORT THE FAILURE AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 6.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/23/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/16/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 859989

Squish VIN: 1GCNCPEX4BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL THE MANUFACTURER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS HAD BEEN STUCK IN THE LOCK POSITION SINCE THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND WERE NON-OPERATIONAL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,700.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/23/2011

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/16/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 859990

Squish VIN: 1GCNCPEX4BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL THE MANUFACTURER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELTS HAD BEEN STUCK IN THE LOCK POSITION SINCE THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND WERE NON-OPERATIONAL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,700.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/17/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 864229

Squish VIN: 1GCRCPEXXBZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK; WHEN THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE RPMS INCREASED TO 1300. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL GEAR AND THE RPMS INCREASED UP TO 1500. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANY FAILURES AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CONTINUE DRIVING THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/03/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/02/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 873254

Squish VIN: -

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CONTACT APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE WHEN BOTH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND BRAKES WERE ENGAGED AT THE SAME TIME DUE TO THEM BEING INSTALLED TO CLOSELY TOGETHER. THE CONTACT WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED NOR WERE THERE ANY INJURIES. THE CONTACTS FRONT BUMPER SUSTAINED MODERATE DAMAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/15/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 881878

Squish VIN: 3GCPKSE30BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO K1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH IN WHICH THE SET BELTS DID NOT RESTRAIN HIM AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT WAS THROWN INTO THE STEERING WHEEL AND SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE KNEE, NECK AND HEAD. THE DEALER WAS SENDING SOMEONE TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS AWAITING DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 4,900.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/15/2011

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 881879

Squish VIN: 3GCPKSE30BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO K1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH IN WHICH THE SET BELTS DID NOT RESTRAIN HIM AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT WAS THROWN INTO THE STEERING WHEEL AND SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE KNEE, NECK AND HEAD. THE DEALER WAS SENDING SOMEONE TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS AWAITING DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 4,900.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/19/2011

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/18/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 882494

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE39BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

REAR AXLE HAS A GVWR OF 3950 LBS THE VEHICLE A 2PLUS 1 REAR SPRING PACK, 3 DIFFERENT SPRING SUPPLIERS RATE THIS SPRING PACK AT 1425L OR 1500 LBS EACH FOR A COMBINED RATE OF EITHER 2850 OR 3000 LBS PER PAIR. WHICH MAKES THE FACTORY RATING OF 3950LBS EITHER 1100 OR 950 LBS HIGHER DEPENDING ON THE SPRING SUPPLIER. USING THE INDUSTRY GUIDELINE THE WEAKEST COMPONENT CONTROLS THE GVWR IS BEING VIOLATED BY CHEVROLET I HAVE A TRUCK MARKETING INSTITUTE CERTIFICATE IN THIS AREA AND A CD FROM MICHELIN VERIFYING THE WEAKEST COMPONENT CONTROLS GVWR .I ASKED CHEVROLET FOR REPLACEMENT SPRINGS FROM ANOTHER MODEL THAT HAS A COMBINED RATING OF 4050LBS 100 LBS ABOVE THERE 3950 LB AXLE RATING. THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED TRAILERING PROBLEMS BUT CHEVROLET REFUSED THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THE SPRINGS I REQUESTED WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM CAN YOU HELP? I CAN SUPPLY FURTHER INFORMATION IF NEEDED THANK YOU *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/19/2011

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/18/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 882495

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE39BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

REAR AXLE HAS A GVWR OF 3950 LBS THE VEHICLE A 2PLUS 1 REAR SPRING PACK, 3 DIFFERENT SPRING SUPPLIERS RATE THIS SPRING PACK AT 1425L OR 1500 LBS EACH FOR A COMBINED RATE OF EITHER 2850 OR 3000 LBS PER PAIR. WHICH MAKES THE FACTORY RATING OF 3950LBS EITHER 1100 OR 950 LBS HIGHER DEPENDING ON THE SPRING SUPPLIER. USING THE INDUSTRY GUIDELINE THE WEAKEST COMPONENT CONTROLS THE GVWR IS BEING VIOLATED BY CHEVROLET I HAVE A TRUCK MARKETING INSTITUTE CERTIFICATE IN THIS AREA AND A CD FROM MICHELIN VERIFYING THE WEAKEST COMPONENT CONTROLS GVWR .I ASKED CHEVROLET FOR REPLACEMENT SPRINGS FROM ANOTHER MODEL THAT HAS A COMBINED RATING OF 4050LBS 100 LBS ABOVE THERE 3950 LB AXLE RATING. THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED TRAILERING PROBLEMS BUT CHEVROLET REFUSED THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THE SPRINGS I REQUESTED WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM CAN YOU HELP? I CAN SUPPLY FURTHER INFORMATION IF NEEDED THANK YOU *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/06/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 885640

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE37BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 HAS UNWANTED ACCELERATION. ITS BEEN HAPPENING FOR APPRX A MONTH, ON AND OFF. ON TUESDAY 10/4/2011 I WAS LEAVING MY PARKING SPACE AT WORK, I HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE AS I WAS TURNING OUT OF THE SPACE, THE VEHICLE JUST TOOK OFF - ACCELERATING WITHOUT TOUCHING THE GAS. I THEN HIT THE BRAKE WHICH STOPPED THE VEHICLE. I THEN GOT ON THE HIGHWAY - (I-94) TO HEAD HOME, WHILE DRIVING ON I-94 MY VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD NEARLY STRIKING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I THEN BACKED OFF AND KEPT A SAFE DISTANCE IN THE EVENT THAT IT HAPPENED AGAIN, SURE ENOUGH - MY VEHICLE STARTED ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. I REALIZED IT WAS DOING IT AND HAD ENOUGH DISTANCE BETWEEN ME AND THE OTHER VEHICLES AHEAD, SO I ALLOWED THE VEHICLE TO TAKE OFF. MY SILVERADO GOT UP TO ABOUT 1500 RPMS AT 60MPH, I CLEARLY HAD MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND THE GAS, FEET FLAT ON THE FLOOR. I ALLOWED IT TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN FOR APPRX 1 MINUTE BUT THEN HAD TO STOP. IT IS CLEARLY DRIVING ITSELF. I DROVE THE TRUCK STRAIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND LEFT IT FOR THE SHOP TO LOOK AT THE NEXT DAY. THE SERVICE DEPT COULD NOT RE-CREATE THE PROBLEM, GO FIGURE. IN THE PAST MONTH I'VE NEARLY HIT SEVERAL PARKED CARS WHEN PULLING INTO PARKING SPACES AS THE VEHICLE TAKES OFF ACCELERATING, IN THESE EVENTS I WAS ALSO ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE W THE BRAKE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 888359

Squish VIN: 1GCRCREA1BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKES, HE WOULD FEEL A PULSATING SENSATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY ADVISED HIM THAT HE MIGHT NEED TO REPLACE THE PADS AND RESURFACE BOTH THE ROTORS AND DRUMS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE PULSATION CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 114. * REQUEST THAT COMPLAINT BE DELETED * 12/14/2011 CW

Date Complaint Filed: 11/01/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/19/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 889921

Squish VIN: 3GCPKREA2BG

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS IS A DEALER DEMO VEHICLE, FIRST 2235 MILES WERE DEMO. DURING MY FIRST MORNING (12HOURS AFTER PICKING UP AT DEALER) OF OWNERSHIP I WAS DESCENDING DOWN A HILL WITH THE CRUISE ON, AND THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO OVER SPEED APPROXIMATELY 5-7MPH. I TRAVEL THIS HILL BOTH WAYS TO/FROM WORK DAILY AND THIS HAPPENS EVERYTIME. I THOUGH THIS MIGHT BE AN ABNORMAL ADJUSTMENT WITHIN THE COMPUTER/ETC SO WHILE TAKING IN TO THE DEALER FOR A TPMS (TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR SYSTEM) ISSUE I MENTIONED THE OVERSPEED ISSUE TO THE SERVICE WRITE UP AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL. I DON'T AGREE, BUT MAYBE IT IS. IT DOES ADJUST BACK TO NORMAL CRUISE SET SPEED BUT IS UNIQUE. I HAD A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500 PREVIOUSLY AND IT DID NOT DO THIS, AND I HAVE DROVE OTR (OVER THE ROAD) SEMI-TRUCKS AND KNOW THE DIFFERENCE WITH OVERSPEED BEING NORMAL AND ABNORMAL. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE LOOKED INTO, AS IT COULD BE A HAZARD THAT COULD LEAD TO UNSAFE SITUATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/01/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/19/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 889922

Squish VIN: 3GCPKREA2BG

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS IS A DEALER DEMO VEHICLE, FIRST 2235 MILES WERE DEMO. DURING MY FIRST MORNING (12HOURS AFTER PICKING UP AT DEALER) OF OWNERSHIP I WAS DESCENDING DOWN A HILL WITH THE CRUISE ON, AND THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO OVER SPEED APPROXIMATELY 5-7MPH. I TRAVEL THIS HILL BOTH WAYS TO/FROM WORK DAILY AND THIS HAPPENS EVERYTIME. I THOUGH THIS MIGHT BE AN ABNORMAL ADJUSTMENT WITHIN THE COMPUTER/ETC SO WHILE TAKING IN TO THE DEALER FOR A TPMS (TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR SYSTEM) ISSUE I MENTIONED THE OVERSPEED ISSUE TO THE SERVICE WRITE UP AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL. I DON'T AGREE, BUT MAYBE IT IS. IT DOES ADJUST BACK TO NORMAL CRUISE SET SPEED BUT IS UNIQUE. I HAD A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500 PREVIOUSLY AND IT DID NOT DO THIS, AND I HAVE DROVE OTR (OVER THE ROAD) SEMI-TRUCKS AND KNOW THE DIFFERENCE WITH OVERSPEED BEING NORMAL AND ABNORMAL. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE LOOKED INTO, AS IT COULD BE A HAZARD THAT COULD LEAD TO UNSAFE SITUATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/01/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/19/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 889923

Squish VIN: 3GCPKREA2BG

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS IS A DEALER DEMO VEHICLE, FIRST 2235 MILES WERE DEMO. DURING MY FIRST MORNING (12HOURS AFTER PICKING UP AT DEALER) OF OWNERSHIP I WAS DESCENDING DOWN A HILL WITH THE CRUISE ON, AND THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED TO OVER SPEED APPROXIMATELY 5-7MPH. I TRAVEL THIS HILL BOTH WAYS TO/FROM WORK DAILY AND THIS HAPPENS EVERYTIME. I THOUGH THIS MIGHT BE AN ABNORMAL ADJUSTMENT WITHIN THE COMPUTER/ETC SO WHILE TAKING IN TO THE DEALER FOR A TPMS (TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR SYSTEM) ISSUE I MENTIONED THE OVERSPEED ISSUE TO THE SERVICE WRITE UP AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL. I DON'T AGREE, BUT MAYBE IT IS. IT DOES ADJUST BACK TO NORMAL CRUISE SET SPEED BUT IS UNIQUE. I HAD A 2002 DODGE RAM 1500 PREVIOUSLY AND IT DID NOT DO THIS, AND I HAVE DROVE OTR (OVER THE ROAD) SEMI-TRUCKS AND KNOW THE DIFFERENCE WITH OVERSPEED BEING NORMAL AND ABNORMAL. I WOULD LIKE THIS TO BE LOOKED INTO, AS IT COULD BE A HAZARD THAT COULD LEAD TO UNSAFE SITUATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895811

Squish VIN: 1GCNKPEA7BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONDITIONS: HEAVY MISTING RAIN, 32 DEG F, LOWERING TEMPERATURE, DAYTIME. THIS IS TO REPORT A DESIGN DEFECT OF THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGING SYSTEM. THE DEFOGGING SYSTEM OPERATED AS DESIGNED. THERE WAS NO FAILURE OF THE EQUIPMENT. WHEN THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGER IS SELECTED THIS VEHICLES SYSTEM AUTOMATICALLY SETS TO OUTSIDE AIR AND TURNS OFF THE AIRCONDITIONING COMPRESSOR AT 32 DEG F AND BELOW. ON DECEMBER 6TH WHILE DRIVING DURING MISTING RAIN AT SLIGHTLY ABOVE FREEZING WITH THE TEMPERATURE SLOWLY LOWERING I EXPERIENCED A RAPID AND SERIOUS PROBLEM CLEARING THE WINDSHIELD OF MIST ON THE INSIDE SURFACE OF THE WINDSHIELD AS WELL AS ALL OTHER GLASS SURFACES WHEN THE TEMPERATURE FELL BELOW FREEZING AND THE AIRCONDITIONING COMPRESSOR CUT OFF. DESPITE USING THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGER AT THE MAXIMUM HEAT AND FAN SETTING I WAS FORCED TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BECAUSE I COULD NO LONGER SEE WELL ENOUGH TO DRIVE SAFELY. SELECTION OF WINDSHIELD DEFOGGING MODE ACTUALLY WORSENED THE PROBLEM INITIALLY. I BELIEVE THAT THE DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM CREATES THE POTENTIAL (AND IN THIS CASE ACTUAL) DANGER OF RAPID LOSS OF VISIBILITY TO THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF A LOSS OF EFFECTIVE CONTROL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2011

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895812

Squish VIN: 1GCNKPEA7BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONDITIONS: HEAVY MISTING RAIN, 32 DEG F, LOWERING TEMPERATURE, DAYTIME. THIS IS TO REPORT A DESIGN DEFECT OF THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGING SYSTEM. THE DEFOGGING SYSTEM OPERATED AS DESIGNED. THERE WAS NO FAILURE OF THE EQUIPMENT. WHEN THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGER IS SELECTED THIS VEHICLES SYSTEM AUTOMATICALLY SETS TO OUTSIDE AIR AND TURNS OFF THE AIRCONDITIONING COMPRESSOR AT 32 DEG F AND BELOW. ON DECEMBER 6TH WHILE DRIVING DURING MISTING RAIN AT SLIGHTLY ABOVE FREEZING WITH THE TEMPERATURE SLOWLY LOWERING I EXPERIENCED A RAPID AND SERIOUS PROBLEM CLEARING THE WINDSHIELD OF MIST ON THE INSIDE SURFACE OF THE WINDSHIELD AS WELL AS ALL OTHER GLASS SURFACES WHEN THE TEMPERATURE FELL BELOW FREEZING AND THE AIRCONDITIONING COMPRESSOR CUT OFF. DESPITE USING THE WINDSHIELD DEFOGGER AT THE MAXIMUM HEAT AND FAN SETTING I WAS FORCED TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BECAUSE I COULD NO LONGER SEE WELL ENOUGH TO DRIVE SAFELY. SELECTION OF WINDSHIELD DEFOGGING MODE ACTUALLY WORSENED THE PROBLEM INITIALLY. I BELIEVE THAT THE DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM CREATES THE POTENTIAL (AND IN THIS CASE ACTUAL) DANGER OF RAPID LOSS OF VISIBILITY TO THE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF A LOSS OF EFFECTIVE CONTROL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/11/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 901180

Squish VIN: 1GCRKREA6BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE WOULD LUNGE VIOLENTLY WHEN CHANGING GEARS. THE WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SPORADICALLY, THE DOOR LOCKS WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY AND THE FUEL, ODOMETER AND SPEEDOMETER GAUGES WERE INOPERABLE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE STARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/12/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/08/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 915840

Squish VIN: 3GCPCREA4BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 5

Number Of Deaths: 5

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD UNEXPECTEDLY ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING WHETHER THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED, IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. IN ADDITION, THE ENGINE RPMS WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMAL INCREASE OF 2000 OR MORE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. ON ONE OCCASION, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO STOP THE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A ROAD STUMP. FIVE PASSENGERS SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14,100.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/18/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/28/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 916516

Squish VIN: 3GCPKREA6BG

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS VEHICLE HAS SEVERAL DEFECTS THAT GM CLAIMS AS NORMAL. 1. TRUCK RANDOMLY LURCHES FORWARD WHEN STARTED IN PARK. GM SAYS THIS IS NORMAL MAKE SURE YOU APPLY PARKING BRAKE WHEN PARKING. 2. DRIVE TRAIN CLUNKS WHEN DECELERATING INTO 10-20MPH RANGE AND ACCELERATING AGAIN. GM SAYS THIS IS NORMAL DUE TO TOLERANCES AND ACCELERATED IN FOUR WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLES. 3. VEHICLE DRAIN TRAIN RANDOMLY MAKES A BANG OR CLUNK NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. GM CLAIMS THIS IS ALSO NORMAL. I HAVE PURCHASED THIS TRUCK NEW IN NOVEMBER 2011 AND IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FIVE TIMES. EACH TIME DEALER CHECKS REPAIR FOR DEFECT AND GM SENDS BACK BULLETIN SAYING NO REPAIR CONDITION NORMAL. DEALER SAYS A HANDFUL OF TRUCKS HAVE COME BACK WITH THIS SIMILAR PROBLEM. I CAN NOT BELIEVE GM ACCEPTS THIS DEFECT AS NORMAL. *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2012

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 917865

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE35BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE AND WHEELS BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THE FRONT ROTORS WERE OUT OF ROUND AND TURNED DOWNWARD. THE BRAKE ROTORS WERE REPAIRED BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,976 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14,000. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VIBRATION IS STILL PRESENT IN THE FRONT END. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE TIRES WERE WEARING PREMATURELY. UPDATED 05/17/12 UPDATED 06/05/12*LJ UPDATED 06/06/12 *JS UPDATED 06/11/12.*JB UPDATED 06/26/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE CONTINUES TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKES. UPDATED 06/10/13

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 917866

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE35BZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE AND WHEELS BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THE FRONT ROTORS WERE OUT OF ROUND AND TURNED DOWNWARD. THE BRAKE ROTORS WERE REPAIRED BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,976 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 14,000. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VIBRATION IS STILL PRESENT IN THE FRONT END. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE TIRES WERE WEARING PREMATURELY. UPDATED 05/17/12 UPDATED 06/05/12*LJ UPDATED 06/06/12 *JS UPDATED 06/11/12.*JB UPDATED 06/26/12 THE CONSUMER STATED HE CONTINUES TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKES. UPDATED 06/10/13

Date Complaint Filed: 04/30/2012

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/27/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 918114

Squish VIN: 1GCRKSE3XBZ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR WRANGLER AT/S, SIZE 265/70/17 TIRES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE LOST AIR RAPIDLY, MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER TO THE SHOULDER. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH A SPARE BY THE CONTACT. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 42,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/09/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919400

Squish VIN: 3GCPCSEU7BG

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

JUST SECONDS AFTER HAVING COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS WHILE RPMS INCREASE CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO OVERCOME THE BRAKE PRESSURE AND TRUCK TO MOVE FORWARD ABRUPTLY. THIS CAUSED ME TO ROLL OUT INTO THE LANE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND STRIKE A VEHICLE AS IT WAS PASSING. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode