Home / Complaints ( Hyundai Sonata 2009 )

HYUNDAI SONATA 2009

Sonata

The Hyundai Sonata is really a comfortable and pleasant midsize sedan that proves Hyundai can take shape cars that aren't just easy around the pocketbook, but additionally simple to accept too. Like the majority of automobiles within the midsize sedan class, the Sonata offers front-wheel drive, numerous security features along with a selection of trim levels which include sporty and plush variants. Setting the Sonata apart, however, is Hyundai's lower prices and outstanding warranty coverage.


Date Complaint Filed: 08/06/2008

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/02/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 686751

Squish VIN: 5NPET46CX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NEW 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA UNLOCKS ALL DOORS ANYTIME CAR IS PLACED IN PARK. THIS FEATURE IS IN THE DESIGN AND CANNOT BE DISABLED. THIS FEATURE PUTS ALL PASSENGERS AND DRIVES AT RISK ANYTIME THE CAR IS STOPPED AND PLACED IN PARK, ESPECIALLY ONCE THE CRIMINALS FIND THIS OUT *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/06/2008

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/02/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 686759

Squish VIN: 5NPET46CX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2009 HYUNDAI SONATA ALL DOORS UNLOCK WHEN CAR IS PLACED IN PARK. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY DESIGN PROBLEM AND CANNOT BE DEACTIVATED OR CORRECTED BY DEALERS. THIS PROBLEM IS PUTTING ALL PASSENGERS AND DRIVERS AT RISK, WHEN CAR IS PLACED IN PARK ESPECIALLY ONCE THE CRIMINALS HERE ABOUT THIS DEFECT. HOW MANY CARS WILL BE HIJACKED AND OR ROBBERIES OCCUR BEFORE SOMEONE REALIZES THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH THIS FEATURE!!! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/08/2008

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/06/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 687147

Squish VIN: 5NPEU46C69H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT A NEW 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA LIMITED- I TOOK IT THE HYUNDAI SERVICE IN YONKERS NY TO TEST DRIVE MY NEW CAR . IT SEEMED TO ME THE CAR HAD BAD FRONT SHOCKS ABSORBERS. AFTER BEING DRIVEN BY ONE OF THEIR SERVICE MEN HE AGREED THAT SOMETHING WAS VERY WRONG. I WAS TOLD TO BRING BACK THE CAR WHEN THE NEW SHOCKS ARRIVE. THE MANAGER AND HIS SERVICE MEN WERE VERY COURTEOUS TO ME AND HANDLED THE SITUATION VERY PROFESSIONALLY. UNTIL THE TIME THE NEW SHOCKS ARRIVE I WILL NOT USE THE CAR, BECAUSE I CONSIDER IT A DANGER ON THE ROAD. I'M HOPING THAT WILL BE THE ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/08/2008

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/09/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 696172

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NEW CAR WAS DELIVERED TO ME WITH A MAJOR ENGINE OIL LEAK. COULD HAVE RESULTED IN ENGINE FAILURE AND LOSS OF CONTROL OF CAR. CAR HAS BEEN IN DEALERS GARAGE FOR 10 DAYS WITH NO REPAIR YET MADE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2008

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 10/09/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 696319

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

LOUD NOISE OVER BUMPS. SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING IS LOOSE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/08/2009

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/09/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 707465

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NEW CAR WAS DELIVERED TO ME WITH A MAJOR ENGINE OIL LEAK. COULD HAVE RESULTED IN ENGINE FAILURE AND LOSS OF CONTROL. ENGINE WAS REPLACED BUT HAS CAUSED POWER TRAIN VIBRATION AND STRONG ODOR WHEN THE ENGINE IS WARM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/30/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 710418

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 HYUNDAI SONATA SOUNDS LIKE IT NEEDS NEW SHOCKS/STRUTS RIGHT OFF THE LOT CAR HAS LESS THAN 300 MILES ON IT WENT TO DEALER THE SERVICE TECH SAID MANY HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME THING BUT NO FIX HE TOLD ME TO COMPLAIN TO HYUNDAI CALLED AND THEY SAID SORRY THAT'S THE WAY THEY ARE THAT ITS OPERATING AS DESIGNED THIS WILL BE MY LAST HYUNDAI. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/30/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION:FRONT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 710419

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 HYUNDAI SONATA SOUNDS LIKE IT NEEDS NEW SHOCKS/STRUTS RIGHT OFF THE LOT CAR HAS LESS THAN 300 MILES ON IT WENT TO DEALER THE SERVICE TECH SAID MANY HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME THING BUT NO FIX HE TOLD ME TO COMPLAIN TO HYUNDAI CALLED AND THEY SAID SORRY THAT'S THE WAY THEY ARE THAT ITS OPERATING AS DESIGNED THIS WILL BE MY LAST HYUNDAI. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/21/2009

Component(s): EQUIPMENT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/12/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 713431

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

SATELLITE/FM/AM DIGITAL RADIO DOES NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. RADIO HAS BEEN REPLACED AND ALL CONNECTIONS CHECKED. SATELLITE WORKS FINE, FM ONLY WORKS WITH STRONG SIGNALS AROUND AND THE AM DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. CAR DEALER DOES NOT HAVE ANY SOLUTION AND ONLY SAYS THAT THE PROBLEM SHOULD WORK IT SELF OUT ONCE THE ALL DIGITAL SIGNAL ARE UTILIZED. DEALER SAYS AN NON-DIGITAL RADIO CANNOT BE INSTALLED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/23/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/22/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 728500

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C68H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 HYUNDAI SONATA WITH UNDER 25,000 MILES ON IT ALREADY NEEDS A REAR BRAKE JOB. WAS TOLD BY OUR DEALER THAT IT IS NORMAL BECAUSE IT IS A FRONT WHEEL DRIVE. WAS TOLD HYUNDAI WILL NOT STAND BEHIND IT, HOWEVER, SOME DEALERS WILL FIX IT FOR NO CHARGE BECAUSE IT IS SO RIDICULOUS. THE DEALER WE BOUGHT THE CARS FROM WILL NOT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/17/2009

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/17/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 731258

Squish VIN: 5NPET46F09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THROTTLE STUCK WIDE OPEN WHEN PASSING A SHORT LINE OF CARS, RESULTING IN EXCESSIVE SPEEDS OF OVER 80 MPH BEFORE THE IGNITION WAS SHUT OFF AND TURNED BACK ON RESULTING IN NORMALITY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/22/2009

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 731927

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH DOWNHILL WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UP TO 80 MPH. THE DEALER TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND CONFIRMED THE FAILURE, BUT STATED THAT NOTHING COULD BE DONE TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT CALLED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SUPPORT AND THEY ALSO COULD NOT ASSIST. HE BELIEVES THAT DRIVING THE VEHICLE WOULD BE A SAFETY RISK DUE TO THE MANUFACTURER DEFECT. HE ALSO BELIEVES THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED AS WELL AS A REMEDY FOR THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED OTHER CONSUMERS THAT WERE EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME TYPE OF VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 17,000. UPDATED 10/06/09. *LJ UPDATED 10/08/09.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/04/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 732791

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C69H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 HYUNDAI SONATA SOUNDS LIKE IT NEEDS NEW SHOCKS/STRUTS RIGHT OFF THE CAR LOT NOTICED AS SOON AS WE DROVE IT HOME FROM SIGNING THE PAPERS - LESS THAN 20 MILES ON IT TECH SAID MANY HAD COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME THING BUT NO FIX HE TOLD ME TO COMPLAIN TO HYUNDAI CALLED AND THEY SAID SORRY THAT'S THE WAY THEY ARE THAT ITS OPERATING AS DESIGNED - JUST RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE FOR MY 2002 SONATA - SUSPENSION IS FAULTY MUST BE REPLACED SAFETY HAZARD - WISH I HAD KNOWN BEFORE I BOUGHT THE 2009. REGRET PURCHASE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2009

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/05/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 737905

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2009 SONATA IN SPETEMBER OF 2008, THE AIR CONDITIONER DOES NOT DRAIN AND HAS DEVELOPED A MOLD SMELL WHEN AIR IS ON. RETURNED TO DEALER, THEY WANT TO "CLEAN" EVAPORATOR WITH A FOAM CLEANER AT A COST OF OVER $100.00. THE TECH SAID TO DRIVE CAR IN THE OUTSIDE AIR CIRCULATOR AND NOT THE RECYCLE AIR ENGAGED, SINCE I REFUSED THE "CLEANSING". THIS MAKING ME SICK, FRIEND HAS A 2009 SANTA FE WITH SAME ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/13/2009

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/04/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 738831

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C99H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE LIGHT EMITTED BY THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS IS SO FOCUSED AS TO CREATE A TUNNEL EFFECT. THIS NON-DIFFUSED LIGHT DOES NOT ALLOW FOR ANY ILLUMINATION OTHER THAN STRAIGHT AHEAD AND NO HIGHER THAN THE LEVEL OF THE HEADLAMP. IN CONDITIONS OF TOTAL DARKNESS, IT IS AS IF YOUR ARE WEARING A LONG BRIMMED CAP WITH BLINDERS. AS YOU DRIVE UP OR DOWN A HILL, THE LIGHT SHINES "INTO" THE RISE OR DIP IN THE ROAD. WHEN GOING AROUND A CORNER, THE LIGHT DOES NOT "LEAD" THE VEHICLE AROUND THE BEND, IT "LAGS" BEHIND CREATING A DARK ZONE AS THE CAR GOES AROUND THE BEND. WHEN THE BRIGHT LIGHTS ARE SWITCHED ON, THE TUNNEL EFFECT DISAPPEARS. HYUNDAI HAS SAID THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE LAMPS OR WITH THEIR DESIGN. THEY CONTEND THAT IT IS A DESIGN FEATURE OF THE PARTICULAR LAMPS AND THAT THEY ARE EFFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE IN THE DARK. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/21/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/29/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 739910

Squish VIN: 5NPET46F69H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

STRUT NOISE SOUNDS LIKE WORE OUT ON NEW 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA GLS. FEAR THEY MAY BRAKE AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE A WRECK. LOUD NOISE OVER BUMPS UNDER CAR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/13/2009

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/22/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 742774

Squish VIN: 5NPEU46F39H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL, WHICH INDICATED THAT THE AIR BAGS WERE INOPERATIVE. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE DEALER WERE NOTIFIED, AND THE REPRESENTATIVES CONCLUDED THAT THE FAILURE WAS A NORMAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS WIFE IS 90BLS AND WHEN SHE SAT IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ON. SOMETIMES, THE LIGHT WILL GO OFF. UPDATED 10/29/09

Date Complaint Filed: 11/04/2009

Component(s): EQUIPMENT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 745945

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

IN-DASH OE CD CHANGER MADE CRACKING SOUND WHEN FIRST CD WAS INSERTED AND DISPLAYED MECH ERROR MESSAGE ON DISPLAY. NEVER USED BEFORE. HAD IPOD CONNECTION SO NEVER USED THE INFINITY DISC CHANGER TILL MANY MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/20/2010

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/18/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 756561

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C79H

Crash: Yes

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 2

Number Of Deaths: 2

Summary:

2009 HYUNDAI SONATA-2 FRONT END COLLISIONS AIR BAGS NEVER CAME OUT FOR EITHER. FRONT END WORK DONE AFTER 1ST FRONT END COLLISION. AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT DURING 2ND COLISION EITHER. CONCERNED WHY THE AIRBAGS DID NOT COME OUT FOR EITHER ACCIDENT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2010

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/05/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 764238

Squish VIN: 5NPEU46F09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A 2009 SONATA FOR MY WIFE'S SAFETY, DRIVING THE ROADS OF TEXAS TO AND FROM WORK. I NOTIFIED HYUNDAI ABOUT A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS INSTRUMENT PANEL CONTROL DESIGN FLAW.. THE SONATA MANUAL IS SELF-EXPLANATORY STARTING AT PAGE 1-101 - ADDRESSING KNOWN AND FREQUENT FOGGING ALL WINDOWS ISSUES. BRIEFLY, IT IS UNCONSCIONABLE TO ASK THE DRIVER, WHILE DRIVING, TAKE ONE HAND OFF THE WHEEL, LOOK DOWN, FIND, READ AND MANUALLY RESET MULTIPLE EXACT POSITIONS IN TEMPERATURE, A/C AND FAN SPEEDS TO DEFOG ALL WINDOWS. AT 70 MILES, OR ANY MPH--THIS IS A DISASTER WAITING TO HAPPEN. SONATA HYUNDAI WINDOWS FOG QUICKLY, COMPLETELY AND FREQUENTLY BLINDING THE DRIVER NECESSITATING DISTRACTING CHANGES TO BE MADE TO BALANCE MULTIPLE CHANGES IN OUTSIDE TO INSIDE TEMPS ALONG ROADS. DEFOGGING IS ACHIEVED--ONLY-- WITH OUTSIDE AIR INTAKE VENTS OPEN. LIFE THREATENING MANEUVERS TO DRIVE SAFELY ARE DISTRACTIONS DESIGNED INTO THE HYUNDAI INSTRUMENT CONTROL SYSTEM. IN ALL MY YEARS I HAVE NOT FOUND SUCH AN INCOMPETENT, UNSAFE, UNREASONABLE AND LIFE THREATENING DESIGN IN ANY AUTOMOBILE, OR OVER THE ROAD RIG I OWNED. IF HYUNDA'S ANSWER IS THEY CANNOT FIX OR REPROGRAM THE SYSTEM, I AM SELLING THE CAR AS QUICKLY AS THEY SAY NO. THIS DESIGN IS A DEATH TRAP, UNSAFE TO DRIVE, AND A THREAT TO OTHERS ON THE ROAD AS WELL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2010

Component(s): VISIBILITY:REAR WINDOW WIPER/WASHER

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/05/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 764239

Squish VIN: 5NPEU46F09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A 2009 SONATA FOR MY WIFE'S SAFETY, DRIVING THE ROADS OF TEXAS TO AND FROM WORK. I NOTIFIED HYUNDAI ABOUT A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS INSTRUMENT PANEL CONTROL DESIGN FLAW.. THE SONATA MANUAL IS SELF-EXPLANATORY STARTING AT PAGE 1-101 - ADDRESSING KNOWN AND FREQUENT FOGGING ALL WINDOWS ISSUES. BRIEFLY, IT IS UNCONSCIONABLE TO ASK THE DRIVER, WHILE DRIVING, TAKE ONE HAND OFF THE WHEEL, LOOK DOWN, FIND, READ AND MANUALLY RESET MULTIPLE EXACT POSITIONS IN TEMPERATURE, A/C AND FAN SPEEDS TO DEFOG ALL WINDOWS. AT 70 MILES, OR ANY MPH--THIS IS A DISASTER WAITING TO HAPPEN. SONATA HYUNDAI WINDOWS FOG QUICKLY, COMPLETELY AND FREQUENTLY BLINDING THE DRIVER NECESSITATING DISTRACTING CHANGES TO BE MADE TO BALANCE MULTIPLE CHANGES IN OUTSIDE TO INSIDE TEMPS ALONG ROADS. DEFOGGING IS ACHIEVED--ONLY-- WITH OUTSIDE AIR INTAKE VENTS OPEN. LIFE THREATENING MANEUVERS TO DRIVE SAFELY ARE DISTRACTIONS DESIGNED INTO THE HYUNDAI INSTRUMENT CONTROL SYSTEM. IN ALL MY YEARS I HAVE NOT FOUND SUCH AN INCOMPETENT, UNSAFE, UNREASONABLE AND LIFE THREATENING DESIGN IN ANY AUTOMOBILE, OR OVER THE ROAD RIG I OWNED. IF HYUNDA'S ANSWER IS THEY CANNOT FIX OR REPROGRAM THE SYSTEM, I AM SELLING THE CAR AS QUICKLY AS THEY SAY NO. THIS DESIGN IS A DEATH TRAP, UNSAFE TO DRIVE, AND A THREAT TO OTHERS ON THE ROAD AS WELL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/24/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/18/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 769470

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

1) WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING LOT. THERE WAS A SLIGHT INCLINE. THERE WAS A QUARTER OF A TANK OF GAS IN THE CAR. 2) THE ENGINE APPEARED TO TURN OFF, HOWEVER THE ELECTRONICS NEVER TURNED OFF. POWER STEERING WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE ONCE THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. 3) I ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR, BUT IT WOULDN'T START. YOU COULD HEAR THE ENGINE TRYING TO START. I PLACED THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PUSHED IT INTO A PARKING SPACE. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER I SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED THE CAR. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM OR DETECT THAT ANYTHING HAD OCCURRED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/24/2010

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/18/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 769471

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

1) WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING LOT. THERE WAS A SLIGHT INCLINE. THERE WAS A QUARTER OF A TANK OF GAS IN THE CAR. 2) THE ENGINE APPEARED TO TURN OFF, HOWEVER THE ELECTRONICS NEVER TURNED OFF. POWER STEERING WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE ONCE THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. 3) I ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR, BUT IT WOULDN'T START. YOU COULD HEAR THE ENGINE TRYING TO START. I PLACED THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PUSHED IT INTO A PARKING SPACE. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER I SUCCESSFULLY RESTARTED THE CAR. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM OR DETECT THAT ANYTHING HAD OCCURRED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/03/2010

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/13/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 772572

Squish VIN: 5NPET46F69H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, HE SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN AND BEGAN APPROACHING A CURB WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN. THE DRIVER TOOK HIS FOOT OFF OF THE BRAKES THEN HE ENGAGED THE BRAKES AGAIN IN ORDER TO DRIVE ONTO THE EMERGENCY LANE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED EXTREME DIFFICULTY WHILE TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL AND ATTEMPTED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT DOES NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 400. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 765 MILES.

Date Complaint Filed: 03/10/2010

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/04/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 775525

Squish VIN: 5NPEU46F99H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

1. DRIVING FROM HARRISBURG TO POTTSTOWN PA 2. NON-RESPONDING THROTTLE AT 60 MPH. PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER, SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. WORKED OK FOR A FEW MILES; AGAIN, THE THROTTLE BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. 3. FOUND INTERNAL FAILURE WITH THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR WHICH WAS SUBSEQUENTLY REPLACED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/18/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/11/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 778182

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C49H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA WITH 15000 MILES ON IT STARTED TO HAVE NOISY REAR BRAKES. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT BECAUSE THIS HAD BEEN A RENTAL VEHICLE IT MAY HAVE SAT ON A LOT FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME AND THE "SLIDES" FROZE IN PLACE NOT ALLOWING THE BRAKES TO RELEASE RESULTING IN PREMATURE BRAKE AND ROTOR FAILURE. I BELIEVE THIS IS A LIFE/SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUE. I DON'T THINK A VEHICLE SHOULD HAVE TO BE DRIVEN A MINIMUM NUMBER OF MILES TO PREVENT THE BRAKES FROM FAILING IN 15000 MILES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/02/2010

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 10/16/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 781391

Squish VIN: 5NPET46CX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BAD PULL TO THE LEFT REPLCE FRONT STRUT,SPRING NOISES WHILE DRIVEING,TIRES FEATHERING,NO STABILITY WHILE DRIVING,ANY KIND OF BUMPS YOU ARE ALL OVER THE ROAD,SHIMMY IN STEERING WHEEL,WITH TWO PASSENGERS IN THE BACK SEAT THE CAR LIFTS UP IN FRONT AND STABILITY WHILE DRIVING IS EVEN WORSE.THIS HAS BEEN OCCURING SINCE IT WAS NEW,EASY TO LOOSE CONTROL OF VEHICLE,REPLACED RF STRUT,BALANCED TIRES ,NUMEROUS TIMES ON THE ALIGNMENT RACK,DEALERSHIP ACKNOWLEDGES ALL TIRES FEATHERING BUT SAY THEY CANT FIX IT

Date Complaint Filed: 04/14/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/08/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 784261

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEEDS OF 20 MPH, THE REAR BRAKES FAILED CAUSING THE BRAKE PADS TO FRACTURE AND SEPARATE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CALIPERS WERE RUBBING INTO THE ROTORS, CAUSING IT TO MAKE AN UNUSUAL GRINDING NOISE. THE FRONT BRAKES WERE NOT AFFECTED, ALLOWING THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. THE BRAKES AND ROTORS WERE REPLACED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/14/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:PADS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/08/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 784262

Squish VIN: 5NPET46C09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HYUNDAI SONATA. WHILE DRIVING AT A SPEEDS OF 20 MPH, THE REAR BRAKES FAILED CAUSING THE BRAKE PADS TO FRACTURE AND SEPARATE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CALIPERS WERE RUBBING INTO THE ROTORS, CAUSING IT TO MAKE AN UNUSUAL GRINDING NOISE. THE FRONT BRAKES WERE NOT AFFECTED, ALLOWING THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. THE BRAKES AND ROTORS WERE REPLACED BY AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/07/2010

Component(s): AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/23/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 788876

Squish VIN: -

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS HEADING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY WHEN MY CAR WAS HIT ON LEFT FRONT SIDE BY A VEHICLE TRAVELING ON THE ROAD. THAT ALSO TRIGGERED ANOTHER COLLISION IN WHICH MY CAR HIT ANOTHER CAR PARKED ON THE STREET. THE HOOD WAS GRAVELY DAMAGED. IT WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THE CRITICAL ISSUE WAS THAT NO AIRBAG, WHATSOEVER, WAS INFLATED TO PROTECT THE SAFETY OF THE PASSENGER IN THE CAR. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode