Home / Complaints ( Ford Flex 2012 )

FORD FLEX 2012

Flex

Three-row crossovers might have changed the minivan because the preferred type of family transportation, however that does not mean they are all stylish. Go into the Ford Flex, which is like a sizable wagon, however in an elegant way. With the addition of a couple of Small Cooper-inspired design touches (like the blacked-out roof support beams and contrasting roof colors), the Ford Flex strikes us as possibly the best choice among seven-passenger crossovers. Additionally, it transpires with work all right like a family vehicle using its spacious cabin, comfortable ride, excellent quality and enjoyable driving dynamics.


Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 933180

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC9CB

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FLEX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORWARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE JUMPED A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A POST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESTROYED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC SHOP FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. UPDATED 9/25/12 *CN UPDATED 10/03/2012 *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 10/31/2012

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/29/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 948828

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5BCXCB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 40 MILES AN HOUR. IDIOT LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH AND THE CARS ENGINE TURNED OFF. THANKFULLY I WAS ABLE TO GET CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. CAR CRANKED RIGHT BACK UP. 5 DAYS LATER WHILE SITTING IN A FAST FOOD LINE, SAME THING HAPPENED AND WAS ABLE TO CRANK CAR. CALLED DEALERSHIP IN TOWN, BROUGHT CAR IN AND THEY SAID, "NOTHING IS WRONG WITH YOUR CAR, COME AND GET IT" PICKED UP CAR. 2 DAYS LATER WHILE DRIVING IT DOWN OUR STREET, I STOPPED TO GET MAIL ABOUT 9PM AND THE CAR TOTALLY DIED. NO POWER AT ALL. WAS STUCK IN PARK HAD TO BE TOWED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THE CAR SHUTS DOWN WHILE I AM DRIVING!!! THANK GOD THAT IT HAS NOT HAPPENED WHILE GOING 65 MILES AN HOUR WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR. CAR IS AT DEALERSHIP. HAVE ONLY HAD THE CAR SEVERAL MONTHS. NOT A GOOD TRACK RECORD SO FAR! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/31/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/29/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 948829

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5BCXCB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 40 MILES AN HOUR. IDIOT LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH AND THE CARS ENGINE TURNED OFF. THANKFULLY I WAS ABLE TO GET CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. CAR CRANKED RIGHT BACK UP. 5 DAYS LATER WHILE SITTING IN A FAST FOOD LINE, SAME THING HAPPENED AND WAS ABLE TO CRANK CAR. CALLED DEALERSHIP IN TOWN, BROUGHT CAR IN AND THEY SAID, "NOTHING IS WRONG WITH YOUR CAR, COME AND GET IT" PICKED UP CAR. 2 DAYS LATER WHILE DRIVING IT DOWN OUR STREET, I STOPPED TO GET MAIL ABOUT 9PM AND THE CAR TOTALLY DIED. NO POWER AT ALL. WAS STUCK IN PARK HAD TO BE TOWED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THE CAR SHUTS DOWN WHILE I AM DRIVING!!! THANK GOD THAT IT HAS NOT HAPPENED WHILE GOING 65 MILES AN HOUR WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR. CAR IS AT DEALERSHIP. HAVE ONLY HAD THE CAR SEVERAL MONTHS. NOT A GOOD TRACK RECORD SO FAR! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/31/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 10/29/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 948830

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5BCXCB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 40 MILES AN HOUR. IDIOT LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH AND THE CARS ENGINE TURNED OFF. THANKFULLY I WAS ABLE TO GET CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. CAR CRANKED RIGHT BACK UP. 5 DAYS LATER WHILE SITTING IN A FAST FOOD LINE, SAME THING HAPPENED AND WAS ABLE TO CRANK CAR. CALLED DEALERSHIP IN TOWN, BROUGHT CAR IN AND THEY SAID, "NOTHING IS WRONG WITH YOUR CAR, COME AND GET IT" PICKED UP CAR. 2 DAYS LATER WHILE DRIVING IT DOWN OUR STREET, I STOPPED TO GET MAIL ABOUT 9PM AND THE CAR TOTALLY DIED. NO POWER AT ALL. WAS STUCK IN PARK HAD TO BE TOWED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THE CAR SHUTS DOWN WHILE I AM DRIVING!!! THANK GOD THAT IT HAS NOT HAPPENED WHILE GOING 65 MILES AN HOUR WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR. CAR IS AT DEALERSHIP. HAVE ONLY HAD THE CAR SEVERAL MONTHS. NOT A GOOD TRACK RECORD SO FAR! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/23/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 11/14/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 960736

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC1CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FLEX. THE CONTACT ENTERED THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR AND HER LEG WAS SEVERELY PUNCTURED BY A SHARP CORNER ON THE SEAT BRACKET. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A DEEP LACERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO COVERED THE POINTED CORNER AREA OF THE SEAT BRACKET. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/27/2013

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 01/27/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 966931

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC9CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 2012 NEW FORD FLEX HAD COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE 3 TIMES 1-27 DRIVING..COMPLETE SHUT DOWN. I CRUISED TO CURB. RESTARTED QUICKLY 2-01 SAME INCIDENT 2-02 REPEAT ON MAJOR STREET DEALERS HAVE SAID THAT THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO. THEY HAVE HD MY VEHICLE SINCE 2-02. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/17/2013

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 01/08/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 988108

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6DT2CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE TRAVELING THROUGH VIRGINIA TO PENNSYLVANIA, THE FRONT BRAKES VIBRATE/PULSATE UPON LIGHT BRAKING. SEEMS AS THOUGH THE BRAKES WERE OVERHEATING IN THE MOUNTAINS. AT TIMES, THE PULSATING WAS VIOLENT ENOUGH TO TRANSMIT THROUGH THE VEHICLE AND STEERING WHEEL AND FLOOR. AFTER A LONG BREAK AT A STOP FOR LUNCH, THE PROBLEM LESSENS BUT RETURNS AFTER DRIVING VEHICLE PROBABLY 30 MINUTES OR SO. THESE MOMENTS OF PULSATION, THERE IS A NOTICEABLE REDUCTION OF BRAKING EFFECTIVENESS. THE PROBLEMS HAVE WORSENED SINCE JANUARY AND NOW THE PULSATIONS ARE HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY AND AT SLOWER SPEEDS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/23/2013

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 06/08/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 989667

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5BC5CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE ARE SEVERAL DIFFERENT INCIDENCES THAT HAVE OCCURRED. (1) WHILE TURNING A CORNER OR SLOWING DOWN THE A/C WILL SHUT DOWN. (2) THE CONTROL PANEL INSTRUMENTS WILL GO ALL THE WAY OVER TO THE RIGHT AND THEN SURGE FORWARD WHEN TURNING A CORNER. (3) CAR HAS DIED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS ESPECIALLY WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE ONTO HIGHWAY. (4) A/C WILL TURN ON BY ITSELF AND BLOW ON MAXIMUM EVEN WHEN POWER SWITCH IS TURNED OFF. (5) WHEN CAR LOSES POWER, ALL CODES ARE RESET SO DEALER IS UNABLE TO GET A CLEAR REASON WHY CAR IS DOING THIS. WE HAD A BLACK BOX INSTALLED FOR TWO WEEKS WITH SOME RESULTS PINPOINTED BUT AFTER IT WAS "FIXED" WE CONTINUE TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. DEALER CONNECTED A COMPUTER WHILE WE DROVE AROUND BLOCK AND THE COMPUTER DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT WE WERE PUSHING THE BRAKE AND GAS AT SAME TIME...NOT POSSIBLE! THE READING WAS THAT THE BRAKE HAD BEEN TOUCHED MORE THAN 2000 TIMES WHILE DRIVING 20 MILES. WE HAVE HAD THIS CAR IN REPAIR SHOP 8 TIMES AND NO RESOLUTION YET. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD STAND BEHIND VEHICLE WITH AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AT NO COST WHILE WE TRIED TO FIND PROBLEMS BUT NOW WARRANTY IS UP AND THEY WANT US TO PAY FOR EXTENDED WARRANTY. WE WERE TOLD BY DEALERSHIP THAT IF WE APPLY FOR LEMON LAW THAT WE WOULD MOST LIKELY LOSE THE CASE AND IT WOULD ONLY COST US MONEY. ACCORDING TO TEXAS LAW...THIS CAR DEFINITELY QUALIFIES~ WE ARE WAITING TO HEAR FROM OUR ATTORNEY. I HOPE NO ONE ELSE BUYS THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE~ *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/01/2014

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 02/28/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1043010

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6CC5CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO MAINTAIN OR INCREASE ENGINE POWER: PRESSING DOWN THE THROTTLE HAD NO EFFECT. FIRST I THOUGHT THE ENGINE HAD STALLED. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS THE ENGINE DID FUNCTION AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES BEFORE, BUT ONLY INTERMITTENTLY. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM FOR ME BECAUSE IF IT HAPPENS WHILE I AM PASSING A CAR I AM LOSING A MAJOR CONTROL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/01/2014

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 02/28/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1043011

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6CC5CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO MAINTAIN OR INCREASE ENGINE POWER: PRESSING DOWN THE THROTTLE HAD NO EFFECT. FIRST I THOUGHT THE ENGINE HAD STALLED. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS THE ENGINE DID FUNCTION AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES BEFORE, BUT ONLY INTERMITTENTLY. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM FOR ME BECAUSE IF IT HAPPENS WHILE I AM PASSING A CAR I AM LOSING A MAJOR CONTROL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2014

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 12/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 1092150

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6CC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH ADVANCE TRAC AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. OCCURS EVERY FIVE TO SIX MONTHS. SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC INDICATOR COMES ON ALONG WITH CONTROL ISSUES IN RAIN AND SNOW, BRAKE LIGHTS NOT SHUTTING OFF, CRUISE CONTROL NOT OPERATING AND IGNITION SYSTEM HAS QUIT WORKING. NOT ALL OF THIS HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME BUT THE RECURRING ISSUE IS THE ADVANCE TRAC SYSTEM AND THEN ANOTHER PART OF THE SYSTEM FAILS OR HAS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC WARNING. *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2014

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 12/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 1092151

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6CC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH ADVANCE TRAC AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. OCCURS EVERY FIVE TO SIX MONTHS. SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC INDICATOR COMES ON ALONG WITH CONTROL ISSUES IN RAIN AND SNOW, BRAKE LIGHTS NOT SHUTTING OFF, CRUISE CONTROL NOT OPERATING AND IGNITION SYSTEM HAS QUIT WORKING. NOT ALL OF THIS HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME BUT THE RECURRING ISSUE IS THE ADVANCE TRAC SYSTEM AND THEN ANOTHER PART OF THE SYSTEM FAILS OR HAS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC WARNING. *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2014

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 12/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 1092152

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6CC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH ADVANCE TRAC AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. OCCURS EVERY FIVE TO SIX MONTHS. SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC INDICATOR COMES ON ALONG WITH CONTROL ISSUES IN RAIN AND SNOW, BRAKE LIGHTS NOT SHUTTING OFF, CRUISE CONTROL NOT OPERATING AND IGNITION SYSTEM HAS QUIT WORKING. NOT ALL OF THIS HAPPEN AT THE SAME TIME BUT THE RECURRING ISSUE IS THE ADVANCE TRAC SYSTEM AND THEN ANOTHER PART OF THE SYSTEM FAILS OR HAS PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC WARNING. *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 08/07/2014

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/06/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1096353

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6DT7CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TRAVELING STRAIGHT DOWN A MAIN, 2 LANE ROAD, THE VEHICLE CHIMED AND I RECEIVED TWO ERRORS ON THE DIAGNOSTIC SCREEN. FIRST WAS FOR POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT AND THE SECOND WAS ADVANCE TRAC FAULT. THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS DISABLED AND THE STEERING WHEEL HAD GONE STIFF. I WAS ABLE TO DO A ROLLING RESTART (NEUTRAL, KEY OFF, RESTART, BACK INTO DRIVE) WITHOUT INCIDENT, THE WARNINGS ON THE DASH CLEARED, AND THE POWER STEERING WAS RESTORED. GIVEN ANY WINDING ROAD OR TURNING INTO OR OUT OF TRAFFIC SCENARIO, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH MORE TREACHEROUS. I FELT I SHOULD BRING THIS TO YOUR ATTENTION, AS IT APPEARS THIS IS A COMMON SITUATION, EVIDENCED BY AN INTERNET SEARCH. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/26/2014

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/18/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1103218

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TOUCH SCREEN WENT COMPLETELY BLANK. COULD NOT OPERATE ANYTHING ASSOCIATED WITH TOUCHSCREEN. CALLED DEALER, TOLD ME THEY COULD GET IT IN NEXT WEEK. ARE YOU KIDDING. LOOKED ON LINE FOR HELP. ENDED UP DISCONNECTING BATTERY, AND RECONNECTING. WORKS NOW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/04/2015

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 03/02/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1163345

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC3CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS REVERSING FROM MY DRIVEWAY GOING LESS THAN 5 MILES PER HR. WHEN MY VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN GOING AT A FAST SPEED LOSING TOTAL CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN FINALLY STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND DIED OUT. I COULD OF KILLED SOMEONE OR HIT SOMETHING IF THEY WERE BEHIND ME. I TOOK MY FLEX TO SERVICE DEPT. AT DEALERSHIP AS IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY. IT WAS REPLACED AND NO MENTION OF RECALL. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/04/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 03/02/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1163346

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC3CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS REVERSING FROM MY DRIVEWAY GOING LESS THAN 5 MILES PER HR. WHEN MY VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN GOING AT A FAST SPEED LOSING TOTAL CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN FINALLY STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND DIED OUT. I COULD OF KILLED SOMEONE OR HIT SOMETHING IF THEY WERE BEHIND ME. I TOOK MY FLEX TO SERVICE DEPT. AT DEALERSHIP AS IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY. IT WAS REPLACED AND NO MENTION OF RECALL. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/21/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1168501

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE RIGHT REAR DOOR SENSOR SAYS THAT THE DOOR IS OPEN WHEN IT IS NOT. USED TO BE ABLE TO TRY TO CLOSING IT A FEW TIMES BUT THAT NO LONGER WORKS. NOW I CANNOT LOCK MY CAR BECAUSE MY CAR ALARM KEEPS GOING OFF THINKING THAT SOMEONE IS TRYING TO OPEN THE DOOR. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT IT, THEY SAID "I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT". I RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE OF APPROXIMATELY $300 TO GET IT FIXED - EVEN THOUGH THERE IS REALLY NOTHING WRONG AT ALL - THE DOOR IS CLOSED. IT HAS NOW HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES WITH THE RIGHT FRONT DOOR. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/21/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1168502

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE RIGHT REAR DOOR SENSOR SAYS THAT THE DOOR IS OPEN WHEN IT IS NOT. USED TO BE ABLE TO TRY TO CLOSING IT A FEW TIMES BUT THAT NO LONGER WORKS. NOW I CANNOT LOCK MY CAR BECAUSE MY CAR ALARM KEEPS GOING OFF THINKING THAT SOMEONE IS TRYING TO OPEN THE DOOR. WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT IT, THEY SAID "I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT". I RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE OF APPROXIMATELY $300 TO GET IT FIXED - EVEN THOUGH THERE IS REALLY NOTHING WRONG AT ALL - THE DOOR IS CLOSED. IT HAS NOW HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES WITH THE RIGHT FRONT DOOR. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2015

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 06/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1204551

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THERE WAS A SUDDEN METAL ON METAL SOUND. SHORTLY AFTER THIS NOISE STARTED THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL AND THEN VISIBLE SMOKE FROM THE WHEEL. I PULLED OVER TO EVALUATE THE NOISE AND SMOKE. THE RADIANT HEAT FROM THE WHEEL CAUSED THE FIBERGLASS PANEL ON THE SIDE OF THE CAR TO HEAT UP. THIS HEAT CAUSED A 3RD DEGREE BURN TO THE TIP OF A FINGER. THE VEHICLE WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP EVALUATED IT AND STATED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR CALIPER FROZE. THE DAY AFTER THE FLEX WAS RETURNED "FIXED", THE PASSENGER SIDE CALIPER FROZE. IT DID THE SAME THING AS THE DRIVERS SIDE (MADE THE SUDDEN METAL ON METAL SOUND, SMOKED AND HEATED UP). THE FLEX WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE THE OTHER CALIPER WAS REPLACED. THE FLEX WAS RETURNED LATER THAT DAY "FIXED". UPON DRIVING HOME, BOTH THE RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPER RE-FROZE. AFTER MULTIPLE VISITS TO THE DEALERSHIP, I DECIDED TO TAKE MY FLEX TO A TRUSTED BRAKE SHOP FOR A SECOND OPINION. THE SHOP STATED BOTH RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPERS WERE SEIZED. THEY ADVISED THE PARTS WERE INCORRECTLY INSTALLED. THEY WERE ABLE TO MAKE THE NECESSARY REPAIRS AND CORRECTIONS TO FIX THE RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPER. I HAVE HAD NO ISSUES SINCE THE SHOP DID THE REPAIRS.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2015

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 06/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1204552

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED THERE WAS A SUDDEN METAL ON METAL SOUND. SHORTLY AFTER THIS NOISE STARTED THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL AND THEN VISIBLE SMOKE FROM THE WHEEL. I PULLED OVER TO EVALUATE THE NOISE AND SMOKE. THE RADIANT HEAT FROM THE WHEEL CAUSED THE FIBERGLASS PANEL ON THE SIDE OF THE CAR TO HEAT UP. THIS HEAT CAUSED A 3RD DEGREE BURN TO THE TIP OF A FINGER. THE VEHICLE WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP EVALUATED IT AND STATED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR CALIPER FROZE. THE DAY AFTER THE FLEX WAS RETURNED "FIXED", THE PASSENGER SIDE CALIPER FROZE. IT DID THE SAME THING AS THE DRIVERS SIDE (MADE THE SUDDEN METAL ON METAL SOUND, SMOKED AND HEATED UP). THE FLEX WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE THE OTHER CALIPER WAS REPLACED. THE FLEX WAS RETURNED LATER THAT DAY "FIXED". UPON DRIVING HOME, BOTH THE RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPER RE-FROZE. AFTER MULTIPLE VISITS TO THE DEALERSHIP, I DECIDED TO TAKE MY FLEX TO A TRUSTED BRAKE SHOP FOR A SECOND OPINION. THE SHOP STATED BOTH RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPERS WERE SEIZED. THEY ADVISED THE PARTS WERE INCORRECTLY INSTALLED. THEY WERE ABLE TO MAKE THE NECESSARY REPAIRS AND CORRECTIONS TO FIX THE RIGHT AND LEFT REAR CALIPER. I HAVE HAD NO ISSUES SINCE THE SHOP DID THE REPAIRS.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/23/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/23/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1212582

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5DC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY IN RAIN STORM, MID MORNING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF. PULLED OFF HIGHWAY AND SET HEADLIGHT CONTROL TO ALL FOUR POSITIONS AND ALL LIGHTS REMAINED OFF REGARDLESS OF CONTROL POSITION. SHUT ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED. LIGHTS CAME ON IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. SET TO AUTO FUNCTION AND RETURNED TO HIGHWAY TO GO HOME. STILL RAINING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON. TRAVELED APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES WHEN ALL LIGHTS SHUT OFF AGAIN. AFTER REACHING HOME, SHUT ENGINE OFF. RESTARTED AND LIGHTS WORK IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. WILL RETEST AGAIN WITH SECOND DRIVER TO VERIFY CIRCUMSTANCES

Date Complaint Filed: 08/23/2015

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/23/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1212583

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5DC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY IN RAIN STORM, MID MORNING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF. PULLED OFF HIGHWAY AND SET HEADLIGHT CONTROL TO ALL FOUR POSITIONS AND ALL LIGHTS REMAINED OFF REGARDLESS OF CONTROL POSITION. SHUT ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED. LIGHTS CAME ON IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. SET TO AUTO FUNCTION AND RETURNED TO HIGHWAY TO GO HOME. STILL RAINING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON. TRAVELED APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES WHEN ALL LIGHTS SHUT OFF AGAIN. AFTER REACHING HOME, SHUT ENGINE OFF. RESTARTED AND LIGHTS WORK IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. WILL RETEST AGAIN WITH SECOND DRIVER TO VERIFY CIRCUMSTANCES

Date Complaint Filed: 08/23/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/23/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1212584

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5DC4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY IN RAIN STORM, MID MORNING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON, INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF. PULLED OFF HIGHWAY AND SET HEADLIGHT CONTROL TO ALL FOUR POSITIONS AND ALL LIGHTS REMAINED OFF REGARDLESS OF CONTROL POSITION. SHUT ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED. LIGHTS CAME ON IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. SET TO AUTO FUNCTION AND RETURNED TO HIGHWAY TO GO HOME. STILL RAINING, WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON. TRAVELED APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES WHEN ALL LIGHTS SHUT OFF AGAIN. AFTER REACHING HOME, SHUT ENGINE OFF. RESTARTED AND LIGHTS WORK IN ALL CONTROL POSITIONS. WILL RETEST AGAIN WITH SECOND DRIVER TO VERIFY CIRCUMSTANCES

Date Complaint Filed: 08/31/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/30/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1214930

Squish VIN: 1FAHP3K20CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DOOR SWUNG OPEN IN PARKING LOT. DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE AT ALL AND IT WILL NOT LATCH, CAR IS NOT DRIVABLE. IT COULD HAVE CAUSED INJURY OR DAMAGE IF THE DOOR HIT SOMEONE.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/01/2016

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 01/18/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1257806

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE RIGHT REAR DOOR SENSOR SAYS THAT THE DOOR IS OPEN WHEN IT IS NOT. TRIED TO CLOSE IT A FEW TIMES BUT THAT DIDN'T WORK. NOW I CAN'T LOCK MY CAR AT NIGHT BECAUSE MY CAR ALARM WILL GO OFF THINKING THAT SOMEONE IS TRYING TO BREAK IN. IT HAS NOW HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY SIX OR SEVEN TIMES NOW. I SEE THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/02/2016

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 01/04/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1258204

Squish VIN: 2FMHK6DT4CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING I EXPERIENCED A TOTAL LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND THE DASHBOARD FLASHED "POWER ASSIST FAILURE". THIS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES OVER THE COURSE OF TWO WEEKS. I'VE TAKEN THE CAR IN TO SOUND FORD IN RENTON, WA AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A KNOWN RECALL ISSUE (#15S18). MY COMPLAINT IS WITH REGARD TO THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. BOTH THE DEALER AND THE FORD CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER HAVE TOLD ME THAT THE PART ( A STEERING GEAR) IS ON ENDLESS BACKORDER DUE TO MANUFACTURING DELAYS. DRIVING THE CAR AT THIS POINT IS DANGEROUS AND I'M LOOKING FOR SUPPORT IN GETTING THE REPLACEMENT PART FROM FORD AND HAVING THE REPAIR DONE.

Date Complaint Filed: 03/19/2016

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 03/19/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1269421

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5BCXCB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY FORD FLEX HAS A TOTAL OF 82000 MILES ON IT. I LIVE IN UPSTATE NEW YORK. I HAVE HAD THREE INSTANCES WHERE THE REAR BRAKE CALIPERS STICK AND SEVERELY REQUIRE BOTH PAD AND ROTOR REPLACEMENT. AT 60 YEARS OLD I CAN'T HEAR THE HIGH PITCHED SQUEALING BUT ON TWO OCCASIONS MY SON HAS NOTICE AND UPON STOPPING TO CHECK FOR THE NOISE, THE REAR WHEEL IS TOO HOT TO EVEN TOUCH. IN ONE INSTANCE THE PAD WAS COMPLETELY WORN TO THE METAL NO DOUBT RESULTING IN LOSE OF BRAKING POWER. THE FREQUENCY OF THIS PROBLEM IS DISTURBING. THE ONLY DOCUMENTATION I HAVE IS THE RECEIPTS FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/19/2016

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 06/02/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1309971

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC7CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

FUEL GAUGE WILL ONLY REGISTER 1/2 FULL MAX. WHEN TANK IS FULL AND KEY TURNED ON THE GAUGE WILL INITIALLY GO TO FULL, THEN QUICKLY FALL TO 1/2 WITH A CORRESPONDING DISTANCE TO EMPTY READING.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/26/2016

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Ford Motor Company

Date Of Incident: 08/24/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1312217

Squish VIN: 2FMGK5CC9CB

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS BACKING MY CAR INTO A PARKING SPACE, TURNING MY WHEEL ALL THE WAY TO THE RIGHT WHEN I HEARO AND FELT A NOISE IN THE STEERING COLUMN AND THEN ALL POWER STEERING ASSIST COMPLETELY ENDED MAKING THE CAR GO INTO MANUAL STEERING MODE. VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER AND POTENTIALLY HAZARDOUS BEING SO SUDDEN. THERE IS A RECALL OUT FOR THE POWER ASSIST STEERING ALREADY AND MY FLEX FITS ALL THE SAME CRITERIA AS THE RECALL YET ITS NOT INVOLVED IN THE RECALL. SAME PLANT, SAME BUILDING YEAR, SAME MODEL YEAR, AND SAME AREA AFFECTED AS OTHER CARS IN THE RECALL BUT MY VIN ISN'T INCLUDED. THIS IS NOTHING THAT I'VE DONE TO THE VEHICLE PERSONALLY TO MAKE THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION. I BELIEVE IT'S A MANUFACTURER ERROR THAT NEEDS REPLACED IN THE RECALL. IT COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS AS I WAS IN AN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL PARKING LOT WITH ALOT OF LITTLE KIDS WALKING AROUND ALSO HAVE 3 IN THE CAR WITH ME. MY HUSBAND WAS LIED TO MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE PHONE FROM FM EMPLOYEES ABOUT THE NATURE OF THIS RECALL AND HOW OR WHY OUR VEHICLE WASN'T INCLUDED. OUR VEHICLE CAME OUT OF THE SAME PLANT DURING THE SAME TIME THE OTHER AFFECTED VEHICLES DID AND IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS THOSE AFFECTED AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode