Home / Complaints ( Chrysler PT Cruiser 2003 )

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER 2003

PT Cruiser

Inspired through the panel vans of the1930s, the Chrysler PT Cruiser triggered a significant buzz when it was initially launched, for model year 2001. It had been certainly one of a couple of automobiles to usher in the brand new retro trend and grew to become an instant success.


Date Complaint Filed: 11/09/2002

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/21/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 390323

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G93T

Crash: -

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE COMPLAINT INVOLVES A MISSING PART, THE REAL STABILIZER BAR. THIS MODEL STATES ON THE WINDOW STICKER THAT A REAR STABILIZER BAR IS INCLUDED. THIS CAR DOES NOT HAVE A REAL STABILIZER BAR. THE DEALER SAID THAT HE COULD INSTALL ONE FOR $520. CHRYSLER WOULD NOT REIMBURSE THE DEALER BECAUSE THEY CLAIM THAT THEY BEEFED UP THE REAL AXLE AND THAT IS THEIR STABILIZER BAR. I CONTEND THAT THIS IS MISLEADING THE PUBLIC, PARTICULARLY AN INFORMED PUBLIC THAT KNOWS WHAT A STABILIZER BAR IS. THEY CONTINUE TO PRODUCE THIS MODEL WITH THIS MISLEADING INFORMATION ON THE WINDOW STICKERS. I ASK WHY DO THEY SHOW A REAR STABILIZER BAR IN THEIR PARTS COMPUTER THAT THE DEALER LOCATED AND OFFERED TO INSTALL FOR $520 IF WHAT THEY CLAIM IS TRUE. THE SERVICE MANAGER AGREED THAT THIS WAS MISLEADING BUT REFUSED TO ABSORB THE COSTS. OTHER OWNERS WITH SAME MODEL REPORT THAT THEIR CARS ARE MISSING THIS PART AS WELL. I HOPE THAT YOU CAN CORRECT THIS SITUATION BY REQUIRING CHRYSLER TO INSTALL THE PART AT NO COST TO THE OWNERS. DT

Date Complaint Filed: 11/22/2002

Component(s): SEAT BELTS:FRONT:ANCHORAGE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/22/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 393037

Squish VIN: 3C4FY48B13T

Crash: -

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

LOCKING MECHANISM BROKE DURING THE INSTILLATION OF A CHILD SEAT. IF THIS CAN BREAK THIS PART I FEEL THAT IT WOULD NOT HOLD UP IN AN ACCIDENT. DT

Date Complaint Filed: 01/16/2003

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/26/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 397649

Squish VIN: 3C4FY78693T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN CONSUMER BRAKES, THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD FLICKER. THIS CAUSES A DISTRACTION AT NIGHT TIME. DEALER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED. PH THIS ALSO OCCURED WHEN WINDOW SWITCH AND AUTO DOOR LOCKS WERE ENGAGED. DEALER CHECKED WIRING TO PCM, ALLG ROUNDS AND ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS. NOTHING FOUND. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 02/07/2003

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 401193

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONSUMER STATES THAT VEHICLE'S DASHBOARD IS COMPLETELY UNREADABLE IN SUNLIGHT AND/OR "RAINY" WEATHER. PH

Date Complaint Filed: 04/07/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/07/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 409647

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY ACCELERATE WHILE STOPPED AT A LIGHT OR A STOP SIGN. THE RECALLED CLUTCH ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. *NLM *NLM

Date Complaint Filed: 04/15/2003

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/15/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 410898

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G23T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING POWER DOOR LOCKS LOCKED AND UNLOCKED ON THEIR OWN.. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE OR CORRECT THE PROBLEM. *NLM. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 04/30/2003

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/30/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 413198

Squish VIN: 3C4FY58B53T

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, AND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, ALSO THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RESTRAIN THE PASSENGER PROPERLY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 04/30/2003

Component(s): SEAT BELTS:FRONT

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/30/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 413199

Squish VIN: 3C4FY58B53T

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, AND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, ALSO THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RESTRAIN THE PASSENGER PROPERLY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/05/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 418998

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G63T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NHTSA#03-V-076-000:ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES, MANUAL TRANSMISSION MODELS ONLY, A WELDED PIN INTERNAL TO THE DUAL-MASS FLYWHEEL (DMF) ASSEMBLY CAN UNSEAT AND BECOME LODGED BETWEEN THE FLYWHEEL AND THE CLUTCH DISC. THE CONSUMER PURCHASED THE VEHICLE ON MAY 23/2003 AND ON MAY 25/2003 THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY FAILED. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 07/13/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/14/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 425599

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G43T

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT MY 2003 PT CRUISER TURBO OCT 13TH 2002, IN FEB 2003 I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE BECAUSE I HAD NOTICED RED FLUID LEAKING . I WAS ALARMED 2 C ATF LEAKING FROM A CAR WITH LESS THAN 9,000 MILES ON IT. ANYWAY I TOOK IT IN & THEY REPLACED THE SEAL & BEARING ON THE LEFT SIDE. ON MAY 28TH I TOOK IT TO A BODYSHOP 2 GET GHOST FLAMES PAINTED ON IT. JUNE 12TH CAME ALONG AND THEY CALLED ME TO COME SEE THE CAR FINISHED. IT TOOK MY BREATH AWAY. I PROUDLY APPROVED OF THE WORK THEY COULD THEN BUFF AND DETAILED IT. ON JUNE 14TH AFTER BEING BUFFED OUT THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN TO THE DETAIL SHOP ON THE FREEWAY WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE FRONT LEFT TIRE SEIZED UP AND THREW THE CAR ACROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC AND INTO AN EMBANKMENT WHERE IT CAME TO REST.THE DRIVER GOT OUT OF THE CAR AFTER COLLECTING HIMSELF. THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WAS BROKEN OFF, FLUID EVERYWHERE. UTAH HIGHWAY PATROL IMPOUNDED THE CAR UNTIL I COULD BE NOTIFIED. I GOT THE CALL FROM THE BODYSHOP OWNER, HE TOOK FULL RESPONSABILITY AND WAS WILLING TO DO WHATEVER TO MAKE MY CAR NEW "AGAIN". UPON INVESTIGATING THE DAMAGE HE NOTICED THAT THE LEFT FRONT AXLE WOULD NOT COME OUT OF THE TRANSMISSION. HE LITTRIALLY HAD TO TAKE THE RIGHT SIDE APART AND USE A BAR TO POUND OUT THE LEFT SIDE. HE GOT 2 SECOND OPINIONS BEFORE CALLING ME 2 TELL ME THAT THE AXIL HAD SEIZED 2 THE BEARING INSIDE OF THE TRANNY. HE SUGGESTED THAT I CALL THE DEALER. FINIALLY ON THE 23RD OF JUNE THE DEALER CAME AND GOT MY CAR WHERE IT IS STILL SITTING UP TILL THIS CURRENT DAY. THEY FOUND $5500.00 WORTH OF DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION/AXLE AND SUCH. THEY CALLED A ACCIDENT INVESTAGATOR THAT SHOWED UP JULY 2ND. I TOOK HIM TO THE ACCIDENT SITE WHERE AFTER 3 WEEKS YOU COULD STILL SEE THE SKID MARKS. THE INVESTIGATOR GATHERED ALL HIS INFORMATION AND WENT BACK TO CHRYSLER. I HAVE CALL NEARLY EVERYDAY. I HAVE JUST FOUND OUT THAT MY FILE IS IN THEIR "LEGAL" DEPARTMENT. NO ONE IS TALKING. NOW 2 WAIT AND SEE WHAT CHRYSLER IS GOING TO DO. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 07/13/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AXLE ASSEMBLY:AXLE SHAFT

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/14/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 425600

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G43T

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT MY 2003 PT CRUISER TURBO OCT 13TH 2002, IN FEB 2003 I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE BECAUSE I HAD NOTICED RED FLUID LEAKING . I WAS ALARMED 2 C ATF LEAKING FROM A CAR WITH LESS THAN 9,000 MILES ON IT. ANYWAY I TOOK IT IN & THEY REPLACED THE SEAL & BEARING ON THE LEFT SIDE. ON MAY 28TH I TOOK IT TO A BODYSHOP 2 GET GHOST FLAMES PAINTED ON IT. JUNE 12TH CAME ALONG AND THEY CALLED ME TO COME SEE THE CAR FINISHED. IT TOOK MY BREATH AWAY. I PROUDLY APPROVED OF THE WORK THEY COULD THEN BUFF AND DETAILED IT. ON JUNE 14TH AFTER BEING BUFFED OUT THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN TO THE DETAIL SHOP ON THE FREEWAY WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE FRONT LEFT TIRE SEIZED UP AND THREW THE CAR ACROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC AND INTO AN EMBANKMENT WHERE IT CAME TO REST.THE DRIVER GOT OUT OF THE CAR AFTER COLLECTING HIMSELF. THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WAS BROKEN OFF, FLUID EVERYWHERE. UTAH HIGHWAY PATROL IMPOUNDED THE CAR UNTIL I COULD BE NOTIFIED. I GOT THE CALL FROM THE BODYSHOP OWNER, HE TOOK FULL RESPONSABILITY AND WAS WILLING TO DO WHATEVER TO MAKE MY CAR NEW "AGAIN". UPON INVESTIGATING THE DAMAGE HE NOTICED THAT THE LEFT FRONT AXLE WOULD NOT COME OUT OF THE TRANSMISSION. HE LITTRIALLY HAD TO TAKE THE RIGHT SIDE APART AND USE A BAR TO POUND OUT THE LEFT SIDE. HE GOT 2 SECOND OPINIONS BEFORE CALLING ME 2 TELL ME THAT THE AXIL HAD SEIZED 2 THE BEARING INSIDE OF THE TRANNY. HE SUGGESTED THAT I CALL THE DEALER. FINIALLY ON THE 23RD OF JUNE THE DEALER CAME AND GOT MY CAR WHERE IT IS STILL SITTING UP TILL THIS CURRENT DAY. THEY FOUND $5500.00 WORTH OF DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION/AXLE AND SUCH. THEY CALLED A ACCIDENT INVESTAGATOR THAT SHOWED UP JULY 2ND. I TOOK HIM TO THE ACCIDENT SITE WHERE AFTER 3 WEEKS YOU COULD STILL SEE THE SKID MARKS. THE INVESTIGATOR GATHERED ALL HIS INFORMATION AND WENT BACK TO CHRYSLER. I HAVE CALL NEARLY EVERYDAY. I HAVE JUST FOUND OUT THAT MY FILE IS IN THEIR "LEGAL" DEPARTMENT. NO ONE IS TALKING. NOW 2 WAIT AND SEE WHAT CHRYSLER IS GOING TO DO. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 07/22/2003

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:ANTI-THEFT DEVICES

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: N/A

NHTSA ID Number: 427507

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONSUMER CALLED COMPLAINING ABOUT LOCKING SYSTEM PROBLEMS. WHILE VEHICLE IS RUNNING, AND IF THE CONSUMER LEAVES THE VEHICLE OR STANDS OUT OF THE VEHICLE, THE DOORS WILL AUTOMATICLY LOCK. MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED AT THE TIME OF THIS CALL.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2003

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM:FAN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/09/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 433805

Squish VIN: 3C4FY78G53T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE IS A NEW 2003 PT-TURBO GT W/AUTO STICK, AIR, ETC. VEHICLE IS THE VERY FIRST NEW VEHICLE THAT MY WIFE HAS EVER OWNED. I BOUGHT IT FOR HER AS A XMAS GIFT IN DEC., 2002. SINCE FEBRUARY 2003, THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO OVERHEAT. IT HAS HAD NUMEROUS PARTS REPLACED FROM THEROMSTAT/COOLING FAN AND ITS THEROMSTAT SWITCH, TRANS-COOLER (TURBO), WATER PUMP, ETC. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR ALMOST 11 WEEKS. BOTH THE ZONE AND THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN CONTACTED BY DEALERSHIP, AND THEY RESPONDED ON PREVIOUS TRIPS INTO THE SERVICE BAY. MY WIFE ACTUALLY WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT FOR ALMOST 5 1/2 WEEKS AFTER RECEIVING THE VEHICLE BACK FROM DEALERSHIP. THEN, ON SUNDAY, 20 JULY 2003, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AGAIN!! MY WIFE DROVE IT TO VICTORVILLE MOTORS (LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER, VICTORVILLE, CA) ON MONDAY, 21 JULY AND THERE IT HAS BEEN SINCE. WE UNDERSTOOD THAT IT WAS THE WATER PUMP AGAIN AND THE DEALER WAS WAITING FOR THE ZONE AND/OR MFG TO CONTACT THEM TO SEE WHAT ELSE COULD BE DONE TO RECTIFY THIS ANOMALOUS CONDITION. EITHER IN DESIGN AND JUST A BAD ENGINE. BLOCK IS IRON, WATER PUMP AND HEADS ARE ALUMINUM. ENGINE HAS OVERHEATED INTO THE RED LINE SO MANY TIMES, THE BLOCK AND OTHER COMPONENTS HAVE BEEN SEVERLY HEAT STRESSED. MY WIFE RECENTLY (JAN 2003) DISCOVERED SHE HAD RENAL ESRD (TOTAL KIDNEY FAILURE) AND IS CURRENTLY DOING DIALYSIS. WE LIVE IN VICTORVILLE, CA AND SHE MUST DRIVE TO FONTANNA, CA KAISER HOSPITAL FOR HER TREATMENTS. APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES EACH WAY CLIMBING THROUGH A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS, ELEVATION 4340 FT. SHE REQUIRES A RELIABLE VEHICLE AND AT THIS POINT IN TIME, SHE DOES NOT HAVE ONE. MY WIFE COULD BE STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS WITH THIS PROBLEM VEHICLE. ALL WE HAVE ASKED FOR IS CHRYSLER REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE....MY WIFE HAS WANTED THIS DREAM CAR. FOR OVER 2-YEARS. IT..."..THANK YOU........RON & GWEN REPASS. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2003

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/09/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 433806

Squish VIN: 3C4FY78G53T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE IS A NEW 2003 PT-TURBO GT W/AUTO STICK, AIR, ETC. VEHICLE IS THE VERY FIRST NEW VEHICLE THAT MY WIFE HAS EVER OWNED. I BOUGHT IT FOR HER AS A XMAS GIFT IN DEC., 2002. SINCE FEBRUARY 2003, THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO OVERHEAT. IT HAS HAD NUMEROUS PARTS REPLACED FROM THEROMSTAT/COOLING FAN AND ITS THEROMSTAT SWITCH, TRANS-COOLER (TURBO), WATER PUMP, ETC. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR ALMOST 11 WEEKS. BOTH THE ZONE AND THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN CONTACTED BY DEALERSHIP, AND THEY RESPONDED ON PREVIOUS TRIPS INTO THE SERVICE BAY. MY WIFE ACTUALLY WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT FOR ALMOST 5 1/2 WEEKS AFTER RECEIVING THE VEHICLE BACK FROM DEALERSHIP. THEN, ON SUNDAY, 20 JULY 2003, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AGAIN!! MY WIFE DROVE IT TO VICTORVILLE MOTORS (LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER, VICTORVILLE, CA) ON MONDAY, 21 JULY AND THERE IT HAS BEEN SINCE. WE UNDERSTOOD THAT IT WAS THE WATER PUMP AGAIN AND THE DEALER WAS WAITING FOR THE ZONE AND/OR MFG TO CONTACT THEM TO SEE WHAT ELSE COULD BE DONE TO RECTIFY THIS ANOMALOUS CONDITION. EITHER IN DESIGN AND JUST A BAD ENGINE. BLOCK IS IRON, WATER PUMP AND HEADS ARE ALUMINUM. ENGINE HAS OVERHEATED INTO THE RED LINE SO MANY TIMES, THE BLOCK AND OTHER COMPONENTS HAVE BEEN SEVERLY HEAT STRESSED. MY WIFE RECENTLY (JAN 2003) DISCOVERED SHE HAD RENAL ESRD (TOTAL KIDNEY FAILURE) AND IS CURRENTLY DOING DIALYSIS. WE LIVE IN VICTORVILLE, CA AND SHE MUST DRIVE TO FONTANNA, CA KAISER HOSPITAL FOR HER TREATMENTS. APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES EACH WAY CLIMBING THROUGH A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS, ELEVATION 4340 FT. SHE REQUIRES A RELIABLE VEHICLE AND AT THIS POINT IN TIME, SHE DOES NOT HAVE ONE. MY WIFE COULD BE STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS WITH THIS PROBLEM VEHICLE. ALL WE HAVE ASKED FOR IS CHRYSLER REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE....MY WIFE HAS WANTED THIS DREAM CAR. FOR OVER 2-YEARS. IT..."..THANK YOU........RON & GWEN REPASS. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2003

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/09/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 433807

Squish VIN: 3C4FY78G53T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE IS A NEW 2003 PT-TURBO GT W/AUTO STICK, AIR, ETC. VEHICLE IS THE VERY FIRST NEW VEHICLE THAT MY WIFE HAS EVER OWNED. I BOUGHT IT FOR HER AS A XMAS GIFT IN DEC., 2002. SINCE FEBRUARY 2003, THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO OVERHEAT. IT HAS HAD NUMEROUS PARTS REPLACED FROM THEROMSTAT/COOLING FAN AND ITS THEROMSTAT SWITCH, TRANS-COOLER (TURBO), WATER PUMP, ETC. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR ALMOST 11 WEEKS. BOTH THE ZONE AND THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN CONTACTED BY DEALERSHIP, AND THEY RESPONDED ON PREVIOUS TRIPS INTO THE SERVICE BAY. MY WIFE ACTUALLY WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT FOR ALMOST 5 1/2 WEEKS AFTER RECEIVING THE VEHICLE BACK FROM DEALERSHIP. THEN, ON SUNDAY, 20 JULY 2003, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AGAIN!! MY WIFE DROVE IT TO VICTORVILLE MOTORS (LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER, VICTORVILLE, CA) ON MONDAY, 21 JULY AND THERE IT HAS BEEN SINCE. WE UNDERSTOOD THAT IT WAS THE WATER PUMP AGAIN AND THE DEALER WAS WAITING FOR THE ZONE AND/OR MFG TO CONTACT THEM TO SEE WHAT ELSE COULD BE DONE TO RECTIFY THIS ANOMALOUS CONDITION. EITHER IN DESIGN AND JUST A BAD ENGINE. BLOCK IS IRON, WATER PUMP AND HEADS ARE ALUMINUM. ENGINE HAS OVERHEATED INTO THE RED LINE SO MANY TIMES, THE BLOCK AND OTHER COMPONENTS HAVE BEEN SEVERLY HEAT STRESSED. MY WIFE RECENTLY (JAN 2003) DISCOVERED SHE HAD RENAL ESRD (TOTAL KIDNEY FAILURE) AND IS CURRENTLY DOING DIALYSIS. WE LIVE IN VICTORVILLE, CA AND SHE MUST DRIVE TO FONTANNA, CA KAISER HOSPITAL FOR HER TREATMENTS. APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES EACH WAY CLIMBING THROUGH A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS, ELEVATION 4340 FT. SHE REQUIRES A RELIABLE VEHICLE AND AT THIS POINT IN TIME, SHE DOES NOT HAVE ONE. MY WIFE COULD BE STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF A DESERT MOUNTAIN PASS WITH THIS PROBLEM VEHICLE. ALL WE HAVE ASKED FOR IS CHRYSLER REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE....MY WIFE HAS WANTED THIS DREAM CAR. FOR OVER 2-YEARS. IT..."..THANK YOU........RON & GWEN REPASS. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 10/01/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 434853

Squish VIN: 3C8FY68B83T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED THE TRANSMISSION DECELERATED EVEN WHEN THE CONSUMERS FOOT WAS ON THE ACCELERATOR IT WAS DIFFICULT FOR THE CONSUMER TO CONTROL VEHICLE. *AK THE TRANSMISSION LEAKED FLUID. THE DEALER CONTINUED TO FIX THE HOSES. *SCC *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/02/2003

Component(s): SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:SEAT HEATER/COOLER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/14/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 440752

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

HEATED SEATS WENT ON BY THEMSELVES AND POOR/DANGEROUS LOCATION OF ON/OFF SWITCH (ON SEAT BASE BETWEEN SEAT AND DOOR) IS UNSAFE. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 10/15/2003

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/06/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 442801

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN COMING TO A STOP DRIVER WOULD PRESS ON THE BRAKES AND VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 11/16/2003

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/14/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 448596

Squish VIN: 3C4FY48BX3T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKS ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE RANDOMLY BOTH WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SHUT OFF AND PARKED. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 11/23/2003

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 449699

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE GASKET ON THE THIRD BREAK LIGHT DOES NOT FIT UP TO THE REAR WINDSHIELD. THERE IS ABOUT A 1/4 INCH GAP. A NEW ONE WAS INSTALLED BUT IT HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. IT MUST BE A DESIGN FLAW. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 11/24/2003

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/21/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 449832

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED 2003 PT CRUISER IN OCT 02. MARCH 03- CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND ENGINE IDLED VERY ROUGH. BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SAID IT HAD A CRACKED SPARK PLUG. FIXED? NO... JUNE 03 CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT IDLED VERY ROUGH. BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SAID IT NEEDED A NEW ALTERNATOR. FIXED? NO. SAME THING IS HAPPENING AGAIN. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND IT IS IDLING VERY ROUGH. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 11/24/2003

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/21/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 449833

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED 2003 PT CRUISER IN OCT 02. MARCH 03- CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND ENGINE IDLED VERY ROUGH. BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SAID IT HAD A CRACKED SPARK PLUG. FIXED? NO... JUNE 03 CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT IDLED VERY ROUGH. BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SAID IT NEEDED A NEW ALTERNATOR. FIXED? NO. SAME THING IS HAPPENING AGAIN. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND IT IS IDLING VERY ROUGH. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 12/18/2003

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: N/A

NHTSA ID Number: 453253

Squish VIN: 3C4FY48B23T

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY WHEN VEHICLE WAS HIT IN A 3 CAR COLLISION. THIS VEHICLE WAS IN THE CENTER OF THIS COLLISION.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 12/23/2003

Component(s): TIRES:SIDEWALL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/22/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 453817

Squish VIN: 3C4FY58B03T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

GOODYEAR EAGLE LS TIRE (P205/55R16) WITH UNDER 15,000 MILES MOUNTED ON A PT CRUISER AND DRIVEN ON AN INTERSTATE BLEW OUT THROUGH THE SIDEWALL. DRIVER HEARD A POP AND IMMEDIATELY PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE AND DISCOVERED THE BLOWN TIRE.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/06/2004

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/05/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 455425

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILED. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 01/08/2004

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/08/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 456060

Squish VIN: 3C4FY78G53T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I PURCHASED A 2003 PT CRUISER GT, AFTER TRADING IN MY 2002 PT CRUISER TOURING EDITION. MY '02 HAD A REAR STABILIZER BAR MY '03 DOES NOT. IT IS LISTED ON THE WINDOW STICKER, IT IS SHOWN IN THE 2003 FACTORY SERVICE MANUAL, IT IS SHOWN IN THE 2003 PARTS MANUAL. MY 2003 HAS A LOT MORE BODY ROLL THAN THE 2002 DID. CHRYSLER STATES THEY UPGRADED THE "TWIST BEAM" AND EXTERNAL BAR WAS NOT NEEDED, AND IF INSTALLED COULD BE DANGEROUS, AND VOID SUSPENSION WARRANTY, ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE AND GENERAL MANAGER OF ANTWERPEN MOTOR CARS IN MARYLAND. IF THIS IS TRUE WHY WOULD CHRYSLER OFFER PARTS FOR SALE? I AM CONCERNED OF OTHER SHORT-CUTS THAT MAY HAVE BEEN TAKEN TO SAVE MONEY. A TOP HEAVY VEHICLE LIKE THE PT NEEDS TO CONTROL BODY ROLL FOR SAFETY AND COMFORT OF OCCUPANTS. LIKE I STATED, I OWNED A 2002 MODEL YEAR AND "UPGRADED" TO A 2003. THANKS. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 01/20/2004

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/31/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 458102

Squish VIN: 3C8FY78G83T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE MADE A RATTLING NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING. CONSUMER STATED GAS WAS LEAKING INTO THE ENGINE. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/09/2004

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY:FILLER PIPE AND CAP

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: N/A

NHTSA ID Number: 461511

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE GAS TANK FILLER PIPE AND CAP BROKE WHILE DRIVING. GAS NOZZLE SLIPPED DOWN NEAR WHERE THE REAR BRAKES WERE LOCATED. CONSUMER WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT GAS INTO THE VEHICLE. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2004

Component(s): STEERING:RACK AND PINION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 461681

Squish VIN: 3C4FY58B93T

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING CONSUMER HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. DEALERSHIPS MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM PERTAINED TO RACK AND PINION. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 03/04/2004

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/04/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 465617

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. *AK

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode