Home / Complaints ( Hyundai Elantra 2016 )

HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2016

Elantra

Just call the Hyundai Elantra the comeback kid. Introduced in early 1990's, the economy-listed sedan did not exactly leave to some good start, generating a properly-deserved status for overall shoddiness and unreliability. But 2 decades later, the Elantra has become a category leader buoyed by better reliability, agreeable performance, handsome styling along with a lengthy list of normal features. Go for any spin and you will be impressed using its smooth ride and responsive handling. Toss in a spacious cabin, solid build quality along with a extended listing of security features, and also the Elantra is really a formidable competitor in the segment.


Date Complaint Filed: 10/18/2015

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 09/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1230216

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE REAR OF THE CAR IS BUMPY.I HAD 3 FAMILY MEMEBERS AT THE BACK AND TRAVELLING WAS UNCOMFORABLE FOR THEM.THEY COMPLAINTED ABOUT SHOCKS GOOD.I HAVE 4458 MILES ON MY CAR.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/20/2015

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 08/16/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1230875

Squish VIN: KMHD35LH6GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN ENTERING A FAIRLY SEVERE CURVE, LIKE A 270 DEGREE FREEWAY ON-RAMP OR OFF-RAMP TO AN OVERPASS, OR 90 DEGREE CURVES ON MOUNTAIN ROADS, AT NORMAL SPEEDS, THE ESC APPEARS TO SPORADICALLY TURN ON AND OFF AGGRESSIVELY. THE BEHAVIOR IS SEVERE. THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED, HARD, ABOUT TWICE PER SECOND. HARD ENOUGH TO FEEL LIKE YOU HIT A POTHOLE. THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO BE CUT AS WELL. PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR DOES NOTHING WHILE IN THIS STATE, AS IF ITS BEEN DISCONNECTED. AFTER STRAIGHTENING OUT OF THE CURVE, THE BEHAVIOR STOPS. DISABLING VIA THE ESC BUTTON HAS NO EFFECT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. A TRIP TO THE DEALER (10/2015) RESULTED IN THE DIAGNOSIS OF A BAD 'LATERAL SENSOR' - THAT IT WASN'T COMMUNICATING TO THE ESC. HOWEVER THE PROBLEM APPARENTLY WAS MORE INVOLVED: THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR 17 DAYS AND HAD TWO OTHER 2016 ELANTRA GT MODELS IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WITH THE SAME ISSUE. ULTIMATELY THEY COULD NOT FIND A FIX FOR THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE CAR, STATING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS NOT A "SAFETY CONCERN". HOWEVER THEY INTENDED TO CONTINUE TROUBLESHOOTING THE ISSUE WITH ONE OF THE PROBLEM CARS BEING USED AS A "TEST MULE". THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE LIMITED TO THE 2016 ELANTRA GT. I AM NOT ENTIRELY CONVINCED OF THE "SAFETY" VERDICT. WHILE I AGREE THAT ITS FAIRLY SAFE FOR "ME", SINCE I'M AWARE OF THE BEHAVIOR AND ITS CONSISTENT, IT MIGHT BE A SURPRISE FOR ANOTHER ELANTRA GT OWNER WHOSE FIRST EXPERIENCE MIGHT BE IN THE RAIN OR SNOW. WINTER IS COMING, AND WHILE I'M AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND THEREFORE WILL TAKE CURVES SLOWER AS TO NOT ANTAGONIZE THE CAR - WHAT ABOUT OTHERS?

Date Complaint Filed: 11/20/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 11/18/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1240507

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AEXGH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WIFE WAS DRIVING A NEW THREE WEEK OLD 2016 ELANTRA WITH APPOX. 500 MILES ON IT. THE CAR STARTED TO LOOSE POWER AND JUST DIED. SHE COASTED TO A STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WOULD NOT RESTART. NO LIGHTS CAME ON INDICATING ANY PROBLEM TILL THE CAR QUIT RUNNING. THEN ALL THE LIGHTS CAME ON AS THEY SHOULD. CALLED AAA HAD THEM TOW THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. SERVICE DEPARTMENT CHECKED THE CAR OVER AND THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE AN ALTERNATOR. SOME TIME WENT BY, AND THE SERVICE WRITER SAID THEY WERE PUTTING ME IN A RENTAL CAR AS THE REPAIR WAS GOING TO TAKE TIME. TWO DAYS LATER GET A CALL AND THE MOTOR IS RUINED AND THEY ARE GOING TO REPLACE IT WITH A LONG BLOCK. THIS IS JUST GREAT. NEW CAR THREE WEEKS OLD AND IS GOING TO BE TORE APART. LUCKY IT IS A LONG BLOCK NOT A SHORT BLOCK. THE BIG BREAK COMES FROM MY WIFE DECIDING NOT TO GO TO THE MALL THAT DAY TO FINISH XMAS SHOPPING. THE MALL IS TWENTY MILES AWAY ON AN INTERSTATE. IF THIS CAR HAD DIED ON THE INTERSTATE WITH CARS GOING 70 PLUS BEHIND HER, INSTEAD OF OUR SUBDIVISION STREET. SHE STOOD A GOOD CHANCE OF BEING REAR ENDED AND IN A VERY SERIOUS ACCIDENT. PLUS NO POWER STEERING OR BRAKES AND TRYING TO GET OVER TO THE SHOULDER WITH A DEAD CAR! WE WERE VERY FORTUNATE TO HAVE THIS HAPPEN ON A SIDE STREET WITH LITTLE OR NO TRAFFIC AND THREE BLOCKS FROM HOME. THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN HORRIBLE TO HAVE HAPPENED ON AN INTERSTATE WHILE OUT OF STATE OR SOME BACK ROAD OFF THE BEATEN PATH. WE NOW WILL HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN THE CAR AT ALL AND CONSTANTLY AFRAID IT IS GOING TO BREAK DOWN AGAIN. DARN SHAME.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/24/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 09/23/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1241085

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE2GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. THIS OCCURRED TWICE ON THE FREEWAY AND ONCE ON A CITY STREET WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 1800 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN I PICK IT UP THEY SAY "ITS BEEN REPAIRED" BUT HOURS OR DAYS LATER THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURS. I DEMANDED THAT THEY VOID THE PURCHASE CONTRACT BUT HYUNDAI REFUSED. I HAD TO RETAIN AN ATTORNEY WHO RECENTLY FILED A LAWSUIT AGAINST HYUNDAI REGARDING THIS MATTER (CASE # 15K14065).

Date Complaint Filed: 01/11/2016

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 01/04/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1252473

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AH9GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE SPORT STEERING IS OVER SENSITIVE WHICH IS A HAZARD. THE SLIGHTEST TURN OF THE STEERING WHEEL CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO TURN ABRUPTLY. I HAVE MEASURED THAT A QUICK LANE CHANGE COULD TAKE PLACE BY MOVING THE STEERING WHEEL BY 1/4 OF AN INCH IN EITHER DIRECTION. THE SLIGHTEST MOVEMENT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND BODILY INJURY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/15/2016

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 02/13/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1261317

Squish VIN: KMHD35LHXGU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TIRE BLOW OUT ON HIGHWAY:( HANCOOK P215/45R 17 DRIVER SIDE FRONT) CAR PURCHASED NEW ONLY 377 MILES ON IT WHEN BLOWOUT OCCURRED. ROAD WAS SMOOTH SPEED WAS 60 MPH WAS TOLD BY SERVICE DEPT. NO BUBBLES WERE FOUND, PROBLEM IS THE TIRE. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/23/2016

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 02/16/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1263494

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE3GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO 2 HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS TO BE LOOKED AT. WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR GETS STUCK IN A HIGH GEAR & GIVES ME A HARD TIME DRIVING UNLESS I ACCELERATE DRAMATICALLY TO DROP THE RPMS & THE CAR WILL DROP GEARS. I LIVE ON A VERY STEEP HILL & CAME CLOSE TO A VERY DANGEROUS ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS ISSUE. MY CAR DID NOT WANT TO MAKE IT UP MY HILL BECAUSE THE CAR MAKES A LOUD NOISE. THE DAY THIS HAPPENED IT WAS SNOWING & I HAD TO ACCELERATE TO MAKE IT UP & ALMOST CRASHED BECAUSE MY CAR WAS ROLLING BACK DOWN THE HILL & I LIVE OFF OF A BUSY INTERSECTION.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/07/2016

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1274012

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE8GH

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY IGNITED 4/5/2016 @ ~3:45PM (SEE PICTURES ATTACHED) WHILE PARKED IN A FENCED, GUARDED, PRIVATE CORPORATION EMPLOYEE PARKING LOT, DESTROYING ITSELF & BOTH VEHICLES PARKED ON EITHER SIDE OF IT. 5 MONTHS OLD, 11,000 MILES ON ODOMETER, ONLY PRIOR SERVICES WERE OIL CHANGES AT 3K & 10K @ WALMART & JIFFY-LUBE.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/11/2016

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 04/11/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1274843

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE2GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WE HAVE A BRAND NEW 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA PURCHASED JANUARY 22, 2016 AND ONLY HAS @ 4,000 MILES. THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE TIRE HAS ALREADY RECEIVED A FLAT TWO WEEKS AGO FROM TODAY AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND HAD TO PAY FOR IT OUT OF OUR POCKET. THE TIRE IS THE STANDARD HANKOOK OPTIMO. THE CAR IS DRIVEN ON THE FREEWAY AND SIDE STREETS, NORMAL EVERYDAY DRIVING. THE DAY AFTER REPLACING IT WITH ANOTHER TIRE, IT ALSO WENT FLAT. TODAY, APRIL 11, 2016, THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE TIRE IS FLAT AND WAS NOT DRIVABLE. THERE IS SOMETHING GOING ON WITH THE WHEELS OR TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM TO CAUSE THIS.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/13/2016

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 04/12/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1275637

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AE6GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET GOING APPROX. 30 MPH WHEN THE CAR FELT LIKE IT HAD DOWNSHIFTED INTO A LOW GEAR. THE TACHOMETER WA REVVING BETWEEN 4,000 AND 5,000 RPMS EVEN THOUGH I WAS SLOWING. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WAS UNABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AS THE GEAR SHIFT WAS STUCK IN DRIVE. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, I PULLED THE GEAR SHIFT DOWN AS LOW AS IT WOULD GO PAST D(RIVE) AND THEN I WAS ABLE TO PUSH IT UP INTO THE PARK POSITION. ONCE I PUT THE CAR BACK INTO DRIVE AGAIN THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION WERE NORMAL.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/14/2016

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 10/29/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1275955

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE4GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I BOUGHT A NEW ELANTRA IN OCT. 2015 WITH 13 MILES ON IT. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER THAT I WOULD GET NO LESS THAN 30 MILES PER GAL. I HAVE NEVER GOT MORE THAN 25 MPG I'V TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER THREE TIME THEY DRIVE IT AND SAY THE COMPUTOR SAYS YOUR GETTING 35 TO 40MPG. I TRIED TO SHOW THEM ACTUAL DOCUMENTATION SENSE I HAVE KEPT WRITTEN RECORDS EVERY SENSE THE DAY I'VE BOUGHT THIS CAR.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/02/2016

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 04/23/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1279936

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AH6GJ

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND AN ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE DEALER PERFORMED ANOTHER ALIGNMENT. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/07/2016

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 06/06/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1288238

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE4GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN PARKING OUR CAR, THE KEY GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND COULD NOT BE REMOVED. OBVIOUSLY, WE COULD NOT LEAVE THE CAR IN A PARKING LOT WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. I LOOKED AT A VIDEO ON YOUTUBE: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=A4T6YDZKB5G AND THIS GUY'S VIDEO SAVED THE DAY. THIS OBVIOUSLY HAS HAPPENED FOR OTHER PEOPLE AND SEEMS TO BE AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. WE WILL BE TAKING THIS TO THE DEALER TO FIX, HOWEVER, SINCE IT APPARENTLY HAS BEEN HAPPENING TO OTHERS FOR YEARS I THOUGHT I SHOULD REPORT IT TO YOU. IF IT IS NOT FIXED BY HYUNDAI I WILL LET YOU KNOW. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT IN MOTION.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/08/2016

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 06/08/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1288681

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE8GH

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VISIBILITY ON THIS CAR IS SO BAD. IN 40 YEARS OF DRIVING I HAD 1 ACCIDENT UNTIL I GOT THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD 3 MINOR ACCIDENTS IN LESS THAN A YEAR ALL DUE TO BACKING UP AND LOOKING OUT PASSENGER SIDE. WHEN YOU BACK UP YOU CAN'T SEE OUT OF THE PASSENGER SIDE IN THE FRONT DUE TO MIRROR PLACEMENT AND DOOR FRAME AND IN THE BACK DUE TO FRAME AND HEADREST IN SAME POSITION. I FEEL THIS CAR WAS DESIGNED POORLY, I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM LIKE THIS BEFORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/17/2016

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE:GASOLINE:BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 05/23/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1290629

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN AND THE MOTOR WERE OFF SYNC AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AND STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE TIMING BELT WAS LOOSE, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE NOT TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS KEPT FOR LONGER THAN THREE WEEKS. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2016

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1297604

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AE0GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DRIVER COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND RESUMED DRIVING. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THERE WAS A KNOCKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER COMPRESSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2016

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:AIR CONDITIONER

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1297605

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AE0GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DRIVER COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND RESUMED DRIVING. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THERE WAS A KNOCKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER COMPRESSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/17/2017

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 01/16/2017

NHTSA ID Number: 1348883

Squish VIN: KMHD35LH8GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BRAKES: SKIPPING AND SEVERE VIBRATION WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED ON TIGHT RIGHT CURVATURES (HIGHWAY ON AND OFF RAMPS). TIRES: HANKOOK P215/45R17 87H - TIRE SIDEWALL FAILURE, BUBBLING ON SIDEWALL AT 8500 MILES THEN TWO MONTHS LATER AND APROX. 10000. NO ACCIDENTS, POTHOLES, OR ISSUES THAT SHOULD HAVE RESULTED IN SIDEWALL FAILURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/17/2017

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 01/16/2017

NHTSA ID Number: 1348882

Squish VIN: KMHD35LH8GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BRAKES: SKIPPING AND SEVERE VIBRATION WHEN BRAKES ARE APPLIED ON TIGHT RIGHT CURVATURES (HIGHWAY ON AND OFF RAMPS). TIRES: HANKOOK P215/45R17 87H - TIRE SIDEWALL FAILURE, BUBBLING ON SIDEWALL AT 8500 MILES THEN TWO MONTHS LATER AND APROX. 10000. NO ACCIDENTS, POTHOLES, OR ISSUES THAT SHOULD HAVE RESULTED IN SIDEWALL FAILURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/13/2016

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 09/11/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1316963

Squish VIN: KMHDH4AEXGU

Crash: Yes

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND EMITTED FIRE DURING THE DEPLOYMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,999.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/31/2016

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 10/30/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1330136

Squish VIN: 5NDPH4AE1GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING THE CLOCK WILL START TO FLASH THEN THE HEADLIGHTS WILL FLASH AS THE RADIO/CLOCK FLASHES. IF HEAD LIGHTS ARE OFF THE LIGHT BY GAUGES WILL START FLASHING MAKING A CLICKING NOISE, THE BATTERY LIGHT WILL SOMETIMES COME ON AND FLASH ALSO. IF I TURN THE AIR ON THE FLASHING WILL STOP. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/31/2016

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 10/30/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1330137

Squish VIN: 5NDPH4AE1GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING THE CLOCK WILL START TO FLASH THEN THE HEADLIGHTS WILL FLASH AS THE RADIO/CLOCK FLASHES. IF HEAD LIGHTS ARE OFF THE LIGHT BY GAUGES WILL START FLASHING MAKING A CLICKING NOISE, THE BATTERY LIGHT WILL SOMETIMES COME ON AND FLASH ALSO. IF I TURN THE AIR ON THE FLASHING WILL STOP. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 6 TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/26/2015

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 08/16/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1223375

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE1GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ON JULY 6, 2016 WE PURCHASED A 2016 ELANTRA LIMITED. WE DO LIKE THE CAR. HOWEVER, IN LESS THAN 2 MONTHS, JUST OVER 2400 MILES THE NEW 2016 HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS A 2013 ELANTRA THAT WE USED TO HAVE. WE WOULD PRESS THE BRAKE, THEN PRESS THE PUSH START BUTTON. NOTHING HAPPENED, IT DIDN?T EVEN TRY TO CRANK. IT WAS AS IF THE BRAKE AND START BUTTON HAD NEVER BEEN DEPRESSED. THE CAR WOULD NOT START. IT WAS DEAD AS A DOOR NAIL. THEN WE WOULD TRY STARTING THE CAR A SECOND TIME AND THE CAR WOULD START. THESE EVENTS HAPPENED WITH A COLD START AND ALSO A WARM START. WE TOOK THE 2016 CAR IN TO THE DEALERSHIP, BUT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. BETWEEN THE 2013 AND THE 2016 MODEL YEARS IT WOULD SEEM THAT SOMETHING COULD BE FIGURED OUT TO CORRECT AND FIX THE STARTING PROBLEM. WE STILL HAVE A NEW 2016 CAR THAT HAS A STARTING PROBLEM WITH THE PUSH BUTTON START.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/20/2015

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 08/16/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1230876

Squish VIN: KMHD35LH6GU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN ENTERING A FAIRLY SEVERE CURVE, LIKE A 270 DEGREE FREEWAY ON-RAMP OR OFF-RAMP TO AN OVERPASS, OR 90 DEGREE CURVES ON MOUNTAIN ROADS, AT NORMAL SPEEDS, THE ESC APPEARS TO SPORADICALLY TURN ON AND OFF AGGRESSIVELY. THE BEHAVIOR IS SEVERE. THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED, HARD, ABOUT TWICE PER SECOND. HARD ENOUGH TO FEEL LIKE YOU HIT A POTHOLE. THE THROTTLE SEEMS TO BE CUT AS WELL. PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR DOES NOTHING WHILE IN THIS STATE, AS IF ITS BEEN DISCONNECTED. AFTER STRAIGHTENING OUT OF THE CURVE, THE BEHAVIOR STOPS. DISABLING VIA THE ESC BUTTON HAS NO EFFECT, THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. A TRIP TO THE DEALER (10/2015) RESULTED IN THE DIAGNOSIS OF A BAD 'LATERAL SENSOR' - THAT IT WASN'T COMMUNICATING TO THE ESC. HOWEVER THE PROBLEM APPARENTLY WAS MORE INVOLVED: THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR 17 DAYS AND HAD TWO OTHER 2016 ELANTRA GT MODELS IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WITH THE SAME ISSUE. ULTIMATELY THEY COULD NOT FIND A FIX FOR THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE CAR, STATING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS NOT A "SAFETY CONCERN". HOWEVER THEY INTENDED TO CONTINUE TROUBLESHOOTING THE ISSUE WITH ONE OF THE PROBLEM CARS BEING USED AS A "TEST MULE". THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE LIMITED TO THE 2016 ELANTRA GT. I AM NOT ENTIRELY CONVINCED OF THE "SAFETY" VERDICT. WHILE I AGREE THAT ITS FAIRLY SAFE FOR "ME", SINCE I'M AWARE OF THE BEHAVIOR AND ITS CONSISTENT, IT MIGHT BE A SURPRISE FOR ANOTHER ELANTRA GT OWNER WHOSE FIRST EXPERIENCE MIGHT BE IN THE RAIN OR SNOW. WINTER IS COMING, AND WHILE I'M AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND THEREFORE WILL TAKE CURVES SLOWER AS TO NOT ANTAGONIZE THE CAR - WHAT ABOUT OTHERS?

Date Complaint Filed: 05/16/2016

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 03/19/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1283394

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE9GH

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

THE 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WAS WRECKED AT 501 MILES . IT WAS BOUGHT BRAND-NEW IT STRUCK A TELEPHONE POLE AT 45 MILES PER HOUR THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY HYUNDAI HAS A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG SYSTEM WHICH NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO I HAVE A CLAIM NUMBER AGAINST HYUNDAI THE CLAIM NUMBER IS 8922194. THE TELEPHONE NUMBER TO THE CLAIM AGENT IS1-714-965-3105. MY SON WHO WAS DRIVING THE CAR AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT SUFFERED INJURIES DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I HAVE ASKED THE HYUNDAI CLAIM AGENT TO DO AN INSPECTION ON THE VEHICLE WHICH WAS DONE ON MAY 4TH AND NOT RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION ABOUT RECEIVING ANY INFORMATION ON WHAT HAPPENED AT THE TIME OF IMPACT . I WOULD LIKE FOR YOUR AGENCY TO LOOK INTO HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY IN THERE AIRBAGS THAT DO NOT DEPLOY . YOU MAY CONTACT ME AT 864 365 8179 MY NAME IS ZEKE EDGE

Date Complaint Filed: 05/16/2016

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 03/19/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1283395

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE9GH

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

THE 2016 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WAS WRECKED AT 501 MILES . IT WAS BOUGHT BRAND-NEW IT STRUCK A TELEPHONE POLE AT 45 MILES PER HOUR THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY HYUNDAI HAS A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG SYSTEM WHICH NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO I HAVE A CLAIM NUMBER AGAINST HYUNDAI THE CLAIM NUMBER IS 8922194. THE TELEPHONE NUMBER TO THE CLAIM AGENT IS1-714-965-3105. MY SON WHO WAS DRIVING THE CAR AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT SUFFERED INJURIES DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I HAVE ASKED THE HYUNDAI CLAIM AGENT TO DO AN INSPECTION ON THE VEHICLE WHICH WAS DONE ON MAY 4TH AND NOT RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION ABOUT RECEIVING ANY INFORMATION ON WHAT HAPPENED AT THE TIME OF IMPACT . I WOULD LIKE FOR YOUR AGENCY TO LOOK INTO HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY IN THERE AIRBAGS THAT DO NOT DEPLOY . YOU MAY CONTACT ME AT 864 365 8179 MY NAME IS ZEKE EDGE

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2016

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 09/01/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1314572

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE6GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY VEHICLE DID NOT COME WITH A SPARE TIRE, BUT WITH SOMETHING CALLED A "TIRE MOBILITY KIT" WHICH IS USED TO INFLAT A FLAT TIRE (MAYBE). IN ANTICIPATION OF THE NEED TO USE THIS GADGET, I HAVE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND CAME ACROSS THIS ITEM: "WARNING: SEALANT IS AN IRRITANT TO SKIN, EYES AND RESPIRATORY PASSAGES. OVEREXPOSURE MAY CAUSE CENTRAL NERVOUS SYSTEM AND KIDNEY EFFECTS......DO NOT BREATHE VAPOR OR MIST.....AVOID CONTACT WITH SKIN AND EYES....WASH THOROUGHLY AFTER HANDLING....IN CASE OF SKIN OR EYE CONTACT, IMMEDIATELY FLUSH AFFECTED AREA WITH PLENTY OF WATER. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I IS HIGHLY UNLIKELY THAT I WILL SUFFER A FLAT TIRE CLOSE TO A SOURCE OF CLEAN WATER. THIS PRODUCT IS POISONOUS AND DANGEROUS TO USE. THE PUBLIC SHOULD BE ALERTED AND THE PRODUCT SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPLACED WITH A SAFE ALTERNATIVE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOUR AGENCY WILL PURSUE THIS MATTER WITH HYUNDAI.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/31/2016

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 11/21/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1344609

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE3GH

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS IS OUR THIRD ELANTRA. WHILE WE LIKE THE LOOKS OF THE VEHICLE AND THE WAY IT GENERALLY HANDLES WE ARE GREATLY DISSATISFIED WITH THE TIRES THAT ARE STANDARD ON THE VEHICLE. SINCE WE LIVE IN WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA AND EXPERIENCE WINTERY WEATHER WE HAVE FOUND THAT THESE TIRES ARE VERY DANGEROUS ON WINTER ROADS. WE ARE SURE THAT MANY PEOPLE ARE INVOLVED IN ACCIDENTS UNLESS DIFFERENT TIRES HAVE BEEN PURCHASED THAT PERFORM BETTER IN THESE CONDITIONS. WE HAVE NEVER OWNED A VEHICLE THAT THE FIRST THING WE HAD TO DO WAS PURCHASE NEW TIRES IN ORDER TO DRIVE IN WINTER WEATHER. THE ADDED EXPENSE IN TOTALLY RIDICULOUS CONSIDERING THE PURCHASE PRICE OF THE CAR! WE EXPRESSED OUR CONCERN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO NO AVAIL....I AM SURPRISED THERE IS NOT A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT REGARDING THIS MATTER. UNFORTUNATELY, THIS WILL BE OUR LAST PURCHASE OF AN ELANTRA.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/20/2017

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 10/15/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1349885

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE6GH

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

ON 10/15/16 I WAS IN A MULTI IMPACT ACCIDENT. AFTER HITTING A CURB, SMALL TREE, TOOK A STOP SIGN OUT, MY CAR LANDED INTO A TREE IN BETWEEN TWO 10 IN. BUSHES. AS THE CAR SEEMED TO SETTLE I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED A CHEMICAL ODOR. I THEN SAW A SMALL WHITE WHAT I THOUGHT WAS PAPER APPEAR ON THE INNER STEERING WHEEL, SUDDENLY BLOOD WAS POURING DOWN MY FACE WHERE I COULD BARELY SEE. I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE BECAUSE OF THE SMELL. IT DID NOT SMELL LIKE GAS BUT MORE LIKE SULFUR. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO UCI TRAUMA CENTER WHERE I STAYED FOR FOUR DAYS. MY CAR HAD 6 AIRBAGS AND ALL FAILED EXCEPT FOR THE ONE I SAW WHEN MY CAR SETTLED. SINCE I BOUGHT THE ELANTRA I REPORTED TO HYUNDAI THAT WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND SOMETIMES WHEN I WOULD TURN LEFT THE CAR WOULD STOP, THEN ACCELERATE FULL SPEED. I HAVE THE WORK ORDER. THIS ACCELERATION WOULD HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING, SLOWING DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT AND WHEN TURNING TO THE LEFT. I HAVE SEVERAL WITNESSES WHO HAVE BEEN WITH ME WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE CAR DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT I RESTART IT, IT JUST STOPS THEN ACCELERATES. IT HAS DONE THIS THREE OR FOUR TIME A MONTH.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/20/2017

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Hyundai Motor America

Date Of Incident: 10/15/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1349886

Squish VIN: 5NPDH4AE6GH

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

ON 10/15/16 I WAS IN A MULTI IMPACT ACCIDENT. AFTER HITTING A CURB, SMALL TREE, TOOK A STOP SIGN OUT, MY CAR LANDED INTO A TREE IN BETWEEN TWO 10 IN. BUSHES. AS THE CAR SEEMED TO SETTLE I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED A CHEMICAL ODOR. I THEN SAW A SMALL WHITE WHAT I THOUGHT WAS PAPER APPEAR ON THE INNER STEERING WHEEL, SUDDENLY BLOOD WAS POURING DOWN MY FACE WHERE I COULD BARELY SEE. I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE BECAUSE OF THE SMELL. IT DID NOT SMELL LIKE GAS BUT MORE LIKE SULFUR. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO UCI TRAUMA CENTER WHERE I STAYED FOR FOUR DAYS. MY CAR HAD 6 AIRBAGS AND ALL FAILED EXCEPT FOR THE ONE I SAW WHEN MY CAR SETTLED. SINCE I BOUGHT THE ELANTRA I REPORTED TO HYUNDAI THAT WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND SOMETIMES WHEN I WOULD TURN LEFT THE CAR WOULD STOP, THEN ACCELERATE FULL SPEED. I HAVE THE WORK ORDER. THIS ACCELERATION WOULD HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING, SLOWING DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT AND WHEN TURNING TO THE LEFT. I HAVE SEVERAL WITNESSES WHO HAVE BEEN WITH ME WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE CAR DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT I RESTART IT, IT JUST STOPS THEN ACCELERATES. IT HAS DONE THIS THREE OR FOUR TIME A MONTH.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode