Home / Complaints ( Pontiac G6 2008 )

PONTIAC G6 2008

G6

Until Pontiac bit the dust within the wake of GM's 2009 personal bankruptcy fiasco, the Pontiac G6 was the business's go-to midsize vehicle. Inside a constant fight to steal sales in the class faves, the G6 offered abnormally sensible styling by Pontiac standards, solid performance from the V6 engines and also the accessibility to a four-chair retracting-hardtop convertible body style. Volume-selling models were 5-passenger sedan and 4-passenger coupe.


Date Complaint Filed: 04/29/2008

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 04/25/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 673011

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57B084

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PONTIAC 2008 G6 3,368 MILEAGE POWER STEERING ERROR, THEN TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION. 4/25/08 PHONED DEALERSHIP AND SCHEDULED REPAIR FOR 4/28/08. HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALERSHIP ON 4/27/08. 4/28/08 DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED TWO BROKEN WIRES IN THE VEHICLE SPEED SENSOR HARNESS. THEY INDICATED THAT SOMETHING HAD SEVERED THE WIRES AND THAT THE REPAIR WOULD NOT BE COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW WITH THE WIRING HARNESS. WHY WOULD TWO WIRES BE LEFT UNSHIELDED FROM THE ELEMENTS? THE DEALERSHIP VIA MY REQUEST RECEIVED AN ONE TIME CUSTOMER GOODWILL WARRANTY APPROVAL. I HAD THE MECHANIC SHOW THE AREA IN QUESTION. HE HAS REINFORCED THE WIRES WITH ELECTRICAL TAPE. IT APPEARS TO BE A GREAT REPAIR. I AM NOT SURE WHY THE MANUFACTURE DID NOT DO THIS ORIGINALLY. ERROR CODES PO722, COOOO AND PO700. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS DESIGN WILL CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR OTHER CAR OWNERS. AND COULD POSE A SAFETY ISSUE IF THE WIRING IS SEVERED AT HIGHWAY SPEED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/29/2008

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 04/25/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 673012

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57B084

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PONTIAC 2008 G6 3,368 MILEAGE POWER STEERING ERROR, THEN TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION. 4/25/08 PHONED DEALERSHIP AND SCHEDULED REPAIR FOR 4/28/08. HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALERSHIP ON 4/27/08. 4/28/08 DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED TWO BROKEN WIRES IN THE VEHICLE SPEED SENSOR HARNESS. THEY INDICATED THAT SOMETHING HAD SEVERED THE WIRES AND THAT THE REPAIR WOULD NOT BE COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW WITH THE WIRING HARNESS. WHY WOULD TWO WIRES BE LEFT UNSHIELDED FROM THE ELEMENTS? THE DEALERSHIP VIA MY REQUEST RECEIVED AN ONE TIME CUSTOMER GOODWILL WARRANTY APPROVAL. I HAD THE MECHANIC SHOW THE AREA IN QUESTION. HE HAS REINFORCED THE WIRES WITH ELECTRICAL TAPE. IT APPEARS TO BE A GREAT REPAIR. I AM NOT SURE WHY THE MANUFACTURE DID NOT DO THIS ORIGINALLY. ERROR CODES PO722, COOOO AND PO700. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS DESIGN WILL CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR OTHER CAR OWNERS. AND COULD POSE A SAFETY ISSUE IF THE WIRING IS SEVERED AT HIGHWAY SPEED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2008

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:COOLING SYSTEM

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 06/04/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 677923

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG558264

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE ENTERING AN EXIT RAMP AT 50 MPH. THIS IS THE FIRST AND ONLY TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. I'VE NOW PARKED MY VEHICLE AND HAVEN'T BEEN DRIVING IT. I HAVE TWO CHILDREN UNDER AGE 4 AND CANNOT ALLOW THEM TO BE IN THAT DEATH TRAP. AFTER I PULLED OVER TO A SAFE AREA, I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND ABOUT 10 MIN LATER ON AGAIN. AFTER THAT, MY STEERING WAS FINE. I'VE ALSO HAD THE RACK AND PINION REPLACED 3 TIMES FOR A CLICK SOUND THAT IS MADE ANYTIME I TURN TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. I'VE BEEN TOLD IT COULD BE THE STEERING LINKS OR EVEN THE TIE RODS AND STRUTS. IT STILL MAKES THAT SOUND. EITHER WAY, ALL THREE TIMES A CERTIFIED GM MECHANIC REPLACED THE RACK AND PINION BECAUSE THEY WERE SURE THAT'S WHAT CAUSED THE CLICK AND ALL MY FRONT END ISSUES. WHEN I HAD THE FIRST RACK AND PINION REPLACED, THE WATER PUMP ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAR IS ONLY TWO YEARS OLD. I HAD THE SAME BODY SHOP WORK ON THE VEHICLE EACH TIME SOMETHING WAS REPLACED. I'VE FEEL JIPPED. I PAY ALMOST 400 A MONTH FOR A CAR THAT COULD KILL ME! A DEFINITE RECALL NEEDS TO BE DONE BEFORE SOMEONE KILLS SOMEONE ELSE OR THEIR CHILDREN DIE OR THEMSELVES. I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS THING HAS BEEN UNDER INVESTIGATION FOR SO LONG AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. IT'S ABSURD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 06/04/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 677924

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG558264

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE ENTERING AN EXIT RAMP AT 50 MPH. THIS IS THE FIRST AND ONLY TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. I'VE NOW PARKED MY VEHICLE AND HAVEN'T BEEN DRIVING IT. I HAVE TWO CHILDREN UNDER AGE 4 AND CANNOT ALLOW THEM TO BE IN THAT DEATH TRAP. AFTER I PULLED OVER TO A SAFE AREA, I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND ABOUT 10 MIN LATER ON AGAIN. AFTER THAT, MY STEERING WAS FINE. I'VE ALSO HAD THE RACK AND PINION REPLACED 3 TIMES FOR A CLICK SOUND THAT IS MADE ANYTIME I TURN TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. I'VE BEEN TOLD IT COULD BE THE STEERING LINKS OR EVEN THE TIE RODS AND STRUTS. IT STILL MAKES THAT SOUND. EITHER WAY, ALL THREE TIMES A CERTIFIED GM MECHANIC REPLACED THE RACK AND PINION BECAUSE THEY WERE SURE THAT'S WHAT CAUSED THE CLICK AND ALL MY FRONT END ISSUES. WHEN I HAD THE FIRST RACK AND PINION REPLACED, THE WATER PUMP ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAR IS ONLY TWO YEARS OLD. I HAD THE SAME BODY SHOP WORK ON THE VEHICLE EACH TIME SOMETHING WAS REPLACED. I'VE FEEL JIPPED. I PAY ALMOST 400 A MONTH FOR A CAR THAT COULD KILL ME! A DEFINITE RECALL NEEDS TO BE DONE BEFORE SOMEONE KILLS SOMEONE ELSE OR THEIR CHILDREN DIE OR THEMSELVES. I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS THING HAS BEEN UNDER INVESTIGATION FOR SO LONG AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. IT'S ABSURD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/30/2008

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 06/23/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 685787

Squish VIN: 1G2ZH57N484

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW WITH 5 MILES IN APRIL WITH THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. AT AROUND 5500 MILES, THE CAR FIRST STALLED. IT STARTED BACK UP THAT DAY WITHOUT ISSUE AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING LIGHTS SO I DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT. AFTER THAT, IT WOULD STALL MAYBE ONCE A WEEK. THIS HAPPENED UP UNTIL ABOUT 6200 MILES. AFTER THAT, I WAS GETTING CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, REDUCED ENGINE POWER(WHICH WAS VERY SPORADIC), SERVICE TRACTION, AND ENGINE LUGGING. IT CONTINUED TO STALL 3 TIMES A WEEK OR SO. I HAVE HAD IT IN TWICE TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE FIRST TIME THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. THE NEXT TIME WHICH WAS JUST LAST WEEK, THEY REPLACED THE MAF SENSOR. THE CAR WAS FINE FOR 4 DAYS AND IT AGAIN, STALLED AS I WAS TURNING ONTO A STATE HIGHWAY. IT TOOK 8 CRANKS TO RESTART. IT WAS FINE FOR 2 DAYS, THEN ACTED UP AGAIN YESTERDAY. IT DIDN'T STALL, BUT THE SERVICE TRACTION, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS WERE ON. ONSTAR HAS GIVEN ME CODES FROM THE AIR INTAKE SYSTEM TO THE THROTTLE CONTROL. THE DEALERSHIP ITSELF DOES A GOOD JOB AND IF ITS NOT ACTING UP I KNOW THAT THERE ISN'T ANYTHING THEY COULD DO. HOWEVER, RESEARCHING THE INTERNET I FOUND SOME GM YUKONS HAVING ALOT OF THE SAME ISSUES RELATED TO WIRING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 08/20/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 689140

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I AM A CURRENT OWNER OF AN 2008 PONTIAC G6 WITH THE V6 OPTION. IT SEEMS FOR ONLY HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR 15000 MILES THE ROTORS ARE BEGINNING TO WARP, AS READING FORUMS I FOUND THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM ON THIS PARTICULAR MODEL AND WOULD FORTH HENCE LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT ABOUT IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2008

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 09/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 691664

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE HAS STALLED 3 TIMES,TOOK TO DEALER,THEY PULLED A CRUISE CONTROL TC OUT OF COMPUTER. UNABLE TO MAKE IT REPEAT SO NOTHING DONE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/10/2008

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 692366

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57B784

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING A 2007 PONTIAC G-6. SHE WAS GOING AROUND A CURVE ENTERING THE EXPRESS WAY AND THE CAR DID NOT RESPOND TO HER TURNING THE WHEEL THEREFORE THE CAR WENT INTO THE DITCH. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. CONSIQUENTLY SHE FRACTURED HER BACK. SEPTEMBER 2007 IN NOVEMBER 2007 MY SON WAS DRIVING A 2008 PONTIAC G-6. HE WAS GOING AROUND A CURVE THE CAR DID NOT RESPOND. THE CAR ROLLED OVER HIT A TREE AND KILLED MY SON. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/10/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 692367

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57B784

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING A 2007 PONTIAC G-6. SHE WAS GOING AROUND A CURVE ENTERING THE EXPRESS WAY AND THE CAR DID NOT RESPOND TO HER TURNING THE WHEEL THEREFORE THE CAR WENT INTO THE DITCH. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. CONSIQUENTLY SHE FRACTURED HER BACK. SEPTEMBER 2007 IN NOVEMBER 2007 MY SON WAS DRIVING A 2008 PONTIAC G-6. HE WAS GOING AROUND A CURVE THE CAR DID NOT RESPOND. THE CAR ROLLED OVER HIT A TREE AND KILLED MY SON. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 693592

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6 HAS ISSUES WITH POSSIBLE DEFECTS. *NJ THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WANDERED. AT 60 MPH, THE WANDERING INCREASED AND CONSTANT CORRECTIONS HAD TO BE MADE TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS TOO HIGH AND TOO FAR FROM THE GAS PEDAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS FOOT DID NOT COME TO REST EVENLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, RATHER HIS FOOT CAME TO REST UNEVENLY ON THE PEDAL. THE STEERING WAS INADEQUATE. WHEN THE RATIO BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE FRONT DRIVING SUSPENSION WAS TOO LARGE, SO AT TIMES OF AN EMERGENCY WHEN A QUICK TURN OF THE WHEEL IS NECESSARY TO AVOID A COLLISION, SUCH RESPONSE IS NOT AVAILABLE DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE CONSTRUCTION OF THE VEHICLE. THE RESPONSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL WAS SLUGGISH. THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN WITH EASE, BUT REQUIRED EXCESSIVE TURNING AND EXCESSIVE STRENGTH. THE SUNVISOR EXTENDED TOO FAR DOWN WHICH IMPAIRED THE CONSUMERS VISIBILITY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2008

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 693593

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6 HAS ISSUES WITH POSSIBLE DEFECTS. *NJ THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WANDERED. AT 60 MPH, THE WANDERING INCREASED AND CONSTANT CORRECTIONS HAD TO BE MADE TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS TOO HIGH AND TOO FAR FROM THE GAS PEDAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS FOOT DID NOT COME TO REST EVENLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, RATHER HIS FOOT CAME TO REST UNEVENLY ON THE PEDAL. THE STEERING WAS INADEQUATE. WHEN THE RATIO BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE FRONT DRIVING SUSPENSION WAS TOO LARGE, SO AT TIMES OF AN EMERGENCY WHEN A QUICK TURN OF THE WHEEL IS NECESSARY TO AVOID A COLLISION, SUCH RESPONSE IS NOT AVAILABLE DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE CONSTRUCTION OF THE VEHICLE. THE RESPONSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL WAS SLUGGISH. THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN WITH EASE, BUT REQUIRED EXCESSIVE TURNING AND EXCESSIVE STRENGTH. THE SUNVISOR EXTENDED TOO FAR DOWN WHICH IMPAIRED THE CONSUMERS VISIBILITY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 693594

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6 HAS ISSUES WITH POSSIBLE DEFECTS. *NJ THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WANDERED. AT 60 MPH, THE WANDERING INCREASED AND CONSTANT CORRECTIONS HAD TO BE MADE TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS TOO HIGH AND TOO FAR FROM THE GAS PEDAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS FOOT DID NOT COME TO REST EVENLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, RATHER HIS FOOT CAME TO REST UNEVENLY ON THE PEDAL. THE STEERING WAS INADEQUATE. WHEN THE RATIO BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE FRONT DRIVING SUSPENSION WAS TOO LARGE, SO AT TIMES OF AN EMERGENCY WHEN A QUICK TURN OF THE WHEEL IS NECESSARY TO AVOID A COLLISION, SUCH RESPONSE IS NOT AVAILABLE DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE CONSTRUCTION OF THE VEHICLE. THE RESPONSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL WAS SLUGGISH. THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN WITH EASE, BUT REQUIRED EXCESSIVE TURNING AND EXCESSIVE STRENGTH. THE SUNVISOR EXTENDED TOO FAR DOWN WHICH IMPAIRED THE CONSUMERS VISIBILITY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2008

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 693595

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6 HAS ISSUES WITH POSSIBLE DEFECTS. *NJ THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE WANDERED. AT 60 MPH, THE WANDERING INCREASED AND CONSTANT CORRECTIONS HAD TO BE MADE TO PREVENT AN ACCIDENT. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS TOO HIGH AND TOO FAR FROM THE GAS PEDAL. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS FOOT DID NOT COME TO REST EVENLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, RATHER HIS FOOT CAME TO REST UNEVENLY ON THE PEDAL. THE STEERING WAS INADEQUATE. WHEN THE RATIO BETWEEN THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE FRONT DRIVING SUSPENSION WAS TOO LARGE, SO AT TIMES OF AN EMERGENCY WHEN A QUICK TURN OF THE WHEEL IS NECESSARY TO AVOID A COLLISION, SUCH RESPONSE IS NOT AVAILABLE DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE CONSTRUCTION OF THE VEHICLE. THE RESPONSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL WAS SLUGGISH. THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT TURN WITH EASE, BUT REQUIRED EXCESSIVE TURNING AND EXCESSIVE STRENGTH. THE SUNVISOR EXTENDED TOO FAR DOWN WHICH IMPAIRED THE CONSUMERS VISIBILITY. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 09/29/2008

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 09/26/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 694899

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT LEASES A 2008 PONTIAC G6. WHILE TURNING A CORNER IN THE VEHICLE, THE GAS TANK HOLDER DETACHED FROM THE FRAME AND WAS DRAGGING ON THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY ADDED MORE BOLTS TO SUPPORT THE GAS TANK. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 2,400.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/08/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 699969

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57N784

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THERE IS A CLUNKING IN THE FRONT END WHEN YOU TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. I BROUGHT TO DEALER ON 11/03/08 AND THEY DETERMINED THAT THE CLUNKING NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE INTERMEDIATE SHAFT. THEIR SOLUTION WAS TO LUBRICATE THE SHAFT AS THE FIRST STEP TO RESOLVING THE PROBLEM. THE CLUNKING NOISE HAS BEEN REDUCED DRAMATICALLY, BUT I KNOW I WILL BE BRINGING THIS VEHICLE BACK IN FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM. I HAVE BROUGHT A PREVIOUS CAR, 2006 G-6, IN TO THE DEALER FOR THE SAME PROBLEM ON 10/24/08 AND IT WAS RECOMMENDED THAT THE STEERING RACK BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $ 503.15. THIS WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE THE CAR WAS 3,000 MILES OVER THE WARRANTY COVERAGE. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT FOR MY 3RD PONTIAC G-6 ON 11/07/08. IT IS JUST AMAZING THAT I HAVE THREE OF THESE VEHICLES, AND THEY ALL SEEM TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. ALL THAT I'M LOOKING FOR IS TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM TAKEN CARE OF BY THE MANUFACTURER AT NO CHARGE, BECAUSE I BELIEVE THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/30/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 09/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 702552

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

VEHICLE TYPE IS 2006 PONTIAC G6. FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS UPON STARTING THE CAR IN THE MORNING THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOCKED - THERE IS NO POWER STEERING WHAT SO EVER. AFTER A FEW SECONDS THE STEERING WHEEL UNLOCKS. THE LAST FEW WEEKS HAVE BEEN MORE CONCERNING. IT SEEMED LIKE WHEN A LEFT TURN WAS MADE THE CAR "DINGS" AND THE MESSAGE "POWER STEERING" COMES UP ON THE RADIO. NOW 2 DAYS IN A ROW WE WERE TRAVELING STRAIGHT AND RECEIVED THE "POWER STEERING MESSAGE". THE CAR HAS NEVER LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING BUT I AM VERY CONCERNED UPON READING OTHER CONSUMER COMMENTS. MY CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW AND HAS 12K MILES ON IT. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THEY REPLACED "U" JOINT ( I BELIEVE) SINCE THEY SAID IT WAS "SEIZING". RECEIPT STATES INTERMEDIATE SHAFT REPLACED. STILL HAVING PROBLEM -PONTIAC DEALERSHIP IS AT A LOSS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/03/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 12/03/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 702974

Squish VIN: 1G2ZH158864

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL WILL LOCK UNCONTROLLABLY AND INTERMITTENTLY. IT HAS NOT CAUSED AN ACCIDENT YET, BUT IT DOES HAS A BINDING AND ROCKING MOTION IN THE STEERING WHEEL. I HAVE TO CUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESET THE POWER STEERING AFTER ITS DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. GM HAS DONE NOTHING AND THERE IS NO RECALL AS OF THE DATE OF THIS POSTING TO REPLACE OR FIX THE DISCREPANCY. I AM CONCERNED THAT IT MAY CAUSE AN UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT THAT COULD CAUSE A FATALITY IF THIS IS NOT CORRECTED AND I PRAY THAT IT DOES NOT HAPPEN. I FEEL FOR THE INDIVIDUALS THAT HAVE HAD AN ACCIDENT SO FAR AND I HOPE THAT THEY TAKE THERE COMPLAINTS TO GM AND MAKE THEM PAY FOR IT. JUST TO SET THE RECORD MY VEHICLE HAS APPROX 49535 MILES ON IT AND THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN 30 TIMES WITH IT GETTING WORSE. I SURELY CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE IT FIX. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/13/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

Manufacturer: General Motors LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/16/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 704260

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57N384

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

IT STARTED WHEN I WAS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY CRUISE CONTROL NOT TURNING ON. I WAS THEN PULLED OVER BY A STATE POLICEMEN WHO EXPLAINED THAT MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE STUCK ON; HE HAD ME STOP THE CAR AND RE-START AND HE THEN FOLLOWED ME FOR ANOTHER MILE. AGAIN THE BRAKE LIGHTS STUCK ON. HE ESCORTED ME TO THE NEAREST DEALER AND INSTRUCTED ME TO LEAVE THE CAR TO BE FIXED. I THEN SCHEDULED AN APPT. WITH THE DEALER AND AFTER LOOKING INTO THE PROBLEM, THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE SENSOR. IT WORKED OUT FINE FOR 3 WEEKS-AS OF THIS AFTERNOON THE BRAKE LIGHTS ARE NOW STAYING ON AGAIN. THE POLICE OFFICER TOLD ME THAT I WAS NOT ALLOWED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITHOUT THE HAZARD LIGHTS IF THIS CONTINUES; SO HOW CAN WE FIX THIS BRAKE PROBLEM? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/23/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/23/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 705407

Squish VIN: 1G2ZF57B784

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FRONT BRAKES HAVE BEEN TURNED 3 TIMES SINCE 12,000 MILES AND REAR TURNED ONCE AND THE ROTORS REPLACED. CAR SHAKES AND SHIMMIES WITH BRAKING, DEALER ACTS AS IF NOT AN ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/27/2009

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/23/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 710026

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57B484

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING MY 2008 PONTIAC G6, AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, NORTHBOUND ON WARD DRIVE, IN THE GOLETA, CALIFORNIA, AREA. WITH NO WARNING OF ANY KIND (I.E. LOUD POP, PULL, OR CAR MOVEMENT), THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR INDICATED TO CHECK TIRE PRESSURE. THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITOR INDICATED 15 PSI IN THE LEFT FRONT TIRE. I PULLED OFF THE ROADWAY, WHILE MONITORING THE PRESSURE MONITOR, AND THE TIRE WAS QUICKLY LEAKING AIR UNTIL THE TIRE WAS FULLY DEFLATED. I DID NOT RUN INTO, OR OVER, ANY DEBRIS, CURB OR OTHER OBSTACLE. THE LEFT FRONT TIRE SPLIT ON THE INSIDE FACE OF THE TIRE (FACING THE CAR), RIGHT WHERE THE SIDEWALL MEETS THE TREAD AND STARTS TO CURVE AROUND. THE SPLIT STARTED ABOUT 2/3 OF THE WAY FROM THE RIM, AND CONTINUED RADIATING OUTWARD TOWARD TREAD (AS OPPOSED TO ALONG THE SIDEWALL, PARALLEL TO TREAD) ABOUT AN INCH TO AN INCH AND A HALF LONG. IT IS A JAGGED SPLIT. THERE WAS NOT ANY PUNCTURE, PENETRATION, OR CUT IN EVIDENCE. I AM BEING TOLD THAT I NEED TO BUY A NEW TIRE, AND IF THE MANUFACTURER DETERMINES THE TIRE FAILED, THEN THE TIRE MANUFACTURER WILL DETERMINE ANY AMOUNT OF REFUND, IF ANY. BASED ON THE LOCATION OF THE SPLIT IN THE TIRE SIDEWALL, AND THE LACK OF ANY EXTERNAL INFLUENCING EVENT(S) PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, I BELIEVE THIS TIRE FAILED WITHOUT EXPLANATION. AS ALL FOUR TIRES ARE OF THE SAME PRODUCTION LOT (BASED ON THE DOT #), I BELIEVE ALL FOUR TIRES SHOULD BE EXAMINED AND FULLY TESTED TO DETERMINE IF THE REMAINING THREE TIRES ARE PRONE TO FAILURE AS WELL. AS THIS EVENT OCCURRED AT RELATIVELY SLOW SPEEDS, I FEEL QUITE LUCKY THAT NOTHING SERIOUS HAPPENED. IF THIS HAD OCCURRED TWO MINUTES LATER, I WOULD HAVE BEEN ON THE FREEWAY, AT FREEWAY SPEED, AND COULD HAVE EXPERIENCED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AND INJURIES. THESE TIRES (HANKOOK, OPTIMO H725A TIRES) NEED TO BE CHECKED ON! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/19/2009

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 01/27/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 713182

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WAS DRIVING MY CAR IN AN ICE STORM WHEN THE WINDSHIELD CRACKED WITH NOTHING HITTING IT. I WAS TOLD IT WAS A STRESS FRACTURE CAUSED BY THE HEAT ON THE WINDSHIELD. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER WHO SAID GM SAYS THE PROBLEM IS RARE AND THAT IT WILL NOT BE COVERED. I FEEL THAT IF HEAT FROM A DEFROSTER CAN DAMAGE THESE WINDSHIELDS THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE WINDSHIELDS. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT AT LEAST FOUR OTHER VEHICLES WITH SAME PROBLEM CAME IT THAT WEEK. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/09/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 02/20/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 715517

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

AT RANDOM POINTS IN TIME MY PONTIAC G6 WILL NOT BRAKE PROPERLY. WHEN YOU PUSH THE PEDAL THE PEDAL WILL GO DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND THEN COME BACK UP. WHEN IT COMES BACK UP IT NORMALLY WILL BE FUNCTIONAL. THE PROBLEM IS IT TAKES A FEW SECONDS FOR MY BRAKES TO BECOME FUNCTIONAL WHICH HAS ALMOST RESULTED IN A FEW ACCIDENTS. THE PROBLEM ONLY HAPPENS ABOUT 1 A WEEK OR 1 TIME EVERY 2 WEEKS. WHEN IT HAPPENS WHOEVER IS DRIVING IS SCARRED OUT OF THEIR MIND. MY PARENTS DO NOT EVEN WANT ME DRIVING THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE IT HAS A DEFINATE SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP NUMEROUS TIMES REGARDING THE BREAKS. THEY SAID THE FIRST TIME THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL AMOUNT OF BREAK DUST. AFTER THAT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM SO THEY WILL NOT REPAIR IT. I HAVE CONTACTED THE PONTIAC REP AND THEY HAVE BEEN INVESTIGATING THE PROBLEM FOR A LITTLE OVER A MONTH NOW WITH NO REPAIRS MADE. IN THE MEAN TIME I AM DRIVING AN UNSAFE CAR, HOPING THAT I DON'T HURT MY SELF LET ALONG ANY ONE ELSE. MY CAR IN THE MEAN TIME ALWAYS SQUEALS WHEN YOU BREAK. MY CAR IS A 2008 G6 AND JUST TURNED 10,000 MILES. I SHOULD NOT BE HAVING ISSUES THIS SOON. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/16/2009

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 03/13/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 716406

Squish VIN: 1G2ZF57B984

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DOOR AJAR ALARM SOUNDS WHEN ALL DOORS ARE CLOSED. THIS CAUSES THE INTERIOR DOME LIGHT TO COME ON. THIS ALSO STOPS THE DOOR LOCKS FROM LOCKING WHEN SHIFTING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. THE DOME LIGHT WILL COME ONE AFTER ALL DOORS ARE SHUT AND THE DOORS ARE LOCKED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCK ASSEMBLY WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER ALSO STATED THAT OTHERS HAVE COME IN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/16/2009

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 03/13/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 716407

Squish VIN: 1G2ZF57B984

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DOOR AJAR ALARM SOUNDS WHEN ALL DOORS ARE CLOSED. THIS CAUSES THE INTERIOR DOME LIGHT TO COME ON. THIS ALSO STOPS THE DOOR LOCKS FROM LOCKING WHEN SHIFTING THE CAR INTO DRIVE. THE DOME LIGHT WILL COME ONE AFTER ALL DOORS ARE SHUT AND THE DOORS ARE LOCKED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCK ASSEMBLY WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER ALSO STATED THAT OTHERS HAVE COME IN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/02/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 718538

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ALL FOUR ROTORS WARPED AFTER ONLY 5K MILES. ARE THEY UNDERSIZED FOR THIS MODEL/WEIGHT VEHICLE? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/08/2009

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 12/06/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 719190

Squish VIN: 1G2ZG57N184

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WINDSHIELD MAKES A CRACKING SOUND WHEN IT IS COLD AND WINDY. ICE BUILD UP ON INSIDE OF WINDSHIELD IN THE WINTER TIME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/08/2009

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 04/08/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 719285

Squish VIN: 1G2ZH36N784

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS I NOTICED A "KLUNKING" SOUND SOMEWHERE IN THE STEERING ASSEMBLY OF MY 2008 PONTIAC G6. THE DEALER REPLACED THE STEERING SHAFT TODAY (UNDER WARRANTY) WITHOUT QUESTION. WITH SOME RESEARCH ONLINE I SEE THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON COMPLAINT WITH REGARD TO THIS VEHICLE. THANKFULLY, SO FAR I'VE ONLY BEEN INCONVENIENCED, NOT INJURED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER TO PREVENT INCONVENIENCE AT BEST, AND INJURY AT WORST TO OTHER G6 OWNERS, AND ENCOURAGE PONTIAC TO COME FORWARD AND DO A RECALL REGARDING THIS MATTER. THANK YOU! *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/18/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 04/16/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 720680

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6 WITH 7,500 MILES SINCE APRIL 2007 AND THE FRONT ROTORS ARE WARPED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/09/2009

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 723303

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON A 2008 PONTIAC G6 COUPE (2-DOOR) UNDER NORMAL USE - JUST 7500 MILES ON A CAR LESS THAN 6 MONTHS OLD THE DRIVERS SIDE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE JUST FELL OFF IN MY HAND - THE FAILURE POINT IS PLASTIC AND SEEMS QUITE THIN. THERE WAS NO WARNING PRIOR TO THE FAILURE - IT JUST CAME OFF TODAY WHEN I WENT TO OPEN THE DOOR. ONCE THE HANDLE FAILS THERE IS NO WAY TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THIS SIDE - IN THE EVENT OF AN URGENCY TO ENTER THE CAR - THIS COULD BE DANGEROUS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/30/2009

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: GENERAL MOTORS CORP.

Date Of Incident: 03/02/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 725766

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2008 PONTIAC G6. THE BRACKETS WHICH HOLD THE HEADLIGHTS TO THE CAR ARE INSUFFICIENT. THE HEADLIGHTS BOUNCE, SHAKE, AND WOBBLE OVER BUMPS IN THE ROAD CAUSING REPEATED PREMATURE HEADLAMP BULB FAILURE AND SAFETY HAZARD FOR VISIBILITY REASONS ESPECIALLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. BULBS HAVE BLOWN OUT 2 TIMES SINCE PURCHASED AS NEW IN SEPTMEBER OF 2008. DEALER STATES THERE IS NO KNOWN FIX FOR HEADLIGHT PROBLEM. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW ON THE SEDAN MODEL DOES NOT STAY ENTIRELY CLOSED....PUSHING THE WINDOW UP BUTTON, THE WINDOW MOVES 1/4" AFTER CLOSING. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode