Home / Complaints ( Ford Escape 2013 )

FORD ESCAPE 2013

Escape

Since its introduction, the Ford Escape continues to be certainly one of America's best-selling small crossover Sports utility vehicles. Thinking about the number of other automobiles can be found in this segment (most of them well-established before the Escape's debut), this has come about as a little of the surprise. But Ford includes a keen knack for creating Sports utility vehicles that attract an array of purchasers.


Date Complaint Filed: 07/19/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 930637

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9J90DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2013 FORD ESCAPE RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NO. 12V319000. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. I CANNOT DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY WITHOUT REMOVING MY RIGHT SHOE. THE PEDALS ARE TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. I REALLY DON'T SEE HOW STREAMING THE CARPET TO THE LEFT OF THE GAS PEDAL IS GOING TO MAKE ANY DIFFERENCES. I HAVE TO KIDDY-CORNER MY FOOT OVER TO THE GAS PEDAL AS IT IS NOW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/19/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 930638

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9J90DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2013 FORD ESCAPE RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NO. 12V319000. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. I CANNOT DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY WITHOUT REMOVING MY RIGHT SHOE. THE PEDALS ARE TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. I REALLY DON'T SEE HOW STREAMING THE CARPET TO THE LEFT OF THE GAS PEDAL IS GOING TO MAKE ANY DIFFERENCES. I HAVE TO KIDDY-CORNER MY FOOT OVER TO THE GAS PEDAL AS IT IS NOW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2012

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936002

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WARNING LIGHT FAILED TO GO ON FOR A FLAT TIRE. LIGHT WENT ON WHEN TIRE WAS REMOVED. AFTER TEMPORARY TIRE WAS PUT ON 3 DIFFERENT LIGHTS KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF WHEN DRIVEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936003

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WARNING LIGHT FAILED TO GO ON FOR A FLAT TIRE. LIGHT WENT ON WHEN TIRE WAS REMOVED. AFTER TEMPORARY TIRE WAS PUT ON 3 DIFFERENT LIGHTS KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF WHEN DRIVEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2012

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936004

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WARNING LIGHT FAILED TO GO ON FOR A FLAT TIRE. LIGHT WENT ON WHEN TIRE WAS REMOVED. AFTER TEMPORARY TIRE WAS PUT ON 3 DIFFERENT LIGHTS KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF WHEN DRIVEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2012

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936005

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WARNING LIGHT FAILED TO GO ON FOR A FLAT TIRE. LIGHT WENT ON WHEN TIRE WAS REMOVED. AFTER TEMPORARY TIRE WAS PUT ON 3 DIFFERENT LIGHTS KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF WHEN DRIVEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2012

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936497

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0GX5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALL FOR FUEL LINE PROBLEMS WITH FORD VEHICLE *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED HE WAS NOT PROVIDED A LOANER VEHICLE FOR THE SIX DAYS THE DEALER HAD HIS VEHICLE. RECALL # 12V336000.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/07/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/07/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 928252

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0GX5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE ACCELERATOR AND BRAKE PEDAL ARE VERY, VERY CLOSE - DANGEROUSLY CLOSE. THE VEHICLES NEED TO BE RECALLED TO HAVE THIS DESIGN AND MANUFACTURE FLAW CORRECTED. OTHERWISE, THERE WILL BE MULTIPLE ACCIDENTS DUE TO THIS DESIGN/PLACEMENT FLAW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 928964

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9J90DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE GAS PEDAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE BRAKE. WHEN I WEAR BIG SHOES, THE BACK LEFT SIDE EDGE OF MY SHOE CATCHES THE BACK SIDE OF THE BRAKE WHEN I LIFT IT OFF THE GAS. SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE CORRECTED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2012

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 928965

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9J90DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE GAS PEDAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE BRAKE. WHEN I WEAR BIG SHOES, THE BACK LEFT SIDE EDGE OF MY SHOE CATCHES THE BACK SIDE OF THE BRAKE WHEN I LIFT IT OFF THE GAS. SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE CORRECTED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 928966

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9J90DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE GAS PEDAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE BRAKE. WHEN I WEAR BIG SHOES, THE BACK LEFT SIDE EDGE OF MY SHOE CATCHES THE BACK SIDE OF THE BRAKE WHEN I LIFT IT OFF THE GAS. SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE CORRECTED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/16/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 929731

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR AND THE BRAKE PEDALS WERE TOO CLOSE IN PROXIMITY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED TO THE DEALER WHEN HE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE THAT HE FELT THE PEDALS WERE TOO CLOSE BUT WAS ADVISED THAT IT WAS HOW THE VEHICLE WAS DESIGNED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 800 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/25/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 942573

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0H93DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NUMEROUS FAULTS WITH RADIO AND NAVIGATION SYSTEM PART OF MYFORDTOUCH SYSTEM. THE RADIO WILL COME ON BY ITSELF AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THIS USUALLY OCCURS WHEN A CELL PHONE IS IN USE AND CONNECTS OR DISCONNECTS VIA BLUETOOTH WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED OR TURNED OFF. WHEN THIS FAULT OCCURS THE RADIO WILL NOT ALLOW DIFFERENT STATIONS TO BE SELECTED. THE RADIO WILL NOT TURN OFF EVEN AFTER THE ENGINE IS TURNED OFF AND THE DOORS ARE OPENED. THE POWER BUTTON FOR THE RADIO WILL NOT FUNCTION TO SHUT OFF THE RADIO AT THESE TIMES. THE RADIO WILL REMAIN ON FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES AFTER THE VEHICLE IS SHUT OFF AND THE ALARM IS TURNED ON. THE DEALER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS PROBLEM EXISTS WITH SIMILAR VEHICLES AND HAS STATED THAT A REPAIR DOES NOT EXIST. THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM IS SLOW TO RESPOND AND AT TIMES CANNOT PROPERLY LOCATE THE VEHICLE. THE NAVIGATION SYSTEM ALSO HAS FAULTED BY NOT ALLOWING MANUAL ENTRY OF ADDRESSES OR SELECTION OF SAVED DESTINATIONS. THE DEALER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED A REPAIR FOR THIS DOES NOT EXIST OTHER THAN TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY TERMINALS FOR AT LEAST 10 MINUTES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/25/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 07/20/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 942582

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0H93DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CROSS TRAFFIC WARNING SYSTEM IS OVERLY SENSITIVE AND PROVIDES FALSE WARNINGS. THIS CREATES A DISTRACTION FROM DRIVING. WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS IN REVERSE THE CROSS TRAFFIC WARNING SYSTEM WILL ALARM WHEN VEHICLES ARE APPROXIMATELY 50 FEET AWAY OR WHEN TRAFFIC IS PASSING ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE ROAD (I.E. WHEN PARALLEL PARKING). THE SYSTEM HAS ALSO ALARMED WHEN NO VEHICULAR OR PEDESTRIAN TRAFFIC IS PRESENT. IT IS UNPREDICTABLE. THE ALARM IS EXTREMELY DISTRACTING TO THE DRIVING TASK AT HAND. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN IN REVERSE, THE DRIVER SHOULD BE LOOKING BEHIND THE VEHICLE, NOT AT THE DASHBOARD WHERE AN ALARM MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED. SILENCING THE ALARM REQUIRES THE DRIVER TO FIND A SMALL "OK" BUTTON OR SCROLL THROUGH SEVERAL MENUS THAT IS LOCATED NEXT TO THE SPEEDOMETER. THE ALARM HAS ALSO ACTIVATED AS THE TRANSMISSION GEAR SHIFT PASSES 'REVERSE' WHILE BEING PUT IN 'DRIVE'. THE DEALER HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS CAN BE DISTRACTING AND THAT A REPAIR FOR THIS DOES NOT EXIST. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/25/2012

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 942583

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0H93DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE RAIN SENSOR DOES NOT OPERATE PROPERLY WHEN THE WIPERS ARE USED IN THE 'INTERMITTENT' SETTING. THE OPERATION OF THE WIPERS WHEN USING THE INTERMITTENT FEATURE ARE VERY UNPREDICTABLE, REGARDLESS OF THE DELAY SETTING USED. THE WIPERS WILL OFTEN NOT ACTIVATE ALLOWING RAIN TO ACCUMULATE ON THE WINDSHIELD TO THE POINT OF IMPAIRING VISIBILITY DRASTICALLY. AT OTHER TIMES THE WIPERS WILL ACTIVATE WHEN RAIN WATER IS NOT COLLECTING ON THE WINDSHIELD, SUCH AS WHEN STOPPED UNDER A HIGHWAY OVERPASS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/28/2012

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 09/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 943192

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I HAVE THE 2.0 SE WITH ROOF RAILS AND PANORAMIC SUNROOF. THERE IS A WATER LEAK ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE HEADLINER RIGHT NEAR THE A-PILLAR. I PULLED BACK THE HEADLINER AND WATER IS DRIPPING FROM AN AREA ADJACENT TO A NYLON FASTENER. THE CAR IS PARKED ON AN INCLINE AND THE FRONT OF THE CAR IS HIGHER THAN THE REAR, SO THE SUNROOF CANNOT BE THE SOURCE OF THE LEAK. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/16/2012

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/14/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 946223

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9GXXDU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE WERE CONTINENTAL CON TIP SMALL RO CONTACT, SIZE 235/15/R17. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WOULD HYDRO PLANE IN RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED HIM TO CONTACT THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 5,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/16/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/21/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 946277

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0HX0DU

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE, 1.6 LITER ENGINE, HAD 3 RECALLS, (TWO WERE ENGINE FIRE RELATED). ALL 3 RECALL REPAIRS WERE DONE BY THE LOCAL FORD DEALER, SALEM, VA. WE PICKED VEHICLE UP AFTER THIRD RECALL WORK HAD BEEN DONE ON 9/17/12. WE ASSUMED THE RECALL WORK WAS DONE CORRECTLY, AND THAT FORD'S "FIX" WORKED CORRECTLY. ON 9/21/12 WE WERE TRAVELING EAST AT 65 MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON I-64 NEAR CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. IT WAS ABOUT 1 PM IN THE AFTERNOON. THERE WAS A "POP" SOUND IN THE ENGINE AREA. INSTANTLY, THE ACCELERATOR HAD NO RESPONSE, THE HIGH ENGINE TEMPERATURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN ALL WARNING LIGHTS, GAUGES, & TACHOMETER ALL WENT DEAD. LUCKILY, WE WERE ADJACENT TO AN EXIT RAMP, AND WE COASTED TO A STOP ON RTE 20/53. IMMEDIATELY, WHITE STEAM CAME OUT OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. KNOWING THE THIRD RECALL DEALT WITH THE "RISK OF ENGINE FIRES", WE GOT OUT, AND MOVED WELL AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE. WITHIN MINUTES, BROWN, OILY SMOKE CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THEN FLAMES CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD, AT THE WINDSHIELD AND OUT THE SIDES OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THEN THE CAR BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS DESTROYED. PICTURES WERE TAKEN OF THE VEHICLE ON FIRE, AND AFTER IT WAS OUT, WITH A CELL PHONE. AFTER THE FIRE WAS OUT, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE FORD DEALER IN CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA.. WE WERE TOLD THE INSURANCE COMPANY HAD RETAINED A FIRE INSPECTOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR, AND ASK ME QUESTIONS, WHICH HE DID. LATER THE INSPECTOR SAID THE INSURANCE COMPANY DID NOT REQUIRE A REPORT. WE FEEL WE ARE LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/16/2012

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/21/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 946278

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0HX0DU

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE, 1.6 LITER ENGINE, HAD 3 RECALLS, (TWO WERE ENGINE FIRE RELATED). ALL 3 RECALL REPAIRS WERE DONE BY THE LOCAL FORD DEALER, SALEM, VA. WE PICKED VEHICLE UP AFTER THIRD RECALL WORK HAD BEEN DONE ON 9/17/12. WE ASSUMED THE RECALL WORK WAS DONE CORRECTLY, AND THAT FORD'S "FIX" WORKED CORRECTLY. ON 9/21/12 WE WERE TRAVELING EAST AT 65 MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON I-64 NEAR CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. IT WAS ABOUT 1 PM IN THE AFTERNOON. THERE WAS A "POP" SOUND IN THE ENGINE AREA. INSTANTLY, THE ACCELERATOR HAD NO RESPONSE, THE HIGH ENGINE TEMPERATURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN ALL WARNING LIGHTS, GAUGES, & TACHOMETER ALL WENT DEAD. LUCKILY, WE WERE ADJACENT TO AN EXIT RAMP, AND WE COASTED TO A STOP ON RTE 20/53. IMMEDIATELY, WHITE STEAM CAME OUT OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. KNOWING THE THIRD RECALL DEALT WITH THE "RISK OF ENGINE FIRES", WE GOT OUT, AND MOVED WELL AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE. WITHIN MINUTES, BROWN, OILY SMOKE CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THEN FLAMES CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD, AT THE WINDSHIELD AND OUT THE SIDES OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THEN THE CAR BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS DESTROYED. PICTURES WERE TAKEN OF THE VEHICLE ON FIRE, AND AFTER IT WAS OUT, WITH A CELL PHONE. AFTER THE FIRE WAS OUT, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE FORD DEALER IN CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA.. WE WERE TOLD THE INSURANCE COMPANY HAD RETAINED A FIRE INSPECTOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR, AND ASK ME QUESTIONS, WHICH HE DID. LATER THE INSPECTOR SAID THE INSURANCE COMPANY DID NOT REQUIRE A REPORT. WE FEEL WE ARE LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/16/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/21/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 946279

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0HX0DU

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE, 1.6 LITER ENGINE, HAD 3 RECALLS, (TWO WERE ENGINE FIRE RELATED). ALL 3 RECALL REPAIRS WERE DONE BY THE LOCAL FORD DEALER, SALEM, VA. WE PICKED VEHICLE UP AFTER THIRD RECALL WORK HAD BEEN DONE ON 9/17/12. WE ASSUMED THE RECALL WORK WAS DONE CORRECTLY, AND THAT FORD'S "FIX" WORKED CORRECTLY. ON 9/21/12 WE WERE TRAVELING EAST AT 65 MPH IN THE RIGHT LANE ON I-64 NEAR CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. IT WAS ABOUT 1 PM IN THE AFTERNOON. THERE WAS A "POP" SOUND IN THE ENGINE AREA. INSTANTLY, THE ACCELERATOR HAD NO RESPONSE, THE HIGH ENGINE TEMPERATURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THEN ALL WARNING LIGHTS, GAUGES, & TACHOMETER ALL WENT DEAD. LUCKILY, WE WERE ADJACENT TO AN EXIT RAMP, AND WE COASTED TO A STOP ON RTE 20/53. IMMEDIATELY, WHITE STEAM CAME OUT OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. KNOWING THE THIRD RECALL DEALT WITH THE "RISK OF ENGINE FIRES", WE GOT OUT, AND MOVED WELL AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE. WITHIN MINUTES, BROWN, OILY SMOKE CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THEN FLAMES CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD, AT THE WINDSHIELD AND OUT THE SIDES OF THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THEN THE CAR BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS DESTROYED. PICTURES WERE TAKEN OF THE VEHICLE ON FIRE, AND AFTER IT WAS OUT, WITH A CELL PHONE. AFTER THE FIRE WAS OUT, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE FORD DEALER IN CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA.. WE WERE TOLD THE INSURANCE COMPANY HAD RETAINED A FIRE INSPECTOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR, AND ASK ME QUESTIONS, WHICH HE DID. LATER THE INSPECTOR SAID THE INSURANCE COMPANY DID NOT REQUIRE A REPORT. WE FEEL WE ARE LUCKY TO BE ALIVE! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/17/2012

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/17/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 946479

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0HX1DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

LAST WEEK I NOTICED WHEN I WAS IN PARK THAT I SPRAYED MY WIDOWS AND THE WIPERS DID NOT TURN ON. I HAD TO LIFT THE WIPERS AND SLAP THEM AGAINST THE WINDOW AND THEN GO BACK INTO THE CAR AND THEY WORKED FINE. THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A FLUKE. TODAY DRIVING TO WORK I HAD ANOTHER ISSUE. WHEN I INITIALLY STARTED THE CAR THE WIPERS WORKED FINE TO CLEAN OFF THE RAIN DROPS AND I SHUT THEM OFF. WHEN I WAS ON FREEWAY I USED THE SPRITZER AND THE WIPERS DID NOT START. I MOVED THE SWITCH TO ALL SETTING AND STILL NOTHING HAPPENED. I SPRITZED THE WATER 2 MORE TIMES AND STILL NOTHING OTHER THAN I WAS BLINDED BY THE WATER ON THE WINDSHIELD. I HAD TO PULL ON THE SHOULDER AND GET OUT OF THE CAR AND LIFT THE WIPERS OFF THE WINDOW. WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE CAR THEY STARTED UP FINE AND AGAIN WORKED AS THEY SHOULD. THIS WAS VERY DANGEROUS THIS MORNING. I CALLED SERVICE AND THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD LOOK AT THEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/06/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 09/04/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 949649

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0H9XDU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MYTOUCH SYSTEM FAILED AND WOULD NOT ALLOW HER TO MAKE A CALL. IN ADDITION, THE MYTOUCH SYSTEM WOULD NOT PROPERLY RESPOND TO COMMANDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR TESTING ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE MYTOUCH CHIP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT SOMEONE WOULD CALL THE CONTACT AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,083.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/13/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 09/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 950639

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9HX5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE IS AN ACCELERATION LAG ON PARTIAL THROTTLE. THIS MAINLY OCCURS WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE OR WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER A TURN. WHEN NO ACCELERATION IS FELT, THE THROTTLE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED FURTHER AND, AFTER A DELAY, THE VEHICLE TAKES OFF LIKE A ROCKET. WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE USING THE MANUAL SHIFT MODE, IT OPERATES WITHOUT AN ACCELERATION DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THIS PROBLEM. THEY LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND STATED IT DRIVES LIKE ALL OF THE OTHER 1.6 LITER ESCAPE VEHICLES ON THEIR LOT. THE DELAY IN ACCELERATION HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. A SIDE ISSUE IS WITH SYNC. THE CLOCK LOSES TIME, IT'S VERY SLOW TO RESPOND, IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABLE TO SYNC PHONES, UNDERSTAND VOICE COMMANDS, AND IT'S LOCKED UP...REQUIRING A MASTER RESET. THERE'S ALSO TOO MUCH ROAD NOISE TRANSMITTED TO THOSE ON THE OTHER END...CONSEQUENTLY, IT'S DIFFICULT FOR THEM TO HEAR THE CONVERSATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/13/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 09/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 950640

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9HX5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE IS AN ACCELERATION LAG ON PARTIAL THROTTLE. THIS MAINLY OCCURS WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE OR WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER A TURN. WHEN NO ACCELERATION IS FELT, THE THROTTLE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED FURTHER AND, AFTER A DELAY, THE VEHICLE TAKES OFF LIKE A ROCKET. WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE USING THE MANUAL SHIFT MODE, IT OPERATES WITHOUT AN ACCELERATION DELAY. THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THIS PROBLEM. THEY LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND STATED IT DRIVES LIKE ALL OF THE OTHER 1.6 LITER ESCAPE VEHICLES ON THEIR LOT. THE DELAY IN ACCELERATION HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. A SIDE ISSUE IS WITH SYNC. THE CLOCK LOSES TIME, IT'S VERY SLOW TO RESPOND, IT ISN'T ALWAYS ABLE TO SYNC PHONES, UNDERSTAND VOICE COMMANDS, AND IT'S LOCKED UP...REQUIRING A MASTER RESET. THERE'S ALSO TOO MUCH ROAD NOISE TRANSMITTED TO THOSE ON THE OTHER END...CONSEQUENTLY, IT'S DIFFICULT FOR THEM TO HEAR THE CONVERSATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/23/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/11/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 952100

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0J90DU

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS AT A RED LIGHT ON A FREEWAY EXIT. MY CRUISE CONTROL HAD BEEN SET TO 65 MPH, AND WHEN I ACCIDENTLY TAPPED THE RESUME LEVER, THE CAR ACCELERATED RAPIDLY. HITTING THE BRAKES DID NOT STOP THE CAR BEFORE IT HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THE CRUISE CONTROL CANCEL/RESUME LEVER IS LOCATED ON THE LOWER LEFT PART OF THE STEERING WHEEL. IF YOUR STEERING WHEEL IS IN A LOW POSITION, AND YOU MOVE YOUR LEFT LEG, YOU CAN ACTIVATE CRUISE CONTROL WITH YOUR THIGH CAUSING IMMEDIATE ACCELERATION. THIS HAPPENED TO ME AGAIN WHILE DRIVING SLOWLY ON A CURVY ROAD LAST WEEK. THIS COULD BE DISASTROUS IF IT OCCURS AT A CROSS WALK. LUCKILY I ONLY HIT A CAR, NOT A PEDESTRIAN, AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. ELEVATING THE STEERING WHEEL REDUCES THE LIKELIHOOD OF ACTIVATING CRUISE CONTROL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/26/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 11/20/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 952314

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0GX9DU

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. THE CAR WAS AT A STOP WHEN IT ACCELERATED SUDDENLY FOR A SHORT BURST. THE BRAKES DID NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE IN ONE SPOT AND SHE TAPPED THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER CAUSE TWO MINOR SCRATCHES ON THE OTHER VEHICLE'S BUMPER. OUR INSURANCE COMPANY HAS BEEN CONTACTED AND IS IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING THE OTHER VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE ESCAPE DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY NOTICEABLE DAMAGE. THE ESCAPE IS HEADING BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE LOOKED AT. THIS HAS ONLY OCCURRED ONCE THAT WE KNOW OF BUT I HAVE NOTICED ONCE THAT THE VEHICLE DID JUMP A BIT IN RPMS AND SPEED WHILE DRIVING IT AT A STEADY SPEED ON A FAIRLY FLAT ROAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/26/2012

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 11/20/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 952315

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0GX9DU

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. THE CAR WAS AT A STOP WHEN IT ACCELERATED SUDDENLY FOR A SHORT BURST. THE BRAKES DID NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE IN ONE SPOT AND SHE TAPPED THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER CAUSE TWO MINOR SCRATCHES ON THE OTHER VEHICLE'S BUMPER. OUR INSURANCE COMPANY HAS BEEN CONTACTED AND IS IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING THE OTHER VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE ESCAPE DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY NOTICEABLE DAMAGE. THE ESCAPE IS HEADING BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO BE LOOKED AT. THIS HAS ONLY OCCURRED ONCE THAT WE KNOW OF BUT I HAVE NOTICED ONCE THAT THE VEHICLE DID JUMP A BIT IN RPMS AND SPEED WHILE DRIVING IT AT A STEADY SPEED ON A FAIRLY FLAT ROAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/26/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/12/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 952372

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0H9XDU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACTIVE SYNC TECHNOLOGY MALFUNCTIONED WHICH CAUSES HER TO TAKE HER EYES OFF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE REPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,233.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/03/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 07/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 953494

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0J95DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2013 FORD ESCAPE SITUATION IS THAT WHEN I TRANSFER MY FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, BESIDES LIGHTLY BRAKING THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCES A SURGE IN ACCELERATION ... CAUSING UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN THE DRIVER WOULD EXPECT THE VEHICLE TO BE BRAKING. THERE ARE 1 OR 2 PROBLEMS: 1) THE BRAKE PEDAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL [MORE SO FOR A MALE DRIVER WITH A WIDER FOOT THAN A FEMALE DRIVER]. 2) THE BRAKE PEDAL HAS TOO MUCH MOVEMENT WHILE THE DRIVER IS TRYING TO BRAKE, IN THAT PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL PUSHES THE PEDAL TO AND PAST THE ACCELERATOR PETAL; IN THAT IF THE FOOT IS NOT EXACTLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE ACCELERATOR PUSHES DOWN AND CAUSES A POWER SURGE, WHEN THE DRIVER IS EXPECTING THE VEHICLE TO BE BRAKING. THE PROBLEM IS THE DESIGN AND FUNCTION OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE BRAKE PETAL HAS SUCH A LONG TRAVEL, THAT WHEN A PERSON'S FOOT IS NOT 100% ON THE BRAKE THAT THE FOOT ALSO PRESSES ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SURGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY, INSTEAD OF STOPPING. THIS IS MOST LIKELY TO HAPPEN WITH A MAN'S FOOT, BEING WIDER THAN A FEMALE'S FOOT. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS; ALL OF WHICH CAUSED AN EXTREMELY TRAUMATIC SITUATION(S): 1) TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY, WHEN TRAFFIC BACKS UP OR ANOTHER VEHICLE CHANGES INTO MY DRIVING LANE - IN EITHER CONDITION, WHERE FORCED TO BRAKE 'UNEXPECTEDLY', THE VEHICLE SURGES FORWARD. 2) WHEN BRAKING AT AN INTERSECTION, TAKING THE FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR TO THE BRAKE, INITIALLY THE CAR SLOWS DOWN, BUT WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR ACCELERATES UNEXPECTEDLY, I.E, A PEDESTRIAN IS CROSSING THE STREET IN AN INTERSECTION AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES UNEXPECTEDLY AND POSSIBLY INJURING THE PEDESTRIAN. THE FORD DEALER SAID THAT THEY CANNOT FIX A "DESIGN FLAW". *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/03/2012

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 07/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 953495

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0J95DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2013 FORD ESCAPE SITUATION IS THAT WHEN I TRANSFER MY FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR TO THE BRAKE PEDAL, BESIDES LIGHTLY BRAKING THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCES A SURGE IN ACCELERATION ... CAUSING UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION WHEN THE DRIVER WOULD EXPECT THE VEHICLE TO BE BRAKING. THERE ARE 1 OR 2 PROBLEMS: 1) THE BRAKE PEDAL IS TOO CLOSE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL [MORE SO FOR A MALE DRIVER WITH A WIDER FOOT THAN A FEMALE DRIVER]. 2) THE BRAKE PEDAL HAS TOO MUCH MOVEMENT WHILE THE DRIVER IS TRYING TO BRAKE, IN THAT PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL PUSHES THE PEDAL TO AND PAST THE ACCELERATOR PETAL; IN THAT IF THE FOOT IS NOT EXACTLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE ACCELERATOR PUSHES DOWN AND CAUSES A POWER SURGE, WHEN THE DRIVER IS EXPECTING THE VEHICLE TO BE BRAKING. THE PROBLEM IS THE DESIGN AND FUNCTION OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE BRAKE PETAL HAS SUCH A LONG TRAVEL, THAT WHEN A PERSON'S FOOT IS NOT 100% ON THE BRAKE THAT THE FOOT ALSO PRESSES ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SURGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY, INSTEAD OF STOPPING. THIS IS MOST LIKELY TO HAPPEN WITH A MAN'S FOOT, BEING WIDER THAN A FEMALE'S FOOT. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS; ALL OF WHICH CAUSED AN EXTREMELY TRAUMATIC SITUATION(S): 1) TRAVELING ON THE FREEWAY, WHEN TRAFFIC BACKS UP OR ANOTHER VEHICLE CHANGES INTO MY DRIVING LANE - IN EITHER CONDITION, WHERE FORCED TO BRAKE 'UNEXPECTEDLY', THE VEHICLE SURGES FORWARD. 2) WHEN BRAKING AT AN INTERSECTION, TAKING THE FOOT FROM THE ACCELERATOR TO THE BRAKE, INITIALLY THE CAR SLOWS DOWN, BUT WHEN THE BRAKE IS PRESSED TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR ACCELERATES UNEXPECTEDLY, I.E, A PEDESTRIAN IS CROSSING THE STREET IN AN INTERSECTION AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES UNEXPECTEDLY AND POSSIBLY INJURING THE PEDESTRIAN. THE FORD DEALER SAID THAT THEY CANNOT FIX A "DESIGN FLAW". *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode