Home / Complaints ( Jeep Wrangler 2012 )

JEEP WRANGLER 2012

Wrangler

Possibly the essential niche vehicle, the Jeep Wrangler has held the crown of ultimate off-roader since it had been provided to everyone. This SUV's lineage dates back greater than 60 several years to the initial military "Jeep," the now-legendary 4x4 that moved The Second World War soldiers and supplies over very rough terrain. Throughout time the Wrangler's off-road prowess and hard-guy image haven't wavered, but nor has it been probably the most civilized vehicle in the world.


Date Complaint Filed: 09/14/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/04/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 881594

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG3CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WITH 'ELECTRONIC RANGE SELECT' ALLOWS A DOWNSHIFT WITH A MOVE OF THE SHIFT LEVER TO THE LEFT WHEN IN 'D' DRIVE. A MOVE TO THE RIGHT UP-SHIFTS. ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS OCCUR FREQUENTLY BECAUSE OF 'HAIR-TRIGGER' NATURE OF SHIFT LEVER CONTROLS. THE SLIGHTEST, BARELY PERCEPTIBLE MOVEMENT LEFT CAUSES A DOWNSHIFT, OFTEN UNINTENDED AND UNEXPECTED. UP-SHIFTING REQUIRES A DEFINITE MOVEMENT TO THE RIGHT. DISCUSSION OF THIS ISSUE WITH 2012 AUTOMATIC WRANGLERS DRIVERS ON JEEP INTERNET FORUMS SUGGESTS A NUMBER OF PEOPLE EXPERIENCE AND HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THIS, WHILE A NUMBER OF DRIVERS STATE THEIR SHIFTER REQUIRES A DEFINITE MOVE LEFT TO DOWNSHIFT. I EXPERIENCE FREQUENT, ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS ON EVERY TRIP DUE TO THIS DEFECT. CURRENT MILEAGE ON THIS VEHICLE IS 1100 MILES. SUDDEN DECELERATION DUE TO ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS CAN CAUSE LOSS OF TRACTION ON UNPAVED, GRAVEL, ICY OR SNOWY ROADS, CONFUSION, DISORIENTING, AND OVER-REVVING THE ENGINE. *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/14/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/04/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 881595

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG3CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WITH 'ELECTRONIC RANGE SELECT' ALLOWS A DOWNSHIFT WITH A MOVE OF THE SHIFT LEVER TO THE LEFT WHEN IN 'D' DRIVE. A MOVE TO THE RIGHT UP-SHIFTS. ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS OCCUR FREQUENTLY BECAUSE OF 'HAIR-TRIGGER' NATURE OF SHIFT LEVER CONTROLS. THE SLIGHTEST, BARELY PERCEPTIBLE MOVEMENT LEFT CAUSES A DOWNSHIFT, OFTEN UNINTENDED AND UNEXPECTED. UP-SHIFTING REQUIRES A DEFINITE MOVEMENT TO THE RIGHT. DISCUSSION OF THIS ISSUE WITH 2012 AUTOMATIC WRANGLERS DRIVERS ON JEEP INTERNET FORUMS SUGGESTS A NUMBER OF PEOPLE EXPERIENCE AND HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THIS, WHILE A NUMBER OF DRIVERS STATE THEIR SHIFTER REQUIRES A DEFINITE MOVE LEFT TO DOWNSHIFT. I EXPERIENCE FREQUENT, ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS ON EVERY TRIP DUE TO THIS DEFECT. CURRENT MILEAGE ON THIS VEHICLE IS 1100 MILES. SUDDEN DECELERATION DUE TO ACCIDENTAL DOWNSHIFTS CAN CAUSE LOSS OF TRACTION ON UNPAVED, GRAVEL, ICY OR SNOWY ROADS, CONFUSION, DISORIENTING, AND OVER-REVVING THE ENGINE. *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/16/2011

