Home / Complaints ( Workhorse W22 2003 )


Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2005

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 08/09/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 553155

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G033

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

DT: WHEN PUSHING ON THE BRAKES THEY WENT TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP YET. THE MANUFACTURER STATED IT COULD BE TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP ON AUGUST 14, 2005. THE CONSUMER LOOKED AT THE VEHICLE AND FOUND FLUID LEAKING FROM UNDER THE TIRES. HE WAS NOT SURE WHAT KIND OF FLUID IT WAS. THIS HAPPENED ONCE ON JULY 26, 2005 AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON JULY 27, 2005. CONSUMER PULLED OVER AND PARKED THE VEHICLE. *AK THE ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED REPAIR FACILITY AND THE BRAKES WERE REPAIRED. THE DEALER EXPLAINED THAT THE CALIPER SLIDE PIN HAD SEIZED CAUSING THE ROTORS TO HEAT UP. TEN MINUTES AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE MADE THE ABS LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 08/04/2005

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 554624

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G433

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR WHEN A SHORT OCCURRED IN THE ABS SYSTEM. THE BRAKES DIDN'T FUNCTION AT ALL UNTIL I PUMPED THEM A SECOND TIME. THE HAPPEN THREE TIMES BEFORE I COULD GET OFF THE HIGHWAY TO SAFE PLACE. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 08/10/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 07/17/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 639740

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

RECALL CORNER ? JANUARY 2005 WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS HAS ANNOUNCED NHTSA RECALL 04V084000, WHICH AFFECTS CERTAIN WORKHORSE W SERIES GASOLINE-POWERED CHASSIS MADE BETWEEN AUGUST 10, 2000, AND JULY 29, 2002. THE POTENTIAL NUMBER OF CHASSIS AFFECTED IS 10,235. THESE CHASSIS WERE USED BY SEVERAL MOTORHOME MANUFACTURING COMPANIES. TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR COACH IS INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL, CHECK THE FOLLOWING VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS (VIN). ONLY THE LAST EIGHT DIGITS OF THE FULL 17-DIGIT VIN ARE GIVEN. ALL CHASSIS INVOLVED HAVE VINS THAT BEGIN WITH 5B4. CHASSIS MODEL YEAR 2001 ? 13325068 TO 13337849 CHASSIS MODEL YEAR 2002 ? 23336034 TO 23356051 CHASSIS MODEL YEAR 2003 ? 33354476 TO 33356806 ON SOME W20 AND W22 MOTORHOME CHASSIS BUILT BY WORKHORSE AND EQUIPPED WITH BOSCH ZERO OFFSET PIN SLIDE (ZOPS) BRAKE CALIPERS, THE CALIPER CAN HANG IN THE PARTIAL APPLY POSITION AND CAUSE THE BRAKE PADS TO DRAG ON THE ROTOR SURFACE. OVERHEATING MAY OCCUR, CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE BRAKE COMPONENTS AND AFFECTING BRAKING PERFORMANCE. THE PROBLEM ALSO COULD CAUSE THE BRAKE SYSTEM'S ANTI-LOCK FEATURES TO BE LOST IF THE HEAT DAMAGES THE ANTI-LOCK WHEEL SENSOR. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 08/21/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/13/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 641170

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G833

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BRAKE PEDAL FELL TO FLOOR WHEN ATTEMPTING A STOP WITHOUT ANY WARNING. ABS OR BRAKE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON. CARRIED TO SHOP AND FOUND REAR BRAKES HAD FAILED TO RELEASE, HEATING CALIPERS, PADS AND SENSORS. ALL HAD TO BE REPLACED. WORKHORSE REFUSED TO REFUND PAYMENT EVEN THOUGH HISTORY OF THESE VEHICLES PROVE THERE IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT RELATING TO THE CALIPERS. THIS IS A DEFINITE SAFETY PROBLEM. UPON NOTIFICATION TO WORKHORSE THEY DID NOT EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE THE SAFETY HAZARD WITH THE NUMBER OF THIS SPECIFIC VEHICLE STILL IN SERVICE, IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT OCCURS. JH *TR THE CONSUMER STATED A RECALL WAS PERFORMED ON VEHICLES MADE IN 2001-2003 BUT THE CONSUMER'S VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED WANTED TO BE REIMBURSED FOR REPAIRS. UPDATED 09/11/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/10/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 08/03/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 643651

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ALL BRAKE CALIPERS WERE LUBED/INSPECTED ACCORDING TO MFR'S SPEC AT 26,174 MILES. ONE MONTH LATER, AT 26780 MILES, THE LF CALIPER WAS FOUND TO BE DRAGGING, CAUSING OVERHEATED BRAKE, & REQUIRED THE MOTORHOME TO BE TOWED. THE LF CALIPER PINS/BOOTS WERE REPLACED & ALL CALIPER PINS RE-LUBED/INSPECTED. APPROX ONE MONTH LATER AT 27610 MILES, THE RF CALIPER WAS DRAGGING, CAUSING OVERHEATING & STEERING PULLING RIGHT. AT THAT POINT I DIRECTED THAT THE LEFT & RIGHT FRONT CALIPERS BE REPLACED, AT CONSIDERABLE EXPENSE, BUT A NECESSARY SAFETY ITEM. MOTORHOME VEHICLE IS 2003 WINNEBAGO ADVENTURER 38G ON A 2003 WORKHORSE W-22 CHASSIS. ALL WEIGHTS ARE WITHIN SPECS (NOT OVERLOADED). *JB *UPDATED 12/12/2007 *BF UPDATED 12/12/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/16/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 644518

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RIGHT FRONT BRAKE CALIPER LOCKED UP IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. HAD FIRE, WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH WITH ONBOARD EXTINGUISHER. MOTOR HOME WAS TOWED AND TAKED TO A WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. GEORGIA COMMERCIAL VEHICLES IN MARIETTA, GA. THEY REPLACED ONE CALIPER, ONE CRACKED ROTOR, RIGHT FRONT TURNED ROTOR ON LEFT FRONT. REPLACED BRAKE PADS FRONT AND REAR. TOTAL COST $937.51 CONTINUED ON OR TRIP BUT NOTICED ON GOING PROBLEMS WITH BRAKES BUT NO LOCKUP. UPON RETURN TO LEESBURG, FL. TOOK MH. TO NICHOLS DIESEL IN EUSTIS, FL . ANOTHER WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. THEY THE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT CALIPERS, TURNED THE NEW ROTOR ON THE RIGHT FRONT, RREPLACED THEROTOR ON LEFT FRONT, CRACKED. REPLACED BRAKE PADS ON FRONT.COST $1278.99. SENT LETTERS TO WORKHORSE BUT NO RESPONSE. CALLED WORKHORSE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE MOTORHOME WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL EVER THOUGH IT HAD ONLY 28,554 MILES OF USE. THEY THIS WAS NORMAL. AFTER LOOKING ON THE INTERNET I DON'T THINK SO. WE WERE LUCKY THAT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/16/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:CALIPER

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 644519

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RIGHT FRONT BRAKE CALIPER LOCKED UP IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. HAD FIRE, WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH WITH ONBOARD EXTINGUISHER. MOTOR HOME WAS TOWED AND TAKED TO A WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. GEORGIA COMMERCIAL VEHICLES IN MARIETTA, GA. THEY REPLACED ONE CALIPER, ONE CRACKED ROTOR, RIGHT FRONT TURNED ROTOR ON LEFT FRONT. REPLACED BRAKE PADS FRONT AND REAR. TOTAL COST $937.51 CONTINUED ON OR TRIP BUT NOTICED ON GOING PROBLEMS WITH BRAKES BUT NO LOCKUP. UPON RETURN TO LEESBURG, FL. TOOK MH. TO NICHOLS DIESEL IN EUSTIS, FL . ANOTHER WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. THEY THE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT CALIPERS, TURNED THE NEW ROTOR ON THE RIGHT FRONT, RREPLACED THEROTOR ON LEFT FRONT, CRACKED. REPLACED BRAKE PADS ON FRONT.COST $1278.99. SENT LETTERS TO WORKHORSE BUT NO RESPONSE. CALLED WORKHORSE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE MOTORHOME WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL EVER THOUGH IT HAD ONLY 28,554 MILES OF USE. THEY THIS WAS NORMAL. AFTER LOOKING ON THE INTERNET I DON'T THINK SO. WE WERE LUCKY THAT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/16/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 644520

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RIGHT FRONT BRAKE CALIPER LOCKED UP IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. HAD FIRE, WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH WITH ONBOARD EXTINGUISHER. MOTOR HOME WAS TOWED AND TAKED TO A WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. GEORGIA COMMERCIAL VEHICLES IN MARIETTA, GA. THEY REPLACED ONE CALIPER, ONE CRACKED ROTOR, RIGHT FRONT TURNED ROTOR ON LEFT FRONT. REPLACED BRAKE PADS FRONT AND REAR. TOTAL COST $937.51 CONTINUED ON OR TRIP BUT NOTICED ON GOING PROBLEMS WITH BRAKES BUT NO LOCKUP. UPON RETURN TO LEESBURG, FL. TOOK MH. TO NICHOLS DIESEL IN EUSTIS, FL . ANOTHER WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER. THEY THE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT CALIPERS, TURNED THE NEW ROTOR ON THE RIGHT FRONT, RREPLACED THEROTOR ON LEFT FRONT, CRACKED. REPLACED BRAKE PADS ON FRONT.COST $1278.99. SENT LETTERS TO WORKHORSE BUT NO RESPONSE. CALLED WORKHORSE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE MOTORHOME WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL EVER THOUGH IT HAD ONLY 28,554 MILES OF USE. THEY THIS WAS NORMAL. AFTER LOOKING ON THE INTERNET I DON'T THINK SO. WE WERE LUCKY THAT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 09/13/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 644889

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FRONT BRAKE FAILURE ON W22 RV CHASSIS, HAVE BEEN INFORMED THAT ALL 4 BRAKES NEED TO BE REPLACED AT 32,000 MILES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/20/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:ABS WARNING LIGHT

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/28/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645189

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABS, HYDRAULIC, CALIPER, ROTOR AND ALL BRAKE COMPONENTS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/20/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/28/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645190

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABS, HYDRAULIC, CALIPER, ROTOR AND ALL BRAKE COMPONENTS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/20/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/28/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645191

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABS, HYDRAULIC, CALIPER, ROTOR AND ALL BRAKE COMPONENTS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/20/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:CALIPER

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/28/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645192

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABS, HYDRAULIC, CALIPER, ROTOR AND ALL BRAKE COMPONENTS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/27/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645949

Squish VIN: 5B4KP57G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE A WORKHORSE CHASSIS WITH A BRAKE PROBLEM. SOUNDS LIKE ACTION # PEO732. I NOTICED DURING A TRIP TO FLORIDA IN APRIL THAT THE BRAKES SMELLED HOT AT THE REAR OF MOTORHOME DURING REFUELING. DURING MY TRIP TO SALT LAKE CITY AUGUST 1ST, 2007. MY BRAKE PEDAL WOULD GO TO THE FLOOR AND NOT COME BACK UP OR RELEASE THE BRAKES, I USED MY TOES TO BRING PEDAL BACK UP. IN UTAH I HAD A DIAGNOSTIC CENTER LOOK AT THE PROBLEM, THEY DETERMINED IT TO BE A BAD BOOSTER PUMP. THEY REPLACED THE PUMP AND PEDAL WOULD COME BACK UP AND RELEASE THE BRAKES, BUT STILL HAD A SOFT PEDAL. WHEN I GOT HOME (ARLINGTON TEXAS) BRAKES WERE NOT RELEASING PROPERLY. I CALLED WORKHORSE AND THEY TOLD ME WHERE TO TAKE THE MOTOR HOME FOR SERVICE. MOTOR HOME HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 30 DAYS, THEY HAVE REPLACED THE POWER STEERING GEAR BOX, AND THE BOOSTER PUMP AGAIN. THEY TOLD ME THE MOTOR HOME WAS READY, NOTHING UNDER WARRANTY, I PAID THEM $4,558.85. WHEN I GOT IN THE MOTOR HOME THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, ALSO WOULD NOT START, WHICH WAS PROBABLY THE PEDAL NOT COMMING BACK UP AND LEAVING THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON. TECHNICIANS ARE BLEEDING THE BRAKES AND CHECKING IT OUT AGAIN. SEEMS WORKHORSE IS NO HELP IN RESOLVING THE PROBLEM. I AM NOW OUT THE $4,558.85 AT SOUTHWESET INTERNATIONAL TRUCKS HERE IN ARLINGTON TEXAS PLUS $1,089.25 FOR WORK ON BRAKES IN UTAH. AND I STILL DON'T HAVE A DRIVABLE MOTOR HOME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/27/2007

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 645951

Squish VIN: 5B4KP57G633

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE A WORKHORSE CHASSIS WITH A BRAKE PROBLEM. SOUNDS LIKE ACTION # PEO732. I NOTICED DURING A TRIP TO FLORIDA IN APRIL THAT THE BRAKES SMELLED HOT AT THE REAR OF MOTORHOME DURING REFUELING. DURING MY TRIP TO SALT LAKE CITY AUGUST 1ST, 2007. MY BRAKE PEDAL WOULD GO TO THE FLOOR AND NOT COME BACK UP OR RELEASE THE BRAKES, I USED MY TOES TO BRING PEDAL BACK UP. IN UTAH I HAD A DIAGNOSTIC CENTER LOOK AT THE PROBLEM, THEY DETERMINED IT TO BE A BAD BOOSTER PUMP. THEY REPLACED THE PUMP AND PEDAL WOULD COME BACK UP AND RELEASE THE BRAKES, BUT STILL HAD A SOFT PEDAL. WHEN I GOT HOME (ARLINGTON TEXAS) BRAKES WERE NOT RELEASING PROPERLY. I CALLED WORKHORSE AND THEY TOLD ME WHERE TO TAKE THE MOTOR HOME FOR SERVICE. MOTOR HOME HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 30 DAYS, THEY HAVE REPLACED THE POWER STEERING GEAR BOX, AND THE BOOSTER PUMP AGAIN. THEY TOLD ME THE MOTOR HOME WAS READY, NOTHING UNDER WARRANTY, I PAID THEM $4,558.85. WHEN I GOT IN THE MOTOR HOME THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, ALSO WOULD NOT START, WHICH WAS PROBABLY THE PEDAL NOT COMMING BACK UP AND LEAVING THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON. TECHNICIANS ARE BLEEDING THE BRAKES AND CHECKING IT OUT AGAIN. SEEMS WORKHORSE IS NO HELP IN RESOLVING THE PROBLEM. I AM NOW OUT THE $4,558.85 AT SOUTHWESET INTERNATIONAL TRUCKS HERE IN ARLINGTON TEXAS PLUS $1,089.25 FOR WORK ON BRAKES IN UTAH. AND I STILL DON'T HAVE A DRIVABLE MOTOR HOME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/30/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:CALIPER

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 09/15/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 646328

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G333

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY 2003 WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS MOTORHOME AS INFORMATION IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE07032. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/11/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 10/05/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 658694

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G833

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2003 MONACO LAPALMA WITH 2003 WORKHORSE W22 CHASSIS. WITH DEFECTIVE FRONT ROTORS. CONSUMER STATES THAT THE RV BEGAN TO EXPERIENCE A VIBRATION. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED IT WAS BECAUSE THE ROTORS HAD EXCESSIVE HEAT WHICH CAUSED THEM TO CRACK. *KB UPDATED 03/16/10 *BF THE CONSUMER STATED THE HE EXPERIENCED WHAT WAS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL THAT WAS ISSUED. *JB UPDATED 03/26/10.*JB WORKHORSE INFORMED THE CONSUMER HIS WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED PRIOR TO THE REPAIR FOR WHICH THE CONSUMER IS SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT. WORKHORSE FURTHER STATED THE RV WAS BUILT SEPTEMBER 3, 2002 WHICH MEANT HIS CHASSIS WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. UPDATED 04/20/10 THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THE ABS SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED. UPDATED 07/28/10*JB

Date Complaint Filed: 02/07/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:CALIPER

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 662116

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G423

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RE: NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA07016 : --- WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS RECALL NUMBER 50401-C, NHTSA RECALL NOL 04V-084 FOR THE BOSCH ZOPS BRAKE PROBLEM WAS COMPLETED TO MY 2003 HOLIDAY RAMBLER VACATIONER, MODEL 36DBD MOTORHOME. - WHILE VACATIONING AND WITH JUST 2000 MILES +/- LATER MY RIGHT REAR BRAKES CALIPER LOCKED-UP, THE SMELL OF SMOKE CAME IN THE MOTORHOME AND THEN WHEN I WENT TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THEY WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULLED OVER ONTO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO AVOID HAVING AN ACCIDENT. AFTER A WHILE WHEN THEY COOLED DOWN, I PUMPED THE BRAKES AND THEY SEEM TO BE WORKING OK. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY PROCEED TO MY CAMPGROUND. TOOK THE MOTORHOME TO AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE DEALER AND THEY REPLACE THE CALIPER ,PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR. WORKHORSE DID COVERED THE EXPENSES FOR THIS REPAIRS. AT 11,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WENT BAD AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. NOW 18,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED, THE LEFT REAR BOSCH CALIPER HUNG-UP, OVERHEATED AND I HAD TO HAVE THE CALIPER, PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR REPLACED. I THEN CONTACTED WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASIS ABOUT REIMBURSING THE EXPENSES I INCURRED AND THEY DECLINED. - I'M VERY AFRAID THAT THE REMINDER OF THE ORIGINAL BOSCH CALIPERS COULD LOCK-UP, FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. ALL REPAIR WORK WAS DONE AT AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS SHOP. - PER THE VIN RECORDS THE LEFT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WAS CHANGED OUT AT 42 MILES ON MOTORHOME-- PURCHASED MOTORHOME FROM PRIVATE OWNER - MILEAGE AT TIME OF PURCHASED: 13,700 - MOTORHOME MFG DATE: 8/02 - WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS MFG. DATE 6/02. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/07/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 662117

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G423

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RE: NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA07016 : --- WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS RECALL NUMBER 50401-C, NHTSA RECALL NOL 04V-084 FOR THE BOSCH ZOPS BRAKE PROBLEM WAS COMPLETED TO MY 2003 HOLIDAY RAMBLER VACATIONER, MODEL 36DBD MOTORHOME. - WHILE VACATIONING AND WITH JUST 2000 MILES +/- LATER MY RIGHT REAR BRAKES CALIPER LOCKED-UP, THE SMELL OF SMOKE CAME IN THE MOTORHOME AND THEN WHEN I WENT TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THEY WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULLED OVER ONTO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO AVOID HAVING AN ACCIDENT. AFTER A WHILE WHEN THEY COOLED DOWN, I PUMPED THE BRAKES AND THEY SEEM TO BE WORKING OK. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY PROCEED TO MY CAMPGROUND. TOOK THE MOTORHOME TO AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE DEALER AND THEY REPLACE THE CALIPER ,PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR. WORKHORSE DID COVERED THE EXPENSES FOR THIS REPAIRS. AT 11,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WENT BAD AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. NOW 18,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED, THE LEFT REAR BOSCH CALIPER HUNG-UP, OVERHEATED AND I HAD TO HAVE THE CALIPER, PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR REPLACED. I THEN CONTACTED WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASIS ABOUT REIMBURSING THE EXPENSES I INCURRED AND THEY DECLINED. - I'M VERY AFRAID THAT THE REMINDER OF THE ORIGINAL BOSCH CALIPERS COULD LOCK-UP, FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. ALL REPAIR WORK WAS DONE AT AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS SHOP. - PER THE VIN RECORDS THE LEFT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WAS CHANGED OUT AT 42 MILES ON MOTORHOME-- PURCHASED MOTORHOME FROM PRIVATE OWNER - MILEAGE AT TIME OF PURCHASED: 13,700 - MOTORHOME MFG DATE: 8/02 - WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS MFG. DATE 6/02. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/07/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK:WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 06/03/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 662118

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G423

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

RE: NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA07016 : --- WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS RECALL NUMBER 50401-C, NHTSA RECALL NOL 04V-084 FOR THE BOSCH ZOPS BRAKE PROBLEM WAS COMPLETED TO MY 2003 HOLIDAY RAMBLER VACATIONER, MODEL 36DBD MOTORHOME. - WHILE VACATIONING AND WITH JUST 2000 MILES +/- LATER MY RIGHT REAR BRAKES CALIPER LOCKED-UP, THE SMELL OF SMOKE CAME IN THE MOTORHOME AND THEN WHEN I WENT TO APPLY THE BRAKES, THEY WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. GOOD THING I WAS ABLE TO PULLED OVER ONTO THE SIDE OF THE HWY TO AVOID HAVING AN ACCIDENT. AFTER A WHILE WHEN THEY COOLED DOWN, I PUMPED THE BRAKES AND THEY SEEM TO BE WORKING OK. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY PROCEED TO MY CAMPGROUND. TOOK THE MOTORHOME TO AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE DEALER AND THEY REPLACE THE CALIPER ,PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR. WORKHORSE DID COVERED THE EXPENSES FOR THIS REPAIRS. AT 11,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WORK WAS COMPLETED, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WENT BAD AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. NOW 18,000 MILES +/- LATER AFTER THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED, THE LEFT REAR BOSCH CALIPER HUNG-UP, OVERHEATED AND I HAD TO HAVE THE CALIPER, PADS, SENSOR AND ROTOR REPLACED. I THEN CONTACTED WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASIS ABOUT REIMBURSING THE EXPENSES I INCURRED AND THEY DECLINED. - I'M VERY AFRAID THAT THE REMINDER OF THE ORIGINAL BOSCH CALIPERS COULD LOCK-UP, FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT. ALL REPAIR WORK WAS DONE AT AN AUTHORIZE WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS SHOP. - PER THE VIN RECORDS THE LEFT WHEEL SPEED SENSOR WAS CHANGED OUT AT 42 MILES ON MOTORHOME-- PURCHASED MOTORHOME FROM PRIVATE OWNER - MILEAGE AT TIME OF PURCHASED: 13,700 - MOTORHOME MFG DATE: 8/02 - WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS MFG. DATE 6/02. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/25/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:CALIPER

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 01/14/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 664422

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G923

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE HAD BRAKE FAILURE 3 TIMES IN 36K MILES. ADDITIONALLY, AXLE SEALS HAVE BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM BRAKES. BRAKES AND SEALS HAVE ALL BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES. SPOKE TO WORKHORSE NUMEROUS TIMES, WAS TOLD THERE IS NO MAINTENANCE TO DO ON BRAKES, JUST HAVE THEM INSPECTED TWICE A YEAR, AND HAVE THEM REPLACED IF STICKING, EVEN IF IT IS EVERY 10K MILES @ $2,000 PER REPAIR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/27/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 11/09/2005

NHTSA ID Number: 668721

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G733

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

RAPID (EXCESSIVE) BRAKE PAD WEAR BY 32,000 MILES AND MOSTLY INTERSTATE DRIVING. EVIDENCE OF DRAGGING CALIPER AS SEEN BY THE UNEVEN OUTER PAD WEAR ON ALL FOUR WHEELS. OVERHEATING AND SURFACE CRACKING ON ROTORS. TOO FREQUENT ABS SENSOR REPLACEMENT. INSPECTION AT AUTHORIZED WORKHORSE SERVICE CENTER DISCOVERED ROTORS SEVERELY CRACKED THROUGH. GIVEN TYPE OF DRIVING AND LEVEL OF MOTOR HOME OWNER EXPERIENCE, BRAKE PARTS SHOULD BE EXPECTED TO WEAR EVENLY AND LAST CONSIDERABLY LONGER THEN MILEAGE POSTED ABOVE. GIVEN NUMBER OF INTERNET BASED SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, I BELIEVE ROOT CAUSE OF MALFUNCTION OF BRAKE SYSTEM WAS NOT IDENTIFIED AND ADDRESSED. CALIPERS SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED AND WEREN'T. LOW MILEAGE OR LACK OF USAGE CANNOT BE ARGUED IN THIS CASE , AS WORKHORSE CONTENDS IS A MAJOR FACTOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/02/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 09/27/2003

NHTSA ID Number: 669519

Squish VIN: 5B4LP57G823

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 WORKHORSE W22. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN HE APPLIED THE BRAKES, THEY WOULD DRAG AFTER BEING RELEASED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH. HE ALSO STATED THAT THE BRAKES WOULD SQUEAK AND GRIND AND BECAME WORN DUE TO RELEASING IMPROPERLY. WORKHORSE CONFIRMED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V084000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE PURCHASE DATE, ENGINE SIZE, AND NUMBER OF CYLINDERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/23/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 03/03/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 672279

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G833

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FRONT BRAKES HAVE LOCKED UP TWICE ON THIS WORKHORSE W22 CHASSIS. THE FIRST TIME THEY WERE PATCHED UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, THE CALIPERS WERE NOT REPLACED AND THEY FAILED AGAIN ONE YEAR LATER. WORKHORSE REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR EVEN THOUGH THEY KNOW FROM THEIR PAST EXPERIENCE THAT ALL THE CALIPERS THEY USED OVER A PERIOD OF YEARS ARE BAD. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND HAD I NOT RECOGNIZED THE PROBLEM AND STOPPED THERE COULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR FIRE IN THE MOTORHOME IN WHICH MY WIFE AND I WERE RIDING. THEIR FAILURE TO EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM, EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A CURRENT NHTSA INVESTIGATION, SEEMS ALMOST CRIMINAL. IS SOMEONE GOING TO HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THEY ARE FORCED TO PAY FOR THEIR MISTAKES. EARLIER IN THE LIFE OF THIS RV THE REAR BRAKES LOCKED UP AND THE PADS DID INDEED CATCH ON FIRE BUT I WAS ABLE TO STOP AND EXTINGUISH THEM BEFORE THE VEHICLE WAS BURNED. I WOULD LIKE FOR WORKHORSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THEIR PROBLEM AND REPAY ME THE $1,177.37 THAT I HAD TO PAY TO FIX THEIR PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/06/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 673944

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G933

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

2003 W22 WORKHORSE CHASSIS BRAKE FAILURE ABS SYSTEM DAMAGED DUE TO OVER HEATING OF ROTORS ON ALL FOUR WHEELS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/22/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 05/09/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 676229

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G423

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I HAVE HAD CALIPERS AND PADS REPLACED ONCE BEFORE. AND NOW MY BRAKES ARE SURGING REALLY BAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/04/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 12/31/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 677791

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67GX33

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 WORKHORSE CHASSIS W22. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL AND THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE CALIPERS IN THE BRAKE SYSTEM OVERHEATED. THE DEALER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V084000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY $3,000 TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT PROVIDE ASSISTANCE BECAUSE HIS YEAR WAS EXCLUDED FROM THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 23,000. THE PROBLEM WOULD ALSO LEAD TO WHEEL LOCK-UP UPDATED 06/25/08

Date Complaint Filed: 06/10/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 11/10/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 678463

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G233

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE FIRST INCIDENT WE WERE ON OUR WAY TO FLORIDA. I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE DOWN A STEEP GRADE IN TENNESSEE. I APPLIED THE BRAKES HARDER THAN USUAL AND FELT A RUMBLE IN THE VEHICLE. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE HIGHWAY SAFELY, THE RUMBLE WAS GONE. I PROCEEDED TO FLORIDA AND PARKED MY RV FOR 2 WEEKS AND THEN MOVED TO ANOTHER RV PARK FOR THE MONTH OF DECEMBER WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON JANUARY 1, 2008 I MOVED THE RV TO ANOTHER RV PARK ABOUT 35 MILES AWAY. WHILE I WAS DRIVING I HAD TO APPLY THE BRAKES HARDER THAN USUAL BECAUSE OF A SIGNAL LIGHT CHANGE. SHORTLY AFTER THAT I SMELLED A HOT SMELL AND FELT THE RUMBLE IN THE BRAKES WHILE BRAKING, AS IN THE FIRST INCIDENT. I PULLED OFF THE ROAD AT A SERVICE STATION TO ASSESS THE PROBLEM AND MY REAR BRAKE WAS SMOKING. AFTER EXAMINING THE BRAKE AREA I DISCOVERED THAT THE BRAKE WAS STUCK IN THE ON POSITION. BY THIS TIME I WAS ONLY ABOUT A MILE FROM THE RV PARK SO I FREED UP THE BRAKES AND LET THEM COOL BEFORE PROCEEDING. THE SERVICE PERSON THAT REPAIRED MY BRAKES STATED THAT THE CALIPERS WERE RUSTED TO THE POINT THAT THEY STUCK WHEN APPLIED HARD. WHILE AT THE RV PARK, ANOTHER RV PULLED IN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. HE ALSO HAD THE SAME CHASSIS AS I HAVE. SO AFTER RETURNING HOME FOR THE SUMMER I WENT ON TO THE RV.NET SITE AND READ THEIR FORUM REGARDING BRAKE ISSUES AND WAS ASTOUNDED AS TO THE NUMBER OF OWNERS THAT HAD THE SAME ISSUE AS I HAD. I HAVE OWNED MANY RV'S IN MY DAY AND HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS KIND OF ISSUE. I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A SAFETY ISSUE REGARDING THE MANUFACTURER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/23/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 05/29/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 680400

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67G223

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BRAKES FAILED COMPLETELY ON MY 2003 SOUTHWIND MOTORHOME (WORKHORSE CHASSIS) WITH ONLY 10.000 MILES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/06/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: WORKHORSE CUSTOM CHASSIS

Date Of Incident: 05/27/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 686728

Squish VIN: 5B4MP67GX33

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 WORKHORSE CHASSIS W22. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE FRONT BRAKES LOCKED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL EXTENDED COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR. AS A RESULT, THE BRAKE UNIT BEGAN OVERHEATING AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SMOKE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT IDENTIFY A SOLUTION OR PROVIDE A REMEDY. AS OF AUGUST 6, 2008, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN PROPERLY REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 24,130.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode