Home / Complaints ( DODGE CHALLENGER 2009 )

DODGE CHALLENGER 2009

Challenger

The Dodge Challenger was one of the most significant cars to leave the sixties and '70s muscle vehicle era. 40 years later, the Dodge Challenger has returned. Featuring styling cues like the original model along with a brawny V8 engine driving the rear wheels, the brand new Challenger is really a true street fighter. But unlike its bare-knuckled brawler of the older brother, this Challenger is packed with modern-day refinement and security features.


Date Complaint Filed: 04/13/2009

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 719736

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T29H

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER--THROTTLE STICKING-BRAKE PEDAL PRESSED-RPMS REV. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/04/2009

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/02/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 722747

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AIRBAG SYSTEM FAILURE LIGHT ON DASHBOARD CAME ON FOR A FEW SECONDS THEN WENT OUT. DID NOT REPEAT. SOFTWARE GLITCH? INTERMITTENT CONNECTION? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/27/2009

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:MANUAL TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 732579

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T69H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE 1-4 GEAR SHIFT SKIP FEATURE, WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO IMPROVE FUEL ECONOMY, CAN LEAD TO MISSED SHIFTS OR LOSS OF VEHICLE POWER DURING LOW SPEED MANEUVERING, POSSIBLY LEADING TO A CRASH. A COMMERCIALLY AVAILABLE LOW COST COMPONENT DISABLES THIS FEATURE, HOWEVER IT REQUIRES THE CONSUMER TO VOID THEIR MANUFACTURER WARRANTY IN ORDER TO FIX A SAFETY DEFECT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/09/2009

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/26/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 734278

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T LOSES POWER WHILE UNDER LOAD SUCH AS GOING UP HILLS OR PASSING; AND THE RPM PULSATES. THIS CONDITION APPEARS TO OCCUR MORE IN HOT WEATHER. UPON DECELERATION, TRANSMISSION SHIFTS SO ROUGHLY THAT VEHICLE LOST TRACTION IN SLIPPERY ROAD CONDITIONS, AND NEARLY RESULTED IN A CRASH. THESE APPEAR TO BE TWO SEPARATE CONDITIONS THAT MAKE THE VEHICLE EXTREMELY UNSAFE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/09/2009

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/26/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 734279

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER R/T LOSES POWER WHILE UNDER LOAD SUCH AS GOING UP HILLS OR PASSING; AND THE RPM PULSATES. THIS CONDITION APPEARS TO OCCUR MORE IN HOT WEATHER. UPON DECELERATION, TRANSMISSION SHIFTS SO ROUGHLY THAT VEHICLE LOST TRACTION IN SLIPPERY ROAD CONDITIONS, AND NEARLY RESULTED IN A CRASH. THESE APPEAR TO BE TWO SEPARATE CONDITIONS THAT MAKE THE VEHICLE EXTREMELY UNSAFE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/17/2009

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/08/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 735218

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ74W39H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I OWN A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER SRT. I WAS DRIVING 30MPH DOWN A STREET, HONKED THE HORN AND BRAKED AT THE SAME TIME AND MY CAR COMPLETELY TURNED OFF WHILE STILL IN DRIVE. I HAVE ASKED ALL AMERICAN IN ODESSA WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR TO FIX IT AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY MODEL CAR. I PRINTED OUT RECALL #08V458000 ON THE POWER TRAIN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. APPARENTLY A MODULE IS TO BE REPLACED SO THAT THE CAR WILL NOT BE ABLE TO TURN OFF UNLESS IT IS IN PARK ONLY. THIS SOUNDS LIKE THE PROBLEM THAT I HAD. THE TECHNICIAN AT ALL AMERICAN SAID HE COULD NOT HELP ME SINCE THERE WAS NOT A RECALL ON HIS (CHRYSLER) WEB THAT REQUESTED REPLACING MY MODEL CAR MODULE. I AM JUST AFRAID THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND POSSIBLY CAUSE INJURY. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I NEED TO DO TO GET ALL AMERICAN TO LISTEN TO ME. I MAY BE THE ONLY ONE THAT THIS HAS HAPPEN TO SO FAR BUT I SURE HOPE THAT IT DOES NOT HAPPEN AGAIN OR TO ANYONE ELSE JUST BECAUSE IT WAS NOT ON HIS WEB RECALL PAGE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/20/2009

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 735859

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON 2009 CHALLENGER R/T WITH PUSH BUTTON "GO" IGNITION. MESSAGE CENTER SHOWED "NO FOB DETECTED WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START VEHICLE. ATTEMPTS TO START WERE MADE APPROXIMATELY TWENTY TIMES. CAR WOULD START WHEN USING THE REMOTE START BUT YOU MUST PRESS THE "GO: BUTTON IN CAR BEFORE IT CAN BE DRIVEN. THERE WAS NO SAFETY ISSUE PER SE BUT I WAS LEFT STRANDED. CAR HAS LESS THAN 3K MILES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/17/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 743993

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T99H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

BRAKES THAT CONTINUE TO FADE AND SHUTTER UNDER EMERGENCY BRAKING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/21/2009

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/17/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 744003

Squish VIN: 2B3CJ4DV4AH

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2010 DODGE CHALLENGER(NA). WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IT CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. AN INVESTIGATOR CONCLUDED THAT THE FIRE WAS CAUSED BY AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 1000.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/28/2009

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/10/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 753089

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CHROME SQUARE RING AROUND PERIMETER OF CONSOLE SHIFTER-AUTOMATIC ON A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER, AT THE RIGHT HEADING, SUN IN FRONT OF YOU,COMING LIGHT THROUGH WINDSHIELD, REFLECTION FROM CHROME RING WILL MOMENTARILY BLIND YOU,OVERWHELMING,CANT SEE, I PUT A TOWEL AROUND IT. IT'S RALLY GOT TO GO OR BE PAINTED BLACK. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2010

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/09/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 808658

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ74W19H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

1. SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT HAND TURN. 2. CAR STALLS AND ENGINE DIES ELIMINATING ALL POWER STEERING BRAKES, ETC. 3. CAR HAS TO BE PUT IN NEUTRAL AND RESTARTED. 4. CEL WILL COME ON BUT GOES OUT AFTER RESTART. 5. ISSUE HAS OCCURRED THREE TIMES WITH TWO DIFFERENT ENGINES. 6. THE LAST INCIDENT HAPPENED IN A BUSY INTERSECTION AND ALMOST GOT ME REAR ENDED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2010

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/11/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 808676

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T59H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ISSUE # 1) I HAVE AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER RT. SO I WAS DRIVING UNDER NORMAL CONDITIONS ACCELERATING NORMALLY AND THE ENGINE COUGHS...STRANGE. THEN IT DOES IT AGAIN, A VERY SUDDEN COUGH LIKE IT IS STRUGGLING FOR AIR, THE VEHICLE ALMOST SHUDDERS TOO. ENGINE CODE POPS UP. HEAD TO AUTO ZONE AND HAVE IT CHECKED - P0730 GEAR RATIO INCORRECT. THIS HAS HAPPEN A FEW TIME WITHIN THE PAST FEW WEEKS . TO CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP- THEY SAW THE SAME CODE . BECAUSE THE CAR WAS DRIVING NORMAL AGAIN THEY DID NOTHING . PLANNING TO TAKE IT BACK IN SO THEY CAN PULL THE TRANS. ISSUE # 2) TODAY 8/11/10 - I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESS WAY WITH AN OVER A 1/2 TANK OF GAS, DOING ABOUT 60 TO 70 MPH. ABOUT 30 MIN INTO MY DRIVE, SUDDENLY ALL MY DASHBOARD LIGHT/SYMBOLS POP ON AND MY CAR LOST ALL POWER. TO AVOID GET REAR ENDED I HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/11/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 808677

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T59H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ISSUE # 1) I HAVE AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER RT. SO I WAS DRIVING UNDER NORMAL CONDITIONS ACCELERATING NORMALLY AND THE ENGINE COUGHS...STRANGE. THEN IT DOES IT AGAIN, A VERY SUDDEN COUGH LIKE IT IS STRUGGLING FOR AIR, THE VEHICLE ALMOST SHUDDERS TOO. ENGINE CODE POPS UP. HEAD TO AUTO ZONE AND HAVE IT CHECKED - P0730 GEAR RATIO INCORRECT. THIS HAS HAPPEN A FEW TIME WITHIN THE PAST FEW WEEKS . TO CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP- THEY SAW THE SAME CODE . BECAUSE THE CAR WAS DRIVING NORMAL AGAIN THEY DID NOTHING . PLANNING TO TAKE IT BACK IN SO THEY CAN PULL THE TRANS. ISSUE # 2) TODAY 8/11/10 - I WAS DRIVING ON THE EXPRESS WAY WITH AN OVER A 1/2 TANK OF GAS, DOING ABOUT 60 TO 70 MPH. ABOUT 30 MIN INTO MY DRIVE, SUDDENLY ALL MY DASHBOARD LIGHT/SYMBOLS POP ON AND MY CAR LOST ALL POWER. TO AVOID GET REAR ENDED I HAD TO PULL OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/26/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/02/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 812112

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ74W09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

CAR JUST STALLS AS IF TURNED KEY OFF AT ERRATIC TIMES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/30/2010

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/20/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 813188

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54TX9H

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH HE CRASHED INTO A VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER IN THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS INJURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOWING COMPANY BUT WAS NOT EXAMINED FOR THE CAUSE OF FAILURE OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 23,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/08/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 815136

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ74W89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER, COMPLETE ENGINE SHUTOFF AFTER DECELERATING. VERY DANGEROUS. BREAKS AND STEERING SHUT OFF. HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES TO ME. THERE ARE DOZENS OF REPORTS OF THIS LOCATED HERE: HTTP://WWW.CHALLENGERTALK.COM/FORUMS/F36/ENGINE-STALLING-35997/. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/28/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/07/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 819370

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROACHING A STOP SIGN AT 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FLASHED. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO PARK AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE CONTINUED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE FAILURE BUT NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KILL SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A THIRD DEALER WHO REMOVED THE ANTI THEFT DEVICE INSTALLED BY ANOTHER DEALER. THE FAILURE CONTINUED AND THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,706 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 33,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/05/2010

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/12/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 826396

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND DROVE TO THE LOCAL DEALER WHERE HE WAS TOLD THAT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN. THE VEHICLEHAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 7,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 14,600. UPDATED 02/01/11*LJ UPATED 04/14/11

Date Complaint Filed: 01/08/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 837656

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER RT. GOING DOWN ROAD AT 30MPH PUT FOOT ON BRAKE GENTLY AND THE BRAKE SKIPPED AND DID NOT STOP VEHICLE TOOK FOOT OFF BRAKE REAPPLIED PRESSURE AND IT STOPPED. ALMOST RAN STOP SIGN VERY SCARED. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY BRAKE PROBLEMS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE. CHUGGING IN THE TRANSMISSION WILL NOT GO 0-60 IN 5 SECONDS COULD BARELY GO 0-40 IN 5 SECONDS. AT A COMPLETE STOP FEELS LIKE THE TRANSMISSION JERKS THE CAR LIKE BEING REARENDED AND NO ONE BEHIND ME. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP RAN DIAGNOSTIC TEST SAID THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES AND DEALERSHIP NOW THINKS I AM MAKING UP STORIES LAST TIME TOOK IT IN THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM SO DID NOTHING. DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW BUTTONS WILL NOT BRING PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW BACK UP THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT FIX. PAINT DEFECT ON PASSENGER SIDE BACK ABOVE THE BACK WINDOW RUSTED IN SPOT WAS SPREADING HAD JUST GOT THE CAR AND TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP AFTER FOUND WHEN WASHED VEHICLE THEY SAID IT WAS DUE TO BIRD POOP BEING LEFT ON SPOT HAD CAR 2 MONTHS AND A WASH TUB PACKAGE WOULD NOT LEAVE CAR THAT DIRTY. THEY FIXED THE PAINT JOB DUE TO WARRANTY. *LN

Date Complaint Filed: 01/08/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 04/10/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 837657

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER RT. GOING DOWN ROAD AT 30MPH PUT FOOT ON BRAKE GENTLY AND THE BRAKE SKIPPED AND DID NOT STOP VEHICLE TOOK FOOT OFF BRAKE REAPPLIED PRESSURE AND IT STOPPED. ALMOST RAN STOP SIGN VERY SCARED. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY BRAKE PROBLEMS AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE. CHUGGING IN THE TRANSMISSION WILL NOT GO 0-60 IN 5 SECONDS COULD BARELY GO 0-40 IN 5 SECONDS. AT A COMPLETE STOP FEELS LIKE THE TRANSMISSION JERKS THE CAR LIKE BEING REARENDED AND NO ONE BEHIND ME. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP RAN DIAGNOSTIC TEST SAID THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES AND DEALERSHIP NOW THINKS I AM MAKING UP STORIES LAST TIME TOOK IT IN THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM SO DID NOTHING. DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW BUTTONS WILL NOT BRING PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW BACK UP THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT FIX. PAINT DEFECT ON PASSENGER SIDE BACK ABOVE THE BACK WINDOW RUSTED IN SPOT WAS SPREADING HAD JUST GOT THE CAR AND TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP AFTER FOUND WHEN WASHED VEHICLE THEY SAID IT WAS DUE TO BIRD POOP BEING LEFT ON SPOT HAD CAR 2 MONTHS AND A WASH TUB PACKAGE WOULD NOT LEAVE CAR THAT DIRTY. THEY FIXED THE PAINT JOB DUE TO WARRANTY. *LN

Date Complaint Filed: 02/03/2011

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 842180

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T89H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER STALLS WHILE DRIVING AND MOSTLY HAPPENS WHILE MAKING TURNS. IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY AND YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. YOU LOSE ALL POWER AND THERE IS NO POWER STEERING WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT IS VERY UNSAFE AND THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING TO A LOT OF CHALLENGER OWNERS. AT THIS TIME CHRYSLER HASN'T RELEASED A FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/23/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/22/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 850390

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THERE IS A DEFECT ON THE DASH WHERE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG DEPLOYS. THIS CAUSES THE AREA TO LOOK DEPRESSED AND DEFORMED. CHRYSLER / DODGE WAS CONTACTED, AND ARE REFUSING TO REPAIR. IN TALKING WITH OTHER OWNERS SOME ARE CHOOSING TO COVER THE DASH WITH DASH MATS OR COVERS. THIS RAISES THE QUESTION WITH ME AS TO HOW THIS MAY EFFECT THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIRBAGS? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/01/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/26/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 851978

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T49H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE DEALERSHIP FLASHED THE PCM AS DETAILED IN SERVICE BULLETIN 18-021-09 REV. A. IMMEDIATELY AFTER THAT I NOTICED AN INTERMITTENT THROTTLE LAG. WHEN PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WILL WAIT 1/2 TO 3/4 SECOND, THEN THE ENGINE WILL RESPOND AND THE CAR WILL GO. MERGING INTO HIGHWAY TRAFFIC IS NOW DANGEROUS AS THE CAR WILL NOT ALWAYS RESPOND TO THE PEDAL INPUT. WHEN IT FINALLY DOES RESPOND THE CAR WILL SURGE FORWARD (SINCE I'M PUSHING DOWN MORE ON THE PEDAL TRYING TO GET THE CAR TO MOVE). THIS IS DANGEROUS AS THE REAR TIRES CAN LOSE TRACTION ON WET ROADS. THE DEALERSHIP HOOKED UP A PORTABLE DATA LOGGER AND ROAD TESTED THE VEHICLE. THEY WERE ABLE TO VERIFY THE COMPLAINT. THEY SENT THE RESULTS TO CHRYSLER'S ENGINEERS. THOSE ENGINEERS REVIEWED THE DATA AND SAID, "THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING AS DESIGNED, DELAY IS NORMAL, WE SEE NOTHING WRONG." I HAD THE CAR FOR 22 MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS UPDATE AND NEVER HAD THE PROBLEM BEFORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/01/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/26/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 851979

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T49H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE DEALERSHIP FLASHED THE PCM AS DETAILED IN SERVICE BULLETIN 18-021-09 REV. A. IMMEDIATELY AFTER THAT I NOTICED AN INTERMITTENT THROTTLE LAG. WHEN PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WILL WAIT 1/2 TO 3/4 SECOND, THEN THE ENGINE WILL RESPOND AND THE CAR WILL GO. MERGING INTO HIGHWAY TRAFFIC IS NOW DANGEROUS AS THE CAR WILL NOT ALWAYS RESPOND TO THE PEDAL INPUT. WHEN IT FINALLY DOES RESPOND THE CAR WILL SURGE FORWARD (SINCE I'M PUSHING DOWN MORE ON THE PEDAL TRYING TO GET THE CAR TO MOVE). THIS IS DANGEROUS AS THE REAR TIRES CAN LOSE TRACTION ON WET ROADS. THE DEALERSHIP HOOKED UP A PORTABLE DATA LOGGER AND ROAD TESTED THE VEHICLE. THEY WERE ABLE TO VERIFY THE COMPLAINT. THEY SENT THE RESULTS TO CHRYSLER'S ENGINEERS. THOSE ENGINEERS REVIEWED THE DATA AND SAID, "THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING AS DESIGNED, DELAY IS NORMAL, WE SEE NOTHING WRONG." I HAD THE CAR FOR 22 MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS UPDATE AND NEVER HAD THE PROBLEM BEFORE.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/15/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 863827

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T79H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 CHALLENGER R/T STALLED,CRANKED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THE CAR HAS STALLED 5 TIMES ONCE GETTING ON A HIGHWAY. I HAD IT TOWED TO A DEALER THEY REPLACED THE VALVE BODY AND MAP SENSOR. THE CAR HAS STALLED A FEW DAYS LATER AND IS NOW AT ANOTHER DEALER. THEY CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND I DON'T WANT TO PUT I 3 KIDS IN THE CAR TILL I KNOW ITS FIXED. IT SEEMS TO STALL IN DIFFERENT CONDITIONS (HOT , COLD, MOVING, WHEN FIRST STARTED,ETC). *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/24/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 865531

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 DODGE CHALLENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SURGE FORWARD. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD INTERMITTENTLY HESITATE FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO TO THREE SECONDS WHEN PRESSURE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO CURRENT REPAIR FOR THE FAILURE, BUT THEY WERE AWARE THAT THE FAILURE WAS COMMON. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY FOR THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/23/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/12/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 870997

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2009 DODGE CHALLENGER RT AUTO, WHILE DRIVING ALONG AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE CAR LITERALLY JUST DIED, NO RIME OR REASON. PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND RESTARTED THE CAR, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, WENT TO BOERNE DODGE AND THEY COULDN'T FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM. SAID THE LIGHT JUST WENT AWAY. AND IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN TO BRING IT BACK. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/23/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/22/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 870998

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ54T09H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM WORK COMING TO THE TURN AND SLOWING DOWN THE CAR LITERALLY JUST DIED WHILE ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS COMING DOWN THE ROAD. ALL LIGHTS CAME ON AND CAR WAS DEAD. PUT IN PARK AND RESTARTED WITH NO CEL. DEALERSHIP HAS NO IDEA WHY ITS DOING THIS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 08/07/2011

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 874047

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ44V49H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING AT A RATE OF 30MPH CAR STALLS WITHOUT ANY REASON. THIS HAS HAPPENED 8 TIMES. WHEN TURNING CORNERS INTO BUSY INTERSECTION, IT JUST FRIGHTENS ME TO THINK OF UNSUSPECTING FAST MOVING TRAFFIC THAT COULD HIT ME. I HAVE READ OTHERS WHO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WHY IS THERE NO RECALL? I ONLY HAVE 30 THOUSAND ON MY CAR REALLY! I HAVE A CAR WITH LOW MILES AND PAY A PRETTY NOTE SO I DON'T HAVE THESE PROBLEMS. I DREAD HAVING TO TAKE IT IN TOMORROW. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 08/12/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/11/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 875614

Squish VIN: 2B3LJ74WX9H

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CAR PERIODICALLY STALLS WHEN COMING TO A STOP. DEALER DOES NOT KNOW THE CAUSE- MAY BE COMPUTER-RELATED. FRIENDS HAVING THE SAME DODGE VEHICLE HAVE HAD THEIR CAR STALL IN HEAVY HIGH SPEED TRAFFIC. THIS COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS OR FATAL CRASH.

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode