Home / Complaints ( KIA SPORTAGE 2008 )

KIA SPORTAGE 2008

Sportage

The Kia Sportage has never been one for small transformative changes. Initially an inexpensive, of poor quality field then a good, yet absolutely forgettable bargain-cost Vehicle, present day Sportage has become an elegant and well-rounded compact crossover Vehicle. In human terms, the Kia Sportage went from the baboon to some Neanderthal after which George Clooney within the length of fifteen years.


Date Complaint Filed: 12/09/2008

Component(s): TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 12/09/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 703665

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WE HAVE A NEW 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE TPMS (TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM) COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY, FOUR TIMES IN 10,000 MILES. WE HAVE HAD TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER ON TWO OCCASIONS TO HAVE THE LIGHT TURNED OFF. IT WENT OFF BY ITSELF ON THE OTHER TWO OCCASIONS. THE DEALER SAYS THE TPMS SYSTEM IS NEW AND WE SHOULD NOT WORRY ABOUT IT. THEY ALSO STATED IT HAPPENS FREQUENTLY ON OTHER MODELS, NOT JUST OUR VEHICLE. I BELIEVE THIS COULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. HOW ARE WE SUPPOSED TO NOW IF WE REALLY HAVE LOW TIRE PRESSURE? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/16/2008

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 704544

Squish VIN: KNDJF723887

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TPMS - TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM AND HEATING UNIT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/16/2008

Component(s): TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 704545

Squish VIN: KNDJF723887

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TPMS - TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM AND HEATING UNIT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/02/2009

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 01/02/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 706570

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

I RENTED A KIA SPORTAGE AND WHILE CLOSING THE TAILGATE THE TOP HINGED PORTION OF THE TAILGATE LIFTED UP AND THEN SLAMMED DOWN ON MY FINGER CAUSING A PAINFUL CONTUSION AND EXTENSIVE DISCOLORATION UNDER THE FINGERNAIL. I HAD ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA THAT THE UPPER PORTION OF THE TAILGATE WAS HINGED OR I NEVER WOULD HAVE HAD MY HANDS LOCATED ANYWHERE NEAR THE GLASS PART OF THE TAILGATE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/05/2009

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 09/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 706804

Squish VIN: KNDJF724487

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE PURCHASED A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE AND I AM DISABLED AND OBESE. I TELEPHONED KIA TO REQUEST A SEAT BELT EXTENSION AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT NHTSA SAID THAT THEY WERE NOT ALLOWED TO MAKE THEM. WHY DO ALL OTHER AUTO MANUFACTURERS FORD,CHRYSLER,CADILLAC OFFER SEAT BELT EXTENSIONS? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/12/2009

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 707782

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 KIA SPORTAGE DO NOT HAVE A PROTECTIVE SHIELD UNDER THE GAS TANK. CONSUMER HAS A HOLE IN THE GAS TANK AFTER DRIVING OVER AN OBJECT IN THE ROAD. *NJ

Date Complaint Filed: 01/26/2009

Component(s): TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 01/10/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 709759

Squish VIN: KNDJE723887

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER CHANGED THE CONTROL PANEL SENSOR, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/19/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION:FRONT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 12/15/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 713212

Squish VIN: KNDJF724X87

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT HAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE EVER SINCE ITS DATE OF PURCHASE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES ILLUMINATED AND BEGAN TO FAIL. SOON AFTER, THE VEHICLE FAILED COMPLETELY; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SAFELY MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO HER DESTINATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STEERING CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE CONTACT NOTICED A NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TWO FRONT STRUT BOLTS WERE LOOSE FROM THE SPINDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,230.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/19/2009

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 12/15/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 713213

Squish VIN: KNDJF724X87

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT HAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE EVER SINCE ITS DATE OF PURCHASE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES ILLUMINATED AND BEGAN TO FAIL. SOON AFTER, THE VEHICLE FAILED COMPLETELY; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SAFELY MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO HER DESTINATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STEERING CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE CONTACT NOTICED A NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TWO FRONT STRUT BOLTS WERE LOOSE FROM THE SPINDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,230.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/19/2009

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 12/15/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 713214

Squish VIN: KNDJF724X87

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT HAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE EVER SINCE ITS DATE OF PURCHASE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES ILLUMINATED AND BEGAN TO FAIL. SOON AFTER, THE VEHICLE FAILED COMPLETELY; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SAFELY MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO HER DESTINATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC STEERING CONTROL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. TWO MONTHS LATER, THE CONTACT NOTICED A NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TWO FRONT STRUT BOLTS WERE LOOSE FROM THE SPINDLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,230.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2009

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 09/06/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 737988

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING SOUTH ON RT33, NEAR SNYDERSVILLE PA,AT ABOUT 60MPH THE DRIVER'S WINDOW "EXPLODED" I.E. SHATTERED INTO THOUSANDS OF PIECES. THERE WAS NO WARNING OF IMPENDING BREAKING-UP. THIS IS THE ONLY OCCURRENCE AT THIS TIME. NO ONE WAS INJURED AND I KNOW OF NO WITNESSES. I SHALL ATTEMPT TO HAVE THE DAMAGE REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/05/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 773619

Squish VIN: KNDJF724987

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) PURCHASED KIA SPORTAGE XL ON 5-22-2008 WITH ABS BRAKE SYSTEM; DURING THE SUBSEQUENT WINTER MONTH, I APPLIED BRAKES AND WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL STEERING; FRONT WHEELS APPEARED TO BE LOCKED IN STRAIGHT POSITION; CAR CONTINUED SKIDDING THROUGH INTERSECTION, DESPITE APPLICATION OF BRAKES. TOOK CAR IN TO KIA (ED NAPLETON) IN ELMHURST A COUPLE TIMES, BUT WAS TOLD IT WAS A NORMAL FUNCTION OF THE ABS SYSTEM, AND I HAD TO INCREASE MY STOPPING LENGTH TO ENSURE I DIDN'T GO THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. IT IS LIKE GUESS WORK, BECAUSE SNOW IS DIFFERENT FROM ICE AND WATER, AND ONE NEVER KNOWS HOW THE SYSTEM WILL REACT OR HOW FAR YOU MUST APPLY BRAKES BEFORE GETTING TO INTERSECTION, TO GET THE EFFECT YOU NEED TO MAKE YOU FEELS SAFE AND ALLOW THE CAR TO STOP. I CALLED 18003334542 WHERE I WAS TOLD TO TAKE VEHICLE IN TO ED NAPLETON 18663528276 AND HAVE SYSTEM CHECKED; WHICH I DID A COUPLE TIMES, BUT AFTER A WHILE WAS TOLD I HAD TO GET ACCUSTOMED TO THE SYSTEM. STAFF AT 1-800 NUMBER ADVISED TO HAVE STAFF AT ED NAPLETON TEST DRIVE VEHICLE WITH ME & REPRODUCE MOTION/ACTION IN QUESTION, BUT THEY SAID IT WAS NORMAL. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE DURING THE WINTER, AND HAVE TRIED NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AS MUCH AS I CAN. I'VE HAD NIGHTMARES ABOUT ENDING UP AT LOYOLA UNIVERSITY'S TRAUMA CENTER, WHICH IS SUBJECTIVE, BUT I'M NOT WORKING RIGHT NOW AND CAN'T WORK ON GETTING A DIFFERENT VEHICLE. DATES: 8-15-08 (JD POWER EVALUATION COMPLETED); 12-1-08 8AM (CAR IN FOR BRAKE CHECK); 12-3-01 (AGAIN); 12-10-10 CALLED 1800 NUMBER RE: BRAKES; 12-12-10 CALLED 1-866 TO GET APPT & HAVE BRAKES CHECKED AGAIN 3-7-09 TOOK CAR IN FOR OIL CHANGE, SPOKE TO GLENN J MUNGO RE: BRAKE EFFECT, REPEATED SAME THINGS OTHERS DID (THAT IT WAS A NORMAL RESPONSE TO PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL). CASE # [XXX] *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/14/2010

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI-KIA AMERICA TECHNICAL CENTER INC

Date Of Incident: 03/15/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 784232

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A TRAFFIC STOP AT SPEEDS OF 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SURGED FROWARD AS THE TRANSMISSION STRUGGLED TO CHANGE GEARS. THE DEALER ADVISED THEY WERE AWARE OF THE FAILURE HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURE HAD NOT YET OFFERED A REMEDY TO CORRECT THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SERVICED BY THE DEALER A TOTAL OF THREE TIMES. THE DEALER RESET THE VEHICLE ON EACH OCCASION. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO RECUR INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,819 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/15/2010

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 05/14/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 790356

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ACCELERATED AFTER A STOP SIGN AND THE TRANSMISSION FELT LIKE IT AS STRUGGLING TO SWITCH GEARS. LIKE IT WAS SLIPPING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/13/2010

Component(s): TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 12/02/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 832678

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ELECTRONIC STABILITY SYSTEM (ESS) DOESN'T WORK ON COLD DAYS. WHEN STARTING CAR ESS OFF LIGHT IS ON AND THE ESS SYSTEM WON'T WORK. TOOK CAR TO DEALER IN SPRING 2010 AND DEALER INDICATED THAT PROBLEM WAS A BAD BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. DEALER REPLACED SWITCH AND ESS APPEARED TO BE REPAIRED. COLD WEATHER HIT AGAIN AND THE ESS DOESN'T WORK AGAIN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/13/2010

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 12/02/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 832679

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ELECTRONIC STABILITY SYSTEM (ESS) DOESN'T WORK ON COLD DAYS. WHEN STARTING CAR ESS OFF LIGHT IS ON AND THE ESS SYSTEM WON'T WORK. TOOK CAR TO DEALER IN SPRING 2010 AND DEALER INDICATED THAT PROBLEM WAS A BAD BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH. DEALER REPLACED SWITCH AND ESS APPEARED TO BE REPAIRED. COLD WEATHER HIT AGAIN AND THE ESS DOESN'T WORK AGAIN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/03/2011

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 836484

Squish VIN: KNDJE723787

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, SHE NOTICED SPARKS SHOOTING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE TAIL LIGHT. THE CONTACT THEN BEGAN TO SMELL A BURNING ODOR AND PULLED OVER TO INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE. THERE WERE NO MORE SPARKS COMING FROM THE VEHICLE BUT THE BURNING ODOR WAS STILL PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER STILL WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR LOCATE A FAILURE WITHIN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO HAVE THE DEALER DIAGNOSE AND INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE SAFETY OF THE VEHICLE AND TRADED IT FOR ANOTHER MODEL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 54,000 AND THE CURRENT WAS 59,917.

Date Complaint Filed: 03/03/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 847256

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE AT AN AUCTION. IT HAS SUSTAINED AN ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE THAT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY THE WIRING HARNESS AND / OR ABS PUMP. THIS IS THE LX MODEL WITH 2.7 V6 AUTOMATIC 4WD. I JUST SAW ANOTHER SPORTAGE 2010 MODEL THAT HAD A FIRE IN THE SAME ABS PUMP AREA AT AN AUCTION. THOUGHT YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED AS THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM .. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/03/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 847257

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2008 KIA SPORTAGE AT AN AUCTION. IT HAS SUSTAINED AN ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE THAT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY THE WIRING HARNESS AND / OR ABS PUMP. THIS IS THE LX MODEL WITH 2.7 V6 AUTOMATIC 4WD. I JUST SAW ANOTHER SPORTAGE 2010 MODEL THAT HAD A FIRE IN THE SAME ABS PUMP AREA AT AN AUCTION. THOUGHT YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED AS THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM .. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 05/16/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 868154

Squish VIN: KNDJE723187

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TRANSMISSION "SLAMS" WHEN SHIFTING FROM 2ND TO 3RD AFTER IT HAS A CHANCE TO WARM UP. THIS OCCURS FROM EITHER A STAND-STILL OR WHEN IT HAS BEEN ROLLING AND SHIFTS TO A HIGHER GEAR. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE NOT AWARE OF ANY OTHER ISSUES OF THIS TYPE, BUT I HAD ANOTHER KIA IN THE PAST AND THE SAME THING OCCURRED. THE DEALER IS CURRENTLY LOOKING INTO WHAT MAY BE CAUSING THIS ISSUE AND ARE TRYING TO DETERMINE IF I NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION OR NOT. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 03/15/2012

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 911502

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A KIA SPORTAGE 2008 AUG OF 2010 ABOUT 1 MONTH AFTER PURCHASING I NOTICED THE ESC LIGHT THAT CAME ON, WHEN THIS LIGHT COMES ON THE ENGINE FORCES ITSELF TO DO MORE WORK, THE CAR WON'T GO MORE THEN 40MPH, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED, 2 MONTHS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN, HERE WE ARE 1YR LATER AND IT'S STILL HAPPENING. THE DEALER I TAKE IT TO TELLS ME "THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS THIS TYPE OF CAR" AND KNOW THE BATTERY LIGHT IS COMING ON AT THE SAME TIME THE ECS LIGHT IS COMING ON. I HAVE AN APPT. TO GO TO THE DEALER BACK ON MONDAY FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND I'M STILL GETTING NO ANSWERS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/15/2012

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 911503

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A KIA SPORTAGE 2008 AUG OF 2010 ABOUT 1 MONTH AFTER PURCHASING I NOTICED THE ESC LIGHT THAT CAME ON, WHEN THIS LIGHT COMES ON THE ENGINE FORCES ITSELF TO DO MORE WORK, THE CAR WON'T GO MORE THEN 40MPH, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED, 2 MONTHS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN, HERE WE ARE 1YR LATER AND IT'S STILL HAPPENING. THE DEALER I TAKE IT TO TELLS ME "THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS THIS TYPE OF CAR" AND KNOW THE BATTERY LIGHT IS COMING ON AT THE SAME TIME THE ECS LIGHT IS COMING ON. I HAVE AN APPT. TO GO TO THE DEALER BACK ON MONDAY FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND I'M STILL GETTING NO ANSWERS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/15/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 911504

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A KIA SPORTAGE 2008 AUG OF 2010 ABOUT 1 MONTH AFTER PURCHASING I NOTICED THE ESC LIGHT THAT CAME ON, WHEN THIS LIGHT COMES ON THE ENGINE FORCES ITSELF TO DO MORE WORK, THE CAR WON'T GO MORE THEN 40MPH, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED, 2 MONTHS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN, HERE WE ARE 1YR LATER AND IT'S STILL HAPPENING. THE DEALER I TAKE IT TO TELLS ME "THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS THIS TYPE OF CAR" AND KNOW THE BATTERY LIGHT IS COMING ON AT THE SAME TIME THE ECS LIGHT IS COMING ON. I HAVE AN APPT. TO GO TO THE DEALER BACK ON MONDAY FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND I'M STILL GETTING NO ANSWERS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/06/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: KIA MOTORS CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 03/17/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 914900

Squish VIN: KNDJF723087

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTS VERY SHARP AND ROUGH FROM 2ND TO 3RD GEAR, APPROXIMATELY AT 25 MPH. ON 17 MAR 11, THE DEALER RE-PROGRAMMED A COMPUTER CHIP FOR THE TRANSMISSION UNDER THEIR SERVICE BULLETIN TSB ENG 075--ECM UPGRADE. THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE FOR ABOUT 8 MONTHS, BUT THEN SAME PROBLEM STARTED. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT IN AGAIN AT THE BEGINNING OF MARCH 2012, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS BLOWN, AND A NEW ONE PROVIDED UNDER WARRANTY. I WAS TOLD TO STAND BY AND THEY WILL CALL WHEN IT IS READY. I CALLED ONCE A WEEK FOR A MONTH TO INQUIRE, AS I RECEIVED NO CALLS, BEING TOLD THAT THE APPROVAL PROCESS WAS UNDERWAY. TODAY, 06 APR 12, I WAS TOLD THAT THE CHIP NEEDED TO BE RE-PROGRAMMED AGAIN. IT DIDN'T WORK BEFORE, WHY WOULD IT WORK NOW? I JUST WANT MY CAR PROPERLY FIXED, AND THE DEALER DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE WILLING TO DO IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2013

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 01/15/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 976363

Squish VIN: KNDJE723487

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

APPROXIMATELY, TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE IN 01/2013, "ESC OFF," LIGHT CAME ON MULTIPLE TIMES AT VARIOUS SPEEDS INCLUDING VEHICLE START UP. I MADE SEVERAL CALLS TO PLACE OF PURCHASE REGARDING INTERMITTENT, "ESC OFF," LIGHT. PRESSING " ESC OFF," DASH BUTTON HAS NO EFFECT AND THE LIGHT STAYS ILLUMINATED. DEALER OF PURCHASE TOOK VEHICLE TO KIA SERVICE AND THE DIAGNOSTIC WAS TPMS LIGHT IS ON, ADVISE. AT NO TIME DID THE TPMS LIGHT EVER COME ON, NOR WAS IT REPORTED AS SUCH. VEHICLE WAS RETURNED WITH NO WORK DONE, AND PLACE OF PURCHASE WAS INFORMED THAT TIRE(S) WERE LOW. CURRENTLY, THE "ESC OFF," LIGHT IS STILL ILLUMINATING AND BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE FAILED. TIRE PRESSURE CHECK BY RECENT SERVICE (OIL CHANGE) WAS REPORTED AS NORMAL. ACCORDING TO KIA CUSTOMER SUPPORT AND THE KIA DEALERSHIP OF SERVICE, THIS VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ISSUED 01 APRIL, 2013. PURCHASE MILEAGE 27,476, MILEAGE AT KIA SERVICE 30,328 ON 21 FEB, 2013. SEVERAL ONLINE FORUMS INCLUDING KIA-FORUMS.COM REPORT THIS PROBLEM AS FAR BACK AS 2007 MODELS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2013

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 01/15/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 976364

Squish VIN: KNDJE723487

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

APPROXIMATELY, TWO WEEKS AFTER PURCHASE IN 01/2013, "ESC OFF," LIGHT CAME ON MULTIPLE TIMES AT VARIOUS SPEEDS INCLUDING VEHICLE START UP. I MADE SEVERAL CALLS TO PLACE OF PURCHASE REGARDING INTERMITTENT, "ESC OFF," LIGHT. PRESSING " ESC OFF," DASH BUTTON HAS NO EFFECT AND THE LIGHT STAYS ILLUMINATED. DEALER OF PURCHASE TOOK VEHICLE TO KIA SERVICE AND THE DIAGNOSTIC WAS TPMS LIGHT IS ON, ADVISE. AT NO TIME DID THE TPMS LIGHT EVER COME ON, NOR WAS IT REPORTED AS SUCH. VEHICLE WAS RETURNED WITH NO WORK DONE, AND PLACE OF PURCHASE WAS INFORMED THAT TIRE(S) WERE LOW. CURRENTLY, THE "ESC OFF," LIGHT IS STILL ILLUMINATING AND BRAKE LIGHTS HAVE FAILED. TIRE PRESSURE CHECK BY RECENT SERVICE (OIL CHANGE) WAS REPORTED AS NORMAL. ACCORDING TO KIA CUSTOMER SUPPORT AND THE KIA DEALERSHIP OF SERVICE, THIS VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL ISSUED 01 APRIL, 2013. PURCHASE MILEAGE 27,476, MILEAGE AT KIA SERVICE 30,328 ON 21 FEB, 2013. SEVERAL ONLINE FORUMS INCLUDING KIA-FORUMS.COM REPORT THIS PROBLEM AS FAR BACK AS 2007 MODELS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/14/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 980435

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE PARKED, NOT RUNNING, BUT WITH THE RADIO ON, THERE WAS A LOUD POP AND SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD. RELASED LOCK AND LOOKED INSIDE, SMALL BOX MOUNTED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WALL, UNDER THE HOOD, OVER THE WHEEL WELL, A SMALL SQUARE BOX, I THINK IT WAS THE ABS BOX WAS ON FIRE. EVERYTHING THAT WAS BURNABLE UNDER THE HOOD BURNT BEFORE THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/14/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 980505

Squish VIN: KNDJE723987

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS IN THE CAR, PARKED IN A WENDYS PARKING LOT, ENGINE OFF, RADIO ON. THERE WAS A LOUD POP FOLLOWED BY SMOKE, A GENTLEMAN IN A TRUCK 3 SPACES AWAY HEARD IT AND SAW IT. WE GOT OUT TO LOOK AT IT AND THE SMOKE WAS INCREASING, I OPENED THE HOOD AND YOU COULD SEE FLAMES ABOUT 2 INCHES HIGH AROUND THE BOX MOUNTED INSIDE THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE UP NEAR THE HEADLIGHTS AND OVER THE WHEEL WELL. WE SHUT IT AND WAITED FOR THE FIRE DEPARTMENT, EVERYTHING INSIDE THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT THAT COULD MELT DID MELT, ALL THE PAINT ON THE HOOD ETC, PASSENGER DOOR WILL NOT OPEN OR SHUT WITHOUT NOISE AND AN EXTRA PUSH OR PULL. I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT I AM PRETTY SURE THAT THE LITTLE BLACK BOX WAS THE ABS CONTROLLER. JUST LUCKY THAT I WASN'T DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAVE SEEN THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/28/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 06/26/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 991032

Squish VIN: KNDJF723087

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE FOR THE STOP LAMP SWITCH. I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE RECALL WORK DONE. WHEN I FIRST MOVED TO THE AREA, I WAS UNSUCCESSFUL IN SCHEDULING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE WITH THE SAME DEALERSHIP. WHAT DO YOU RECOMMEND? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/28/2013

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Kia Motors Corporation

Date Of Incident: 06/26/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 991033

Squish VIN: KNDJF723087

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE FOR THE STOP LAMP SWITCH. I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE RECALL WORK DONE. WHEN I FIRST MOVED TO THE AREA, I WAS UNSUCCESSFUL IN SCHEDULING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE WITH THE SAME DEALERSHIP. WHAT DO YOU RECOMMEND? *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode