Home / Complaints ( DODGE NITRO 2011 )

DODGE NITRO 2011

Nitro

Generally, small-to-midsize Sports utility vehicles are pretty conservative in relation to their styling and style. One exception, however, was the Dodge Nitro. Robotically, the Nitro was associated with the rather pedestrian Jeep Liberty. It had been a unibody design, however the non-independent rear suspension, standard rear-drive configuration (with four-wheel drive optional) and enormous-displacement V6 engines all pointed towards the platform's truckish roots.


Date Complaint Filed: 02/17/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 844759

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GX8BW

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO HEAT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACTS VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED ON THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED INJURIES TO HIS FACE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR HER INSURANCE TO PROVIDE AN APPRAISAL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 894.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/15/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/07/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 875564

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I DRIVE A 2011 DODGE NITRO AND I WENT ON A TRIP AND ON MY WAY OVER I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL IT WOULD ACCELERATE AND DECELERATE AND IT SMELLED LIKE RAW GAS, AND AS I WOULD STOP AT A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE WOULD START MISFIRING. THEN ON MY WAY BACK I CONTINUED HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND ANOTHER COMPLICATION ARISED MY AIR CONDITION STOPPED BLOWING AIR AND ALL THE LINES WERE FROZEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/02/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 11/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 894992

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

USING MY KEYLESS ENTRY FOB, I UNLOCKED MY DOOR AND TRIED TO START MY VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, BUT THE DASH LIGHTS CAME ON SO I KNEW THE BATTERY WAS NOT DEAD. I THOUGHT THE BATTERY ON THE KEY FOB MIGHT BE GOING OUT, SO I WENT TO PURCHASE ANOTHER KEY FOB BATTERY. WITH THE NEW BATTERY IN THE KEY FOB, I TRIED TO UNLOCK MY VEHICLE AND IT WOULD NOT OPEN. I USED THE KEY TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE CAR DOOR, AND THE ALARM WENT OFF. I TRIED TO DEACTIVATE THE ALARM WITH THE KEY FOB AND BY INSERTING THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, AND THE ALARM WOULD NOT DEACTIVATE. I THOUGHT THE KEY FOB WAS BAD, SO I GOT MY EXTRA KEY FOB AND TRIED IT. WITH THE EXTRA KEY FOB, I STILL INCURRED THE SAME PROBLEM -- COULD NOT START MY VEHICLE. I HAD TO USE DODGE ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO HAVE MY VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE NEXT MORNING, THE SERVICE MANAGER AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID HE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE KEY FOB AND WAS UNABLE TO START THE VEHICLE. HE REMEDIED THE PROBLEM BY PULLING THE FUSE. AFTER HE RE-INSERTED THE FUSE, HE WAS ABLE TO USE THE KEY FOB AND START THE VEHICLE. IN CHECKING THE DIAGNOSTICS, NO ERRORS WERE REPORTED. I AM VERY WORRIED THAT THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN AGAIN, AND I AM NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO START MY VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/15/2011

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/14/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 897052

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GX2BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO WITH GOODYEAR WRANGLER HP TIRES, LINE SIZE: 245 50/R20. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, BOTH FRONT TIRES BLEW. THE CONTACT ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND THE DRIVER SIDE FENDER WELL WAS DAMAGED AS A RESULT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL TIRE SHOP TO HAVE THE TIRE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER TO REPORT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/08/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 905711

Squish VIN: 1D4TU4GX5BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TRANSMISSION WILL NOT GO INTO GEAR ,PRESS ON THE GAS AND NOTHING HAPPENS, THEN THERE IS A LOUD BANG AND VEHICLES STARTS TO MOVE SLOWLY. ENGINE REVS AND THEN THE TRANSMISSION TRIES TO SHIFT UP AND DOWN. VEHICLES BUCKS AND NO ACCELERATION. UNSAFE. TAKEN TO DEALER THREE TIMES UNABLE TO REPLICATE PROBLEM. THEY ADJUSTED THE COMPUTER ONLY A TEMPORARY FIX. BACK IN THE SHOP AT THIS TIME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/12/2012

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 910782

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GK0BW

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 2

Number Of Deaths: 2

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK FROM THE REAR CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH AND ROLL OVER THREE TIMES. THE DRIVER'S SIDE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DEPLOYED YET NO OTHER AIRBAGS IN THE VEHICLE DEPLOYED. THE DRIVER AND A PASSENGER WERE INJURED DURING THE CRASH AND WERE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED FOR THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND THE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 14,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/01/2012

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/27/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 938692

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GK1BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHEN GETTING INTO VEHICLE AIRBAG SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. ADVISED DODGE SERVICE CENTER IMMEDIATELY. THEY ADVISED ME OF AN APPOINTMENT THREE DAYS AWAY AND TOLD ME IT WOULD BE FINE. KEPT APPOINTMENT WITH SERVICE CENTER AND RESULT AS APPEARS FROM INVOICE: J# 1 52CHZ12 SUP RESTRAINT SYS CUSTOMER STATES AIR BAG LIGHT ON IN DASH CHECK AND ADVISE. AIR BAG LIGHT ON. MADE SCAN REPORT. AIR BAG FAULT 1. B2208 ORC INTERNAL POWERS AND GROUNDS GOOD TO MODULE. RECOMMEND REPLACE ORC AND RECHECK. ORDERED PART; REPLACED ORC MODULE RECHECKED OK AT THIS TIME. 56054601-AC MODULE OC 8035034 WR 1759. SERVICE CENTER ADVISED THERE WAS A BULLETIN LISTED FOR CHRYSLER VANS OF SAME PROBLEM. NONE FOUND FOR THE 2011 DODGE NITRO. PERHAPS THIS SHOULD BE ADDED ON. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/03/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 927504

Squish VIN: 1D4PU7GX3BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WE PURCHASED OUR DODGE NITRO 6/11/2011, NOTICED SHIFTING PROBLEMS RIGHT AWAY BUT WAS TOLDED BY DEALER IS WAS JUST STIFF FROM BEING NEW. AS TIME GOES ON THE WARMER THE TRANSMISSION GETS THE SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS GETS WORSE, MOSTLY ON CRUISE CONTROL. SOME TIMES WITH OR WITHOUT CRUISE ON, IT DOWN SHIFTS AND SOUNDS LIKE THE BOTTOM IS FALLING OUT FROM UNDER THE CAR. TOOK BACK TO DEALER 4 TIMES ON THE PROBLEM, AND WAS TOLD BY TRANSMISSION SPEC. TECH. AT DEALERS THAT CHRYSLER PUT A 4 LITER TRANSMISSION IN A 6 LITER CAR, AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT THAT. AND WAS TOLD THAT IT MAY OR MAYNOT GET WORSE AS TIME AS BY. I NOW HAVE 7400 MILES ON THE CAR AND ITS GETING WORSE AND NO ONE SEEMS TO CARE. NO WONDER CHRYSLER NEEDED A BAILOUT... TO ME THE CAR IS GREAT EXCEPT THE TRANSMISSION !!!!! *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 09/25/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: CHRYSLER GROUP LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 942576

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GX8BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO HEAT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT PRESENT AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PERFORM A DIAGNOSTIC. THE FAILURE RECURRED LATER HOWEVER THE CAUSE OF FAILURE REMAINED UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE FOR INSPECTION WHEN IT RECURRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 17,300. UPDATED 10/19/12 *CN UPDATED 10/23/2012 *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 02/18/2013

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 965029

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FUEL OVERFLOWS WHEN FILLING TRUCK WITH FUEL. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/16/2013

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/14/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 987851

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK8BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE BROKEN SO PASSENGER CAN NOT GET OUT FROM THE INSIDE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/03/2013

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/28/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1007958

Squish VIN: 1D4PU2GK1BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD NOT LATCH SUCCESSFULLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BUCKLE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO CONFIRMED THE DIAGNOSIS. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1008451

Squish VIN: 1D4PT6GX7BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE SEAT BELT WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED DESPITE ALL THE PASSENGERS BEING SECURED IN THE SEAT BELTS. THE WIPER BLADES THEN INDEPENDENTLY POWERED ON AS ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SIMULTANEOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE ENGINE SEIZED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR AND WAS DIAGNOSED AS A GROUND WALL WIRE BEING LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26000.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/05/2013

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1008452

Squish VIN: 1D4PT6GX7BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE SEAT BELT WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED DESPITE ALL THE PASSENGERS BEING SECURED IN THE SEAT BELTS. THE WIPER BLADES THEN INDEPENDENTLY POWERED ON AS ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL SIMULTANEOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE ENGINE SEIZED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR AND WAS DIAGNOSED AS A GROUND WALL WIRE BEING LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26000.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/02/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1015930

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GKXBW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AT ANY SPEED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAILURE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V282000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,449.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2013

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/02/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1015931

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GKXBW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AT ANY SPEED. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAILURE UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V282000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND THE CONTACT'S VIN WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,449.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/23/2013

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/23/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1018556

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE AIR BAG HAD FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR COMPLETION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND THEY WERE UNSURE WHEN THEY WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/24/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/23/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1018701

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V3282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED AND NEITHER COULD PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/24/2013

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 10/23/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1018702

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V3282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED AND NEITHER COULD PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/03/2014

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/07/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1031187

Squish VIN: 1D4PT2GK0BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE FUEL TANK/ VALVE IN THIS MODEL DODGE VEHICLE. EVERY TIME I GO TO FUEL UP I HAVE TO GUESS THE NUMBER OF GALLONS IT WILL TAKE BEFORE I STOP PUMPING IN FUEL, OTHERWISE FUEL WILL SPILL OUT ALL OVER THE SIDE AND THE GROUND. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FUEL UP, NO MATTER THE GAS STATION OR TYPE OF PUMP OR FUEL GRADE. SPOKE TO CHRYSLER LLC. THEY STATED THAT IT WAS NOT ON THE RECALL FOR MY YEAR VEHICLE BUT IT WAS FOR THE 2007 - 2008 MODELS. WHY IS IT NOT ON THE RECALL!???!!! I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS ISSUE OUT OF POCKET AS IT IS NOT COVERED IN MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. THIS IS A FACTORY DEFECT. IT IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND HEALTH ISSUE, NOT TO MENTION ENVIRONMENTAL. THIS NEEDS TO BE ON RECALL IMMEDIATELY. IT IS RIDICULOUS THAT IT IS NOT ALREADY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/01/2014

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1036941

Squish VIN: 1D4PT2GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE AIR BAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OFF DRIVER SIDE FRONT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/17/2014

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 01/27/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1040022

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHEN FILLING UP AT ANY FUEL STATION, THE GAS PUMP WILL NOT AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF AND RAW FUEL WILL SPILL DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND ALL OVER THE GROUND. I HAVE READ ON SEVERAL FORUMS THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM ON MANY CHRYSLER SUV'S INCLUDING THE JEEP LIBERTY. IT RELATES TO A FAULTY VALVE INSIDE THE GAS TANK TO PREVENT FUEL FROM SPILLING OUT IN A ROLLOVER SITUATION. THE AMOUNT OF FUEL SPILLED AT EVERY FILL UP IS ROUGHLY 1/4 TO 1/2 GALLON. IF STANDING NEXT TO THE FILLER OPENING THERE IS A GOOD POSSIBILITY THAT GAS WILL SPILL ON THE PERSON FILLING UP, AGAIN CREATING A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/18/2014

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/18/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1048376

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GX3BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MID NOV. 7:45AM WHILE DRIVING I NOTICED A LOW ROAR LIKE THE NITRO WAS STUCK IN FIRST GEAR BUT IT WASN'T, SOUND CONTINUED AND THE CAR WAS NOT PICKING UP SPEED. I TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT, WAITED THEN TURNED IT BACK ON AND WENT TO WORK. AT 2:30 THE DASH THERMOMETER SAID ?120 DEGREES? I HAVE THE TEMPERATURE ON MY PHONE SO I KNOW IT WAS 80. I CHOOSE TO IGNORE IT AND NOT TAKE IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT TO MAKE A BIG FUSS AND I NEEDED MY CAR. WED, 3-12-14 7:50AM I WAS DRIVING THE 2011 DODGE NITRO TO TAKE KIDS TO SCHOOL. IT TURNED OFF WHILE TURNING, MY BLINKER STOPPED WORKING AND THERE WERE NOT LIGHTS-ON THE DASH. THE WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF, I ROLLED TO PARK ALONG THE CURB. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY TO START THE CAR AND IT STARTED. BIG SAFETY CONCERN SO I CHOSE TO BRING IT IN FOR SERVICE SINCE. I TOOK IN INTO THE DEALERSHIP AT 8:10AM THAT SAME MORNING. BUSTTER TORRES CHECKED IN MY CAR. HE SAID HE COULD NOT ?DUPLICATE? THE PROBLEM AND COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT CAUSED THE CAR TO STOP WHILE DRIVING. . FRI 3-14-14 7:55AM I WAS PREPARING TO TURN RIGHT, AS I WAS APPROACHING I HAD MY BLINKER ON AND MY CAR TURNED OFF AS I WAS ABOUT TO TURN INTO THE DRIVE WAY. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL (THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF) AND ROLL INTO THE DRIVEWAY. I NOTICED THERE WERE NO LIGHTS ON TO INDICATE ANYTHING, I HEARD A CLICK WHEN THE CAR TURNED OFF. I THEN TURNED THE KEY TO START THE CAR AND THE CAR STARTED FINE. CAR SAT AT DEALER FOR 4 DAYS WITHOUT SERVICE BECAUSE EMPLOYEE MESSED UP AND DID NOT CREATE A NEW WORK ORDER. NOT APOLOGETIC, MADE EXCUSES WHEN CONFRONTED. HAD WRONG MILEAGE, EMPLOYEE JUST GUESSED. WE HAD TO ARGUE TO GET THEM TO CHECK ACTUAL MILEAGE. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE ALL AROUND, NO RESPECT FOR US AS CUSTOMERS. CAR STILL NOT REPAIRED, CAR IS A LEMON. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/18/2014

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/18/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1048377

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GX3BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MID NOV. 7:45AM WHILE DRIVING I NOTICED A LOW ROAR LIKE THE NITRO WAS STUCK IN FIRST GEAR BUT IT WASN'T, SOUND CONTINUED AND THE CAR WAS NOT PICKING UP SPEED. I TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT, WAITED THEN TURNED IT BACK ON AND WENT TO WORK. AT 2:30 THE DASH THERMOMETER SAID ?120 DEGREES? I HAVE THE TEMPERATURE ON MY PHONE SO I KNOW IT WAS 80. I CHOOSE TO IGNORE IT AND NOT TAKE IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT TO MAKE A BIG FUSS AND I NEEDED MY CAR. WED, 3-12-14 7:50AM I WAS DRIVING THE 2011 DODGE NITRO TO TAKE KIDS TO SCHOOL. IT TURNED OFF WHILE TURNING, MY BLINKER STOPPED WORKING AND THERE WERE NOT LIGHTS-ON THE DASH. THE WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF, I ROLLED TO PARK ALONG THE CURB. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY TO START THE CAR AND IT STARTED. BIG SAFETY CONCERN SO I CHOSE TO BRING IT IN FOR SERVICE SINCE. I TOOK IN INTO THE DEALERSHIP AT 8:10AM THAT SAME MORNING. BUSTTER TORRES CHECKED IN MY CAR. HE SAID HE COULD NOT ?DUPLICATE? THE PROBLEM AND COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT CAUSED THE CAR TO STOP WHILE DRIVING. . FRI 3-14-14 7:55AM I WAS PREPARING TO TURN RIGHT, AS I WAS APPROACHING I HAD MY BLINKER ON AND MY CAR TURNED OFF AS I WAS ABOUT TO TURN INTO THE DRIVE WAY. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL (THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF) AND ROLL INTO THE DRIVEWAY. I NOTICED THERE WERE NO LIGHTS ON TO INDICATE ANYTHING, I HEARD A CLICK WHEN THE CAR TURNED OFF. I THEN TURNED THE KEY TO START THE CAR AND THE CAR STARTED FINE. CAR SAT AT DEALER FOR 4 DAYS WITHOUT SERVICE BECAUSE EMPLOYEE MESSED UP AND DID NOT CREATE A NEW WORK ORDER. NOT APOLOGETIC, MADE EXCUSES WHEN CONFRONTED. HAD WRONG MILEAGE, EMPLOYEE JUST GUESSED. WE HAD TO ARGUE TO GET THEM TO CHECK ACTUAL MILEAGE. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE ALL AROUND, NO RESPECT FOR US AS CUSTOMERS. CAR STILL NOT REPAIRED, CAR IS A LEMON. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/30/2014

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/12/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1061831

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GKXBW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, HE NOTICED THAT THE ENGINE CONTINUOUSLY LEAKED OIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER TWICE, WHO STATED THAT THE OIL FILTER SEAL WAS LOOSE AND CONTRIBUTED TO THE FAILURE. THE TECHNICIAN TIGHTENED THE OIL FILTER ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000. UPDATED 6/10/14*CN THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE OIL SEAL FOR THE OIL FILTER APPEARED TO BE MISALIGNED. THE SEAT WAS ADJACENT TO THE ENGINE AND WAS SUPPOSED TO FORM A TIGHT SEAL WHEN THE OIL FILTER WAS INSTALLED DOING AN OIL CHANGE. UPDATED 07/24/14

Date Complaint Filed: 05/23/2014

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/22/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1069336

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GX6BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 DODGE NITRO. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS WATER IN THE CEILING OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED WATER STAINS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CEILING OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER/MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WERE 42,950.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/08/2014

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/12/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1055636

Squish VIN: 1D4PU4GK4BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING IN THE AREA ABOUT 30 MPH THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF AND HAD TO FIGHT TO KEEP THE CAR STRAIGHT TO COME TO A STOP. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/25/2014

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1091383

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE STALLS WHILE PARKED OR WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A FULL STOP. IT DOES THE SAME WHILE TAKING A CURVE AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE CURVE ENDED. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GASOLINE COMING FROM THE TANK AND THE ENGINE STARVES. IT DOES IT WHEN THE ENGINE HAS FINISHED WARMING AND ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN SERVICE FOR WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT THE PROBLEM RETURNS AS SOON AS 1 WEEK AFTER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/25/2014

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1091384

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE STALLS WHILE PARKED OR WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A FULL STOP. IT DOES THE SAME WHILE TAKING A CURVE AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE CURVE ENDED. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GASOLINE COMING FROM THE TANK AND THE ENGINE STARVES. IT DOES IT WHEN THE ENGINE HAS FINISHED WARMING AND ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN SERVICE FOR WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT THE PROBLEM RETURNS AS SOON AS 1 WEEK AFTER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/25/2014

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/15/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 1091385

Squish VIN: 1D4PT4GK9BW

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ENGINE STALLS WHILE PARKED OR WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A FULL STOP. IT DOES THE SAME WHILE TAKING A CURVE AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE CURVE ENDED. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GASOLINE COMING FROM THE TANK AND THE ENGINE STARVES. IT DOES IT WHEN THE ENGINE HAS FINISHED WARMING AND ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN SERVICE FOR WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT THE PROBLEM RETURNS AS SOON AS 1 WEEK AFTER. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode