Home / Complaints ( Nissan Maxima 2005 )

NISSAN MAXIMA 2005

Maxima

In the the nineteen nineties, the Nissan Maxima was ideally situated like a bridge between midsize family sedans and out-of-achieve European sport sedans because of its effective V6, trendy interior and appealing "Four-Door Sports Vehicle" marketing tagline. These traits, together with Nissan's continual enhancements, made certain the Maxima loyal fans and powerful title recognition.


Date Complaint Filed: 01/31/2005

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/12/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 526183

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE VEHICLE WILL CRANK, BUT WOULD NOT START. WHILE DRIVING HOME THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. VEHICLE WAS INCHED INTO A PARKING LOT. TOWED THE NEXT DAY. THE IPDM MODULE WAS FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE. THE MODULE PART WAS ON BACK ORDER.*AK...A BRAND NEW DESIGN, AND CONSUMER BELIEVED THERE WAS A MAJOR FLAW IN DESIGN TO HAVE NO AUXILLIARY POWER OR WARNING WHEN THIS SHOULD OCCUR. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/14/2005

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:IGNITION:MODULE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/14/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 528584

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I CALLED ON 1/31/05 AND FILED A FORMAL COMPLAINT FOR MY 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA. I HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE AS YET AND I AM WONDERING HOW I NEED TO PROCEED.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/14/2005

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/14/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 528585

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I CALLED ON 1/31/05 AND FILED A FORMAL COMPLAINT FOR MY 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA. I HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE AS YET AND I AM WONDERING HOW I NEED TO PROCEED.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/14/2005

Component(s): OTHER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/14/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 528586

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I CALLED ON 1/31/05 AND FILED A FORMAL COMPLAINT FOR MY 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA. I HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE AS YET AND I AM WONDERING HOW I NEED TO PROCEED.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 02/22/2005

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 530020

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E45C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE STEERING WHEEL MOVES WHEN THE UNLOCK BUTTON ON THE REMOTE CONTROL IS PRESSED. THIS OCCURS ON A RANDOM BASIS WHEN ONE INDIVIDUAL REMOTE CONTROL IS USED AND 100% OF THE TIME WHEN GOING BETWEEN ONE REMOTE TO THE OTHER. ON A RANDOM BASIS, DRIVER SEAT DOES NOT MOVE BACK WHEN EXITING VEHICLE AND THAT AREA OF THE EXIT FEATURE IS ENABLED. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS FOR THE MAXIMA EQUIPPED WITH THE MEMORY SEAT OPTION WHEN THE ENTRY/EXIT FEATURE IS ENABLED. EXTERIOR MIRRORS MOVE ON THEIR OWN WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN OPERATION. NISSAN HAS MADE 3 REPAIR ATTEMPTS FOR EACH PROBLEM STATED ABOVE AND CLAIMS THAT THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING AS DESIGNED.*AK

Date Complaint Filed: 04/06/2005

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 537477

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41EX5C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2005 NISSAN MAXIMA SE EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH SLOWING DOWN ONCE THE ACCELERATOR IS RELEASED.*MR THERE IS A ONE SECOND DELAY FROM THE TIME THE ACCELERATOR IS RELEASED UNTIL THE ENGINE STARTS TO SLOW DOWN. THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2005

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 541754

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E75C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I PURCHASED A NISSAN MAXIMA SL AT THE START OF NOVEMBER 2004. A HARNESS INSIDE THE ENGINE CONTAINING A SENSOR TO DETECT ENGINE KNOCKS WAS DAMAGED BY A RODENT. THIS CAUSED THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO BUCK, STOP SHIFTING, CHANGE SPEED OF THE CAR ON IT'S OWN,LOSE ACCELERATION, NOT SHIFT, SHIFT SUDDENLY AND PUT THE DRIVER IN A SITUATION WHERE IF THEY DID NOT COMPENSATE THEY COULD BE INJURED OR KILLED. THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR AND WORSENED OVER THE NEXT THREE THOUSAND MILES OF DRIVING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER IGNORED THE PROBLEM AND SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE IT UNTIL I SAID I WOULD PAY FOR THEM TO PLUG THE ENGINE INTO A DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER. AT THIS POINT THEY FOUND A MISFIRE CODE, THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED MY THE MASTER MECHANIC AND THE DEALER REPLACED THE HARNESS AT MY EXPENSE! THE MANUFACTURE REFUSED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR A DANGEROUS DEFECT. THIS IS A DEFECT IN THEIR COMPUTER LOGIC AND/OR DESIGN. A SENSOR MALFUNCTION SHOULD NOT CAUSE AN ENGINE MISFIRE AND TRANSMISSION TO FAIL. NOTE THE DATE OF NOVEMBER 3 2004 INDICATES THAT THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR AND IT CONTINUED UNTIL THE HARNESS WAS REPLACED. I HAVE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER MANY TIMES AND THEY ARE NOT RETURNING MY CALLS. THE MASTER MECHANIC SAID HE HAS SEEN THIS PROBLEM MANY TIMES BEFORE WHICH TELLS ME THAT THIS IS PERHAPS A LONG STANDING PROBLEM THAT NISSAN CHOOSES TO IGNORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2005

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 541755

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E75C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I PURCHASED A NISSAN MAXIMA SL AT THE START OF NOVEMBER 2004. A HARNESS INSIDE THE ENGINE CONTAINING A SENSOR TO DETECT ENGINE KNOCKS WAS DAMAGED BY A RODENT. THIS CAUSED THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO BUCK, STOP SHIFTING, CHANGE SPEED OF THE CAR ON IT'S OWN,LOSE ACCELERATION, NOT SHIFT, SHIFT SUDDENLY AND PUT THE DRIVER IN A SITUATION WHERE IF THEY DID NOT COMPENSATE THEY COULD BE INJURED OR KILLED. THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR AND WORSENED OVER THE NEXT THREE THOUSAND MILES OF DRIVING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER IGNORED THE PROBLEM AND SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE IT UNTIL I SAID I WOULD PAY FOR THEM TO PLUG THE ENGINE INTO A DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER. AT THIS POINT THEY FOUND A MISFIRE CODE, THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED MY THE MASTER MECHANIC AND THE DEALER REPLACED THE HARNESS AT MY EXPENSE! THE MANUFACTURE REFUSED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR A DANGEROUS DEFECT. THIS IS A DEFECT IN THEIR COMPUTER LOGIC AND/OR DESIGN. A SENSOR MALFUNCTION SHOULD NOT CAUSE AN ENGINE MISFIRE AND TRANSMISSION TO FAIL. NOTE THE DATE OF NOVEMBER 3 2004 INDICATES THAT THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR AND IT CONTINUED UNTIL THE HARNESS WAS REPLACED. I HAVE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER MANY TIMES AND THEY ARE NOT RETURNING MY CALLS. THE MASTER MECHANIC SAID HE HAS SEEN THIS PROBLEM MANY TIMES BEFORE WHICH TELLS ME THAT THIS IS PERHAPS A LONG STANDING PROBLEM THAT NISSAN CHOOSES TO IGNORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/13/2005

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2004

NHTSA ID Number: 541756

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E75C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I PURCHASED A NISSAN MAXIMA SL AT THE START OF NOVEMBER 2004. A HARNESS INSIDE THE ENGINE CONTAINING A SENSOR TO DETECT ENGINE KNOCKS WAS DAMAGED BY A RODENT. THIS CAUSED THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION TO BUCK, STOP SHIFTING, CHANGE SPEED OF THE CAR ON IT'S OWN,LOSE ACCELERATION, NOT SHIFT, SHIFT SUDDENLY AND PUT THE DRIVER IN A SITUATION WHERE IF THEY DID NOT COMPENSATE THEY COULD BE INJURED OR KILLED. THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR AND WORSENED OVER THE NEXT THREE THOUSAND MILES OF DRIVING. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER IGNORED THE PROBLEM AND SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE IT UNTIL I SAID I WOULD PAY FOR THEM TO PLUG THE ENGINE INTO A DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER. AT THIS POINT THEY FOUND A MISFIRE CODE, THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED MY THE MASTER MECHANIC AND THE DEALER REPLACED THE HARNESS AT MY EXPENSE! THE MANUFACTURE REFUSED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR A DANGEROUS DEFECT. THIS IS A DEFECT IN THEIR COMPUTER LOGIC AND/OR DESIGN. A SENSOR MALFUNCTION SHOULD NOT CAUSE AN ENGINE MISFIRE AND TRANSMISSION TO FAIL. NOTE THE DATE OF NOVEMBER 3 2004 INDICATES THAT THE PROBLEM STARTED WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR AND IT CONTINUED UNTIL THE HARNESS WAS REPLACED. I HAVE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER MANY TIMES AND THEY ARE NOT RETURNING MY CALLS. THE MASTER MECHANIC SAID HE HAS SEEN THIS PROBLEM MANY TIMES BEFORE WHICH TELLS ME THAT THIS IS PERHAPS A LONG STANDING PROBLEM THAT NISSAN CHOOSES TO IGNORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/19/2005

Component(s): OTHER

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/10/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 542660

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E25C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED 2005 MAXIMA AND HAVE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER SIX TIMES FOR THE SAME VIBRATING AND SHIMMYING PROBLEM THAT EVERYONE SEEMS TO COMPLAIN ABOUT. IF I HAD ONLY SEEN THIS WEBSITE BEFORE I BOUGHT ONE! THE DEALERSHIP TRIES THEY'RE BEST TO BLAME THE TIRES/WHEELS. THEY HAVE NOW PUT 5 SETS OF TIRE AND WHEELS ON MY BRAND NEW CAR...THE ONLY PERSON THERE THAT IS TRUTHFUL WAS THE SERVICE MANAGER. I TOOK HIM FOR A RIDE IN THE CAR AND FINALLY, HE SAID, THIS IS A CHARACTERISTIC OF THE CAR...THEY WISH NISSAN WOULD FIX IT. HE SAID MAYBE 1 OUT OF 25 PEOPLE ACTUALLY COMPLAIN ABOUT IT. I FIND THAT HARD TO BELIEVE. I HAVE AM FILING A LEMON LAW SUIT AND HOPE FOR THE BEST. WHEN WILL NISSAN HAVE A RECALL AND FIX THIS PROBLEM?

Date Complaint Filed: 05/25/2005

Component(s): STEERING:RACK AND PINION

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/25/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 543486

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E35C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA IN DECEMBER 2004. BY MARCH OF 2005, THE STRUT ASSEMBLIES (BOTH) HAD BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES AND THE VEHICLE WAS IN AN ADDITIONAL TIME FOR THE SAME COMPLAINT OF NOISE IN THE STRUT ASSEMBLY BUT WAS REPAIRED TO NO AVAIL. MAY 25, 2005: NOISE IN THE FRONT END AGAIN. UPON INSPECTION FROM THE AUTHORIZED NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN CORPUS CHRISTI, TX, IT WAS SAID THAT THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM A FAULTY RACK AND PINION. PRIOR TO THIS (UPON CONCLUSION THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED A THIRD TIME), I ASKED NISSAN TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. THEY REFUSED. THIS VEHICLE'S FRONT END IS NOT REPAIRABLE AND HAZARDOUS. THE CAR, AT THIS TIME, HAS 17K MILES AND NEEDS TO BE EITHER REPLACED OR BOUGHT BACK.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/25/2005

Component(s): SUSPENSION:FRONT

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/25/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 543487

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E35C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PURCHASED A 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA IN DECEMBER 2004. BY MARCH OF 2005, THE STRUT ASSEMBLIES (BOTH) HAD BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES AND THE VEHICLE WAS IN AN ADDITIONAL TIME FOR THE SAME COMPLAINT OF NOISE IN THE STRUT ASSEMBLY BUT WAS REPAIRED TO NO AVAIL. MAY 25, 2005: NOISE IN THE FRONT END AGAIN. UPON INSPECTION FROM THE AUTHORIZED NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN CORPUS CHRISTI, TX, IT WAS SAID THAT THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM A FAULTY RACK AND PINION. PRIOR TO THIS (UPON CONCLUSION THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED A THIRD TIME), I ASKED NISSAN TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. THEY REFUSED. THIS VEHICLE'S FRONT END IS NOT REPAIRABLE AND HAZARDOUS. THE CAR, AT THIS TIME, HAS 17K MILES AND NEEDS TO BE EITHER REPLACED OR BOUGHT BACK.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/15/2005

Component(s): TIRES:SIDEWALL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 03/18/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 546362

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E04C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

STEEL BELT WIDEWALLS FAILED, ALL FOUR TIRES SIDEWALLS CRACK, SOME TO OPENING OF 3/8 INCHE. SOME ON INSIDE, SOME ON OUTSIDE , ONLY 28645 MILES ON TIRES WHEN NOTICED DUE TO HIGH SPEED WOBBEL

Date Complaint Filed: 07/02/2005

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/02/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 549029

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E65C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WENT TO DO THE MONTHLY CHECK OF TIRE AIR PRESSURE AND FOUND THAT THE LABEL ON THE DRIVER'S DOOR POST DOES NOT LIST THE RECOMMENDED TIRE PRESSURE. ALL FOUR TIRES ARE AT 40 PSI COLD AND I DO NOT KNOW IF THAT IS DANGEROUS.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2005

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AXLE ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 550263

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT: CONSUMER BOUGHT NEW NISSAN MAXIMA 2005 AND HAD DRIVEN VEHICLE FOR A FEW DAYS WHEN WHILE PARKED AT WORK, A CO-WORKER NOTED THERE WAS "BLACK STUFF" WHICH WAS SUSPECTED TO BE BRAKE FLUID. CONCERNED, CALLED DEALERSHIP AND DEALER SAID NOT TO DRIVE VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE DISTANCE BUT PLEASE GO TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP THERE WAS A DEFINITE SAFETY ISSUE. A LOCAL DEALER ACCEPTED VEHICLE AND WAS KEPT FOR 4 DAYS AND DETERMINED IT NEEDED A NEW AXLE AND ALSO REPLACED A NEW BRAKE BOOT AS WELL. TOLD DEALERSHIP FROM WHERE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AND THEY SAID DO NOT LET THAT DEALERSHIP MAKE THOSE REPAIRS-THEY WOULD COME AND TOW VEHICLE BACK. DEALER TOWED VEHICLE. THE DEALER HAS HAD VEHICLE FOR OVER 1 WEEK AND NO REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE. THEY CLAIM REPAIR IS IN PROCESS. DEALER HAS NOT CONFIRMED WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS HOWEVER THE SECONDARY DEALERSHIP INSISTS IT WAS A BROKEN AXLE ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. *NOTE* CONSUMER DISCOVERED SHE DID NOT HAVE VIN AVAILABLE TO PROVIDE UPON FILING A COMPLAINT. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 07/15/2005

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/27/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 552870

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41EX5C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2005 NISSAN MAXIMA DEVELOPED PROBLEMS WITH LURCHING FORWARD AND THE ENGINE RACING.***NO ANSWER REQUIRED***. *MR THE CONSUMER HAD TO QUICKLY PLACE THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 08/14/2005

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/04/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 556154

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VIBRATION IN STEERING WHEEL & SEATS - HAVE HAD BACK TO DEALER FOUR TIMES IN THREE WEEKS - THEY'VE REPLACED WHEEL (OUT OF ROUND/BENT), ROTORS/BRAKES AND ARE NOW INVESTIGATING TIRES - VIBRATION OCCURS IN & OUT AT VARIOUS SPEEDS-LOOKING AT LEMON LAW. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 08/14/2005

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/04/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 556155

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VIBRATION IN STEERING WHEEL & SEATS - HAVE HAD BACK TO DEALER FOUR TIMES IN THREE WEEKS - THEY'VE REPLACED WHEEL (OUT OF ROUND/BENT), ROTORS/BRAKES AND ARE NOW INVESTIGATING TIRES - VIBRATION OCCURS IN & OUT AT VARIOUS SPEEDS-LOOKING AT LEMON LAW. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 10/13/2005

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 05/25/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 556272

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E45C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT: THE CONSUMER STATED SHE BOUGHT A 2005 NISSAN MAXIM 3.5 SL ON NOVEMBER 15, 04. TOWARDS THE END OF MAY SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR A ROUTINE SERVICE BECAUSE SHE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE VEHICLE NOT ACCELERATING AFTER HAVING COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. *AK *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 11/01/2005

Component(s): SUSPENSION:FRONT

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/16/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 567348

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT: THE CONTACT REPLACED THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BEARING ASSEMBLY UNDER WARRANTY. BOTH RIGHT AND LEFT FRONT STRUTS WERE REPLACED AT 8500 MILES. THESE PARTS WERE REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY AS WELL. THERE HAVE BEEN NO PROBLEMS WITH THE SUSPENSION SINCE THE REPLACEMENT OF THESE PARTS. *AK UPDATED 12/7/2005. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 12/12/2005

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 12/04/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 572114

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E25C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2005 NISSAN MAXIMA HEADLIGHTS STOLEN. WAS NEVER TOLD THAT THIS IS A VERY POPULAR HOT MARKET ITEM THAT MANY THIEVES ARE STEALING. FACTORY ALARM ONLY GOES OFF IF SOMEONE TRIES TO DRIVE AWAY WITH THE CAR BUT IF THE LIGHTS ARE TAMPERED WITH OR STOLEN THEY DO NOT GO OFF. IF NISSAN KNEW THESE LIGHTS ARE SO POPULAR AMONG THIEVES THEN THEY SHOULD HAVE GIVEN ME THE OPTION TO ADD A SPECIAL ALARM THAT WOULD GO OFF WHEN SOMEONE TRIES TO STEAL THESE POPULAR LIGHTS. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 12/12/2005

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 11/09/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 572116

Squish VIN: -

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

WE PURCHASED A NEW 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA IN JULY 05. FROM DAY ONE, WE NOTICED AN ENGINE SURGE WHEN DOWN-SHIFTING GEARS, START FROM A STOP AND WHEN PLACED IN REVERSE. WE ATTRIBUTED THIS TO BEING A SPORTIER CAR THAN WE WERE USED TO. *JB HOWEVER, ON NOV. 9, AS MY WIFE WAS TURNING INTO A PARKING SPACE IN A PARKING DECK, THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. SPECIFICALLY, SHE HAD JUST LEVELED-OFF FROM THE UP-RAMP OF THE DECK, MADE A LEFT-TURN INTO A PARKING SPACE, PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND - NOTHING. THE PEDAL WOULD NOT DEPRESS. BECAUSE THE CAR WAS NATURALLY SLOWING DOWN FROM THE UP-RAMP, THE DOWN-SHIFTING OF GEARS CAUSED THE CAR TO STALL, THEN SURGE, JUST AS IT HAS DONE BEFORE. B/C THE BRAKE PEDAL DIDN'T DEPRESS, THE BRAKES DIDN'T ENGAGE, THUS THE CAR ROLLED INTO THE BOUNDARY WALL OF THE PARKING DECK. WHEN WE NOTIFIED THE DEALER, THEY SAID THAT IT WASN'T THEIR PROBLEM AND TO CALL NISSAN. I CALLED 1-800-NISSAN-1, AND SPOKE WITH AN ATTENDANT ON 11/10. A TECH VISIT WAS SCHEDULE FOR 12/5. ON 12/12, NISSAN CALLED TO REPORT THAT THEY COULDN'T FIND A DEFECT. WHEN I INQUIRED AS TO THE SPECIFICS OF THE "INVESTIGATION," I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERE "PROFESSIONALS, AND CHECKED WHATEVER THEY THOUGHT WAS NECESSARY." WHEN I PRESSURED FOR SPECIFICS, THEY COULDN'T PROVIDE ANY. THIS PURCHASE WAS INTENDED TO PROVIDE MY WIFE AND UNBORN CHILD A SAFE AND DEPENDABLE MODE OF TRANSPORTATION, BUT IF THE BRAKES DON'T WORK AND NO ONE CAN FIND A PROBLEM, HOW SAFE AND DEPENDABLE IS IT? B/C WE COULDN'T DRIVE THE CAR DUE TO THE ACCIDENT AND MECHANICAL ISSUES, WE WERE WITHOUT THE USE OF THE CAR FOR 34 CALENDAR DAYS, AND FOR 29 BUSINESS DAYS. THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS $2000+. THIS IS AN OUTRAGE THAT A $30K CAR DEVELOPS AN ENGINE/TRANSMISSION PROBLEM FROM PURCHASE (ASSUMING IT IS A PROBLEM) AND THEN DEVELOPS A BRAKE MALFUNCTION WITHIN THE FIRST 4 MONTHS OF PURCHASE. COMPLETELY ASININE. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 01/13/2006

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/12/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 575616

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I INADVERTENTLY UPON DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, ALSO PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. WHAT IS APPARENTLY NORMAL FOR THE 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA, IS THE BRAKE PEDAL CAN MOVE BELOW THE LEVEL OF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THIS HIGHLIGHTED TWO PROBLEMS: 1. THE BAKE PEDAL TRAVEL IS TO MUCH, AND 2. THE DISTANCE BETWEEN THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATOR PEDALS IS INSUFFICIENT. THE RESULT OF THIS PROBLEM IS TO APPLY MORE BRAKE PRESSURE THEREBY ALSO ACCELERATING THE CAR. I WAS PARKING AND ENDED UP UPON THE MEDIAN BETWEEN LANES OF PARKING AND DAMAGED MY BUMPER AND SKIRT UNDER THE FRONT END. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 01/13/2006

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:ACCELERATOR PEDAL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/12/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 575617

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E85C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I INADVERTENTLY UPON DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, ALSO PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. WHAT IS APPARENTLY NORMAL FOR THE 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA, IS THE BRAKE PEDAL CAN MOVE BELOW THE LEVEL OF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THIS HIGHLIGHTED TWO PROBLEMS: 1. THE BAKE PEDAL TRAVEL IS TO MUCH, AND 2. THE DISTANCE BETWEEN THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATOR PEDALS IS INSUFFICIENT. THE RESULT OF THIS PROBLEM IS TO APPLY MORE BRAKE PRESSURE THEREBY ALSO ACCELERATING THE CAR. I WAS PARKING AND ENDED UP UPON THE MEDIAN BETWEEN LANES OF PARKING AND DAMAGED MY BUMPER AND SKIRT UNDER THE FRONT END. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 01/17/2006

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 01/16/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 576003

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E05C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I PURCHASED A NEW 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA ON FEB. 12 2005. SINCE MY PURCHASE I HAVE HAD TO BRING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SOON AFTER THE PURCHASE. THE FIRST PROBLEM WAS THAT THE THROTTLE WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. NOW ON 01/16/06 THE ENTIRE ENGINE HAS TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALERSHIP STATES THAT THE VEHICLE HAS THROWN A ROD. MY CAR IS NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD YET, BRAND NEW WITH LESS THAN 10,000 MILES ON IT. I WILL BE WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR 2-3 WEEKS. I HAVE BEEN A LOYAL NISSAN OWNER FOR OVER 13 YRS. I HAVE PURCHASED NOTHING BUT NISSAN VEHICLES SINCE MOVING TO TEXAS. I AM SO UPSET THAT I CAN'T EVEN PUT IT TO WORDS, I WILL NEVER,EVER, BUY ANOTHER NISSAN PRODUCT DUE TO ALL THE HARD ACHES I HAVE GONE THROUGH WITH THE PURCHASE OF MY NEW VEHICLE. I CAN'T EVEN ENJOY THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT SPENDS HALF THE TIME IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. I WANT TO GET OUT FROM UNDER MY LEASE, UNSURE IF I CAN EVEN DO THAT. THEN TRYING TO CONTACT YOUR COMPANY HAS BEEN A LIVING NIGHTMARE. I COULD CRY RIGHT NOW. YOU WANT A COMPLAINT YOU GOT A BIG ONE. NOW, WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT! I NEED SOMEONE IN CHARGE TO CONTACT ME ASAP. I WILL CONTACT MY NEWS STATION, LOCAL RADIO STATION WHATEVER IT TAKES AND LET EVERYONE IN THE ENTIRE STATE OF TX. KNOW HOW I HAVE BEEN TREATED BY NISSAN MOTORS. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 06/12/2006

Component(s): TIRES:SIDEWALL

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 591124

Squish VIN: 1N4BA41E25C

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

245-45-18 GOODYEAR EAGLE RS-A TIRE ON 2005 MAXIMA CAME APART. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 06/14/2006

Component(s): SEATS:FRONT ASSEMBLY:POWER ADJUST

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/13/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 592152

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE CONSUMER TOOK THE 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA TO THE DEALER FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AND WAS TOLD OF A PENDING RECALL (05V51200) CONCERNING THE POWER FRONT SEAT. *KB THE RECALL WORK WAS PERFORMED BUT THE CONSUMER WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE WORK NOT BEING PERFORMED PRIOR TO DELIVERY. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 06/14/2006

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 06/13/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 592153

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE CONSUMER TOOK THE 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA TO THE DEALER FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AND WAS TOLD OF A PENDING RECALL (05V51200) CONCERNING THE POWER FRONT SEAT. *KB THE RECALL WORK WAS PERFORMED BUT THE CONSUMER WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE WORK NOT BEING PERFORMED PRIOR TO DELIVERY. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 07/31/2006

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 07/31/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 596776

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT*: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 20MPH THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTERWARDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE ENGINE WAS DIFFICULT TO START AFTER SITTING FOR A PROLONGED PERIOD OF TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. ALTHOUGH THE CODE INDICATED THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR FAILED, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO NOT ALERTED.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2006

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HEADLIGHTS

Manufacturer: NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

Date Of Incident: 08/18/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 599474

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE PROJECTOR HEADLAMPS ON MY 2005 NISSAN MAXIMA HAVE FAILED TO PERFORM AS DESIGNED AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED ONCE, AND IS CURRENTLY WORKING IN THE SHOP FOR REPEAT OF INITIAL FAILURE. THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES WERE REPLACED INITIALLY AS A WHOLE AND THE PROBLEM WAS CORRECTED FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS. THE ISSUE IS THAT THE PROJECTOR LAMPS UTILIZE A SHUTTER TO CHANGE FROM HIGH TO LOW BEAM. AFTER THE LAMP HAS OPERATED FOR A PERIOD OF TIME (30 MIN-1 HOUR) THE SHUTTER DOES NOT MOVE FULLY, LEAVING THE LAMPS IN A PARTIAL OR FULL HIGH BEAM MODE, EVEN WHEN LOW BEAM IS CALLED FOR BY THE CONTROL SWITCH. THIS IS A HAZARD TO ONCOMING DRIVERS, AND I GET FLASHED BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC FREQUENTLY. *JB

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode