Home / Complaints ( Mazda Cx-7 2011 )

MAZDA CX-7 2011

CX-7

The Mazda CX-7 was this sporty Japanese automaker's first entrant within the hotly contested compact crossover Vehicle segment. Like other Mazda items, the CX-7 is built to attract people who derive extra enjoyment from driving. Yet additionally, it had the majority of the requisite elements which have renedered crossovers very popular, including carlike handling, all-wheel drive along with a helpful quantity of cargo capacity.


Date Complaint Filed: 05/03/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 03/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 856465

Squish VIN: JM3ER2CM8B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS WERE NOT ADEQUATELY ILLUMINATED DURING DAYLIGHT. THE ADJUSTMENT FOR THE LIGHTING WOULD NOT MAKE THEM BRIGHTER AND HE WAS UNABLE TO DISTINGUISH THE GAUGES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT ADJUST THE LIGHTING ANY FURTHER AND LATER ADVISED THAT THE LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED ACCORDING TO SPECIFICATIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND A COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 2,400 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 792.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2011

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 07/26/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 872580

Squish VIN: JM3ER2B53B0

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE CONTROLS ESSENTIAL FOR VEHICLE OPERATION (SPEEDOMETER, TACHOMETER, TRANSMISSION GEAR PLACEMENT), OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE CENTER "CLUSTER" CONTROLS ARE ILLUMINATED REGARDLESS IF HEADLIGHTS ARE ON OR OFF. THIS VEHICLE IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH AUTOMATIC HEADLIGHTS, THUS MAKING THIS ISSUE MORE PRESSING. WHEN THE DASH CONTROLS ARE ILLUMINATED, YOU FORGET TO TURN ON YOUR HEAD LAMPS TO MAKE YOURSELF VISIBLE TO OTHER VEHICLES. MAZDA STATED THAT THE DASH CONTROLS ARE ILLUMINATED IN ORDER TO MAKE GAUGES MORE VISIBLE. MY WHOLE ARGUMENT HAS BEEN THAT IF I AM HAVING EVEN THE SLIGHTEST DIFFICULTY SEEING MY DASHBOARD DUE TO POOR LIGHTING (WHETHER IT BE CLOUDY, DARK, DUSK, ETC.) MY HEAD LAMPS SHOULD BE ON. IF THE DASH IS ILLUMINATED, YOU WILL FORGET TO TURN ON YOUR HEAD LAMPS. THIS HAS ALREADY CAUSED ONE ACCIDENT, AND I AM AFRAID THAT IT MAY LEAD TO MORE IN THE FUTURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/19/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 11/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 897544

Squish VIN: JM3ER2BM0B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AT ENGINE STARTUP, A CRACKING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE WINDSHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 2600. WHEN THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING OR NOW ON THESE COLD DAY THE WINDSHIELDS MAKES A CRACKING SOUND AS THE CAR WARMS UP. THIS HAPPENS ALMOST DAILY. AM AFRAID IT MAY SHATTER. UPDATED 1/20/2012 *BF

Date Complaint Filed: 08/14/2012

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 08/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 935428

Squish VIN: JM3ER4DL9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING A BANGING AND RATTLING SOUND. THE CONTACT STATED THE SOUND WAS ALSO HEARD WHEN THE TURBO WAS ACTIVATED. THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR WITH OR WITHOUT THE AIR CONDITIONER ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2013

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 05/07/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 985304

Squish VIN: JM3ER4DL9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FROM THE DAY I PURCHASED MY CX7 THE BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND THE AIR CONDITIONER MADE LOUD BANGING NOISES AND DOES NOT GET COLD. WHEN I WAS AT MY WITS END AND TOOK CX7 TO DEALER AT 9,600 MILES MAZDA SAID I HAD A BAD MASTER CYLINDER AND REPLACED IT. WHEN THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS REPLACED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MAZDA ORDERED ANOTHER MASTER CYLINDER AND A BRAKE BOOSTER. WHEN THESE WERE REPLACED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. MAZDA SAID MY ENGINE WAS RUNNING ON A LEAN MIXTURE AND CORRECTED THIS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS OFF CX7 RUNS VERY ROUGHLY. ONLY USE PREMIUM GASOLINE AND SYNTHETIC MOTOR OIL. MAZDA FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ADVISED ME AND DEALER THAT LOUD NOISE FROM AIR CONDITIONER IS NORMAL AND TYPICAL OF ALL SIMILAR MAZDA VEHICLES. I HAVE THIS DOCUMENTATION REGARDING A/C IN WRITING FROM MAZDA. AIR CONDITIONER BARLEY GETS CAR COOL, IS INEFFECTIVE WHEN TEMPERATURE IS NINETY DEGREES. MY BRAKES ARE SLIGHTLY BETTER, BUT STILL LOW AND SOFT. CX7 RUNS EXTREMELY ROUGH AND IS GETTING VERY POOR GAS MILEAGE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2013

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 05/07/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 985305

Squish VIN: JM3ER4DL9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FROM THE DAY I PURCHASED MY CX7 THE BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND THE AIR CONDITIONER MADE LOUD BANGING NOISES AND DOES NOT GET COLD. WHEN I WAS AT MY WITS END AND TOOK CX7 TO DEALER AT 9,600 MILES MAZDA SAID I HAD A BAD MASTER CYLINDER AND REPLACED IT. WHEN THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS REPLACED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MAZDA ORDERED ANOTHER MASTER CYLINDER AND A BRAKE BOOSTER. WHEN THESE WERE REPLACED MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. MAZDA SAID MY ENGINE WAS RUNNING ON A LEAN MIXTURE AND CORRECTED THIS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS OFF CX7 RUNS VERY ROUGHLY. ONLY USE PREMIUM GASOLINE AND SYNTHETIC MOTOR OIL. MAZDA FIELD REPRESENTATIVE ADVISED ME AND DEALER THAT LOUD NOISE FROM AIR CONDITIONER IS NORMAL AND TYPICAL OF ALL SIMILAR MAZDA VEHICLES. I HAVE THIS DOCUMENTATION REGARDING A/C IN WRITING FROM MAZDA. AIR CONDITIONER BARLEY GETS CAR COOL, IS INEFFECTIVE WHEN TEMPERATURE IS NINETY DEGREES. MY BRAKES ARE SLIGHTLY BETTER, BUT STILL LOW AND SOFT. CX7 RUNS EXTREMELY ROUGH AND IS GETTING VERY POOR GAS MILEAGE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/02/2013

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 12/27/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 991942

Squish VIN: JM3ER4CL2B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED VEHICLE ON 2/27/2011. 1) DEC 27 2011 REPLACED DRIVERS HEADLAMP. 2) 4/18/12 BATTERY ISSUE. CAR WOULD NEED JUMP STARTS RANDOMLY 3) 8/18/12 PASSENGER HEADLAMP REPLACED 4) 11/5/12 BATTERY REPLACED 5) 12/21/12 DRIVERS HEADLAMP REPLACED 6) 7/1/13 DRIVERS HEADLAMP REPLACED. WENT TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERS TO REPLACE ITEMS. BOTH DEALERS ASSURED ME THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH ELECTRICAL AND IT WAS JUST ONE OF THOSE THINGS. UNFORTUNATELY 4 HEADLAMPS AND A BATTERY WITHIN 2 YEARS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE IS JUST RIGHT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/02/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 12/27/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 991943

Squish VIN: JM3ER4CL2B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED VEHICLE ON 2/27/2011. 1) DEC 27 2011 REPLACED DRIVERS HEADLAMP. 2) 4/18/12 BATTERY ISSUE. CAR WOULD NEED JUMP STARTS RANDOMLY 3) 8/18/12 PASSENGER HEADLAMP REPLACED 4) 11/5/12 BATTERY REPLACED 5) 12/21/12 DRIVERS HEADLAMP REPLACED 6) 7/1/13 DRIVERS HEADLAMP REPLACED. WENT TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERS TO REPLACE ITEMS. BOTH DEALERS ASSURED ME THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH ELECTRICAL AND IT WAS JUST ONE OF THOSE THINGS. UNFORTUNATELY 4 HEADLAMPS AND A BATTERY WITHIN 2 YEARS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE IS JUST RIGHT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/30/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 09/27/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1014238

Squish VIN: JM3ER2BM7B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD BECAME CRACKED WITHOUT WARRANT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/26/2013

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 10/16/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1029694

Squish VIN: JM3ER2AM9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HE TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND SHIFT INTO DRIVE GEAR ALL FIVE DOORS FAIL TO LOCK UNLESS HE MANUALLY LOCKED THEM. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER OR LOCAL MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,200. UPDATED 1/16/14*CN THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, THE DOORS WOULD NOT LOCK AUTOMATICALLY.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/26/2013

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 10/16/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1029695

Squish VIN: JM3ER2AM9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HE TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND SHIFT INTO DRIVE GEAR ALL FIVE DOORS FAIL TO LOCK UNLESS HE MANUALLY LOCKED THEM. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER OR LOCAL MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,200. UPDATED 1/16/14*CN THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, THE DOORS WOULD NOT LOCK AUTOMATICALLY.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/26/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 10/16/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1029696

Squish VIN: JM3ER2AM9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN HE TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND SHIFT INTO DRIVE GEAR ALL FIVE DOORS FAIL TO LOCK UNLESS HE MANUALLY LOCKED THEM. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER OR LOCAL MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,200. UPDATED 1/16/14*CN THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, THE DOORS WOULD NOT LOCK AUTOMATICALLY.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/25/2014

Component(s): VISIBILITY:SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 02/24/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1041704

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS DRIVING TO WORK YESTERDAY MORNING WHEN SHE HEARD A LOUD NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. SHE IMMEDIATELY NOTICED GLASS FLYING OFF OF THE TOP OF THE CAR. APPARENTLY THE SUNROOF EXPLODED. THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS AROUND MY WIFE AT THE TIME SO IT DID NOT GET HIT BY A ROCK OR ANY OTHER DEBRIS FROM THE ROAD. THE GOOD THING IS THAT WHILE MY WIFE WAS SHAKEN UP OVER THE INCIDENT, SHE DID NOT WRECK THE CAR AND THE INNER SHADE WAS SHUT SO THERE WAS NO GLASS IN THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. I TOOK PHOTOS OF THE SUNROOF AND THE REMAINING GLASS IS PUSHED UP AS IF SOMEONE KICKED IT FROM THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.I CAN EMAIL THE PHOTOS IF THEY ARE NEEDED. I SEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR ANY COMPLAINTS OF SUNROOFS EXPLODING ON MAZDA VEHICLES AND TO MY SURPRISE THERE WERE A NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I THINK THAT THIS IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED MAZDA ABOUT THE INCIDENT AND AM WAITING FOR A RESPONSE BUT WHEN I SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, SHE STATED THAT SHE HAD NEVER HEARD OF ANYTHING LIKE MY WIFE EXPERIENCED. ALL OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT I FOUND ON THE INTERNET STATED THAT THEY CONTACTED MAZDA AND THAT NOTHING WAS EVER DONE TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/01/2014

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: MAZDA MOTOR CORP

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 1052642

Squish VIN: JM3ER2C58B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOORS AUTOMATIC LOCK SYSTEM FAILED AND THEY DO NOT LOCK AUTOMATICALLY. THE DOOR CAN ONLY BE LOCKED MANUALLY. THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE DOOR LOCK SYSTEM; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 28,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/25/2014

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 09/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1124342

Squish VIN: JM3ER4DL9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FROM THE TIME I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE THE PLASTIC LENS ON THE XENON HEADLIGHTS HAS BEEN CLOUDY. THE VEHICLE IS GARAGED AND PRESENTLY HAS JUST 15,000 MILES. THE CLOUDY HEADLIGHT LENS REDUCE VISIBILITY. THE DEALER FROM THE DATE OF DELIVERY STATES CLOUDINESS IS NORMAL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/22/2014

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 12/17/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1141896

Squish VIN: JM3ER2BM7B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED IN MAY OF 2013 I ONLY HAD THE VEHICLE 2 DAYS AND HAD TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS HEAD LIGHT. ON DECEMBER 17TH THE DRIVERS HEADLIGHT WENT OUT AGAIN AND ON THE 19TH OF DECEMBER THE PASSENGER HEADLIGHT HAS GONE OUT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/13/2015

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1148112

Squish VIN: JM3ER2B5XB0

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE EXHIBITS SUDDEN ACCELERATION. APPROX 25% TO 35% OF THE TIME VEHICLE WILL LURCH FORWARD WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. VEHICLE BEHAVES AS IF THE ACCELERATOR IF PRESSED DOWN ALL THE WAY, EVEN THOUGH IT IS BARELY ENGAGED. SOMETIMES THE ACCELERATION IS SO STRONG THAT THE TIRES WILL BREAK LOOSE. SUDDEN ACCELERATION STARTS AT ABOUT 2MPH AND STOPS BY 10MPH. APPROX 5% TO 10% OF THE TIME WILL HAPPEN IN REVERSE AS WELL. ON APPROX. NOV 1, 2014 THIS SUDDEN ACCELERATION CAUSED AN CRASH WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING PARKED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/12/2015

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1157680

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED (NEW) - JULY 4TH, 2011. ONE MONTH IN, THE FRONT DRIVER TIRE BLOWS OUT ON THE 55 FREEWAY IN COSTA MESA. THE CAR IS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY - TO HAVE A TIRE PLACED ON. THE PRICE WAS SURELY "SURPRISE SURPRISE" - $250.00. WE PUSH TO KNOW WHY THE TIRE WAS SO EXPENSIVE, IT'S BECAUSE THE SIZE IS NEW FOR THIS SIZE VEHICLE AND THERE'S ONE MAKER OF THE TIRE. BRIDGESTONE. WE PAY FOR IT BEGRUDGINGLY, AND GO ABOUT OUR WAY. FEBRUARY 6TH, 2015, 3 YEARS, 6 MONTHS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HISTORY IS GOOD, MAINTENANCE IS EXCELLENT (MY WIFE IS A THERAPIST FOR CHILDREN WITH AUTISM SO THAT'S WHY VEHICLE CHOICE WAS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT - TRAVELING CLIENT TO CLIENT IN ADMINISTERING THERAPY SESSIONS) AND WITHOUT WARNING, SHE CANNOT REVERSE. CAR CAN DRIVE FORWARD, YET IS LOSING POWER WHEN THE AUTOMATIC ATTEMPTS TO SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, SO IT JUMPS FROM FIRST TO 3RD. WE TAKE THE VEHICLE TO BROWNING MAZDA IN CERRITOS AND WE ARE ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ($3,200.00). 3 YEARS 6 MONTHS 64,262 MILES, EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE HISTORY, & THIS VEHICLE NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION? THIS FELT LIKE A TERRIBLE JOKE. THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY? 3Y/60K. EXPIRED JUST OVER 4,000 MILES AGO. WE CONTACT MAZDA (CORPORATE) & ARE ADVISED LATER IN THE DAY THAT THEY WOULD PAY HALF OF THE TICKETED AMOUNT. THAT'S STILL EGREGIOUS AS THERE WOULDN'T BE A VEHICLE SOLD IF MOST BUYERS KNEW THAT AT SUCH RIDICULOUSLY LOW MILEAGE, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD FAIL THEM. WE RETRIEVE THE VEHICLE AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT FOR TWO MORE OPINIONS AND APPARENTLY THERE ARE NO CODES INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION IS BAD, YET IT'S OBVIOUSLY THE TRANSMISSION ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC AS INDICATED SIMPLY BY THE TEST DRIVE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/12/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1157681

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED (NEW) - JULY 4TH, 2011. ONE MONTH IN, THE FRONT DRIVER TIRE BLOWS OUT ON THE 55 FREEWAY IN COSTA MESA. THE CAR IS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY - TO HAVE A TIRE PLACED ON. THE PRICE WAS SURELY "SURPRISE SURPRISE" - $250.00. WE PUSH TO KNOW WHY THE TIRE WAS SO EXPENSIVE, IT'S BECAUSE THE SIZE IS NEW FOR THIS SIZE VEHICLE AND THERE'S ONE MAKER OF THE TIRE. BRIDGESTONE. WE PAY FOR IT BEGRUDGINGLY, AND GO ABOUT OUR WAY. FEBRUARY 6TH, 2015, 3 YEARS, 6 MONTHS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HISTORY IS GOOD, MAINTENANCE IS EXCELLENT (MY WIFE IS A THERAPIST FOR CHILDREN WITH AUTISM SO THAT'S WHY VEHICLE CHOICE WAS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT - TRAVELING CLIENT TO CLIENT IN ADMINISTERING THERAPY SESSIONS) AND WITHOUT WARNING, SHE CANNOT REVERSE. CAR CAN DRIVE FORWARD, YET IS LOSING POWER WHEN THE AUTOMATIC ATTEMPTS TO SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, SO IT JUMPS FROM FIRST TO 3RD. WE TAKE THE VEHICLE TO BROWNING MAZDA IN CERRITOS AND WE ARE ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ($3,200.00). 3 YEARS 6 MONTHS 64,262 MILES, EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE HISTORY, & THIS VEHICLE NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION? THIS FELT LIKE A TERRIBLE JOKE. THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY? 3Y/60K. EXPIRED JUST OVER 4,000 MILES AGO. WE CONTACT MAZDA (CORPORATE) & ARE ADVISED LATER IN THE DAY THAT THEY WOULD PAY HALF OF THE TICKETED AMOUNT. THAT'S STILL EGREGIOUS AS THERE WOULDN'T BE A VEHICLE SOLD IF MOST BUYERS KNEW THAT AT SUCH RIDICULOUSLY LOW MILEAGE, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD FAIL THEM. WE RETRIEVE THE VEHICLE AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT FOR TWO MORE OPINIONS AND APPARENTLY THERE ARE NO CODES INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION IS BAD, YET IT'S OBVIOUSLY THE TRANSMISSION ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC AS INDICATED SIMPLY BY THE TEST DRIVE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/12/2015

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1157682

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED (NEW) - JULY 4TH, 2011. ONE MONTH IN, THE FRONT DRIVER TIRE BLOWS OUT ON THE 55 FREEWAY IN COSTA MESA. THE CAR IS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY - TO HAVE A TIRE PLACED ON. THE PRICE WAS SURELY "SURPRISE SURPRISE" - $250.00. WE PUSH TO KNOW WHY THE TIRE WAS SO EXPENSIVE, IT'S BECAUSE THE SIZE IS NEW FOR THIS SIZE VEHICLE AND THERE'S ONE MAKER OF THE TIRE. BRIDGESTONE. WE PAY FOR IT BEGRUDGINGLY, AND GO ABOUT OUR WAY. FEBRUARY 6TH, 2015, 3 YEARS, 6 MONTHS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HISTORY IS GOOD, MAINTENANCE IS EXCELLENT (MY WIFE IS A THERAPIST FOR CHILDREN WITH AUTISM SO THAT'S WHY VEHICLE CHOICE WAS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT - TRAVELING CLIENT TO CLIENT IN ADMINISTERING THERAPY SESSIONS) AND WITHOUT WARNING, SHE CANNOT REVERSE. CAR CAN DRIVE FORWARD, YET IS LOSING POWER WHEN THE AUTOMATIC ATTEMPTS TO SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, SO IT JUMPS FROM FIRST TO 3RD. WE TAKE THE VEHICLE TO BROWNING MAZDA IN CERRITOS AND WE ARE ADVISED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ($3,200.00). 3 YEARS 6 MONTHS 64,262 MILES, EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE HISTORY, & THIS VEHICLE NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION? THIS FELT LIKE A TERRIBLE JOKE. THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY? 3Y/60K. EXPIRED JUST OVER 4,000 MILES AGO. WE CONTACT MAZDA (CORPORATE) & ARE ADVISED LATER IN THE DAY THAT THEY WOULD PAY HALF OF THE TICKETED AMOUNT. THAT'S STILL EGREGIOUS AS THERE WOULDN'T BE A VEHICLE SOLD IF MOST BUYERS KNEW THAT AT SUCH RIDICULOUSLY LOW MILEAGE, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD FAIL THEM. WE RETRIEVE THE VEHICLE AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT FOR TWO MORE OPINIONS AND APPARENTLY THERE ARE NO CODES INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION IS BAD, YET IT'S OBVIOUSLY THE TRANSMISSION ACCORDING TO THE MECHANIC AS INDICATED SIMPLY BY THE TEST DRIVE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/24/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 1177941

Squish VIN: JM3ER4DL9B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FROM THE TIME I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD RETAIN MOISTURE AND FOG UP. THIS HAS SUPPOSEDLY BEEN REPAIRED BY MAZDA, BUT RECURS AND RESULTS WITH POOR HEADLIGHT ILLUMINATION. THE ILLUMINATION PROVIDED BY MY HEADLIGHTS IS REDUCED CONSIDERABLY DUE TO THIS DEFECT. I HAVE 17,000 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE NOW AND HAVE REPEATEDLY TRIED TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM CORRECTED. I BELIEVE THIS DEFECT TO IMPOSE A DANGER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/14/2015

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 07/11/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1198978

Squish VIN: JM3ER2A59B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

1. WARNING ILLUMINATOR LIGHT ON INDICATING DRIVER/PASSENGER AIRBAGS MAY REQUIRE REPAIR AND/OR IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. 2. REAR TAIL LIGHT: BULB HAS BECOME SO HOT THE BULB IS LITERALLY BURNING THROUGH THE RED CASING OF THE BREAK LIGHT - CONDENSATION OR WIRING IS CAUSING THE BULB TO OVERHEAT.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/14/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 07/11/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1198979

Squish VIN: JM3ER2A59B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

1. WARNING ILLUMINATOR LIGHT ON INDICATING DRIVER/PASSENGER AIRBAGS MAY REQUIRE REPAIR AND/OR IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. 2. REAR TAIL LIGHT: BULB HAS BECOME SO HOT THE BULB IS LITERALLY BURNING THROUGH THE RED CASING OF THE BREAK LIGHT - CONDENSATION OR WIRING IS CAUSING THE BULB TO OVERHEAT.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/23/2015

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 07/15/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1202122

Squish VIN: JM3ER2B56B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABS MALFUNCTION INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE CONSTANTLY ON. INSPECTION REVEALED THAT THE ELECTRICAL CABLE FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE ABS SENSOR WAS BROKEN. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT WHY AND HOW THIS COULD HAPPEN TO A SYSTEM DESIGNED FOR PERSONAL SAFETY AND HOPE FOR IMPROVEMENT OF DESIGN TO PREVENT DAMAGE OR BREAKAGE TO THIS CABLE. I AM ALSO CONCERNED THAT THIS ISSUE WAS NOT TREATED WITH THE ATTENTION IT SHOULD HAVE AS IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I WAS TOLD THAT IT COULD BE SPLICED TOGETHER AT A COST OF $60.00. REALLY? IS THIS SAFE TO DO? THIS SEEMS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW AND BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/13/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1209776

Squish VIN: JM3ER2A56B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT THIS CAR NOVEMBER OF 2013 I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH HEADLIGHTS ONCE AND THE RIGHT HEADLIGHT TWICE. THE HEADLIGHT COVERS EITHER RETAIN MOISTURE OR HEAT UP TO THE POINT THAT IT IS BURNING THE LIGHTS OUT OR MELTING THE COVER. THE COVERS ARE SO FOGGED UP THAT I HAVE TO HAVE THE LIGHTS ON BRIGHT ALL THE TIME TO HAVE ENOUGH LIGHT TO SEE. THERE IS AN OBVIOUS DEFECT MOST PEOPLE DON'T HAVE TO REPLACE HEADLIGHT EVERY 4 TO 6 MONTHS.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/17/2015

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 08/13/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1210674

Squish VIN: JM3ER2BM5B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING AT A NORMAL RATE OF SPEED ON A FAIRLY BUSY STREET WHEN THE CAR JUST SUDDENLY DECELERATED, CAUSING THE CAR BEHIND ME TO SWERVE TO NARROWLY AVOID ME. THANKFULLY HE ALSO AVOIDED HITTING ANYONE ELSE. MY CAR CONTINUED TO MOVE FORWARD, BUT WITH NO ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I MANAGED TO GET CLEAR OF TRAFFIC AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO A REPAIR PLACE NEARBY. I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENTIRE THROTTLE BODY WAS BAD, AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR IS A 2011, LESS THAN 60K MILES ON IT WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND HAS NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES UNTIL THIS. THE COMPLETE AND IMMEDIATE DECELERATION SEEMS QUITE DANGEROUS IN MY OPINION. AND HAVING DONE SOME READING ONLINE, THIS SEEMS TO BE A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM THAT MAZDA IS AWARE OF YET HAS DONE NOTHING TO RECTIFY.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/30/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 12/30/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1224808

Squish VIN: JM3ER2A53B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT HEAD LAMPS WOULD NOT PROJECT MORE THAN 10 FEET IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND NEW BULBS WERE INSTALLED, HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LENS COVER WAS FOGGY AND STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAMS HAD TO BE ENGAGED WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. UPDATED 11/18/15*LJ

Date Complaint Filed: 11/05/2015

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 10/20/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1235992

Squish VIN: JM3ER2B55B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY FRONT HEADLIGHTS ARE SO DIM I CAN HARDLY SEE WHEN DRIVING AFTER DUSK. EVEN WITH THE HIGH BEAMS ON I CAN ONLY SEE ABOUT TWO CAR LENGTHS IN FRONT OF ME. THEY LOOK FOGGED UP. I WAS GETTING GAS LAST WEEK AND A GENTLEMAN CAME OVER AND ASKED IF HE COULD CLEAN MY HEADLIGHTS...FREE OF CHARGE BUT HE FELT IT WAS TOO DANGEROUS FOR ME TO DRIVE. I TOLD HIM I AGREED BUT THAT THEY COULDN'T BE CLEANED. HE DID GIVE IT A TRY BUT IT WAS FUTILE. THE FILM THAT SEEMS TO BE COVERING THE LENS IS ON THE INSIDE...OR I THINK IT IS BECAUSE IT CANNOT BE SCRUBBED OFF. IT IS REALLY SCARY DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND NEW LIGHT BULBS DID NOT MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE. I BELIEVE IT IS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT THAT IF JUST BEING IGNORED.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/17/2016

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 12/11/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1262059

Squish VIN: JM3ER2B56B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

LEFT/DRIVER SIDE FRONT SEAT (MANUAL) HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT IS INOPERABLE. THE SEAT IS STUCK IN HIGHEST POSITION. A DRIVER CAN NO LONGER ADJUST SEAT TO A PROPER DRIVING HEIGHT. THIS OCCURRED IN DECEMBER 2015 VEHICLE WILL BE SERVICED BY A MAZDA DEALERSHIP IN NEXT FEW DAY'S- DEALERSHIP SERVICE ADVISER STATES THEY NEED TO EXAMINE SEAT TO ORDER THE PART'S. I HAD INQUIRED ABOUT PURCHASING A NEW FRONT SEAT.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/23/2016

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: Mazda Motor Corp.

Date Of Incident: 02/14/2016

NHTSA ID Number: 1263556

Squish VIN: JM3ER2C50B0

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE HEAD LIGHTS AND TAIL LIGHTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED OVER THREE TIMES IN LEAST THAN TWO YEARS. THE CONDENSATION ON THE COVERS MAKES IT DIFFICULT SEEING WHERE ONE IS DRIVING. THIS I BELIEVE IS A SAFETY ISSUE. THIS CONDENSATION HAS ALSO CAUSED MY RADIO TO LOSE ITS SOUND. THE BATTERY WILL NOT START IF IT RAINS OR ITS COLD.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode