Home / Complaints ( Nissan Armada 2008 )

NISSAN ARMADA 2008

Armada

An armada usually describes a sizable number of things, mainly numerous large ships. It is a fitting reputation for Nissan's first entry within the popular large Vehicle segment, and virtually every facet of it's size L or XL. If you want your Sports utility vehicles heavy on energy, then that enormous number of ponies underneath the hood is going to be just your factor. The Armada's robust V8 means plenty of muscle as well as an impressive tow rating. After which there is the large group of cubic ft within the Armada's cabin -- this can be a very spacious Vehicle that's also packed with storage areas.


Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2008

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 09/03/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 691519

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08B66N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR HER AIR CONDITIONER CONDENSER FAN MOTOR. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE WORK REPAIRED. THE DEALER SERVICED THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER CONDENSER FAN MOTOR FAILED. THE DEALER INSTALLED A NEW ONE, BUT IT WAS STILL NOT WORKING. THEY KEPT THE VEHICLE OVERNIGHT IN AN ATTEMPT TO TRY TO FIGURE OUT WHY THE NEW FAN MOTOR WAS NOT WORKING. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE BECAUSE A WIRING HARNESS HAD BEEN REPLACED. IN ADDITION, AN AFTERMARKET WIRE HAD BEEN INSTALLED AND CAUSED THE FAN MOTOR TO FAIL. SINCE THE WIRES HAD BEEN TAMPERED WITH, IT VOIDED THE RECALL. THE DEALER IS NOW REFUSING TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE FOR FREE. SHE IS THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THE VEHICLE AND STATED THAT NO WIRES SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAMPERED WITH AND NO INSTALLATIONS MADE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SAME DEALER FOR REPAIRS; THEREFORE, IF ANY WIRES HAD BEEN CHANGED, IT HAD TO BE DONE BY THAT SPECIFIC DEALER. THE CONTACT FEELS THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD STILL BE REPAIRED UNDER RECALL. THE RECALL NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 38,409.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/13/2010

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/24/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 755575

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08CX8N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WE OWN A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA (LE). WE BOUGHT THIS BRAND NEW IN NOV. 2008 FROM NISSAN DEALER IN ILLINOIS.WE HAVE HAD A REAL BAD PROBLEM WITH THE CAR NOT DEFROSTING THE WINDOWS AND WHEN YOU HAVE MORE THAN THREE PEOPLE IN CAR WHEN DRIVING IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THIS SUV HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF DEALERS AND THEY CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE DURING THE WINTER MONTHS, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FROM THE FIRST COLD WEATHER DAY FROM WHEN WE BOUGHT IT. I FEEL THIS IS A LIFE SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/19/2010

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:BATTERY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 756416

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NEED TO REPLACE A BATTERY IN A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. WHY WOULD A MANUFACTURER INSTALL A BATTERY THAT LAST ONLY 1-2 YEARS IN A BRAND NEW VEHICLE? WHY DOES THE WARRANTY NOT INCLUDE VEHICLES WITH MORE THAN 36K MILES BUT LESS THAN 2 YEARS IN THE VEHICLE? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/05/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/27/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 762339

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08C78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

1. THE EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE FAILURE: - I WAS ON A HIGHWAY OVERPASS BRIDGE, BRAKING AS I APPROACHED THE RED STOPLIGHT & PREPARING TO ENTER THE HIGHWAY ON-RAMP. AS I WAS BRAKING, I FELT A LOST OF BRAKE CONTROL, SLIPPING MOMENTARILY FOR 1 SECOND. AT FIRST I BRUSHED OFF THE SENSATION AS DUE TO BRIDGE VIBRATION, POSSIBLY DUE TO MINOR EARTHQUAKE OR VEHICLES/TRUCKS PASSING THROUGH THE BRIDGE. - ABOUT 3 WEEKS AFTER THE 1ST EVENT, I WAS APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND THE TRAFFIC LIGHT WAS RED AND APPLYING LIGHT & CONSTANT PRESSURE, I LOST CONTROL OF THE BRAKE AGAIN FOR LIKE 1S BEFORE REGAINING CONTROL. MY CAR WAS WITHIN INCHES OF HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. - ABOUT 3 DAYS AFTER THE 2ND EVENT, I WAS APPROACHING A RED INTERSECTION, BUT THIS TIME MY CAR IS AHEAD OF EVERYONE. AS I WAS APPLYING THE BRAKE, I AGAIN LOST CONTROL OF THE BRAKE FOR ABOUT A SECOND BEFORE REGAINING CONTROL. MY CAR ENDED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION & OTHER ANGRY DRIVERS ENDED UP HONKING AT ME. 2.THE FAILURE, HOW OFTEN IT OCCURS, ITS CONSEQUENCES: A MOMENTARY SENSATION OF LOSING BRAKE CONTROL, AS IF I AM DRIVING & SLIPPING ON ICE. ALL 3 EVENTS HAPPENED UNDER 30-40 MPH, WITH LIGHT BUT CONSTANT BRAKING APPLIED. IT IS LIKE THERE IS SOMETHING TRIGGERING/NOT TRIGGERING THE ABS. THE ROAD CONDITION IN ALL 3 EVENTS IS PAVED SMOOTHLY, DRY, NOT RAINING. IT HAPPENED ABOUT 3 OBVIOUS TIMES IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS. AS A RESULT, I HAVE TO GIVE MYSELF MORE DISTANCE WHEN BRAKING AT LOW SPEED. IN ALL 3 EVENTS, THERE WERE 2 OTHER ADULTS IN THE CAR AS WITNESS. I STILL FEEL IT OTHER TIMES, BUT I GAVE MYSELF MORE DISTANCE TO ANTICIPATE THE SENSATION. 3.WHAT WAS DONE TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. AFTER EVENT 2 & 3, I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION BUT THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG, NOTHING WAS REPLACED AND ASKED ME TO BRING IT BACK NEXT TIME IT HAPPENED. I TOLD THEM THAT NEXT TIME SOMEONE MIGHT GET KILLED OR I MIGHT BE DEAD AND NOT COMING BACK. 2008 NISSAN ARMADA SE 4X4. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/05/2010

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/12/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 773739

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D88N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT STATED THE KEYLESS ENTRY MALFUNCTIONS CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LOSE POWER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BATTERY IN THE KEYLESS ENTRY REMOTE BUT THAT DID NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND WHAT IS CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LOSE POWER. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE AND COULD LEAVE HIM STRANDED IN THE COLD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/26/2010

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER:STORAGE:FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 786551

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08D38N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF DUE TO A LACK OF GASOLINE ALTHOUGH THE FUEL GAUGE DISPLAYED THAT THERE WAS FUEL IN THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FUEL TRIP METER DISPLAYED THAT THE CONTACT COULD DRIVE APPROXIMATELY 100 MILES BEFORE THE FUEL TANK WAS EMPTY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THEY KNEW NOTHING ABOUT THE FAILURE WITH THE FUEL GAUGE ON 2008 NISSAN ARMADA'S. ONE WEEK LATER, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE (10V074000 FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: FUEL GAUGE SYSTEM) FOR THE FAILURE BUT WAS UNABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BECAUSE THE PARTS WERE ON BACK ORDER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 54,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/20/2010

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/19/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 791248

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08C38N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. WHILE TRAVELING AT SPEEDS OF 15 MPH, THE BRAKES DID NOT ENGAGE WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 50,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2010

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY:HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/20/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 805359

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D58N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THE REAR AUTOMATIC LIFT GATE RELEASED WITHOUT ASSISTANCE. THE IDENTICAL FAILURE WOULD OCCUR WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRENCES WERE INTERMITTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER ON NINE DIFFERENT TIMES FOR THE LIFT GATE FAILURE. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE LIFT GATE LATCH AND COMPUTER SYSTEM WIRING. THE FAILURE CONTINUED AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40. THE CONTACT NO LONGER OWNS THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE SAFETY HAZARD. UPDATED 09/28/10 *BF UPDATED 10/01/10*JB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/30/2010

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 819973

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

FUEL LINE CAME DISCONNECTED FROM 2008 NISSAN ARMADA 3 WEEKS AFTER DEALER COMPLETED FUEL GAUGE RECALL REPAIR ON THIS VEHICLE. GASOLINE WAS LEAKING ALL OVER THE GROUND CAUSING A VERY DANGEROUS AND POSSIBLY FATAL SITUATION IF THE GASOLINE HAD BEEN IGNITED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/19/2010

Component(s): VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 10/24/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 828793

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08CX8N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE'S HEATING SYSTEM DOES NOT WORK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, BUT THEY ALSO DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 46,800. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/18/2010

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 833634

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08C08N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE AUTO LEVELING SUSPENSION FAILS/LEAKS. AFTER EVERYTIME THE VEHICLE IS SHUTDOWN THE REAR SUSPENSION SYSTEM LEAKS CAUSING THE BACK END TO RIDE LOWER. AFTER VEHICLE START UP THE COMPRESSOR COMES ON AND RAISES THE BACK END TO LEVEL. AFTER THE COMPRESSOR SHUTS OFF THE BACK END DROPS AGAIN. DURING TOWING IS WHEN THE REAL SAFETY ISSUE HAPPENS. THE BACK END RIDES VERY LOW AND THE COMPRESSOR IS NOT ABLE TO KEEP AHEAD OF THE LEAK, CAUSING THE BACK END TO CONTINUE TO RIDE DANGEROUSLY LOW. THIS CAUSES THE BACK END TO BE VERY UNSTABLE DURING TOWING AND COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/31/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/11/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 841755

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHEN COMING OFF THE INTERSTATE AT RATES OF SPEED VARYING FROM 20 MPH - 45 MPH THE ABS AND VDC LIGHTS COME ON AND YOU HEAR A CRUNCHING AND GRINDING NOISE IN THE FRONT END OF THE CAR. THE BRAKES SEEMS TO SHUDDER AND YOU FEEL IT DIFFICULT TO BRAKE. THIS HAS ALWAYS BEEN ON DRY ROADS. NISSAN HAS BEEN WORKING ON MY VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN 6 MONTHS AND STILL NO RESOLUTION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/20/2011

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 854464

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D98N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI TRAC AS TIRES, TIRE SIZE 265/70/18 (N/A). WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE EXCESSIVELY WHICH RESULTED TO POOR ROAD PERFORMANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT TIRE CENTER WHERE THEY DETECTED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES EXHIBITED SUBSTANTIAL TREAD SEPARATION. THE FOUR TIRES WERE REPLACED AT THE OWNER'S EXPENSE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE DOT NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/13/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/09/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 868648

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D68N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED THE CONTACT STATED THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT HE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE REPAIR PART WAS ORDERED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2011

Component(s): SUSPENSION:REAR

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/20/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 872248

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08C18N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY COMPLAINT IS WITH THE LOAD LEVYING SYSTEM ON THE NISSAN ARMADA. I OWN A 2008 ARMADA AND THE REAR SHOCKS WERE REPLACED SHORTLY AFTER THE PURCHASE BECAUSE OF THE LOSE OF AIR. THE AIR LINES HAVE BEEN REPLACED ON 2 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AT DIFFERENT DEALERS BECAUSE OF LEAKS. IN JAN. OF 2011 ANOTHER AIR LINE WAS REPLACED AND 2 WEEKS LATER I BLEW AN AIR SHOCK 750 MILES FROM HOME. ONCE AGAIN ANOTHER SHOCK WAS REPLACED AND NOW I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM, THE SYSTEM WILL NOT HOLD AIR AND IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN TOWING. PLEASE NOTE THE MILEAGE, MPH AND DATE ARE FOR THE NEXT TO LAST FAILURE. THE LATEST FAILURE HAPPENS ALL THE TIME. ALSO NOTE THIS IS A COMPANY OWNED UNIT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/05/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 873744

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D58N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND A GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE BRAKES. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS THEN DEPRESSED AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A LEFT TURN, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP AND THE PEDAL DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTING, THE BRAKES FUNCTIONED AS NORMAL. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS, WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/30/2011

Component(s): PARKING BRAKE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/29/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 878501

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D98N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK MY BRAKE LIGHT APPEAR ON MY DASH BOARD. I APPROACHED A RED LIGHT WHEN MY I FOUND IT VERY DIFFICULT TO APPLY THE BRAKE. I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND GRINDING COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF MY 2008 ARMADA. MY SUV STOPPED WITH IN INCHES OF REAR ENDING A CAR VERY SCARY. I PULLED MY TRUCK INTO A PARKING LOT, TURNED IT OFF AND THEN BACK ON AGAIN. THIS SEEMED TO RESET THE LIGHT. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THIS WAS A KNOW PROBLEM AND THEY SAID IT WAS I NEED TO HAVE MY BRAKE BOOSTER REPLACED AT A COST OF 820.00 PLUS TAX. THIS WOULD BE AN OUT OF COST EXPENSE BECAUSE MY TRUCK IS OUT OF WARRANTY. IF THIS IS A KNOW PROBLEM WHY WON'T NISSAN RECALL THIS PART BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/04/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/02/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 890657

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON AT 35MPH, SEEMS ABS ENGAGED. GRINDING, SHUTTERING, DECREASED BRAKE POWER. TURNED VEHICLE OFF/ON AND BRAKES WERE GOOD. HAPPENED AGAIN WHILE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND AGAIN AT 50 MPH. BRAKE BOOSTER BAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/08/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/30/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 891105

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08D68N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 NISSAN ARMADA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO BRAKE PROBLEM *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED THE SUV FAILED TO STOP PROPERLY. WITHIN FIVE MINUTES OF LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP, AFTER AN OIL CHANGE SERVICE AND A WARRANTY RELATED BRAKE INSPECTION, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND VIBRATE EXCESSIVELY WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO STOP. THE BRAKES GRABBED AND GRIND AND THERE WAS A VERY LOUD CONTINUAL NOISE AS THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE BRAKES. THE CONSUMER IMMEDIATELY EXITED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER. THE CONSUMER PHONED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD TO RETURN THE VEHICLE. THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO DETECT A PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED TO MAKE ANOTHER APPOINTMENT IF HE EXPERIENCED THE PROBLEM AGAIN, AND ABS SOFTWARE WOULD BE REPROGRAMMED. THE SECOND TIME THE INCIDENT HAPPENED, THE BRAKES STARTED TO GRAB AND GRIND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE CONSUMER PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF. HE WAITED A COUPLE OF MINUTES BEFORE RESTARTING THE VEHICLE. THE BRAKE LIGHT WENT OFF AND THE BRAKES RETURNED TO PROPER WORKING CONDITION. ANOTHER APPOINTMENT WAS MADE WHERE THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE ECM. THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE FOR THE FOURTH TIME AND WAS INFORMED THE VEHICLE MAY NEED A BRAKE BOOSTER AND FRONT ROTORS, BECAUSE THEY WERE STARTING TO WARP. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2011

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895799

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D48N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 08 ARMADA IS KEEPING ME LOCKED OUT OF THE BACK. THE HATCH DOOR AND THE WINDOW. THE PROBLEM IS FAULTY ACTUATOR. PART INFORMATION IS; 905507S000 0892068-A B/D ACTR 03 09 26 12V THE LATCH ON THE ACTUATOR IS NOT OPERATING 100%. THE LITTLE SWING LATCH, COME SHORT BY 15% THAT CAUSE THE LOCK TO OPEN THE GLASS DOOR AND THE MAIN DOOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895800

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D48N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY 08 ARMADA IS KEEPING ME LOCKED OUT OF THE BACK. THE HATCH DOOR AND THE WINDOW. THE PROBLEM IS FAULTY ACTUATOR. PART INFORMATION IS; 905507S000 0892068-A B/D ACTR 03 09 26 12V THE LATCH ON THE ACTUATOR IS NOT OPERATING 100%. THE LITTLE SWING LATCH, COME SHORT BY 15% THAT CAUSE THE LOCK TO OPEN THE GLASS DOOR AND THE MAIN DOOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/18/2011

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 897502

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08C78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NISSAN ARMADA VEHICLES WITH A FACTORY TOW PACKAGE INCLUDE SELF-LEVELING REAR SUSPENSION. THE SYSTEM IS COMPRISED OF AIR-LEVELED SHOCKS AND AN AIR COMPRESSOR. THE SYSTEM LEAKS, CAUSING THE AIR PRESSURE TO DROP AT SPEED, WITH OR WITHOUT LOADS, AND WHEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF. IT CAUSES THE REAR END TO BE SOFT AND HANDLE POORLY, WHICH, WHEN TOWING, IS CLEARLY A SAFETY HAZARD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/18/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 897503

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08C78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NISSAN ARMADA VEHICLES WITH A FACTORY TOW PACKAGE INCLUDE SELF-LEVELING REAR SUSPENSION. THE SYSTEM IS COMPRISED OF AIR-LEVELED SHOCKS AND AN AIR COMPRESSOR. THE SYSTEM LEAKS, CAUSING THE AIR PRESSURE TO DROP AT SPEED, WITH OR WITHOUT LOADS, AND WHEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF. IT CAUSES THE REAR END TO BE SOFT AND HANDLE POORLY, WHICH, WHEN TOWING, IS CLEARLY A SAFETY HAZARD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/18/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 897504

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08C78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

NISSAN ARMADA VEHICLES WITH A FACTORY TOW PACKAGE INCLUDE SELF-LEVELING REAR SUSPENSION. THE SYSTEM IS COMPRISED OF AIR-LEVELED SHOCKS AND AN AIR COMPRESSOR. THE SYSTEM LEAKS, CAUSING THE AIR PRESSURE TO DROP AT SPEED, WITH OR WITHOUT LOADS, AND WHEN PARKED AND TURNED OFF. IT CAUSES THE REAR END TO BE SOFT AND HANDLE POORLY, WHICH, WHEN TOWING, IS CLEARLY A SAFETY HAZARD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/08/2012

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 02/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 905737

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D28N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIFT-GATE STRUTS FAILED AND CAUSED THE LIFT-GATE TO STRIKE THE CONTACT ABRUPTLY ON THE HEAD, CAUSING INJURY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE LIFT GATE BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE WITH REPAIRS TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,800.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/03/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/24/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 914331

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D78N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I OWN A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. I AM HAVING A ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE BOOSTER. THE BRAKES LOCK AND THERE IS A SCREECHING NOISE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE NISSAN STORE AND THEY SAID THIS WAS THE PROBLEM. IT COST $120.00 FOR THEM TO TELL ME IT WOULD TAKE $900 TO FIX IT. I KNOW THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2008 NISSAN ARMADA BUT WHEN I CALLED NISSAN THEY TOLD ME MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THIS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE FOR MY FAMILY. WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THIS HAS HAPPEN TWICE PRIOR. ONCE DURING THANKSGIVING HOLIDAYS 2011 AND ANOTHER TIME IN JANUARY. IF I KILL THE CAR AND RE-START IT, IT SEEMS TO BE OK. THOSE TWO TIMES WEREN'T MAJOR BUT THIS LAST TIME WE WERE TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. WHEN I TALK TO THE NISSAN REP, SHE TOLD ME MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE CASE WAS CLOSED. I AM FURIOUS WITH NISSAN AND THEIR LACK OF CONCERN FOR OUR SAFETY. THIS IS THE THIRD NISSAN I HAVE OWNED AND IT WILL BE THE LAST. I HAD HEARD THAT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE AND NOW I UNDERSTAND WHY. THERE IS A LAWSUIT IN THE WORKS FOR THIS REASON WHICH I AM ABOUT TO JOIN IF SOMETHING ISN'T DONE. I JUST WANT MY BREAK BOOSTER FIXED AND FOR NISSAN TO TAKE THE RESPONSIBILITY THAT IT IS A MANUFACTURE DEFECT AND THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE. THAT IS ALL I AM ASKING. I WANT MY ARMADA TO BE PART OF THE RECALL. PLEASE, PLEASE HELP ME IF YOU CAN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/23/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917135

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 NISSAN ARMADA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES AND HEARD A GRINDING NOISE. THE BRAKES DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, BUT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY COAST TO A STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS SAFELY DRIVEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND WAS IN THE PROCESS OF HAVING THE FAILURE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/03/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 918760

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08D38N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE BRAKE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN BRAKES ARE USED, THERE IS A DECREASED BREAKING POWER. THE BRAKES MAKE A CRUNCHING, SPRINGY NOISE WITH THE PEDAL BEING EXTREMELY SOFT UNTIL IT GETS CLOSER TO THE FLOOR AND BEGINS TO GIVE BRAKING POWER. WHEN IGNITION OS TURNED OFF, THE PROBLEM RESOLVES AT LEAST TEMPORARILY. WHEN THE ENGINE HAS TURNED OFF, I HAVE HAD THE PROBLEM REOCCUR AS SOON AS 5 MINUTES AND AS LONG AS 3 MONTHS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/07/2012

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/02/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 934213

Squish VIN: 5N1BA08C08N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 ARMADA AND WHEN I WENT TO STOP AT A RED LIGHT AND I LOST BRAKE POWER. THERE WAS A HORRIBLE GRINDING SOUND AND THE DASHBOARD BRAKE LIGHT LIT UP. AFTER COASTING INTO A PARKING LOT I SHUT MY CAR OFF. MY HUSBAND CAME AND CHECKED THE CAR AND DROVE AROUND THE PARKING LOT AND EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE. THE WARNING LIGHTS WENT OUT AND THE BRAKES WORKED AGAIN. WE STILL HAVE A WARRANTY AND THE DEALER CAN'T SEEM TO FIND A PROBLEM. UH...WHEN ME AND MY KIDS ARE IN THE CAR AND WE LOSE BRAKE POWER...THAT'S KIND OF A HUGE PROBLEM. THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING IN ARMADA'S SINCE 2004. PLEASE SOMEONE FIX THIS BECAUSE I NO LONGER FEEL SAFE IN MY CAR AND THE IT THE ENTIRE REASON I BOUGHT THE ARMADA. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2012

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: Nissan North America, Inc.

Date Of Incident: 08/18/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 936464

Squish VIN: 5N1AA08CX8N

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN OUT OF GARAGE AT LOW SPEED. SUDDENLY, THERE WAS A CLUNK AND LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL. THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNING SIGNS OR SYMPTOMS. UPON INSPECTION, THE FRONT PASSENGER TIE ROD HAD DIS-ATTACHED ITSELF FROM THE WHEEL, RESULTING IN NO STEERING CONTROL OF THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL. HAD THIS HAPPENED AT A SPEED GREATER THAN 25 MPH, SERIOUS/FATAL ACCIDENT AND INJURY WOULD HAVE BEEN LIKELY. THIS IS A SERIOUS MALFUNCTION OF THE SYSTEM WITH NO PRIOR WARNING SIGNS. NISSAN DEALER HAS CONFIRMED THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE THAT IS NOT THE RESULT OF ANY OWNER FAULT. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode