If you need to request your driving history or another driver’s driving history (MVR) in Mississippi, you need to order it via the MS Department of Public Safety (DPS). Your MVR can be used in the following ways:
- As a background check or part of pre-employment screening
- To investigate claims and adjust your car insurance rates
- For legal investigations and proceedings.
Types of Mississippi Driving Records
The Mississippi DMV contains the following types of driving records:
- Certified driving records
- Non-certified driving records.
Your Mississippi driving record outlines your:
- MS driver’s license status (valid, cancelled or suspended)
- Traffic convictions or violations.
Order a Mississippi MVR
In Mississippi, you are allowed to order your driving record via mail, online or in person. If you are looking to order someone’s driving record, you need to order it through mail or in person. Online application does not apply when ordering someone else’s driving record.
Online application only applies to your own driving record. If you want to order a certified copy of your motor vehicle record, or perhaps someone else’s driving record, you’ll be required to do so by mail or in person. When making an application of your non-certified MS driving record online, you need to visit the Mississippi DMV website and here you’ll be required:
- A credit/debit card for the fee of $11
- Your MS driver’s license number
- A printer, when keeping a copy of your driving record
- Your full name and date of birth.
NOTE: For your online transaction, you’ll be charged an additional convenience fee.
You’ll need the following when requesting a certified MS driving record by mail:
- A completed Consent to Release Record(s) (Form DDPA-2). When requesting someone else’s motor vehicle record, you must fill the Driver Records Request (Form DPPA-3) and attach it to the request
- A certified check for the fee of $11
- A self-addressed and stamped envelope.
Then, you need to mail your completed forms and payment to the specified address on the form.
When requesting a certified driving record in person, you need to visit your local Mississippi DMV office with:
- A completed Consent to Release Record(s) (Form DDPA-2). When requesting someone else’s MVR, you need to fill out the Driver Records Request (Form DPPA-3) and attach it to the request
- Payment for the fee of $11.
Employer, Insurance Agency & Attorney Requests
The following categories are the scenarios in which someone else’s driving record can be requested:
- For official business by Government agencies
- Business and employers verifying personal information for employees background checks
- For use in criminal, civil or administrative proceedings in state, federal or local courts
- Insurance agencies adjusting insurance policies or investigating claims.
You can get a complete list of permitted uses on the Consent to Release Record(s) (Form DDPA-2). When requesting someone else’s MS driving record, you can only do so by mail or in person. You cannot do it online. NOTE: You’ll be required to have the consent of another driver before requesting his driving record.
Correct Your Mississippi Driving Record
Contact the MS Department of Public Safety (DPS) if there is an error in your Mississippi motor vehicle record (MVR). Use:
- Phone: (601) 987-1212.
- Email: [email protected]
Ensure that the information on your MS MVR is correct because inaccurate information could lead to increased insurance premiums, fines and even a suspension of your driver’s license.