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 882026

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFGXCL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS VEHICLE HAS AUTO STICK SHIFTING WITH AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. FOR UPSHIFTS MOVEMENT ALL THE WAY TO THE RIGHT, HITTING THE END OF TRAVEL IS REQUIRED THE MAKE A SHIFT UP IN GEAR SELECTION. ON DOWN SHIFTS, JUST TOUCHING THE SHIFT HANDLE AND BARELY APPLYING PRESSURE ACTIVATES A DOWNSHIFT. NO MOVEMENT OF THE SHIFT HANDLE IS REQUIRED. THIS WAY TO SENSITIVE. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 09/16/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 882027

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFGXCL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS VEHICLE HAS AUTO STICK SHIFTING WITH AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. FOR UPSHIFTS MOVEMENT ALL THE WAY TO THE RIGHT, HITTING THE END OF TRAVEL IS REQUIRED THE MAKE A SHIFT UP IN GEAR SELECTION. ON DOWN SHIFTS, JUST TOUCHING THE SHIFT HANDLE AND BARELY APPLYING PRESSURE ACTIVATES A DOWNSHIFT. NO MOVEMENT OF THE SHIFT HANDLE IS REQUIRED. THIS WAY TO SENSITIVE. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 11/09/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/06/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 891233

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWEG0CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AUTO SHIFTER JUST BARELY GETS BUMPED AND VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/22/2011

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:HOOD:LATCH

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/31/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893448

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG1CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN TRAVELING OVER 65 MPH, THE FRONT HOOD WOULD CONTINUOUSLY LIFT AND BANG AGAINST THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE AND ADVISED THAT THE FAILURE WOULD NOT CAUSE ANY PROBLEMS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED WHO OFFERED NO OTHER ASSISTANCE. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,250. UPDATED 12/12/11 *BF THE CONSUMER STATED THE HOOD LIFTS AND BANGS AGAINST THE SAFETY LATCH. THE CONSTANT BANGING AGAINST THE SAFETY CANNOT BE GOOD AND COULD POTENTIALLY DAMAGE THE LATCH TO THE POINT IT IS NO LONGER FUNCTIONAL. THE CONSUMER STATED THE HOOD LATCH IS MADE OF RUBBER AND PLASTIC. THE RUBBER STRETCHES WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. UPDATED 12/14/11

Date Complaint Filed: 12/30/2011

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 899351

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWKGXCL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WATER FILLING UP ON THE INSIDE FRONT FLOORBOARDS WHEN IT RAINS; COMING IN FROM FIREWALL; POSSIBLE FIRE HAZARD. *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 02/03/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/28/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 904953

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE TRANSMISSION BECAME DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE 1ST GEAR. SHIFTING INTO ALL OTHERS WAS VERY NOTCHY. FINALLY, IN TRAFFIC, IT BECAME IMPOSSIBLE TO ENGAGE 1ST GEAR AT ALL. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE STARTED IN 2ND GEAR. THE VEHICLE HAD LIMPED IN TO THE DEALER. UPON INSPECTION IT WAS FOUND THAT THE 1ST GEAR SYNCHRO HAD CRACKED AND FAILED. THIS CAN CREATE A HAZARDOUS SITUATION IN BUSY TRAFFIC. THIS TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN REPORTED BY VARIOUS USER FORUMS AS FAULTY AND PRONE TO FAILURE, INCLUDING POPPING OUT OF GEAR AND DIFFICULT SHIFTING. POPPING OUT OF GEAR IN A BUSY INTERSECTION COULD BE DANGEROUS, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE UNABLE TO ENGAGE ANOTHER GEAR. THE DEALER IS REPAIRING THE BROKEN SYNCHRO. *KB

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 906197

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG4CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2012 WRANGLER WITH ONLY 200 MILES START TO OVERHEATING WHEN USE MORE POWER TO RUN UPHILL A ROAD. I GO TO THE DEALER TO VERIFY AND SAID TO ME THAT ITS NORMAL. I SAID TO THEME THAT CHANGE ME THIS WRANGLER BECAUSE WAS NEW AND NOT CHANGE IT WITH ANOTHER. ALSO NOW AT 987 MILES THE ENGINE MAKE A NOISE LIKE A LIFTERS. MY QUESTION IS , WHEN THE WRANGLER WON MORE MILES THE PROBLEMS ARE MORE? I READ ON INTERNET THAT SOME PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. CHRYSLER NEED TO VERIFY ALL PENTASTAR ENGINES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/23/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/23/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 908311

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG3CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAS DOWNSHIFTED-WENT FROM DRIVE TO 2ND .OR 3RD GEAR RANGE. VEHICLE HAS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND BEGAN DRIVING. SLOWED DOWN AT STOP SIGN AND BEGAN TO PULL OUT VEHICLE WENT FROM "D" RANGE TO 2ND ON INDICATOR. VEHICLE HAS SELECT SHIFT + AND -. EACH TIME I THOUGHT I HAD TOUCHED SELECTOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/07/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 910181

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG8CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

START THE VEHICLE AFTER IT HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A FEW HOURS THERE IS AN EXTREMELY HARD BRAKE PEDAL. YOU CAN PRESS AS HARD AS YOU CAN THE VEHICLE ROLLS AWAY FOR 5 TO 10 SECONDS DEPENDING HOW LONG THE VEHICLE HAS SAT. THE VEHICLE IS A MANUAL TRANSMISSION SO IN ORDER TO START THE CLUTCH NEEDS TO BE COMPRESSED THUS PUTTING YOU IN NEUTRAL WITH NO BRAKES. THE EMERGENCY BRAKE ALSO DOES NOT WORK IN THE ALL THE WAY UP POSITION. SO WHEN STARTING IN THE MORNING OR AFTER A FEW HOURS THERE ARE NO BRAKES AT ALL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/15/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/12/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 911637

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG8CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 2012 WRANGLER SPORT (6SP) HAS A FAULTY TRANSMISSION. IT MAKES A HORRIBLE RATTLE AT HIGH RPMS IN 3RD AND 4TH GEAR, THE GEARS WHINE AND 1ST IS REALLY HARD TO ENGAGE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SLOWLY ROLLING. SOMETIMES I HAVE TO DOUBLE CLUTCH IT JUST TO GET 1ST GEAR TO WORK WHEN ROLLING. REVERSE GRINDS. THE GEAR SHIFTER SHAKES EXCESSIVELY WHEN VEHICLE IS IN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR. SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND IS NOTCHY AS IS 5TH TO 6TH AND WHEN PUTTING IT INTO REVERSE. THE CLUTCH OFTEN HAS A CRUNCHY FEEL WHEN I PRESS THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/26/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 913125

Squish VIN: 1C4GJWAG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER SPORT ON 3/3/12 AT ROUGHLY 2PM CST. AT ABOUT 4PM CST, I PARKED THE JEEP IN MY APARTMENT'S PARKING GARAGE. I DECIDED AT ABOUT 6PM CST TO GO GET SOME DINNER, AND TO CRUISE AROUND AS WELL IN THE NEW VEHICLE. I OBSERVED SMOKE COMING FROM THE PARKING GARAGE, AND WHEN I GOT INTO THE GARAGE, I OBSERVED MY NEW JEEP ON FIRE. THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. BOTH FRONT TIRES EXPLODED AS A RESULT OF THE FIRE, AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY DAMAGED. THE INTERIOR IS DESTROYED; BASICALLY TOTALED OUT. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH 11 MILES ON THE ODOMETER, AND ENDED WITH ABOUT 17 TOTAL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/26/2012

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 913126

Squish VIN: 1C4GJWAG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER SPORT ON 3/3/12 AT ROUGHLY 2PM CST. AT ABOUT 4PM CST, I PARKED THE JEEP IN MY APARTMENT'S PARKING GARAGE. I DECIDED AT ABOUT 6PM CST TO GO GET SOME DINNER, AND TO CRUISE AROUND AS WELL IN THE NEW VEHICLE. I OBSERVED SMOKE COMING FROM THE PARKING GARAGE, AND WHEN I GOT INTO THE GARAGE, I OBSERVED MY NEW JEEP ON FIRE. THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. BOTH FRONT TIRES EXPLODED AS A RESULT OF THE FIRE, AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY DAMAGED. THE INTERIOR IS DESTROYED; BASICALLY TOTALED OUT. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH 11 MILES ON THE ODOMETER, AND ENDED WITH ABOUT 17 TOTAL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/26/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 913127

Squish VIN: 1C4GJWAG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER SPORT ON 3/3/12 AT ROUGHLY 2PM CST. AT ABOUT 4PM CST, I PARKED THE JEEP IN MY APARTMENT'S PARKING GARAGE. I DECIDED AT ABOUT 6PM CST TO GO GET SOME DINNER, AND TO CRUISE AROUND AS WELL IN THE NEW VEHICLE. I OBSERVED SMOKE COMING FROM THE PARKING GARAGE, AND WHEN I GOT INTO THE GARAGE, I OBSERVED MY NEW JEEP ON FIRE. THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. BOTH FRONT TIRES EXPLODED AS A RESULT OF THE FIRE, AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END WAS COMPLETELY DAMAGED. THE INTERIOR IS DESTROYED; BASICALLY TOTALED OUT. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH 11 MILES ON THE ODOMETER, AND ENDED WITH ABOUT 17 TOTAL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/27/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 913366

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG0CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

LOUD TICKING NOISE FROM LEFT ENGINE BANK. AT IDLE AND DRIVING. INCREASE TICKING WITH INCREASED RPM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/09/2012

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 915239

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG4CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

FUEL OVERFLOWS AND SPILLS WHEN I FILL UP. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/13/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/26/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 915890

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWBG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE AFTER BEING PARKED OVERNIGHT OR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME (4-5 HOURS), THE ACCELERATION APPEARS TO BE SLUGGISH. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVEN IN CALIFORNIA SO COLD WEATHER SHOULD NOT BE AN ISSUE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE IS NORMALLY WARMED UP FOR A SHORT PERIOD PRIOR TO DRIVING TO ALLOW THE RPM TO LOWER AND SETTLE. THE SLUGGISH ACCELERATION REQUIRES THE DRIVER TO EXERT MORE FORCE ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO MAINTAIN A STEADY ACCELERATION. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 5-10 MINUTES OF DRIVING, THE VEHICLE APPEARS TO ACCELERATE SMOOTHER WITH LESS STRAIN ON THE ENGINE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/25/2012

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/21/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917591

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

SIDEWALL BLOWOUT, P225/75R16 M+S , WRANGLER ST 104S. DOT M671 EYER4611. VEHICLE UNDER TOW 121 MILES AT FAILURE, CA210FWY @ 57 MPH. DRIVER SIDE REAR. 1109 TOTAL MILES ON VEHICLE AND ALL TIRES. 285 TOTAL MILES TOWED. NO TREAD FLAT SPOTS, NO INDICATION OF TIRE DAMAGE AT START OF FINAL TOW. NO HEAT NOTED IN OTHER TIRES AT FAILURE. WHEEL SPUN FREELY ON JACK, TRANSMISSION IN PARK, TRANSFER CASE IN NEUTRAL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919855

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE DEVELOPED A TICKING SOUND ON DRIVER'S SIDE ENGINE BAY. SOUNDS LIKE ENGINE IS MISSING OR TAPPING ON DRIVER'S SIDE. LOSS OF POWER/STALLS MORE COMMON NOW. TOOK VEHICLE TO CHRYSLER AND THEY SAY THAT MY ENGINE IS JUST "LOUD" COMPARED TO ALL OTHER 2012'S AND THAT IT'S NORMAL. THEY TOLD ME TO JUST DRIVE IT UNTIL IT FAILS AND THEN BRING IT BACK IN BECAUSE CHRYSLER CORPORATE WILL NOT ALLOW A DEALERSHIP TO WORK ON THE ENGINE AND FIX IT UNTIL A FAILURE OCCURS. SO, NOW I AM STUCK WITH A 3 MONTH OLD 2012 WRANGLER WAITING FOR IT TO BREAKDOWN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BEFORE THE DEALERSHIP WILL FIX THE KNOWN ISSUE. MECHANIC SAYS "THAT DOESN'T SOUND RIGHT" WHEN I TOOK IT IN. MIND YOU I TOOK THE WRANGLER INTO TWO DEALERSHIPS AT THIS POINT FOR MULTIPLE OPINIONS. BOTH AGREE THE JEEP WILL FAIL AND TO JUST "WAIT" UNTIL IT DOES BECAUSE THEY ARE TOLD BY CHRYSLER TO NOT WORK ON FAULTY WRANGLERS WITH THE NEW PENTASTAR ENGINE UNTIL THE ENGINE COMPLETELY FAILS. REAL PROACTIVE ON THAT DECISION CHRYSLER. I'M NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO THE DAY POWER IS LOST WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY OR CROSSING TRAIN TRACKS. THANKS A LOT FOR PUTTING MY LIFE AT RISK OVER A KNOWN ISSUE YET NOT ACTING ON THE KNOWN FIX. BOTH DEALERSHIPS CLAIM THEY KNOW HEADS ARE BEING REPLACED WHEN THIS SYMPTOM IS FOUND ON 2012 WRANGLERS. THAT'S ALL I'M LOOKING FOR, FIX WHAT WAS NOT BUILT CORRECTLY IN THE FIRST PLACE LIKE OTHERS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 919911

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFG5CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE HAS TICKING SOUND FROM THE LEFT SIDE OF THE ENGINE AND CONTINUES TO. CHRYSLER AND JEEP COMPLAIN THIS TICKING IS "NORMAL VALVE NOISE". BUT, I HAVE HEARD OTHER ENGINES OF THE SAME YEAR AND THEY DO NOT HAVE THIS SOUND. IT APPEARS TO AFFECT QUITE A FEW PEOPLE FROM RESEARCH AS WELL. ENGINE ALSO FEELS LIKE IT STUTTERS WHEN REVERSING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/03/2012

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/27/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 933546

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG3CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER MW3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, HE FELT THE VEHICLE PULLING TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE DEALER RECOMMENDED REPLACING THE FRONT AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 328 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,400.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/13/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 935373

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG7CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE TICKING COMING FROM DRIVER'S SIDE. TOOK IT TO ONE DEALER AND THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMED THE TICK. DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO ACT. TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND SERVICE TECH TOLD ME THAT CHRYSLER WAS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT THAT REPAIRS WERE ON HOLD. TOOK IT BACK TO THAT DEALER AND SERVICE EMPLOYEE DENIED ANY KNOWLEDGE OF A PROBLEM. TICKING HAS GOTTEN WORSE AND ENGINE POWER IS DECREASING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/18/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936279

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG0CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NOTICED A VERY PROMINENT TICKING NOISE COMING FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE OF ENGINE. OCCURS AT IDLE AND GETS MORE PRONOUNCED WHEN INCREASING SPEED WHILE IN PARK. NOTIFIED THE DEALER AND JEEP SPENT THREE DAYS AT DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE ADVISOR WHO HAD 23 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE TOLD ME WHEN HE HEARD IT THAT IT DEFINITELY WAS A LIFTER PROBLEM. SO I CALLED CHRYSLER CORP AND RECEIVED A CLAIM NUMBER. TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, I WAS TOLD THAT ALL THE PENTASTAR ENGINES MADE A LOUD TICKING NOISE FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE AND THIS WAS A NORMAL VARIANT. WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS IN THE DESIGN OF THE LEFT EXHAUST MANIFOLD AND THEY ALL MADE THIS NOISE. AFTER MUCH TALKING BETWEEN CHRYSLER CORP AND THE DEALERSHIP I WAS TOLD TO COME AND PICK UP MY JEEP, NOTHING WOULD BE DONE. I HAVE A FRIEND WHO IS A DODGE MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PENTASTAR ENGINES ARE HAVING MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH THE LEFT HEAD AND CAM PHASER ARE GOING OUT... I AM CONCERNED THAT THE ENGINE WILL CATCH FIRE OR STALL OUT ON THE FREEWAY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/01/2012

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/29/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 938667

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWCG8CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING IN 4 LOW IN 90 DEGREE AND 3000 FEET ELEVATION GAIN. I COULD SMELL A STRONG GAS VAPOR. IT WAS IN THE CAB AND OUTSIDE. IT IS DUE TO THE DESIGN OF THE EVAP SYSTEM. THE JKDEPENDS ON A SPRING VALVE TO RELIEVE EXCESSIVE PRESSURE/VACUUM IN THE FUEL SYSTEM. THE ESIM IS A CRUDE DEVICE MEANT TO MEET MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. THE REALITY IS ON HOT DAY WHEN VAPORS ARE PREVALANT, ESPECIALLY IN 4WD LOW WHEN THE VEHICLE IS MOVING SLOW AND THE ENGINE ARE HIGH REVS ARE HIGH YOU MAY SMELL FUEL. THIS REALLY BOTHERED ME WITH MY FAMILY ON BOARD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/15/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 939349

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFG3CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER RUBICON UNLIMITED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SHIFTING INTO REVERSE WHILE ON A CLIFF THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORWARDED INSTEAD OF REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 939430

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWEG1CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TICKING SOUND, SOUNDS BAD FIRST START IN THE MORNING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/23/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 939551

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWEG5CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXHAUST FUMES WERE EMITTED INTO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO STATED THAT THEY WOULD INVESTIGATE FURTHER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125 AND THE CURRENT 1,474. UPDATED 10/3/12 *CN UPDATED 10/05/2012*JS

Date Complaint Filed: 05/16/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/08/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 920342

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON 5/8/12. LIGHT OFF ON 5/8/12. LIGHT ON 5/10/12. ON 5/11/12 TOOK TO JEEP DEALER FROM WHICH PURCHASED. CODE FOR MISFIRE ON CYLINDER #6. CODE CLEARED. CEL RESET. GOT ONE MILE TOWARDS HOME AND CEL ILLUMINATED AGAIN. RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP. TOLD TO RETURN 5/14/12. RETURNED 5/14/12. ON 5/15/12 DEALERSHIP INDICATED CRACKED/BROKEN SPARK PLUG (#2) CODE. PLUG REPLACED. CODE RESET. GOT FOUR MILES TOWARDS HOME AND CEL ILLUMINATED AGAIN. RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP. AWAITING RESOLUTION.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/18/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/17/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 920835

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWEG2CL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

45 DAYS AND 1960 MILES AND IT IS AT DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT WITH STEERING COLUMN AND DASH ALL APART. I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH CLOCK SPRING IN STEERING WHEEL, HOWEVER AFTER THAT WAS REPLACED THEY STILL HAVE PROBLEMS WITH ELECTRONICS IN STEERING COLUMN. SO FAR DEALER DOESN'T KNOW OR IS NOT SURE EXACTLY WHAT IS WRONG. I WAS TOLD THEY WERE WAITING ON A REPLY FROM MANUFACTURE AND THEY WERE HAVING TROUBLE RUNNING TESTS THROUGH CLUSTER. I WILL BE REQUESTING FOR JEEP TO EXCHANGE THIS ONE FOR ANOTHER ONE AS I DON'T TRUST THEY WILL CORRECT THE PROBLEM. WHAT IF I AM FAR FROM HOME AT NIGHT IN THE RAIN. I COULD HAVE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode