Home / Complaints ( DODGE CHALLENGER 2009 )

DODGE CHALLENGER 2009

Challenger

The Dodge Challenger was one of the most significant cars to leave the sixties and '70s muscle vehicle era. 40 years later, the Dodge Challenger has returned. Featuring styling cues like the original model along with a brawny V8 engine driving the rear wheels, the brand new Challenger is really a true street fighter. But unlike its bare-knuckled brawler of the older brother, this Challenger is packed with modern-day refinement and security features.


Date Complaint Filed: 03/07/2014

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/18/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1044799

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I TOOK MY CAR IN TO THE LOCAL DODGE DEALER FOR A SCHEDULED INSPECTION OF THE DRIVE TRAIN. THE INSPECTION WAS GOOD, BUT A SHOP NOTE INDICATED THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. THE TECH FILLED THE POWER STEERING FLUID RESERVOIR AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT REP INDICATED SHE WOULD CALL ME LATER WHEN I ASKED ABOUT THE COST TO REPAIR THE LEAK SITUATION. WHEN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT LATER CALLED, I WAS TOLD THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD REQUIRE REPLACING THE RACK AND PINION UNIT AND CONNECTING HOSES, ETC. I ASKED ABOUT THE COST, AND WAS TOLD THE COST WOULD BE IN EXCESS OF $1100! I EXPRESSED MY DISMAY AND SAID I NEEDED TO THINK THAT OVER. THE SERVICE REP THEN INDICATED I SHOULD KEEP AN EYE ON THE STEERING FLUID LEVEL UNTIL REPAIRS WERE MADE! THIS VEHICLE IS LIKE NEW! I HAVE APPROX. 12000 MILES ON IT IN ALMOST 5 YEARS! I INVESTIGATED THIS SITUATION VIA THE INTERNET, AND I FOUND THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THESE VEHICLES. I THEN SEARCHED RECALLS, AND TO MY SURPRISE, THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS! I AM OF THE OPINION THAT CHRYSLER MOTORS SHOULD HAVE MADE THE OWNERS AWARE OF THIS RECURRING ISSUE, SO OWNERS COULD HAVE HAD REPAIR WORK DONE WHILE SAID VEHICLES WERE STILL UNDER WARRANTY. I CONSIDER THIS TO NEGLIGENCE ON THEIR PART(CHRYSLER), AND FEEL THEY SHOULD PAY FOR THIS REPAIR IN PART OR IN FULL. I APOLOGIZE IF I AM FILING MY REPORT WITH THE WRONG AGENCY, BUT I WOULD APPRECIATE YOU REVIEWING THIS SITUATION OR REDIRECTING ME TO THE PEOPLE WHO MAY ASSIST ME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/25/2014

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 06/16/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1080457

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54TX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2009-2010 DODGE CHALLENGERS CAME OUT WITH GREASE ON THE INPUT SHAFT THAT PRETTY MUCH TURNED TO GLUE WHEN HOT. THE STAR CASE # IS [XXX]. DODGE NEVER ISSUED A RECALL. THERE ARE THREADS ALL OVER THE INTERNET THAT SHOW AS MANY AS 50% OF THE TREMEC 6060 6-SPEEDS WERE AFFECTED, BUT UNLESS YOU TOOK IT TO THE DEALER BY CHANCE, OR HAPPENED UPON A FORUM, YOU WERE OUT OF LUCK. I RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR IN DUE TO PROBLEMS SHIFTING. THE THROW OUT BEARING AND PILOT BEARING WERE FUSED TO THE INPUT SHAFT CAUSING IT TO WARP AND DAMAGE THE TRANSMISSION. THIS IS EXACTLY WHY DODGE HAD THE STAR CASE NUMBER ISSUED. SO, THEY DECLINED MY CLAIM. THE INITIAL REPAIR ESTIMATES WERE 3500.00, NOW IT IS 5100.00 BECAUSE YOU CANNOT BUY THE 2009-2010 PARTS ANY LONGER AND MUST UPGRADE TO THE CARBON FIBER PARTS USED IN 2011 AND UP (ADDITIONAL 1000.00). IF THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG AND NOTHING TO RECALL, WHY CAN YOU NO LONGER GET REPLACEMENT PARTS? INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/29/2015

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/27/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1179486

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE IS A KNOWN DEFECT WITH THE TREMECS AS ASSEMBLED IN 2009... THE GREASE THEY USED WAS INCORRECT. PLEASE REFERENCE VEHICLE ISSUE TRANS IS HARD TO SHIFT INTO GEAR. YEAR 2009 MODEL LC - CHALLENGER ENGINE 6.1L SRT HEMI (SMPI) V8, 5.7L HEMI VCT, 5.7L HEMI VCT MDS (EZD) SYSTEM OR COMPONENT;GEAR DRIVER INPUT / VEHICLE OPERATION; SHIFTING CASE VERIFICATION; VEHICLE AFFECTED IS THE LC CHALLENGER EQUIPPED WITH A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. IT MAY BE DIFFICULT TO SHIFT IN AND OUT OF GEAR. RECOMMENDATION ;REPAIR THIS CONDITION BY REMOVING THE TRANSMISSION, CLEANING THE TRANSMISSION INPUT SHAFT SPLINES AND THE CLUTCH HUB SPLINES, REGREASING, AND PUTTING ALL THE SAME PARTS BACK TOGETHER. NO PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE CLUTCH DISC WEAR OR SHAFT/HUB SPLINE WEAR ARE NOT CONTRIBUTING FACTORS. THE CLUTCH SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM THE FLYWHEEL TO PROPERLY CLEAN THE CLUTCH SPLINES, BECAUSE IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO THOROUGHLY CLEAN THE CLUTCH SPLINES OTHERWISE. DO NOT USE HARSH SPRAY SOLVENTS (BRAKE CLEAN, ETC.) ON THE CLUTCH DISCS... CARE MUST BE TAKEN TO KEEP CLEANING SOLVENTS AWAY FROM THE CLUTCH FRICTION MATERIAL. MINERAL SPIRITS OR SIMILAR WILL GET THE JOB DONE. BOTH OF THE CLUTCH HUB SPLINES AND TRANSMISSION INPUT SHAFT SPLINES MUST BE CAREFULLY CLEANED. WHEN APPLYING THE GREASE FOR REASSEMBLY, THE ENTIRE EXPOSED LENGTH OF THE CLUTCH HUB SPLINES (BOTH DISCS) AND THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF THE INPUT SHAFT SHOULD BE LIGHTLY COATED WITH THE P/N 05083150AA GREASE, SPREAD EVENLY ON ALL SPLINES WITHOUT EXCESS. THE FLYWHEEL DOES NOT NEED TO BE REMOVED FOR THIS REPAIR. NEW CLUTCH PRESSURE PLATE TO FLYWHEEL BOLTS P/N 06508880AA (QUANTITY 6) MUST BE USED. SAW THIS HAPPEN YESTERDAY WITH DIFFICULTY SHIFTING OUT OF FIRST ON AN INCLINE. ENOUGH PEOPLE ARE SEEING THIS PROBLEM THAT A RECALL MUST HAPPEN. THIS CAN AFFECT THE TRANSMISSION AT SPEED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/12/2015

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1228281

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WE HAVEN'T HAD A SPECIFIC INCIDENT BUT SEVERAL MONTHS AGO WE WERE SENT A RECALL NOTIFICATION ON THE DODGE CHALLENGER STATING THAT "THE DRIVER AIRBAG INFLATOR HOUSING IN YOUR VEHICLE MAY RUPTURE, DUE TO EXCESSIVE OR INTERNAL PRESSURE, DURING NORMAL AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT EVENTS. THIS CONDITION IS MORE LIKELY TO OCCUR IF YOUR VEHICLE HAS BEEN EXPOSED TO HIGH LEVELS OF ABSOLUTE HUMIDITY..." WE HAVE CONTACTED FIAT CHRYSLER AUTOMOBILES AND A LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE BOTH REFUSING TO FIX THE PROBLEM AND HAVE NO OTHER SOLUTIONS. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING THAT WHEN A RECALL IS ISSUED THE MANUFACTURER IS REQUIRED TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION - EITHER FIXING THE PROBLEM OR BUYING BACK THE VEHICLE. THIS IS CLEARLY A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, WE LIVE IN TEXAS SO THE HUMIDITY STATEMENT DEFINITELY APPLIES AND WITH NO FIX WE'RE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE NOW SO SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. DODGE NEEDS TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM OR START BUYING BACK VEHICLES. WE NEED TO BE DRIVING A SAFE VEHICLE, WE HAVE AN INFANT AND WE CAN'T AFFORD TO JUST PARK THAT CAR WHILE DODGE TWIDDLES IT'S FINGERS.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/04/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 12/02/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1243473

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ44V79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR 7 YEARS AND HAVE ONLY JUST TURNED IT OVER 50K MILES. JUST RECENTLY THE CAR STARTED TO MAKE A WHINING NOISE THE THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND THEN BACK ON THE LIGHT TURNED OFF BUT WOULD COME BACK ON AFTER A FEW MILES. CHECKED OUT WHERE THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM AND IT WAS THE ALTERNATOR. I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE 160 AMP ALTERNATOR HAS BEEN RECALLED ON THE 2011-12 3.5L ENGINES FOR THESE CARS. AS I HAVE THE SAME ALTERNATOR IN MY CAR. I WAS WONDERING IF THEY ARE ALSO BEING CHECKED. THIS CAR IS ALSO A SHOW CAR THAT HAS WON 9 TROPHIES AND 4 MEDALS, IT IS BEYOND BELIEF THAT THE ALTERNATOR WOULD FAIL SO QUICKLY FOR A CAR THAT IS EXTREMELY WELL MAINTAINED. I DRIVE THIS CAR AT 4:30 A.M. TO GO TO WORK AND WHEN THE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON THE HEADLIGHTS DIM SLIGHTLY.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2016

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1260318

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54TX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

KNOWN TREMEC TR6060 ISSUE & DODGE REFUSES TO HELP!! STAR CASE# S1021000004 & K38556860. THE GREASE USED IN THE TRANSMISSION TURNS INTO A GLUE AT HIGH TEMPS CAUSING THE TRANS TO NOT SHIFT PROPERLY THROUGH THE GEARS EITHER GOING INTO GEAR OR GETTING STUCK COMING OUT OF GEAR. IF HOT ENOUGH THIS GREASE FUSES THE PILOT & THROWOUT BEARING TO THE INPUT SHAFT REQUIRING THOSE BE REPLACED AT MINIMUM. THIS HAPPENED TO ME & THE CAR COULD NOT BE PUT IN 1ST-4TH WITHOUT A SEVERE GRINDING NOISE. IT CAN BE HEARD IN THE TRANS & FELT IN BOTH THE STICK & CLUTCH PEDAL. THE ONLY WAY TO SLOW DOWN WAS TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL & USE THE BRAKES WITHOUT ANY ENGINE CONTROL. BECAUSE OF THIS HIGH HEAT FUSION I HAD TO HAVE ESSENTIALLY THE ENTIRE TRANS REBUILT (BEARINGS, SYNCHROS, INPUT SHAFT & GASKETS). WHEN I SPOKE WITH DODGE (BOTH THE NUMBER LISTED ON THEIR WEBSITE & LOCAL DEALERSHIP) THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THIS WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM & THAT THE PARTS HAVE BEEN "REWORKED" SO THE ISSUE DOESN'T CONTINUE. SAID PARTS ARE AT A COST OF $2,000 BEFORE LABOR. I WAS TOLD THAT BECAUSE MY CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY BY DATE THAT I WAS NOT COVERED BECAUSE EVEN THOUGH THE ISSUE IS KNOWN & THERE ARE MULTIPLE REPORTS OF IT ALL OVER THE WEB THERE IS NO OFFICIAL RECALL & I HAVE TO PAY COMPLETELY OUT OF POCKET. THIS CAR IS ON 09 & HAS LESS THAN 30K MILES ON IT!! I'M STILL IN DISPUTES WITH DODGE AS OF NOW BUT THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/12/2016

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/07/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1275346

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T49H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

HELLO! HARD SHIFTING 6SPEED MANUAL: I HAVE BEEN HAVING SHIFTING PROBLEMS WITH MY MANUAL TRANS FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS. IT STARTED BACK IN NOV 11 WHEN TRAVELING OUT OF TOWN,GOT STUCK IN TRAFFIC AND CLUTCH STARTED TO NOT DISINGAUGE ALL THE WAY (WOULD CREEP) HAD TO HOLD FOOT ON BRAKE OR PUT IN NEUTRAL EVEN AFTER PULLING OFF THE ROAD. LATTER WHEN COMING HOME BAKED INTO PARKING SPACE TURN KEY OFF WANTED TO PUT IN OTHER GEAR WAS VERY HARD TO PULL OUT OF REVERSE. HAS GOTTEN WORSE, IT IS GETTING HARDER TO SHIFT WHILE DRIVING. MY WIFE WENT TO GET ON THE HIGHWAY AND HAD VERY HARD TIME GOING INTO LOWER GEAR ALMOST GETTING HIT IN THE REAR.DODGE SAYS WORN CLUTCH,BUT IT DOESN'T SLIP, BUT THEY HAVE A NOTICE ABOUT GREASE BEING ON INPUT SPLINE THATS THE CLUTCH SLIDES ON GETTING DIRTY FROM TO MUCH GREASE AND DIRT, MAKING THE DISC STICK NOT FULLY DISENGAGING. THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT,ASSEMBLING LINE DEFECT NOT MINE. BEEN TO TWO DEALERS AND ASK 4 ABOUT THE PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/01/2016

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/04/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1286798

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T EQUIPPED WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS DOWNSHIFTING WHEN APPROACHING A STOP. YOU WOULDN'T KNOW UNTIL YOU PRESS THE GAS TO PROCEED DOWN THE ROAD AND BARELY MOVE AS THE VEHICLE WOULD BE STUCK IN THE HIGHEST GEAR. I WOULD HAVE TO PULL OVER, TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART IT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. LUCKILY THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN WHEN TRYING TO PULL OUT INTO TRAFFIC AS IT WOULD HAVE A HIGH TENDENCY TO CREATE A COLLISION. TRANSMISSION CODE FOR THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR AND AFTER RESEARCHING IT ONLINE, I FOUND A MASS NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS AND REPAIRS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. IT APPEARS TO BE A MECHANICAL DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH BY FCA AND NHTSA DUE TO THE COMMON OCCURRENCE IS THESE VEHICLES. REPLACING THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR WHICH IS PART OF AN ELECTRONIC MODULE COST APPROXIMATELY $500 AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/01/2016

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/04/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1286799

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T EQUIPPED WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS DOWNSHIFTING WHEN APPROACHING A STOP. YOU WOULDN'T KNOW UNTIL YOU PRESS THE GAS TO PROCEED DOWN THE ROAD AND BARELY MOVE AS THE VEHICLE WOULD BE STUCK IN THE HIGHEST GEAR. I WOULD HAVE TO PULL OVER, TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART IT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. LUCKILY THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN WHEN TRYING TO PULL OUT INTO TRAFFIC AS IT WOULD HAVE A HIGH TENDENCY TO CREATE A COLLISION. TRANSMISSION CODE FOR THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR AND AFTER RESEARCHING IT ONLINE, I FOUND A MASS NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS AND REPAIRS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. IT APPEARS TO BE A MECHANICAL DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH BY FCA AND NHTSA DUE TO THE COMMON OCCURRENCE IS THESE VEHICLES. REPLACING THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR WHICH IS PART OF AN ELECTRONIC MODULE COST APPROXIMATELY $500 AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/01/2016

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/04/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1286800

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T EQUIPPED WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS DOWNSHIFTING WHEN APPROACHING A STOP. YOU WOULDN'T KNOW UNTIL YOU PRESS THE GAS TO PROCEED DOWN THE ROAD AND BARELY MOVE AS THE VEHICLE WOULD BE STUCK IN THE HIGHEST GEAR. I WOULD HAVE TO PULL OVER, TURN THE VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART IT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. LUCKILY THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN WHEN TRYING TO PULL OUT INTO TRAFFIC AS IT WOULD HAVE A HIGH TENDENCY TO CREATE A COLLISION. TRANSMISSION CODE FOR THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR AND AFTER RESEARCHING IT ONLINE, I FOUND A MASS NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS AND REPAIRS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. IT APPEARS TO BE A MECHANICAL DEFECT THAT NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH BY FCA AND NHTSA DUE TO THE COMMON OCCURRENCE IS THESE VEHICLES. REPLACING THE INPUT SPEED SENSOR WHICH IS PART OF AN ELECTRONIC MODULE COST APPROXIMATELY $500 AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode