Home / Complaints ( NISSAN FRONTIER 2003 )

NISSAN FRONTIER 2003

Frontier

The Nissan Frontier has lengthy been a well known choice with customers that do not require the greater towing and carrying capabilities of the full-size pickup. Debuting in regards to a decade . 5 ago, the Frontier has offered four-cylinder or V6 energy inside a rugged yet livable package. There has been two decades. The present truck is larger and much more effective compared to original and is considered much more of a midsize pickup than the usual compact, but each one should work out well for any broad spectrum of customers.


Date Complaint Filed: 10/30/2002

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 387967

Squish VIN: 1N6MD29YX2C

Crash: -

Fire: -

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE APPLIED THE BRAKE AND THE ENGINE SUDDEN ACCELERATION, CAUSING A REAR ENDING ACCIDENT. DEALER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED. PLEASE PROVIDE FURTHER INFORMATION. TS

Date Complaint Filed: 12/02/2002

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/20/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 391924

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27T73C

Crash: -

Fire: -

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE CONSUMER STATED THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT APPEAR ON THE DASHBOARD PANEL. AND WILL STAY ON INTIL THE VEHICLE IS TURN OFF DEALER IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. TS

Date Complaint Filed: 03/25/2003

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 407654

Squish VIN: 1N6DD26T03C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A 2003 NISSAN FRONTIER PICKUP TRUCK. WHEN I USE THE DEFROSTER THE AIR CONDITIONER COMES ON WHICH IS NORMAL. I CANNOT TURN OFF THE DEFROSTER AND AIR CONDITIONER UNTIL I TURN OFF THE ENGINE. THE AIR CONDITIONER COMPRESSOR STAYS ON UNTIL THE ENGINE IS SHUT DOWN. IF I AM ON A HIGHWAY I HAVE TO STOP AND TURN THE ENGINE OFF TO TURN THE AIR CONDITIONER OFF, RESTART THE ENGINE, AND THEN MERGE BACK ON THE HIGHWAY. AT ONE NISSAN DEALERSHIP THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT TELLS ME THIS IS NORMAL AND IT IS WRITTEN UP THAT WAY IN THE MANUAL. YET THEY TELL ME THERE IS A NATIONWIDE BACKORDER FOR A PART. ANOTHER NISSAN DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT THEY ARE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE WITHOUT TEARING EVERYTHING APART.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/30/2003

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM:HOSE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/27/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 423334

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEH HAD 2400 MI AT DATE OF INCIDENT. THE CLAMP TO RADIATOR HOSE BROKE CUASING TO LEAK RADIATOR FLUID. CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP THEY REQUESTED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN. I WAS OUT OF STATE, BUT WAS LUCKY ENOUNGH TO PLACE AN AFTERMARKET HOSE CLAMP ON THE HOSE (SOMETHING A BIT MORE STURDY) ALSO THE LEFT FRONT SUSPENSION HAS BEEN MAKING A VERY NOISEY SQWEEK WHILE GOING OVER BUMPS. I WILL HAVE THE DEALERSHIP LOOK AT IT THAT AS WELL.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 06/30/2003

Component(s): SUSPENSION:FRONT

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/27/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 423335

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEH HAD 2400 MI AT DATE OF INCIDENT. THE CLAMP TO RADIATOR HOSE BROKE CUASING TO LEAK RADIATOR FLUID. CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP THEY REQUESTED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN. I WAS OUT OF STATE, BUT WAS LUCKY ENOUNGH TO PLACE AN AFTERMARKET HOSE CLAMP ON THE HOSE (SOMETHING A BIT MORE STURDY) ALSO THE LEFT FRONT SUSPENSION HAS BEEN MAKING A VERY NOISEY SQWEEK WHILE GOING OVER BUMPS. I WILL HAVE THE DEALERSHIP LOOK AT IT THAT AS WELL.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2003

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/03/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 424637

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CONSUMER STATED THE HEADLIGHTS HIGH BEAMS WERE TOO BRIGHT. DEALER NOTIFIED. *AK *TS *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 08/15/2003

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: N/A

NHTSA ID Number: 428146

Squish VIN: 1N6DD26T83C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN BRAKES ARE DEPRESSED THE VEHICLE WILL SHIMMY. THE REAR END SHIMMIES MORE SEVERELY WHEN BRAKE ARE DEPRESSED AT HIGH SPEEDS. CAUSE OF PROBLEM UNKNOWN. *AK *TS

Date Complaint Filed: 07/25/2003

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:AIR CONDITIONER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/22/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 428359

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

AIR CONDITIONER A/C WORKS PROPERLY UNTIL THE DEFROSTER IS ENGAGED. ONCE THE DEFROSTER IS TURNED ON THE AC REMAINS ON UNTIL THE ENGINE IS TURNED OFF. THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO SHUT IT OFF.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 11/19/2003

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:FRONT UNDERHOOD

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/30/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 441332

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29Y73C

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING, THE ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING, INDICATING AN ENGINE FIRE. *AK THE FIREMAN INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE FIRE WAS LIKELY CAUSED BY AN ELECTRICAL SHORT UNDER THE HOOD. *LA *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/18/2003

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 10/09/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 443499

Squish VIN: 1N6DD26T43C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ANTI-LOCK BRAKES ACTIVATE AT UNPREDICTABLE TIMES WHEN STOPPING. HAVE NEARLY CAUSED 2 WRECKS. DEALER COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM AND REFUSES TO TAKE ANY ACTION. IT HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES IN 3000 MILES. *LA

Date Complaint Filed: 12/08/2003

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:COOLING UNIT AND LINES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/02/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 451879

Squish VIN: 1N6DD26T43C

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BRAND NEW TRUCK WITH 1507 MILES DUMPED ALL IT'S TRANSMISSION FLUID, EMITTING SMOKE FROM ALL SIDES AND UNDERNEATH, STOPPED VEHICLE DEAD IN ITS TRACKS. REPAIRING DEALER GAVE ME ONE OF THE "WEDGES" LEFT IN THE TRANSMISSION COOLER LINE AT THE FACTORY WHICH CAUSED COOLER HOSE TO DETACH AND PRECIPITATED MAJOR VEHICLE FAILURE. IT WAS JUST PLAIN LUCK THAT WE WERE NOT INJURED OR KILLED AS WE WERE ON OUR WAY TO CLIMB DONNER PASS (CA) WITH CHAINS ON DURING A HEAVY SNOWSTORM. REPORTED TO NISSAN CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. I SUGGEST NHTSA INSTITUTE A RECALL FOR AT LEAST INSPECTION AS THIS FACTORY DEFECT CAUSE TOTAL TRANSMISSION FAILURE AT ANY TIME, WITH RESULTANT RISK OF INJURY AND OR DEATH.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/10/2004

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 02/10/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 461764

Squish VIN: 3N1CB51D2YL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CONSUMER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM THE MANUFACTURE FOR STALLING. DEALER DID NOT PERFORM RECALL REPAIRS DUE TO LACK OF PARTS. SCOTTSDALE NISSAN, 7000 EAST MCDOWELL ROAD, SCOTTSDALE, AZ 85257.408-994-0301. GENERAL MANAGER MARK JOHNSON. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 03/16/2004

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/15/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 468197

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT DRIVER WAS UNABLE TO SEE THE GAUGES ON THE VEHICLE BECUASE OF LACK OF ILLUMINATION. CONSUMER STATED THAT THE GAUGES WERE COLORED WITH BLACK AND GRAY.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 03/26/2004

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/25/2002

NHTSA ID Number: 470295

Squish VIN: 1N6ED26T83C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN IGNITION IS TURNED OFF POWER DOOR LOCKS RANDOMLY LOCK VEHICLE BY THEMSELVES, LOCKING OUT DRIVER. HAPPENS ONCE EVERY ONE OR TWO WEEKS.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 05/21/2004

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: N/A

NHTSA ID Number: 483966

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29X43C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VEHICLE HAS A GOVERNOR THAT DOESN'T ALLOW IT TO EXCEED THE SPEED OF 89 MPH, EVEN THOUGH THE SPEEDOMETER GOES TO 120 MPH. THIS INFORMATION IS NOT PROVIDED IN THE OWNER'S MANUAL, NOR TOLD UPON PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE BY THE DEALERSHIP. THIS COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE STOPS ACCELERATING WHEN THE SPEED REACHES 89 MPH. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 09/29/2004

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:EXHAUST SYSTEM:EMISSION CONTROL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 501155

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29Y53C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING, SPECIFICALLY IN RAIN STORMS, VEHICLE STALLED. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. WAS TOLD THAT WATER WAS BEING SUCKED INTO THE AIR FILTER FROM THE WHEEL WELL. *AK VEHICLE WOULD KNOCK AND SPUTTER WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. AIR FILTER SUCKS WATER FROM AROUND THE WHEEL AREA. *TC

Date Complaint Filed: 01/24/2005

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/22/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 525092

Squish VIN: 1N6MD29Y23C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I HAVE A 2003 NISSAN FRONTIER SC, THE SUPER CHARGED MODEL, WITH 43,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVE ON THE NYS THRUWAY LAST SATURDAY. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS EXTREMELY LOW -10F. THE TRUCK WAS INTERMITTENTLY LOSING POWER. IT FINALLY WENT INTO A SLOW IDLE AND LOST ALL POWER. I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO CALL FOR HELP. I HAD MY WIFE AND 14 MONTH OLD CHILD IN THE TRUCK WITH ME. IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. WE HAD NO POWER, IT WAS EXTREMELY COLD AND IT HAD BEEN SNOWING AT NEAR BLIZZARD CONDITIONS. I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET OFF THE ROAD. I WAS VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY WIFE AND CHILD. AFTER 15 MINUTES OF MAKING CALLS, I TRIED TO START THE TRUCK AGAIN. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON, BUT THE TRUCK STARTED AND RAN NORMALLY. THAT EVENING, AFTER THE TRUCK HAD BEEN SITTING FOR A FEW HOURS, THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED. THIS TIME, I WAS IN 4WD AND TRYING TO DRIVE THROUGH SNOW AT HIGHER RPMS WHEN THE TRUCK LOST POWER. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE BURDICK NISSAN, A DEALERSHIP IN CICERO, NY. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW AIR FLOW METER. I SEE THAT THE 2002 MODELS WERE EXPERIENCING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE RECALLED (R2013) AND THE FIX IS TO REPROGRAM THE EXISTING METER. THE COST OF THE PART (AIR FLOW METER) IS $600.00! *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 07/08/2004

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/18/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 490941

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29Y93C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH TRANSMISSION FAILED. THIS CAUSED THE VEHICLE NOT TO ACCELERATE. CONSUMER MANAGED TO PULL OVER AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2005

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 539149

Squish VIN: JN8AZ08W93W

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY DAUGHTER WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON CRASH AND HER NISSAN, 2003 DISINTEGRATED. THE WHOLE FRONT OF HER VEHICLE ENDED UP IN THE FRONT SEAT. SHE WAS GOING 55 MPH, AND THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS GOING 20 MPH.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 04/27/2005

Component(s): STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS:UNDERBODY SHIELDS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 04/05/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 539150

Squish VIN: JN8AZ08W93W

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY DAUGHTER WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON CRASH AND HER NISSAN, 2003 DISINTEGRATED. THE WHOLE FRONT OF HER VEHICLE ENDED UP IN THE FRONT SEAT. SHE WAS GOING 55 MPH, AND THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS GOING 20 MPH.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 12/20/2005

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/10/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 573096

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27T53C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I OWN A FRONTIER 2003 XE CREW CAB MODEL, AND ONE DAY RUNNING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 90+ MPH,SUDDENLY IT LOOSE THE TRACTION THAT KEEP THE VEHICLE IN MOTION FOR A MOMENT AND BACK AGAIN. I THINK THAT TRUCK CHASSIS SUDDENLY LOST THE WEIGHT THAT KEEP THE TRUCK ASIDE TO THE GROUND CAUSED BY THE AIR FLOW UNDER THE TRUCK (AERODYNAMIC EFFECT) SO I GOT VERY NERVOUS BECAUSE IT COULD CAUSE TO LOOSE CONTROL ON THE TRUCK WITH CAUSING POTENTIAL INJURES TO MYSELF FURTHERMORE THE INCIDENT CAME UP WITH OUT NOTICE. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS THAT PROBABLY THERE WERE SOME PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL ENGINE SYSTEM BUT NO LIGHT AT THE PANEL CAME ON. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 01/09/2006

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:LEVER AND LINKAGE:FLOOR SHIFT

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/02/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 575042

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27TX3C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT*: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHO DETERMINED THE SHIFTER WAS NOT CATCHING. THE DEVICE ASSEMBLY/TRANSMISSION CONTROL WAS REPLACED.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 05/17/2006

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/17/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 588599

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29Y33C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT*: THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A LOUD HUMMING SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR END AND THE ABS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DETERMINED THERE WAS WATER IN THE REAR AXLE DUE TO INADEQUATE SEALING OF THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) SENSOR. THERE IS AN NHTSA RECALL, # 02V299000, REGARDING THE SUSPENSION: REAR. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. *AK UPDATED 9/15/2006 - *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 05/17/2006

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AXLE ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/17/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 588600

Squish VIN: 1N6ED29Y33C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT*: THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A LOUD HUMMING SOUND COMING FROM THE REAR END AND THE ABS LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DETERMINED THERE WAS WATER IN THE REAR AXLE DUE TO INADEQUATE SEALING OF THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) SENSOR. THERE IS AN NHTSA RECALL, # 02V299000, REGARDING THE SUSPENSION: REAR. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. *AK UPDATED 9/15/2006 - *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 09/19/2006

Component(s): OTHER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 602962

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27T83C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2003 NISSAN FRONTIER PAINT IS CHIPPING IN 3 PLACES WITH A 4TH AREA BUBBLING. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 09/19/2006

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:AIR CONDITIONER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/20/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 602965

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27T83C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AIR CONDITIONER COMPRESSOR AND LINES BROKE. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 10/04/2006

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 09/15/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 604611

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27Y23C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE HIGH MOUNTED BRAKE LIGHT ON MY 2003 NISSAN FRONTIER HAS SEALS THAT ARE COMPROMISED. THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY TAKES ON WATER CAUSING THE BRAKE LIGHT TO FAIL. NISSAN REPLACED THE LIGHT ONCE DURING THE INITIAL 36 MONTHS OF THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY AND REFUSES TO REPLACE THE UNIT AGAIN. SINCE THE BRAKE LIGHT IS A SAFETY COMPONENT, I WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR INVESTIGATION OF THIS COMPLAINT. IT IS MY POSITION THAT NISSAN IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ENGINEERING AND MANUFACTURING A SAFETY COMPONENT THAT WORKS PROPERLY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/07/2006

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 10/20/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 604900

Squish VIN: JN8AZ08TX3W

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER CONCERNING AN INSTALLATION OF A FUEL TANK PROTECTOR. I SPOKE WITH THE CONSUMER AFFAIRS OFFICE ABOUT A REIMBURSEMENT OF THE COST TO REPLACE THE TANK (AS NOTED IN THE RECALL LETTER). I FAXED ALL REQUESTED INFORMATION TO NISSAN, BUT HAVE NOT RECEIVED A REIMBURSEMENT. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 11/06/2006

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/20/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 608128

Squish VIN: 1N6ED27T83C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

A GROWING PROBLEM WITH OUR 2003 NISSAN FRONTIER 4X2 PURCHASED NEW FROM DELAND NISSAN IN FLORIDA. OVER THE PAST SIX MONTHS THE FACTORY ORIGINAL PAINT HAS BEGUN TO FAIL IN NUMEROUS LOCATIONS. IT BEGINS WITH A BUBBLING OF THE PAINT IN A SPOT FOLLOWED BY FLAKING OFF OF THE OUTER COLOR PAINT FROM THE GRAY PRIMER. THE AREA OF PAINT FAILURE CONTINUES TO EXPAND WITH NO END IN SIGHT. ATTEMPTS TO WORK WITH OUR DELAND DEALERSHIP HAVE BEEN UNSUCCESSFUL SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS WITHIN THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY BUT OVER THE MILEAGE ALLOTMENT. NISSAN NORTH AMERICA DISTRICT PARTS AND SERVICE MANAGERS HAVE BOTH REVIEWED THIS SITUATION AND EARLIER PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE PAINT FAILURE AND HAVE DECLINED TO REPAIR THE DAMAGE THAT IS OCCURRING FROM THIS FACTORY DEFECT IN THE PAINTING OF OUR VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OF THE PAINT IN THE AREA AFFECTED IS GROWING RAPIDLY. THIS FAILURE IS NOW OCCURRING IN THREE MAJOR AREAS WITH OTHER AREAS SHOWING THE EARLY SIGNS OF PAINT FAILURE. WE HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO TWO LOCAL PAINT AND BODY SHOPS TO GET AN OPINION AS TO WHAT MAY BE CAUSING THE FAILURE. IN BOTH CASES THESE PAINT EXPERTS BELIEVE THAT IT IS A FAILURE OF THE EXTERIOR PAINT TO EFFECTIVELY BOND TO THE PRIMER PAINT. THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT OCCURRED DURING THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS AND NOT A RESULT OF OUTSIDE ELEMENTS THAT MAY HAVE COME IN CONTACT WITH THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE PAINT STARTS TO FLAKE AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE IT DOES SO IN A BUBBLING FASHION FROM UNDERNEATH THE SEAL OF THE PAINT. I HAVE RESEARCHED THE INTERNET AND FIND THERE ARE OTHER OWNERS OF NISSAN VEHICLES AND THE 2003 NISSAN FRONTIER WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE FACTORY ORIGINAL PAINT. THIS APPEARS TO BE FURTHER EVIDENCE OF A SYSTEMATIC PROBLEM IN EITHER THE PAINTING PROCESSES OR THE CHEMICAL COMBINATIONS USED TO FORMULATE YOUR PRIMERS AND PAINTS. WE HAVE TRIED TO APPEAL THIS LOCAL/REGIONAL DECISION ON THE FAILURE OF THE PAINT ON OUR FRONTIER THROUGH CUSTOMER SERVICE OPERATIONS, BUT HAVE BEEN UNSUCCESSFUL. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 11/02/2006

Component(s): STEERING:GEAR BOX (OTHER THAN RACK AND PINION)

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/28/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 608965

Squish VIN: 1N6MD27Y03C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2003 NISSAN FRONTIER HAD INTERMITTENT LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MECHANIC STATED THAT THE STEERING BOX THEY REPLACED WAS DEFECTIVE AND IT NEEDED TO ORDER ANOTHER ONE. *KB THE STEERING BOX THE DEALER INSTALL BEGAN TO DRIP FLUID WITHIN 30 DAY OF INSTALLATION. THE CONSUMER BELIEVES A DEFECT EXIST IN THE STEERING BOXES NISSAN IS INSTALLING IN THEIR VEHICLE'S. THE CONSUMER REQUEST REIMBURSEMENT FOR THE ORIGINAL GEAR BOX REPLACED.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode