Home / Complaints ( Toyota Avalon 2013 )

TOYOTA AVALON 2013

Avalon

Since its launch within the mid-the nineteen nineties, the Avalon continues to be Toyota's primary full-size sedan. It happens to be a good artist, with standard V6 energy, plenty of usable interior space along with a status for reliability.


Date Complaint Filed: 03/22/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 03/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 971851

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

IN THE 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, DRIVER VISIBILITY IS DANGEROUSLY DISTORTED WHEN LOOKING THROUGH THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AT APPROACHING CARS (ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT), DUE TO A DEFECT IN THE NEW 2013 ENGINEERING DESIGN OF THE REAR GLASS MATERIAL, REAR GLASS CONTOUR AND ANGLE, TINTING, AND DEFROST STRIPS. ALL LIGHTS (ESPECIALLY VEHICLE HEADLIGHTS, STREET LIGHTS, TRAFFIC LIGHTS, ETC.) OBSERVED THROUGH THE REAR GLASS HAVE LONG, BRIGHT, VERTICAL LINES RADIATING AT THE TOP AND BOTTOM FROM THE MAIN LIGHT SOURCE VIEWED THROUGH THE REAR VIEW MIRROR. THESE VERTICAL LINES SHINING FROM ALL OF THE NUMEROUS LIGHT SOURCES OBSCURE THE REAR VIEW VISION, CAUSING CONFUSION FOR THE DRIVER IN MANY WAYS: 1) NOT BEING ABLE TO CORRECTLY JUDGE REAR CAR DISTANCE, 2) NOT BEING ABLE TO IDENTIFY THE TYPES OF VEHICLES IN THE REAR, 3) NOT BEING ABLE TO CHANGE LANES SAFELY BECAUSE OF DISTORTIONS THROUGH THE REAR GLASS PANEL, 4) NOT BEING ABLE TO JUDGE HOW MANY VEHICLES ARE APPROACHING AND/OR PASSING, AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST, 5) CAUSING THE DRIVER TO STARE LONGER THROUGH THE REAR VIEW MIRROR IN AN ATTEMPT TO DISCERN WHAT IS TAKING PLACE BEHIND WHICH TAKES THE DRIVER'S EYE OFF OF THE FRONT VISION FOR TOO LONG. ALTHOUGH THE BRIGHT VERTICAL LINES CAN BE SEEN MORE DISTINCTLY AT DUSK AND NIGHT, THEY ARE ALSO OBSERVABLE DURING THE DAYTIME IF THE VEHICLES COMING FROM BEHIND HAVE FRONT LIGHTS ON, AND/OR THE SUN SHINES ON THE CHROME. THESE RADIATING VERTICAL LINES TAKE ON THE COLOR OF THE MAIN LIGHT SOURCE SEEN FROM BEHIND SO THE DRIVER MAY OBSERVE WHITE, YELLOW, RED, GREEN, ETC. COLORS. THIS CAUSES CONFUSION WHEN TRYING TO JUDGE WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH APPROACHING VEHICLES FROM BEHIND. ON A MULTI-LANE HIGHWAY AT NIGHT, THESE MANY-COLORED VERTICAL LINES RADIATING UP AND DOWN FROM THE VARIOUS TYPES OF HEADLIGHTS, STREET LIGHTS, ETC. CAUSE A CONFUSING AND DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR THE DRIVER.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/04/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 02/06/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 973564

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB7DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE SURGED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIANS WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING UP TO SPECIFICATIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE AN ENGINEER TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND AGREED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING UP TO SPECIFICATIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 2,000. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/10/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/25/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 979749

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

2013 AVALON TOURING ON APRIL 2013 EXPERIENCE WITH THIS CAR HASN'T BEEN VERY GOOD CONSIDERING THAT IT IS A NEW CAR. THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE LEATHER ON THE BACK SEAT BUCKLING AND A STAIN THAT WAS ON THE HEADLINER IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR AREA BECAUSE OF A WATER LEAK FROM THE ROOF. IT WAS TAKEN TO CLINT'S AUTO TRIM TO CORRECT THE LEATHER. HE FELT IT WAS A WATER STAIN THAT WAS THE RESULT OF WATER LEAKING FROM AN AREA ON THE ROOF THAT WASN'T SEALED CORRECTLY. BASED ON WHAT WE HEARD FROM CLINT'S AUTO TRIM, WE TESTED THE CAR BY PLACING WATER ON THE CAR OVER THE AREA WHERE THE STAIN WAS PRESENT. IT REVEALED A NEW WATER STAIN ON THE HEADLINER. WE IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO SERVICE ABOUT OUR FINDING. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO STEPHEN'S AUTO GLASS TO FIX THE LEAK. THE STAIN ON THE HEADLINER WAS CLEANED. HOWEVER, THE STAIN CAN STILL BE SEEN. WE REQUESTED THAT THE HEADLINER BE REPLACED BECAUSE OF THE STAIN. HOWEVER, MY WIFE IS HAVING ISSUES WITH HER EYES BURNING AND NOSE RUNNING WHILE IN THE CAR DUE TO THE SMELL OF MILDEW. WE TURNED OUR CAR IN FOR SERVICE YESTERDAY TO GET THE HEADLINER REPLACED. NOW, THEY TELL US THAT THE HEADLINER IS TOO SHORT TO INSTALL. SO ANOTHER ONE WILL HAVE TO BE ORDERED. SO OUR CAR WILL HAVE STAY UNTIL TUESDAY. I AM HIGHLY UPSET THAT A BRAND NEW CAR HAS SO MANY ISSUES. FIRST, IT WAS THE LEATHER, THEN A WATER LEAK, AND THE HEADLINER IS TOO SHORT FROM THE FACTORY. PROBLEMS JUST CONTINUE TO STACK ON TOP OF ONE ANOTHER. THE TOYOTA EXPERIENCE HARDLY LIVES UP WHAT IS STATED ON YOUR WEBSITE THAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO BRING A SMILE TO SOMEONE'S FACE AS AKIO TOYODA SAID IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/03/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/24/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 984735

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB6DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUN REFLECTION FROM THE CHROME ON THE DASHBOARD AND ARM REST DISTORTED HIS VISION WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15. UPDATED 07/16/13*LJ

Date Complaint Filed: 06/05/2013

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 05/22/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 985220

Squish VIN: 4T1BD1EB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING FROM KNOXVILLE TN TO ATLANTA GA, ON A DOWNGRADE JUST OUTSIDE OF CHATTANOOGA ON INTERSTATE 75 I WENT TO USE THE BRAKE PEDAL. IT DEPRESSED ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND DID NOT COME BACK. I HAD NO BRAKES WHATSOEVER AND ONLY BY THE GRACE OF GOD WAS I ABLE TO SAFELY MAKE IT OVER TO THE EMERGENCY LANE, WHICH WAS CLEAR, AND WAIT UNTIL I GOT TO THE BOTTOM OF THE GRADE FOR THE VEHICLE TO COAST TO A STOP ON IT'S OWN. I HAD TO USE THE GRASS AND GRAVEL JUST OFF THE EMERGENCY LANE TO HELP BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. I HAD VEHICLE TOWED BACK TO TOYOTA OF KNOXVILLE, WHERE PURCHASED, AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE. HAVE DRIVEN ANOTHER 500 MILES WITHOUT INCIDENT AND NO PLAUSIBLE EXPLANATION FOR WHAT HAPPENED HAS BEEN OFFERED BY TOYOTA. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/12/2013

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 987142

Squish VIN: 471BK1E7DUO

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DESIGN FLAW CHROME STRIP ON DASH CAUSES GLARE FROM SUN WHICH IS BLINDING WHEN DRIVING IN SUN AND POSSIBLY CAUSING DAMAGE TO RETINA. ESP BAD FOR SENIOR DRIVERS WHO HAS CATARACTS --[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/12/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 987143

Squish VIN: 471BK1E7DUO

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DESIGN FLAW CHROME STRIP ON DASH CAUSES GLARE FROM SUN WHICH IS BLINDING WHEN DRIVING IN SUN AND POSSIBLY CAUSING DAMAGE TO RETINA. ESP BAD FOR SENIOR DRIVERS WHO HAS CATARACTS --[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/17/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY:SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/16/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 988041

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB4DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I DROVE TO BALTIMORE, MD FROM CHERRY HILL, NJ ON 06/16/2013 AT SPEEDS VARYING FROM 45MPH - 75MPH. THE MOMENT I GOT ON TO NJ TURNPIKE, THE WIND AND ROAD NOISE WERE LOUD INSIDE THE CABIN. THE ENTIRE TIME IT SEEMED THE WINDOWS OF THE CAR WERE OPEN EVEN THOUGH THE A/C WAS ON SLOW, WINDOWS AND SUNROOF WERE CLOSED. (I HAVE TWO OLDER CARS I.E. HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2002 AND HONDA ACCORD 2005 WHICH HAVE LESS CABIN NOISE WHEN WINDOWS ARE CLOSED). CONSIDERING, THIS IS A BRAND NEW CAR, HIGH END AND IS SUPPOSED TO BE VERY QUITE, I FIND IT A BIG SAFETY RISK AS THE NOISE IS DISTRACTING, BECAUSE I WAS TRYING TO SEE IF THE WINDOWS WERE OPEN, DOORS WERE PROPERLY CLOSED AND SUN ROOF WASN'T OPEN / TILTED, ALL THE WHILE DISTRACTING ME FROM THE ROAD. A LOT OF THE NOISE SEEMS TO BE COMING FROM AROUND THE DOORS AND THE FRONT WINDSHIELD, AT ONE POINT DURING MY JOURNEY THERE WAS A LOUD WHOOSHING SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT WIND SHIELD AS IF THERE WAS NO SEAL / INSULATION BETWEEN THE WINDSHIELD AND THE BODY OF THE CAR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/20/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 988997

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2013 TOYOTA AVALON HYBRID. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE INACCURATE SPEEDOMETER. *SMD AN INSPECTION REVEALED THE SPEEDOMETER WAS 2-3 MPH FAST. ACCORDING TO TOYOTA, THAT WAS ACCEPTABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/02/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 992007

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THIS TOYOTA WAS PURCHASED WITH A SUNROOF TOP. AFTER DRIVING THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS WE NOTICED THE HEADLINER WAS COMING LOOSE FROM THE ROOF. WE NOTICED THAT WHEN YOU OPENED THE SUNROOF THE AIR ENTERING THE CAR MADE THE ROOF OR HEADLINER SHAKE AND MOVE AS IF TO MUCH AIR WAS GETTING UNDER IT CAUSING THE HEADLINER TO SEPARATE FROM THE ROOF. WE TOOK THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE AND THE DEALERSHIP FINALLY TOLD US THERE WAS A RECALL ON THESE HEADLINERS AND THAT NO PARTS WERE BEING REPLACED AT THIS TIME. I LOOK AT THIS AS A MAJOR FLAW AND THE ROOF COMING LOOSE SHOULD HAVE BEEN SOMETHING THE TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT. WE'VE HAD THE CAR TWO WEEKS SHOULDN'T THEY HAVE SAID O BY THE WAY THE ROOF MAY SEPARATE FROM THE TOP OF THE CAR. NO CALLS ABOUT THE RECALL AND THEY TOLD US TO TAKE OUR CAR THAT THEY COULD NOT REPAIR IT RIGHT NOW. PLEASE TELL EVERYONE THE ROOF IN THIS CAR HAS PROBLEMS AN TOYOTA IS NOT FIXING IT. IT'S UNFAIR TO THE CONSUMER THAT THINGS LIKE THIS CAN HAPPEN AND PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT IT AND ARE STILL ALLOWED TO SELL THESE CAR IF YOU WANT TO BUY ONE TODAY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/02/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/21/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 992031

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB4DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

HEADLINER OF THE CAR IS PEELING FROM THE REAR. WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP I.E. HOLMAN TOYOTA, MT. LAUREL, NJ, THEY ADVISED THEY WOULD ORDER THE NEW HEADLINER AND REPLACE THE SAME. WENT TODAY JULY 2ND, 2013, HOLMAN TOYOTA ADVISED THE PEELING HEADLINER IS COMMON ISSUE IN THE 2013 AVALON AND TOYOTA HAS INSTRUCTED DEALERS NOT TO REPLACE THE HEADLINER AS REPLACING THE HEADLINER WILL NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND IT MAY HAPPEN AGAIN. TOYOTA HAS ADVISED IT IS TRYING TO COME UP WITH A PERMANENT FIX VIA A "REPAIR" JOB, NOT ETA ON THE SAME YET. TILL TOYOTA COMES UP WITH A REPAIR I HAVE A PEELING HEADLINE WHICH CAN FALL ON HEAD WHILE I AM DRIVING CAUSING AN ACCIDENT AND TOYOTA IS JUST SITTING ON IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/18/2013

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/10/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 996275

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB2DU

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS IN A PARKING LOT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN SHE APPLIED THE BRAKE WITHOUT RESULTS. THE CAR CONTINUED FORWARD ABOUT 10 FEET,AND WAS STOPPED ON IMPACT BY A PICNIC TABLE AND SIDE OF A BUILDING. SHE RECEIVED A WHIPLASH INJURY, RECENTLY DIAGNOSED AS HERNIATED DISKS, AND IS CURRENTLY UNDER MEDICAL CARE.DAMAGE WAS CONFINED TO THE GRILL AND CRUMPLE ZONE IN THE FRONT OF THE CAR.THE INSURANCE ASSESSED THE DAMAGE AT $7,000.00, AND HAS BEEN REPAIRED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/18/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/10/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 996276

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB2DU

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS IN A PARKING LOT WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN SHE APPLIED THE BRAKE WITHOUT RESULTS. THE CAR CONTINUED FORWARD ABOUT 10 FEET,AND WAS STOPPED ON IMPACT BY A PICNIC TABLE AND SIDE OF A BUILDING. SHE RECEIVED A WHIPLASH INJURY, RECENTLY DIAGNOSED AS HERNIATED DISKS, AND IS CURRENTLY UNDER MEDICAL CARE.DAMAGE WAS CONFINED TO THE GRILL AND CRUMPLE ZONE IN THE FRONT OF THE CAR.THE INSURANCE ASSESSED THE DAMAGE AT $7,000.00, AND HAS BEEN REPAIRED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/15/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 999061

Squish VIN: 4T1BKIEB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

HEADLINER IS FALLING DOWN IN BACK BY REAR WINDOW. PROBLEM WAS REPORTED TO TOYOTA. I AM TOLD TOYOTA IS WORKING ON A FIX FOR IT BUT IT WILL BE A WHILE BEFORE A RESOLUTION IS FOUND. AS A GOOD WILL GESTURE TOYOTA TACKED UP THE HEADLINER IN THE MIDDLE WHERE IT WAS FALLING DOWN. A FEW DAYS LATER THE HEADLINER BEGAN TO FALL DOWN ON BOTH SIDES WHERE IT WAS TACKED UP BY THE REAR WINDOW. I WAS THEN TOLD, THEY WERE AFRAID THAT WOULD HAPPEN. TOYOTA HAS NO RESOLUTION AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE HEADLINER OR VEHICLE. I AM TOLD BY TOYOTA THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. HOWEVER, AS THEY CANNOT REPAIR THE VEHICLES THAT HAVE THIS PROBLEM IT SOUNDS LIKE THEY ARE STILL SELLING VEHICLES WITH THIS DEFECT TO UNSUSPECTING CUSTOMERS. ALTHOUGH YOU CAN STILL SEE OUT THE REAR WINDOW, WHO KNOWS FOR HOW MUCH LONGER BEFORE IT JUST GIVES WAY. AS TOYOTA WILL NOT/OR CAN NOT REPAIR THIS ISSUE, AND WILL NOT REPLACE THE HEADLINER OR THE VEHICLE THEY REALLY AREN'T HONORING THE WARRANTY EITHER. IN AN EFFORT TO TRY TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE, I COULD NOT GET PAST THE CLAIM REPRESENTATIVE AT HEADQUARTERS NOR THE FACTORY REP. EVIDENTLY, MANAGEMENT WILL NOT SPEAK WITH CUSTOMERS AND NO ONE WILL RESPOND BY E-MAIL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/01/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/18/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 999819

Squish VIN: 4T1BD1EB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TOYOTA CORP CONTINUES TO SELL 2013 TOYOTA AVALONS WITH A KNOWN DEFECT TO THE HEADLINER. THE HEADLINER TO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE SAGS AND MAY POTENTIALLY OBSTRUCT THE VIEW OF THE DRIVER WHILE DRIVING. IT IS APPARENT AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE ONLINE THAT TOYOTA IS FULLY AWARE OF THE DEFECT BUT FAILED TO CONTACT DEALERSHIPS AT THE LOCAL LEVEL. PER TOYOTA THERE IS NO KNOWN FIX AT THIS TIME AND MY VEHICLE HAS REMAINED AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PAST 4 DAYS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/03/2013

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 08/02/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1000297

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EBXDU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

SEAT BELT ON DRIVERS SIDE HUNG UP WHEN PULLED OUT TO ATTACH IT TO THE SEAT LATCH. WILL NOT RETRACT BACK INTO THE COMPARTMENT IN THE VEHICLE BODY. HANGING LOOSE. WILL NOT ADJUST TO YOUR BODY. WOULD NOT LOCK UP IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2013

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 08/09/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1002302

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB0DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VERY UPSET TOYOTA CUSTOMER, PURCHASED SHOWROOM 2013 TOYOTA AVALON WITH HEADLINER IN THE REAR DROOPED DOWN. THIS IS BRAND NEW...I WAS TOLD THAT PROBABLY SOME KIDS HAVE PULLED THE HEADLINER DOWN WHILE IN SHOWROOM. WAITING FOR RESOLUTION I DECIDED TO READ ON COMMON PROBLEMS AND LONE BEHOLD! TOYOTA, YOU HAD BETTER GET THIS FIXED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT DUE TO HEADLINER OBSTRUCTING THE DRIVERS VIEW. HOW FAST THIS IS RESOLVED IS GOING TO DETERMINE HOW I SPEAK ABOUT TOYOTA AND FUTURE PURCHASES! GET AFTER IT! NEXT UP, SEAT BACK COVERS ALSO WAS BLAMED ON KIDS IN SHOWROOM PULLING THEM DOWN. I LOOKED AT THE DESIGN AND SEE HOW SORRY THE ENGINEERING IS. TOYOTA, NEED FIX AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.. A GOOD ONE! I WILL REPORT THIS TO THE NEWS IF NOT RECTIFIED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 08/09/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1002303

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB0DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VERY UPSET TOYOTA CUSTOMER, PURCHASED SHOWROOM 2013 TOYOTA AVALON WITH HEADLINER IN THE REAR DROOPED DOWN. THIS IS BRAND NEW...I WAS TOLD THAT PROBABLY SOME KIDS HAVE PULLED THE HEADLINER DOWN WHILE IN SHOWROOM. WAITING FOR RESOLUTION I DECIDED TO READ ON COMMON PROBLEMS AND LONE BEHOLD! TOYOTA, YOU HAD BETTER GET THIS FIXED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT DUE TO HEADLINER OBSTRUCTING THE DRIVERS VIEW. HOW FAST THIS IS RESOLVED IS GOING TO DETERMINE HOW I SPEAK ABOUT TOYOTA AND FUTURE PURCHASES! GET AFTER IT! NEXT UP, SEAT BACK COVERS ALSO WAS BLAMED ON KIDS IN SHOWROOM PULLING THEM DOWN. I LOOKED AT THE DESIGN AND SEE HOW SORRY THE ENGINEERING IS. TOYOTA, NEED FIX AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.. A GOOD ONE! I WILL REPORT THIS TO THE NEWS IF NOT RECTIFIED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1003642

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB1DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE HEADLINER IS FALLING IN MY CAR. I HAVE WAITED A MONTH TO GET THE PROBLEM FIXED YET IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. THE BACK OF MY CHAIR IS ALSO FALLING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/16/2013

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1003643

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB1DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE HEADLINER IS FALLING IN MY CAR. I HAVE WAITED A MONTH TO GET THE PROBLEM FIXED YET IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. THE BACK OF MY CHAIR IS ALSO FALLING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1008686

Squish VIN: 4T1BD1EB8DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

COMPLAINT: SUN GLARE REFLECTION COMING FROM DASHBOARD, SAFETY ISSUE, SIMILAR TO NETS, PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552 (B)(6) ON 04/01/13, JAMES FEWEL TOYOTA NATIONAL HQ, DOCUMENTED MY DASH GLARE ISSUE UNDER FILE #1304012961: ON 3-16-2013, WE PURCHASED A 2013 AVALON FROM COGGIN TOYOTA JACKSONVILLE. IT HAS FL LEGAL WINDOW TINTING. THE DASH'S CHROME TRIM CAUSES A GLARE ISSUE ON A SUNNY DAY, CAUSING BRIGHT GLARE DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF DASHBOARD TRIM THAT IS SILVER/CHROME. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN THERE IS SO MUCH GLARE COMING FROM THE DASH AREA. WHAT IS TOYOTA'S RECOMMENDATION IS TO RECTIFY THE ISSUE? ON 05/21/13, LEE BAY, SERVICE DIRECTOR, TOYOTA AVENUES, RESPONDED: MR. CAREY, I FORWARDED YOUR PICTURES TO OUR TECH DEPT AS WELL AS SUBMITTED A PRODUCT QUALITY CASE. RESPONSE BACK FROM MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN THAT THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE CHANGED AT THIS TIME TO KEEP THE GLARE COMING OFF OF THE CHROME TRIM PANELS. THE REF FOR THE DEALER PRODUCT REPORT IS CASE # 3346465 IF YOU WISH TO CALL THE CUST SPT CENTER TO UPDATE YOUR CASE. THANK YOU, LEE BAY, TOYOTA AVENUES 904-470-3727. ON 05/22/2013 RENEE TOUSSAINT AT TOYOTA HQ RESPONDED: MR. CAREY, WE ARE SORRY FOR THE CONCERNS THIS CONDITION HAS CAUSED AND HAVE FORWARDED YOUR EMAIL TO A CASE MANAGER HERE IN OUR DEPT. THE CASE MANAGER WILL CONTACT YOU VIA PHONE BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS, MAY 23, 2013. WE HAVE DOCUMENTED YOUR EMAIL AT OUR NATIONAL HQ UNDER FILE #1305221628. ON 05/23/2013 RECEIVED A CALL FROM TOYOTA CASE MANAGER [email protected], SO I SENT HIM PICTURES SHOWING THE GLARE ISSUE. THERE WAS NEVER ANY FURTHER COMMUNICATION FROM TOYOTA HQ ON IT. BOTTOM LINE: TOYOTA NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A FIX TO THIS SAFETY ISSUE, REPLACING ALL THIS GLOSSY CHROME WITH SOMETHING NON-REFLECTIVE. PUTTING CHROME IN THE DASH AREA WAS A POOR DESIGN. MY WIFE OFTEN FEELS SICK, DUE TO THE WAY THIS GLARE HURTS HER EYES. THANK YOU.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1008687

Squish VIN: 4T1BD1EB8DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

COMPLAINT: SUN GLARE REFLECTION COMING FROM DASHBOARD, SAFETY ISSUE, SIMILAR TO NETS, PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552 (B)(6) ON 04/01/13, JAMES FEWEL TOYOTA NATIONAL HQ, DOCUMENTED MY DASH GLARE ISSUE UNDER FILE #1304012961: ON 3-16-2013, WE PURCHASED A 2013 AVALON FROM COGGIN TOYOTA JACKSONVILLE. IT HAS FL LEGAL WINDOW TINTING. THE DASH'S CHROME TRIM CAUSES A GLARE ISSUE ON A SUNNY DAY, CAUSING BRIGHT GLARE DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF DASHBOARD TRIM THAT IS SILVER/CHROME. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN THERE IS SO MUCH GLARE COMING FROM THE DASH AREA. WHAT IS TOYOTA'S RECOMMENDATION IS TO RECTIFY THE ISSUE? ON 05/21/13, LEE BAY, SERVICE DIRECTOR, TOYOTA AVENUES, RESPONDED: MR. CAREY, I FORWARDED YOUR PICTURES TO OUR TECH DEPT AS WELL AS SUBMITTED A PRODUCT QUALITY CASE. RESPONSE BACK FROM MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN THAT THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE CHANGED AT THIS TIME TO KEEP THE GLARE COMING OFF OF THE CHROME TRIM PANELS. THE REF FOR THE DEALER PRODUCT REPORT IS CASE # 3346465 IF YOU WISH TO CALL THE CUST SPT CENTER TO UPDATE YOUR CASE. THANK YOU, LEE BAY, TOYOTA AVENUES 904-470-3727. ON 05/22/2013 RENEE TOUSSAINT AT TOYOTA HQ RESPONDED: MR. CAREY, WE ARE SORRY FOR THE CONCERNS THIS CONDITION HAS CAUSED AND HAVE FORWARDED YOUR EMAIL TO A CASE MANAGER HERE IN OUR DEPT. THE CASE MANAGER WILL CONTACT YOU VIA PHONE BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS, MAY 23, 2013. WE HAVE DOCUMENTED YOUR EMAIL AT OUR NATIONAL HQ UNDER FILE #1305221628. ON 05/23/2013 RECEIVED A CALL FROM TOYOTA CASE MANAGER [email protected], SO I SENT HIM PICTURES SHOWING THE GLARE ISSUE. THERE WAS NEVER ANY FURTHER COMMUNICATION FROM TOYOTA HQ ON IT. BOTTOM LINE: TOYOTA NEEDS TO COME UP WITH A FIX TO THIS SAFETY ISSUE, REPLACING ALL THIS GLOSSY CHROME WITH SOMETHING NON-REFLECTIVE. PUTTING CHROME IN THE DASH AREA WAS A POOR DESIGN. MY WIFE OFTEN FEELS SICK, DUE TO THE WAY THIS GLARE HURTS HER EYES. THANK YOU.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/20/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/11/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1012377

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB6DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ONE WEEK (7/11/13) AFTER PURCHASING A BRAND NEW AVALON, NOTICED A SAG IN THE HEADLINER TOWARDS THE REAR WINDSHIELD. AFTER LOOKING CLOSER, THE HEADLINER IS DROOPING TOWARDS THE REAR WINDSHIELD AS WELL AS A NOTICEABLE GAP NEAR THE MOON ROOF. TOOK BACK TO DEALER AND THEY ORDERED A NEW PART. ABOUT 8/27/13, TOOK BACK TO DEALER BECAUSE THE SEAT PANEL ON THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT WAS FALLING OFF. 9/13/13, DEALER INSTALLED A NEW HEADLINER. PICKING UP ON 9/18/13 AFTER A NEW HEADLINER WAS INSTALLED, THE GAP REMAINS AT THE MOON ROOF AREA AND ONE OF THE BACK PANELS WAS NOT IN PLACE. THE DEALER WAS STILL WAITING FOR SEAT BACK PANEL PART AND WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLACE THE SEAT BACK PANEL. 9/18/13 - LEFT IT AT THE DEALER SINCE HEADLINER ISSUE IS STILL NOT RESOLVED AND THE SEAT BACK PANEL IS STILL NOT FIXED. I'M AFRAID THE CAR WILL NEVER BE LIKE NEW AND I'M AFRAID EVEN ANOTHER NEW HEADLINER WILL STILL HAVE ISSUES. I BELIEVE IT'S A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW. AFTER PURCHASING IT NEW ON 7/3/13, DROOPING HEADLINER AND SEAT BACK PANEL FALLING OFF, IS NOT PRESENTABLE AND APPROPRIATE TO DRIVE SINCE I USE MY CAR FOR BUSINESS. I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO ENJOY MY NEW CAR AND NOW I'M DRIVING A COROLLA AS MY LOANER CAR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/07/2013

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1015481

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE PULLING INTO A HEAD ON PARKING PLACE; SUDDENLY THE CAR ACCELERATED, JUMPED THE CURB, CROSSED THE SIDEWALK AND THE FRONT WHEELS WENT A FOOT OR SO INTO THE GRASS. APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE CAR STOPPED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/07/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1015482

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB5DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE PULLING INTO A HEAD ON PARKING PLACE; SUDDENLY THE CAR ACCELERATED, JUMPED THE CURB, CROSSED THE SIDEWALK AND THE FRONT WHEELS WENT A FOOT OR SO INTO THE GRASS. APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE CAR STOPPED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1017871

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB6DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A CONSTANT GLARE FROM THE DASHBOARD, AFFECTING THE CONTACT'S VISIBILITY OF THE ROADWAY. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE FAILURE TO BE A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE HE WAS UNABLE TO SEE APPROACHING VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT HE WAS UNABLE TO ALTER THE DESIGN OF THE VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN OPTED TO CLEAN THE DASHBOARD AND WINDSHIELD AS A TEMPORARY REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 767. UPDATED 11/20/13*CN

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 05/29/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1017954

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RE:REPORT RECEIPT DATE: OCT 17, 2013 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V442000 COMPONENT(S): AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT TOYOTA NEEDS TO CORRECT THE DEFECTIVE DRAIN LINE. THE CONDENSATE THAT IS NOT DRAINING OUT OF THE EVAPORATOR IS ENCOURAGING THE GROWTH OF MOLD IN THE EVAPORATOR WITH AN ACCOMPANYING OBNOXIOUS ODOR. COULD THE MOLD BE A TOXIC MOLD? THE ROOT PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE SOLVED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2013

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 05/29/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1017955

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RE:REPORT RECEIPT DATE: OCT 17, 2013 NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V442000 COMPONENT(S): AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT TOYOTA NEEDS TO CORRECT THE DEFECTIVE DRAIN LINE. THE CONDENSATE THAT IS NOT DRAINING OUT OF THE EVAPORATOR IS ENCOURAGING THE GROWTH OF MOLD IN THE EVAPORATOR WITH AN ACCOMPANYING OBNOXIOUS ODOR. COULD THE MOLD BE A TOXIC MOLD? THE ROOT PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE SOLVED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/04/2013

Component(s): VISIBILITY/WIPER

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/02/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1020730

Squish VIN: 4T1BK1EB6DU

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE COULD NOT SEE THROUGH THE REAR WINDOW BECAUSE IT WAS DISTORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,700.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/06/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1021285

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WENT THROUGH A CAR WASH THE OTHER DAY AND WHEN THE CAR WAS BEING DRIED BY THE BLOWER, SOME WATER CAME IN THROUGH THE SUNROOF. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE TOYOTA DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT AND THEY DID A HIGH PRESSURE WATER TEST. THEY SAID NOTHING WAS THE MATTER. IT WAS EXPLAINED TO ME THAT THEY COULD HAP[PEN WHEN YOU DRIVE THROUGH THE CAR WASH. I IMMEDIATELY FILED A COMPLAINT WITH TOYOTA AND THEY ADVISED THAT I HAVE ANOTHER DEALER LOOK AT IT. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT MONDAY 11/11. WE WILL SEE WHAT HAPPENS. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode