Home / Complaints ( HYUNDAI SONATA 2011 )

HYUNDAI SONATA 2011

Sonata

The Hyundai Sonata is really a comfortable and pleasant midsize sedan that proves Hyundai can take shape cars that aren't just easy around the pocketbook, but additionally simple to accept too. Like the majority of automobiles within the midsize sedan class, the Sonata offers front-wheel drive, numerous security features along with a selection of trim levels which include sporty and plush variants. Setting the Sonata apart, however, is Hyundai's lower prices and outstanding warranty coverage.


Date Complaint Filed: 03/17/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/16/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 777974

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC7BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA: I HAD HEARD ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH RECALL ON MY NEW SONATA VIA NEWS REPORTS. I PURCHASED THIS SONATA ON FEB 16TH,2010. SO,I CALLED AND THE DEALER(ST.AUGUSTINE HYUNDAI)SAID I WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE DOOR LATCH RECALL. THE DEALER SAID THERE WAS 2 BULLETINS ON MY SONATA ANYHOW. #1,THE IGNITION WIRE NEEDS REROUTING OR IT COULD BECOME AFRAID. #2,THE ECM COMPUTER NEEDED RE-PROGRAMMING AT THAT TIME WITH AN EXPLANATION THAT SOME NEW SOFTWARE FROM HYUNDAI WHEN IT ARRIVED TO THE DEALER,THEY WOULD CHECK THE PARAMETERS OF THE ECM COMPUTER PROGRAM. NOW,I HAVEN'T TO THIS DATE RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION REGARDING ANY OF THESE 3 ISSUES WITH MY NEW 2011 SONATA FROM ANYONE IN THE MAIL? ON 3/16/2010 YESTERDAY I RECEIVED A CALL FROM HYUNDAI USA CORPORATION. THE MAN SAID MY CAR" IS" AFFECTED NOW BY THE DOOR LATCH RECALL. I DIDN'T ASK HIM ABOUT THE OTHER 2 BULLETINS MENTIONED BY THE DEALER NOR DID HE MENTION THEM TO ME. HE SAID I WOULD RECEIVE A LETTER ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH RECALL SOON. BUT NOTHING AGAIN ABOUT THE OTHER 2 ISSUES? I HAVE BEEN ON HOLD FOR 45 MINS ONCE TODAY AND 35 MINS YESTERDAY AND JUST HUNG UP BECAUSE ITS BEEN TOO DIFFICULT GETTING ANYONE AT HYUNDAI,THE PRESS(OR SPEAK) RECALL OPTION TO ROUTE ONES CALL ON PHONE OR DEPT SAID ITS HAVING HIGH CALL VOLUME DUE TO RECENT RECALLS.I CALLED ST.AUGUSTINE HYUNDAI BACK YESTERDAY AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID IT'S SHOWING NOW ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH AND THE OTHER 2 ISSUES STILL EXIST LIKE HE TOLD BE WEEKS BACK ALREADY ON THE PHONE. I ASKED WHAT NEEDS REPROGRAMMED WITH THE ECM COMPUTER. HE ASKED ME TO HOLD,CAME BACK AND SAID IF THAT ISN'T TENDED TOO. THE ENGINE COULD STALL OR THE CAR MIGHT SUDDENLY BE ABLE TO GO NO FASTER THEN 20MPH. THIS SOUNDS UNSAFE AND I HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY LETTER OFFICIAL FROM HYUNDAI CORPORATION. IF I'M DRIVING AND MY CAR STALLS OR I'M ON THE FREEWAY AND THE CAR DROPS FROM 70MPH TO 20MPH WITHOUT MY DESIRE TO DO SO IS UNSAFE?THEY SUPPOSEDLY SPENT 4 YEARS DEVELOPING THE VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/17/2010

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/16/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 777975

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC7BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA: I HAD HEARD ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH RECALL ON MY NEW SONATA VIA NEWS REPORTS. I PURCHASED THIS SONATA ON FEB 16TH,2010. SO,I CALLED AND THE DEALER(ST.AUGUSTINE HYUNDAI)SAID I WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE DOOR LATCH RECALL. THE DEALER SAID THERE WAS 2 BULLETINS ON MY SONATA ANYHOW. #1,THE IGNITION WIRE NEEDS REROUTING OR IT COULD BECOME AFRAID. #2,THE ECM COMPUTER NEEDED RE-PROGRAMMING AT THAT TIME WITH AN EXPLANATION THAT SOME NEW SOFTWARE FROM HYUNDAI WHEN IT ARRIVED TO THE DEALER,THEY WOULD CHECK THE PARAMETERS OF THE ECM COMPUTER PROGRAM. NOW,I HAVEN'T TO THIS DATE RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION REGARDING ANY OF THESE 3 ISSUES WITH MY NEW 2011 SONATA FROM ANYONE IN THE MAIL? ON 3/16/2010 YESTERDAY I RECEIVED A CALL FROM HYUNDAI USA CORPORATION. THE MAN SAID MY CAR" IS" AFFECTED NOW BY THE DOOR LATCH RECALL. I DIDN'T ASK HIM ABOUT THE OTHER 2 BULLETINS MENTIONED BY THE DEALER NOR DID HE MENTION THEM TO ME. HE SAID I WOULD RECEIVE A LETTER ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH RECALL SOON. BUT NOTHING AGAIN ABOUT THE OTHER 2 ISSUES? I HAVE BEEN ON HOLD FOR 45 MINS ONCE TODAY AND 35 MINS YESTERDAY AND JUST HUNG UP BECAUSE ITS BEEN TOO DIFFICULT GETTING ANYONE AT HYUNDAI,THE PRESS(OR SPEAK) RECALL OPTION TO ROUTE ONES CALL ON PHONE OR DEPT SAID ITS HAVING HIGH CALL VOLUME DUE TO RECENT RECALLS.I CALLED ST.AUGUSTINE HYUNDAI BACK YESTERDAY AND SPOKE TO SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID IT'S SHOWING NOW ABOUT THE DOOR LATCH AND THE OTHER 2 ISSUES STILL EXIST LIKE HE TOLD BE WEEKS BACK ALREADY ON THE PHONE. I ASKED WHAT NEEDS REPROGRAMMED WITH THE ECM COMPUTER. HE ASKED ME TO HOLD,CAME BACK AND SAID IF THAT ISN'T TENDED TOO. THE ENGINE COULD STALL OR THE CAR MIGHT SUDDENLY BE ABLE TO GO NO FASTER THEN 20MPH. THIS SOUNDS UNSAFE AND I HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY LETTER OFFICIAL FROM HYUNDAI CORPORATION. IF I'M DRIVING AND MY CAR STALLS OR I'M ON THE FREEWAY AND THE CAR DROPS FROM 70MPH TO 20MPH WITHOUT MY DESIRE TO DO SO IS UNSAFE?THEY SUPPOSEDLY SPENT 4 YEARS DEVELOPING THE VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/29/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/28/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 780520

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC2BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I OWNED THE CAR FOR A WEEK. THERE WAS NO WARNING. I WAS DRIVING AROUND 40 MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL WHIPPED TO THE LEFT AND PULLED ME INTO THE OTHER LANE. THE WHEEL WAS SHAKING AND DIDN'T WANT TO TURN TO THE RIGHT. I HAD TO FIGHT TO BRING IT BACK OVER, AND HAD TO USE ALL OF MY STRENGTH TO KEEP IT OVER. THANK GOD THERE WEREN'T ANY ONCOMING VEHICLES. THEN THE POWER STEERING WAS GONE. AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, I USED MY CELL PHONE TO VIDEO THE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATING AND JERKING TO THE LEFT WHILE IN PARK. IT WAS SUNDAY, SO THE DEALER TOLD ME TO CALL ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE. I HAD TO CALL MY SON TO PICK US UP. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. I TOLD THEM THAT I AM SCARED TO DEATH OF THE CAR AND DON'T WANT IT. THEY SAID THAT THEY ARE LOOKING AT IT AND THEY WILL FIX THE PROBLEM AND EVERYTHING WILL BE FINE. I DON'T WANT TO KILL ANYONE WITH THIS CAR, AND I DON'T WANT THE CAR TO KILL ME AND MY FAMILY EITHER. I DON'T WANT THE CAR BACK! UPDATE 8/24/2010 VIDEO CW

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/17/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 785868

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC6BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BRAKES PULSATED AND MADE A GRINDING NOISE WHEN SHE ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN. THE VEHICLE THEN SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT FIVE MINUTES, THE ENGINE STALLED AGAIN. THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 470. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 220.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/26/2010

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/20/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 786470

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC0BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA GLS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. INSERT KEY TO START ENGINE. WHEN I WANT TO TURN OFF ENGINE, THE KEY WILL NOT GO PAST ACC. I PUSH IN THE KEY AND TRY TO TURN KEY INTO THE LOCK POSITION, IT WILL NOT GO INTO THE LOCK POSITION. I HAVE TO FIDDLE AROUND WITH THE RELEASE SWITCH, AND SHIFTER ON THE SHIFTER ARM. EVENTUALLY I CAN GET THE KEY OUT. THE ENGINE DOES SHUT OFF, BUT CAN'T LEAVE CAR, BECAUSE IT CAN BE STARTED AGAIN. I CAN'T LEAVE THE CAR BECAUSE THE CAR CAN BE STARTED WITHOUT ME BEING THERE. THIS FAILURE HAPPENS ALMOST EVERY TIME I TRY TO TURN OFF THE CAR. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK TO KING HYUNDAI FL, TWICE, WITHOUT THEM FIXING THE PROBLEM. I AM NOW WAITING FOR THEM TO REPLACE SOME PARTS TO THE SHIFTER ARM. IF THAT DOES NOT WORK, I WILL INVOKE THE LEMON LAW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/26/2010

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/20/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 786471

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC0BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA GLS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. INSERT KEY TO START ENGINE. WHEN I WANT TO TURN OFF ENGINE, THE KEY WILL NOT GO PAST ACC. I PUSH IN THE KEY AND TRY TO TURN KEY INTO THE LOCK POSITION, IT WILL NOT GO INTO THE LOCK POSITION. I HAVE TO FIDDLE AROUND WITH THE RELEASE SWITCH, AND SHIFTER ON THE SHIFTER ARM. EVENTUALLY I CAN GET THE KEY OUT. THE ENGINE DOES SHUT OFF, BUT CAN'T LEAVE CAR, BECAUSE IT CAN BE STARTED AGAIN. I CAN'T LEAVE THE CAR BECAUSE THE CAR CAN BE STARTED WITHOUT ME BEING THERE. THIS FAILURE HAPPENS ALMOST EVERY TIME I TRY TO TURN OFF THE CAR. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK TO KING HYUNDAI FL, TWICE, WITHOUT THEM FIXING THE PROBLEM. I AM NOW WAITING FOR THEM TO REPLACE SOME PARTS TO THE SHIFTER ARM. IF THAT DOES NOT WORK, I WILL INVOKE THE LEMON LAW. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 786855

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

JUST PURCHASED A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA, AS I WAS DRIVING HOME I WAS BESIDE A TRACTOR TRAILER WHO WAS ATTEMPTING TO TURN INTO MY LANE. HERE IS THE PROBLEM AS I LAID ON THE HORN I NOTICED IT'S NO LOUDER THAN THE ROAD RUNNER ON DISNEY CHANNEL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AND I THINK THIS SHOULD BE BROUGHT TO HYUNDAI ATTENTION ASAP. THIS HORN NEEDS TO BE CHANGED TO AN APPROPRIATE SOUND LEVEL SO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND DANGEROUS SITUATIONS CAN BE AVOIDED. I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THE BELIEVES HYUNDAI SHOULD ADDRESS THIS ISSUE AS I NOW SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE WEB ABOUT THE HORN JUST NOT BEING LOUD ENOUGH. HYUNDAI HAS COME ALONE WAY AND CERTAINLY HAS MADE A NAME FOR THEMSELVES AND I WOULD HATE TO SEE SOMEONE GET INJURED OR KILLED DO TO THE HORN NOT BEING ABLE TO GET ATTENTION AND AVOID ACCIDENTS... I HOPE NHTSA LOOKS INTO THIS ISSUE AND IT'S ADDRESSED BY HYUNDAI....THE HORN NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/01/2010

Component(s): EQUIPMENT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/29/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 787621

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC1BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WE TOOK DELIVERY OF OUR 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON 4/29/2010. AS WE WERE DRIVING HOME A CAR ON THE LANE NEXT TO US ON MY RIGHT HAND SIDE STARTED SHIFTING ONTO MY LANE. I BLEW THE HORN BUT HE STILL CUT ME OFF. AT THE LIGHT I ASKED THE PERSON WHO CUT ME OFF IF HE DIDN'T HEAR ME BLOWING MY HORN AT HIM AND HE SAID NO I AM REALLY SORRY BUT I DIDN'T SEE YOU AND I DIDN'T HEAR YOUR HORN EITHER. WHEN I GOT HOME I GOT INTO MY OTHER CAR AND STARTED IT WITH THE AC ON AND NO RADIO I ASKED MY WIFE TO PRESS THE HORN ON THE SONATA AND I CAN BARELY HEAR IT AND WE WERE JUST SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY WITH NO ROAD NOISE AND MY RADIO OFF. I LOOKED INTO THIS ISSUE ONLINE AND OTHERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE HORNS ON THEIR SONATA. HYUNDAI ALSO ADMITTED THAT THE HORN WAS WEAK BUT I STILL SEE NO CHANGE OR RECALL. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER BEFORE IT COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE OR A REAL BAD ACCIDENT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/01/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/29/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 787622

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC1BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WE TOOK DELIVERY OF OUR 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON 4/29/2010. AS WE WERE DRIVING HOME A CAR ON THE LANE NEXT TO US ON MY RIGHT HAND SIDE STARTED SHIFTING ONTO MY LANE. I BLEW THE HORN BUT HE STILL CUT ME OFF. AT THE LIGHT I ASKED THE PERSON WHO CUT ME OFF IF HE DIDN'T HEAR ME BLOWING MY HORN AT HIM AND HE SAID NO I AM REALLY SORRY BUT I DIDN'T SEE YOU AND I DIDN'T HEAR YOUR HORN EITHER. WHEN I GOT HOME I GOT INTO MY OTHER CAR AND STARTED IT WITH THE AC ON AND NO RADIO I ASKED MY WIFE TO PRESS THE HORN ON THE SONATA AND I CAN BARELY HEAR IT AND WE WERE JUST SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY WITH NO ROAD NOISE AND MY RADIO OFF. I LOOKED INTO THIS ISSUE ONLINE AND OTHERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE HORNS ON THEIR SONATA. HYUNDAI ALSO ADMITTED THAT THE HORN WAS WEAK BUT I STILL SEE NO CHANGE OR RECALL. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER BEFORE IT COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE OR A REAL BAD ACCIDENT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/03/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/20/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 787915

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC2BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA AND NOTICED UPON DELIVERY OF VEHICLE THAT THE HORN IS VERY WEAK. I HAVE USED THE HORN ON THE FREEWAY AND THE DRIVER OF THE OTHER CAR DID NOT EVEN HEAR ME. THIS IS A POTENTIAL PROBLEM IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION IF YOU WANT TO ALERT SOMEONE ON THE ROAD. I HOPE THIS GETS REPLACED SOON. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/14/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/13/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 790143

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC7BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A FOUR-LANE DIVIDED ROAD, IN LEFT LANE. DRIVER OF LARGE PICKUP TRUCK ON MY RIGHT ATTEMPTED TO CHANGE LANES INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. I HONKED BUT DO NOT BELIEVE MY VEHICLE'S HORN WAS AUDIBLE TO THE DRIVER OF THE TRUCK AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. WAS ABLE TO TAKE EVASIVE ACTION TO AVOID TRUCK WITHOUT COLLISION. THE HORN ON THIS VEHICLE IS VERY WEAK AND REPRESENTS A GLARING SAFETY HAZARD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/17/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 790700

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC9BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA SE - CONSTANT STEERING PROBLEM I HAD MY VEHICLE SERVICED FOR AN IDENTIFIED CONTINUOUS DRIFT OR PULL OF THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS FOR TWO WEEKS, AND COMPLETELY EXHAUSTED ALL THEIR KNOWN AND RECOMMENDED SERVICE FIXES PER HYUNDAI TECHNICAL SUPPORT. HYUNDAI TECHNICAL SUPPORT RECOMMEND THAT THE DEALERSHIP TO SUBMIT FOR A HYUNDAI ENGINEER TO LOOK AT THE VEHICLE. THE DEALERSHIP SUBMITTED FOR A HYUNDAI ENGINEER TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE. UPON RECEIVING AN APPROVED SERVICE NUMBER FOR THIS TO OCCUR THE HYUNDAI ENGINEER CONFIRMED AND IDENTIFIED THE DRIFT/PULL OF THE VEHICLE. THE HYUNDAI ENGINEER ATTEMPTED SEVERAL ADJUSTMENTS TO THE ALIGNMENT, SUB FRAME AND COMPUTER SYSTEM. NOTHING FIXED THE IDENTIFIED DRIFT/PULL ISSUE. THE HYUNDAI ENGINEER, DEALERSHIP SERVICE MANAGER AND DEALERSHIP TECHNICIAN ALL DROVE ANOTHER VEHICLE OFF THE LOT FROM THE UNSOLD DEALERSHIP INVENTORY AND IDENTIFIED THE SAME DRIFT/PULL OF THE STEERING SYSTEM IN THAT VEHICLE TOO. THEY NOTED THAT MY VEHICLE DRIFTED/PULLED LESS THAN THE OTHER VEHICLE THEY DROVE FROM DEALERSHIP INVENTORY. UNABLE TO FIX THE CONSTANT DRIFTING/PULLING OF THE VEHICLE STEERING SYSTEM THE HYUNDAI ENGINEER CERTIFIED THE CONSTANT DRIFT/PULL AS A "NATURAL" DESIGN EFFECT OF THE VEHICLE. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT THIS PROBLEM ISN'T A SLIGHT DRIFT/PULL OF THE VEHICLE, BUT A CONSTANT DRIFT/PULL PITTING THE DRIVER AGAINST THE STEERING SYSTEM. TAKE YOUR HAND OFF THE STEERING WHEEL FOR A SLIGHT MOMENT AND THE VEHICLE VEERS OFF CENTER TO THE LEFT. THIS IN MY OPINION SHOULD NOT BE A "NATURAL" OCCURRENCE OF ANY VEHICLE. ACTUALLY, EDMUNDS.COM NOTED THIS EXACT OCCURRENCE IN TWO SEPARATE INSIDE LANE REVIEWS OF THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THIS IS NOT A ONE VEHICLE INCIDENT, BUT A MANUFACTURER DESIGN FLAW OF THE NEW ELECTRONIC POWERED STEERING SYSTEM. THE ARE NO SERVICE BULLETINS AT THIS TIME TO ADDRESS THIS CONSTANT DRIFT/PULL OF THE VEHICLE. THUS, LEAVING ME NO RECOURSE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/22/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/19/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 791699

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC3BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA ON 5/11/2010, AND NOTICED THAT THE HORN ISN'T LOUD ENOUGH FOR OTHERS TO HEAR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/24/2010

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/26/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 792003

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC4BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA SE 16 DAYS OLD, 2018 MILES: CAR HAS AN "INTERMITTENT STARTING PROBLEM". IT HAS LEFT MY WIFE STRANDED AT WORK 3 TIMES, TWO OF THOSE TIMES IN A DESERTED PARKING LOT AFTER HOURS, ONCE AT THE DEALER WHEN I WAS CALLED TO PICK IT UP. IT HAS NOW BEEN OUT OF SERVICE FOR 18.5 DAYS SINCE APRIL 26, 2010. IT HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOUR TIMES SINCE APRIL 26, 2010 AND REMAINS THERE AT THIS TIME. DEALER HAS CONFIRMED BATTERY IS ALWAYS AT FULL CHARGE, THEY HAVE CHANGED BOTH STARTER SYSTEM RELAYS, REPLACED THE STARTER, CHECKED TRANSMISSION NEUTRAL POSITION SENSORS. SAFETY ISSUE: LEAVING A FEMALE DRIVER IN AN UNSAFE AND UNPROTECTED SITUATION. DUE TO THE NON STARTING ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/24/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 792118

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC7BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE DOWN A FOUR LANE ROAD AND ANOTHER VEHICLE DRIVING PARALLEL TO ME STARTED CREEPING INTO MY LANE. I APPLIED THE HORN OF MY VEHICLE BUT THE OTHER DRIVER FAILED TO HEAR ME. I HAD TO SWERVE OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID THEM. I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE HORN IN MY CAR IS VERY WEAK COMPARED TO PREVIOUS CARS I OWN, AND AM CONCERNED ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE HEARING IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/25/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 792296

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC3BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA HORN IS SO WEAK AS TO BE INAUDIBLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. IT NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED TO A DUAL TONE IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT FROM NOT HEARING THE HORN. ON A CAR OF THIS CALIBER, THERE IS NO EXCUSE. I HOPE I GET A NOTICE TO BRING MINE 2 DAY OLD CAR WITH 370 MILES IN FOR A REPLACEMENT OF THE HORN. LANE CHANGE GOING HOME FROM DEALER CAUSED ME TO NOTICE THIS. SCARED BOTH MYSELF AND THE GUY TRYING TO SWERVE INTO MY LANE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/02/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 793566

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC9BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I RECENTLY PURCHASED 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA SE. VERY GREAT LOOKING CAR BUT ONLY AFTER COUPLE OF DAYS OWNING IT IT BECAME OBVIOUS THAT IS HAS SAFETY PROBLEMS. STEERING SYSTEM IS SIGNIFICANTLY PULLING THE CAR TO THE LEFT. I TOOK IT TO HYUNDAI SERVICE TWICE ALREADY. THE PROBLEM IS STILL NOT FIXED. OVER THE LAST WEEKEND I WAS DRIVING WITH MY WIFE AND OUR 4 MONTHS OLD BABY. TASKS AS SIMPLE AS CHANGING AC TEMPERATURE BECAME DANGEROUS ON INTERSTATE. DUE TO THIS STEERING PROBLEM DRIVER CANNOT AFFORD EVEN SPLIT SECOND TO LOOK AT THE MID PANEL WHERE ALL THE CONTROLS ARE. I REALLY HAVE TO FIGHT WITH THE STEERING WHEEL TO KEEP THE CAR GOING STRAIGHT. AFTER 45 MINUTES OF DRIVING ON INTERSTATE MY ARMS WERE SORE FROM FIGHTING THE STEERING WHEEL. IS THIS NORMAL? ACCORDING TO THE HYUNDAI REP IT IS COMMON TO 2011 SONATA. I AM SUPPOSE TO JUST GET USED TO IT. THIS ONE MECHANIC CONFIRMED THAT EVERY OTHER SONATA OWNERS COME COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. YET SUPPOSEDLY IT IS NOT A PROBLEM. IT IS SIMPLY THE NATURE OF THE CAR. I DRIVEN MANY DIFFERENT MAKES AND MODELS. I NEVER EXPERIENCED SUCH A STRONG PULL. AND IF THERE WAS ANY PULL THEN IT WAS SIMPLE ALIGNMENT ISSUE THAT CAN BE FIXED PROMPTLY. NOT WITH SONATA!!! 2011 SONATA COULD HAVE BEEN A GREAT CAR. BUT IT HAS A DRAMATIC FLAW IN THE STEERING SYSTEM THAT NOONE KNOWS HOW TO FIX SO THEY BLAME IT ON "NATURE OF THE CAR". IT IS INTERESTING THAT BOTH MY COMPLAINT AND ANOTHER COMPLAINT ON THIS SITE, STATES THE SAME PHRASE FROM 2 DIFFERENT MECHANICS "NATURE OF THE BEAST/CAR". COULD IT BE THAT HYUNDAI ALREADY ADVISED ITS MECHANICS HOW TO COVER FOR THE BRAND? BOTTOM LINE, THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE! I ALMOST RAN INTO A PASSING CAR ON THE INTERSTATE BECAUSE OF THIS STEERING ISSUE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. [XXX] *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/04/2010

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/18/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 793944

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC6BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA GLS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. PROBLEM WITH IGNITION KEY. THE KEY WILL NOT GO PAST ACC TO THE LOCK POSITION TO ALLOW THE KEY TO BE REMOVED. FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS IN MANUAL TO PUSH THE KEY IN AT ACC POSITION, BUT THE LOCK MECHANISM DOES NOT MOVE. HAPPENS EVERY OTHER DAY. HAVE RESTART THE CAR AND MOVE IT AND TRY THE PROCESS AGAIN TO GET KEY TO MOVE INTO ITS PROPER POSITION (LOCK) TO REMOVE KEY. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO BOTH MYSELF AND MY WIFE. TAKING CAR TO DEALERSHIP. IMPOSSIBLE SECURITY SITUATION AS CANNOT LEAVE KEY IN VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/04/2010

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/18/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 793945

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC6BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 HYUNDAI SONATA GLS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. PROBLEM WITH IGNITION KEY. THE KEY WILL NOT GO PAST ACC TO THE LOCK POSITION TO ALLOW THE KEY TO BE REMOVED. FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS IN MANUAL TO PUSH THE KEY IN AT ACC POSITION, BUT THE LOCK MECHANISM DOES NOT MOVE. HAPPENS EVERY OTHER DAY. HAVE RESTART THE CAR AND MOVE IT AND TRY THE PROCESS AGAIN TO GET KEY TO MOVE INTO ITS PROPER POSITION (LOCK) TO REMOVE KEY. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO BOTH MYSELF AND MY WIFE. TAKING CAR TO DEALERSHIP. IMPOSSIBLE SECURITY SITUATION AS CANNOT LEAVE KEY IN VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/08/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/04/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 794863

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC9BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE CAR WILL NOT HOLD A STRAIGHT LINE ON A FLAT, STRAIGHT, HIGHWAY: AFTER CENTERING THE CAR IN IT'S LANE, THE CAR CONTINUOUSLY AND RANDOMLY: 1.DRIFTS AWAY FROM THE CENTER LINE, TOWARD ONE SIDE OR THE OTHER; 2.THE DIRECTION OF THE DRIFT APPEARS TO BE RANDOM AND UNPREDICTABLE; 3.THE AMPLITUDE (AMOUNT / SEVERITY) OF THE DRIFT IS RANDOM AND UNPREDICTABLE, BUT AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS A CRASH WOULD BE GUARANTEED WITHOUT DRIVER INTERVENTION WITHIN 3 TO 5 SECONDS; 4.THE TIMING OF THE DRIFT PATTERN IS CONSTANT: IT NEVER FOLLOWS A STRAIGHT LINE FOR MORE THAN A FEW SECONDS BEFORE STARTING TO WANDER AGAIN. TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC, THE DRIVER IS FORCED TO CONSTANTLY ATTEMPT TO CORRECT FOR THIS DEVIATION, BUT THE UNPREDICTABLE NATURE OF THE DRIFT PATTERN RESULTS IN A DANGEROUSLY UNSTABLE OSCILLATION AS THE CAR WANDERS BACK AND FORTH CONTINUOUSLY. AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, EVEN A MOMENTARY LAPSE IN THE TOTAL CONCENTRATION REQUIRED TO CORRECT FOR THIS CONSTANT STEERING DRIFT COULD EASILY RESULT IN A FATAL CRASH. THE DEALER HAS TEST-DRIVEN THE CAR AND FOUND THAT THE PROBLEM IS EASILY DUPLICATED, BUT THEY DO NOT HAVE A FIX FOR IT. THEY SAY THAT THIS KIND OF STEERING DRIFT IS NORMAL AND EXPECTED IN AN ELECTRONIC STEERING SYSTEM. THAT KIND OF REASONING WOULD BE LAUGHABLE IF IT WASN'T FOR THE POTENTIAL FATALITY INHERENT IN THE DESIGN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/18/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/15/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 796869

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC3BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TRAVELING AT AROUND 5MPH AFTER LEAVING A STOP SIGN, I PRESSED GAS PEDAL, TO MY SURPRISE NOTICED CAR WAS NOT REALLY GAINING ANY SPEED BUT INSTEAD, STEERING WHEEL STARTED MOVING, VIOLENTLY, WITH SUCH POWER, I COULD NOT EVEN PULL CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARKING AND THE VIOLENT STEERING WHEEL MOVEMENT CONTINUED. I THEN PROCEEDED TO TURN THE CAR OFF, TERRIFIED SOMETHING ELSE WAS GOING TO HAPPEN BUT NOTHING CHANGED: VIOLENT MOVEMENT OF STEERING WHEEL CONTINUE FROM SIDE TO SIDE FOR A TOTAL OF 25 MINUTES. THIS IS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA SE THAT I LEASED JUST A MONTH AGO. I WAS CONTACTED TODAY BY HYUNDAI AND WAS TOLD MY CAR WAS FIXED AND READY TO BE PICKED UP. AS I ASKED WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT THEY ANSWERED "A DEFECTIVE MECHANISM WAS FOUND AND THEY HAVE REPLACED THE STEERING WHEEL COLUMN". I SERIOUSLY WISH I DON'T HAVE TO GET THAT CAR BACK; AM STILL TERRIFIED BY THE HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. EVEN THOUGH HYUNDAI BELIEVE THIS A ISOLATED ISSUE, I WANTED TO PUT IT OUT THERE IN CASE IT HAPPENS AGAIN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/28/2010

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 798731

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4AC1BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

6/28/2010 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA: FRONT DOOR LOCKS ON PAGE 4/19 OF THE 2011 OWNER'S MANUAL SONATA IT STATES: "IF THE INNER DOOR HANDLE OF THE FRONT DOOR IS PULLED WHEN THE DOOR LOCK BUTTON IS IN LOCK POSITION, THE BUTTON IS UNLOCKED AND DOOR OPENS." I ASSUME THIS IS WHILE THE VEHICLE IS PARKED. I AM CONCERNED THAT I AM ABLE TO OPEN THE FRONT DOORS WHEN LOCKED AND IN MOTION. FURTHERMORE, ON PAGE 4/20 IT STATES: "WARNING - DOORS * THE DOORS SHOULD ALWAYS BE FULLY CLOSED AND LOCKED WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION TO PREVENT ACCIDENTAL OPENING OF THE DOOR. LOCKED DOORS ALSO DISCOURAGE POTENTIAL INTRUDERS WHEN THE VEHICLE STOPS OR SLOWS." WHAT GOOD IS THE FRONT DOOR LOCKS IF YOU ARE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOORS WHILE MOVING? MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE FOLLOWING RECALL. HYUNDAISONATA2011HYUNDAI-KIA HAS NOTIFIED NHTSA ABOUT A DEFECT IN CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2011 SONATA VEHICLES MANUFACTURED FROM DECEMBER 11, 2009 THROUGH FEBRUARY 15, 2010. THE FRONT INSIDE DOOR LOCK SWITCH CAN REMAIN IN THE UNLATCHED POSITION. THE DOOR MAY NOT BE IN THE LOCKED POSITION AND MAY OPEN WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, POSSIBLY RESULTING IN INJURY TO THE DRIVER OR PASSENGER. HYUNDAI-KIA WILL NOTIFY OWNERS AND DEALERS WILL REPAIR THE VEHICLES BY REPLACING LATCHES AFFECTED BY THIS RECALL CAMPAIGN FREE OF CHARGE. THE SAFETY RECALL BEGAN ON MARCH 12, 2010. OWNERS MAY CONTACT HYUNDAI CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER AT 1-800-633-5151. HYUNDAI'S RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER IS 096.OWNERS MAY ALSO CONTACT THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION'S VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AT 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), OR GO TO HTTP://WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV . *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/07/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/28/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 800229

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC4BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO PULL TO THE LEFT. THE CONTACT HAS OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR THREE MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT HE NEEDED AN ALIGNMENT AND WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND A CLAIM WAS FILE AND CLOSED IMMEDIATELY SINCE THE FAILURE WAS A NON ISSUE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 2,700.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/15/2010

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/15/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 802251

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA WINDSHIELDS HAVE DISTORTED IMAGES WHEN SEATED IN THE FRONT AND VIEWING DIAGONALLY ACROSS THE VEHICLE AND OUT THE WINDSHIELD. ALL IMAGES SHOW A "RIPPLE EFFECT" . THIS HAPPENS IN BOTH DIRECTIONS (LEFT TO RIGHT AND RIGHT TO LEFT) I CHECKED OTHER NEW VEHICLES IN THE SHOWROOM AND THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. WHILE IT IS SUTTLE AND MOST MAY NOT NOTICE IT CAN BE A PROBLEM WHEN CHANGING LANES OR TURNING RIGHT. OBVIOUSLY THE DRIVER SEE A DISTORTED IMAGE WHEN LOOKING ACROSS THE WINDSHIELD TO TURN RIGHT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/20/2010

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:LEVER AND LINKAGE:FLOOR SHIFT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/20/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 803289

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SELECTOR WAS PLACED INTO THE PARK POSITION; HOWEVER, THE WARNING LIGHT DISPLAYED THAT THE GEAR WAS NOT WHICH MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR THE AUTOMATIC DOORS TO LOCK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE "PARK" WARNING INDICATOR WOULD CORRECT ITSELF AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION OR WHEN THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE GEAR SHIFT. THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 500. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/28/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 805931

Squish VIN: 5NPEB4ACXBH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEED. THE FOLLOWING DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON: A RED LIGHT ESP AND A AMBER LIGHT ANTI-SLIP. THE FAILURE WILL RESETS IT SELF BY RESTARTING THE ENGINE. SEVERAL REPORTS OF SIMILAR FAILURES OF THE POWER STEERING HAVE BEEN REPORTED ONLINE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/02/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/23/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 806200

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC6BH

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE EXCESSIVELY AND THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL SERVICE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE,S HE NOTICED THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DISCLOSED TO THE CONTACT. THE DEALER PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH A REPLACEMENT VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT THEY WOULD ONLY RELEASE THE VEHICLE IF SHE WOULD SIGN A CONFIDENTIALITY AGREEMENT AND A LIABILITY WAIVER. THE CONTACT DECLINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER WOULD NOT RELEASE THE VEHICLE TO THE CONTACT. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 3,800.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/03/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/08/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 806351

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER HARD TO THE LEFT WHEN DRIVING. THE DEALER ADVISED THE FAILURE WAS NORMAL FOR ELECTRONIC STEERING AND DID NOT PROVIDE A REMEDY. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE FAILURE BECAUSE HE WOULD HAVE TO HOLD THE STEERING WHEEL FIRMLY OR IT WOULD INDEPENDENTLY VEER TO THE RIGHT. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2010

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/19/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 810807

Squish VIN: 5NPEC4AC8BH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING AND ESC SERVICE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. WITHIN SECONDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND WHEN RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,800.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/22/2010

Component(s): COMMUNICATIONS:HORN ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 811202

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

SONATA 2011 HORN AND ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. PEOPLE CAN NOT HEAR THE HORN. ALSO WHEN I TEST DROVE THEY SONATA THE TEST CAR HAD PROBLEMS WHERE THERE WAS ACCELERATOR PROBLEMS. WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS THE CAR ALMOST QUIT, PAUSED AND THEY TOOK OFF. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT BY NOT ACCELERATING IN TIME. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON MY CAR AT LEAST 7 TIMES, ACCELERATE, PAUSE OR HESITATION THE MOTOR KICKS IN. WHEN I ASKED THE SALESMAN ABOUT IT AT THE DEALER HE TOLD ME THE MOTOR ON THE TEST CAR WAS PROBABLY COLD. THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS WARMED UP. THIS IS VERY SCARY WHEN YOU PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC. ALSO THE HORN IS A JOKE. YOU CAN'T HEAR THE HORN AND IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode