Home / Complaints ( Ford Escape 2011 )

FORD ESCAPE 2011

Escape

Since its introduction, the Ford Escape continues to be certainly one of America's best-selling small crossover Sports utility vehicles. Thinking about the number of other automobiles can be found in this segment (most of them well-established before the Escape's debut), this has come about as a little of the surprise. But Ford includes a keen knack for creating Sports utility vehicles that attract an array of purchasers.


Date Complaint Filed: 01/16/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 12/31/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 839410

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9DG2BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

I CLOSED THE REAR HATCH OF THE ESCAPE AND THE REAR GLASS EXPLODED. THE CAR WAS IN THE DRIVEWAY OF MY HOUSE AND THE GLASS WENT EVERYWHERE, COVERING THE CARGO AREA OF THE VEHICLE AND THE DRIVEWAY. THERE WAS NOTHING EVEN CLOSE TO TOUCHING THE GLASS INSIDE OR OUTSIDE OF THE CAR WHEN IT SHATTERED. I RECEIVED A SMALL CUT ON MY HAND FROM THE GLASS THAT I WAS ABLE TO TREAT MYSELF. THE VEHICLE WAS ABOUT A WEEK OLD AT THAT TIME AND WE TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THEM ADDRESS THE ISSUE.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/21/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/20/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 839944

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG5AK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

THIS IS A MORE DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE OCCURRENCE: I WAS ABOUT TO LEAVE WORK, TEMPERATURE AT 27 F. I LOADED GEAR IN MY TRUNK OF THE VEHICLES NOT USING THE RAISED GLASS OPTION, BUT THE FULL DOOR. UPON CLOSING THE DOOR, THE REAR WINDSHIELD SHATTERED AND THE GLASS FELL ON MY HAND ON THE WAY DOWN, CUTTING IT UP. THE PISTON RODS ON EITHER SIDE BOTH BROKE OUT...LOOKS LIKE THE PLASTIC CRACKED ON BOTH. PRIOR TO SHATTERING, THE WINDOW APPEARED TO HAVE BUBBLES IN IT. DEALER SAID THAT IT WAS NORMAL AND COSMETIC. FORD EXTENDED WARRANTY AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT HAVE SAID THAT THEIR GLASS IS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY...SO MILE 1, IF IT SHATTERS LIKE THIS, THE CONSUMER IS HELD LIABLE. FILING WITH INSURANCE COMPANY AND LOOKING FOR A COMPANY THAT WILL COVER A WINDOW FAILURE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/19/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/04/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 854247

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS AFTER SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN THE VEHICLE STARTED TO COAST AND STALL. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE TO THE NORMAL SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST BUT THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR DUPLICATING THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED WHO STATED A CONSUMER REPRESENTATIVE WILL CONTACT HIM WITHIN THE NEXT TWO DAYS. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,800.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/02/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/25/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 856352

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I WAS CLOSING THE BACK HATCH ON MY 5 WEEK OLD 2011 FORD ESCAPE WHEN THE BACK GLASS SHATTERED EVERYWHERE. I CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND THEY RELATED TO ME THAT THE BACK GLASS WAS NOT COVERED. SO, OF COURSE I HAD TO RE-PLACE MY BACK GLASS FOR APPROX $400. EXACTLY 2 DAYS AFTER THE NEW GLASS WAS INSTALLED, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. WHEN CLOSING THE LIFTGATE THE BACK GLASS SHATTERED. THIS TIME THE GLASS COMPANY REPLACED IT FOR FREE, BUT WHEN CONTACTING THE FORD COMPANY AND DEALERSHIP THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL. AFTER CONTACTING THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, STILL NOTHING WAS DONE. IT HAS NOT HAPPENED SINCE, BUT NOW I TRY NOT TO PUT ANYTHING INTO THE BACK OF MY CAR SO I DON'T HAVE TO LIFT THE HATCH. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/05/2011

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/18/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 856902

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0DG4BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL POP COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHENEVER ATTEMPTING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS WHERE THE STEERING COLUMN, POWER ASSIST MOTOR, STEERING RACK AND SHAFT WERE BEING REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/21/2011

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/17/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 859718

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0C72BK

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

FORD ESCAPE 2011 HAD A CAR ACCIDENT ON MAY 17TH 2011 I WAS HIT FROM BEHIND AND WITH THE IMPACT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. WHEN I WAS HIT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ALSO THE DRIVERS SEAT BROKE IN HALF. THE HUNK HORN WOULD NOT STOP BLOWING. DUE TO THE CAR SEAT BRAKING I HAVE SEVERAL INJURIES AND HAVE BEEN GOING TO THERAPY DAILY. I HAD A 2010 FORD FOCUS AND CHANGED IT TO THE FORD ESCAPE FOR SECURITY PURPOSES AND NOW THIS HAPPENS. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT. DUE TO THE ACCIDENT I HAVE NO CAR NOW AND NOW WHY OF GETTING ANYWHERE AND THE WAIT WILL BE PROLONGED DUE TO THE SAFETY FEATURES THAT DID NOT WORK ON THE CAR THEY HAVE TO INVESTIGATE FURTHER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/21/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/17/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 859719

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0C72BK

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

FORD ESCAPE 2011 HAD A CAR ACCIDENT ON MAY 17TH 2011 I WAS HIT FROM BEHIND AND WITH THE IMPACT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. WHEN I WAS HIT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, ALSO THE DRIVERS SEAT BROKE IN HALF. THE HUNK HORN WOULD NOT STOP BLOWING. DUE TO THE CAR SEAT BRAKING I HAVE SEVERAL INJURIES AND HAVE BEEN GOING TO THERAPY DAILY. I HAD A 2010 FORD FOCUS AND CHANGED IT TO THE FORD ESCAPE FOR SECURITY PURPOSES AND NOW THIS HAPPENS. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT. DUE TO THE ACCIDENT I HAVE NO CAR NOW AND NOW WHY OF GETTING ANYWHERE AND THE WAIT WILL BE PROLONGED DUE TO THE SAFETY FEATURES THAT DID NOT WORK ON THE CAR THEY HAVE TO INVESTIGATE FURTHER. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/25/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/10/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 860271

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0EG5BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN EVER THE DRIVERS SIDE VISOR WAS USED IT WOULD EITHER MOVE CLOSE TO THE REAR VIEW MIRROR. THE CONTACT DID NOT NOTIFY THE DEALER OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY RISK IF THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 200. UPDATED 07/08/11*LJ UPDATED 07/15/11

Date Complaint Filed: 06/13/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/11/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 863316

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0D76BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY HUSBAND SHUT THE LIFT GATE ON OUR 2011 FORD ESCAPE AND THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED INTO A THOUSAND PIECES. THIS VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 2,000 MILES ON IT. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/15/2011

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/12/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 863772

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG6BK

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT RENTED A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING LESS THAN 20 MPH APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AN OPPOSING VEHICLE SUDDENLY CRASHED INTO THE FRONT END OF THE CONTACTS VEHICLE CAUSING A HEAD ON COLLISION. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE SHOULDER, CHEST, AND TO THE LEFT ARM AND LEG. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE SEAT BELT UNLATCHED FROM THE BUCKLE MECHANISM DURING THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/15/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/12/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 863773

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG6BK

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT RENTED A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING LESS THAN 20 MPH APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AN OPPOSING VEHICLE SUDDENLY CRASHED INTO THE FRONT END OF THE CONTACTS VEHICLE CAUSING A HEAD ON COLLISION. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE SHOULDER, CHEST, AND TO THE LEFT ARM AND LEG. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE SEAT BELT UNLATCHED FROM THE BUCKLE MECHANISM DURING THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/15/2011

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/27/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 863780

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING A TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD MAKE A LOUD NOISE. THE FAILURE WAS CONSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO WAS INFORMED BY THE MANUFACTURER NOT TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE BECAUSE THERE WAS A TECHNICAL BULLETIN ISSUED REGARDING THE DEFECT. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A RESPONSE FROM THE DEALER IN ORDER TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/03/2011

Component(s): EQUIPMENT

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 06/14/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 866852

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9DG3BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON THE SAME DAY SIRIUS SATELLITE SHUT DOWN MY FREE RADIO SUBSCRIPTION I LOST THE ABILITY TO DIAL BY VOICE COMMAND FROM THE PHONE-BOOK AND RECEIVED THIS VERBAL ERROR MESSAGE:"THE REQUESTED CONTACT IS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE IN THE PHONE BOOK". TRIED DELETING THE PHONE-BOOK , THEN THE PHONE AND DEVICE, DID A NEW RE-PAIRING TO THE SAME RESULT. ANY INCOMING CALLS DISPLAY THE PROPER PHONE NAME AND I CAN DIAL BY GIVING THE NUMBER, WHICH IS DIFFICULT WHEN SO MANY OF MY CONTACTS HAVE THREE NUMBERS AND IT IS ILLEGAL IN MY PROVINCE (CANADA) TO HOLD A CELL PHONE WHILE DRIVING AND YOU MUST USE BLUETOOTH. THIS INABILITY TO DIAL FROM THE PHONE-BOOK ADDS MORE OF A DISTRACTION AS YOU HAVE TO TRY TO COME UP WITH NUMBERS INSTEAD OF JUST SAYING A CONTACT NAME. A GOOGLE SEARCH TURNS THIS UP TO BE A NEWER, COMMON PROBLEM TO WHICH NOBODY HAS POSTED A DEFINITIVE FIX. AM GOING TO HAVE TO TAKE TO THE DEALER AND SEE IF THEY CAN FIX THIS ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/05/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/03/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 867149

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0D75BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING AT A LOW SPEED IN THE DRIVEWAY, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND A LOUD GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE THEN LUNGED FORWARD WHEN SHIFTING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR, CAUSING A CLANKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE TSB CHIP WAS REPLACED, AND THE PCM WAS REPROGRAMMED. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, AS THE CONTACT ALSO FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,750.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/21/2011

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/14/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 870601

Squish VIN: 1J4GZ5850WC

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD UNEXPECTEDLY SURGE FORWARD OR BACKWARD WHILE IDLING WITHOUT A FOOT ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. ON ONE OCCASION, THE VEHICLE SURGED BACKWARD AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 200. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. I HAVE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES FOR THIS PROBLEM. TWICE THEY SAID THE HAVE RESET THE COMPUTER THROTTLE BUT STILL HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. UPDATED 11/10/2011 *LN

Date Complaint Filed: 07/26/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/23/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 871727

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG5BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE TOWING MY 2011 FORD ESCAPE LIMITED BEHIND MY RV BUS, THE TRANSMISSION BURNED UP. I DID EVERYTHING THAT WAS TAUGHT TO ME BY FORD DEALERSHIP IN GURNEE, IL, CAMPING WORLD IN FOX LAKE, IL AND THE FORD MANUAL. THE MADISON, TENNESSEE FORD DEALERSHIP TRIED TO BLAME ROADMASTER FOR THE PROBLEM. ROADMASTER IS THE MAKER OF THE TOWING SYSTEM (BARS, ELECTRICAL WIRING FOR LIGHTS AND THE EVEN BRAKE SYSTEM). THAT MADE NO SENSE AT ALL. I CHALLENGED THEM ON THAT AND THEN THEY ASKED ME TO GO OVER WHAT I DO TO TOW THE VEHICLE AND AFTER I EXPLAINED ALL THE STEPS, THEY SAID THAT I DID EVERYTHING CORRECTLY. I DROVE NO FASTER THAN 60 MPH IN MY WHOLE TRIP (CHICAGO TO NASHVILLE) AND EVEN STOPPED EVERY 3-4 HOURS TO START THE VEHICLE AND GO THROUGH THE GEARS, AS TAUGHT. THIS VEHICLE HAS 7600 MILES ON IT AND JUST 1200 MILES TOWING ON IT. SEEMS TO ME THAT THIS DEALERSHIP AND FORD DOES NOT WANT TO ADMIT THAT ITS OWN TRANSMISSION DID NOT WANT TO LUBE ITSELF TO KEEP IT FROM BURNING UP. FORD HAS NOT ANSWERED ANY OF MY 2 EMAILS SENT TO THEM ABOUT THIS AND THE DEALERSHIP JUST KEEPS BRUSHING ME OFF. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THEY NEEDED PERMISSION FROM ME TO TAKE APART THE TRANSMISSION TO SEE WHAT THEY NEED TO REPLACE. WHY, I DO NOT KNOW THAT THEY NEEDED PERMISSION. I HAD IT TOWED THERE TO GET REPAIRED. IT IS CLEARLY SOME DEFECT WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION, THEY JUST DO NOT WANT TO OWN UP TO IT. THE CONSUMER SENT IN AN UPDATE VIA PORTABLE: JUST WANTED TO GIVE YOU AN UPDATE ON THIS. FORD CALLED ME YESTERDAY AFTERNOON AND SAID THAT THEY WILL PAY FOR EVERYTHING NOW. I TOLD THEM I WAS DOING THESE COMPLAINTS AND FINALLY SOMEONE CALLED ME. SO, UNKNOWN IF YOU STILL WANT TO POST IT OR NOT. I WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW OF THIS. IT MAY TAKE A WEEK OR SO BEFORE I CAN GET MY CAR, THE DEALERSHIP IS CLAIMING IT MAY TAKE THAT LONG TO GET THE PARTS.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/29/2011

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 872310

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0D73BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO MANEUVER AND IT WAS MAKING A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT IN ORDER TO REMEDY THE FAILURE THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,500 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/19/2011

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 876695

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0D7XBK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER FRONT DOOR FAILED AND THE DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN AUTOMATICALLY OR MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY CLEANED THE DOOR LOCKS, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,429. THE CONSUMER STATED AT 8,429 THE DEALER REPLACED THE DOOR LATCH ASSEMBLY. HOWEVER, AT 8,832 THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR LOCKED AND NOW IT WILL NOT UNLOCK. UPDATED 10/05/11

Date Complaint Filed: 08/19/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 08/08/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 876696

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0D7XBK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER FRONT DOOR FAILED AND THE DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN AUTOMATICALLY OR MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY CLEANED THE DOOR LOCKS, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,429. THE CONSUMER STATED AT 8,429 THE DEALER REPLACED THE DOOR LATCH ASSEMBLY. HOWEVER, AT 8,832 THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR LOCKED AND NOW IT WILL NOT UNLOCK. UPDATED 10/05/11

Date Complaint Filed: 09/17/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/03/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 882204

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0C74BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT REST, AFTER UNLOADING GROCERIES FROM THE REAR. THE GLASS HATCH WAS SUCCESSFULLY CLOSED BUT THEN SHATTERED. *TT

Date Complaint Filed: 10/03/2011

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 09/26/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 884956

Squish VIN: -

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

REAR END COLLISION CAUSED BOTH FRONT SEATS BUCKLE BACK COMPLETELY FLAT . IS THAT SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN?

Date Complaint Filed: 10/26/2011

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:AIR CONDITIONER

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 10/17/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 889130

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG6BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH THE AIR CONDITIONER COIL MALFUNCTIONED, CAUSING A FREON LEAK AND FOGGED WINDOWS. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT HAVE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE COIL UNTIL FEBRUARY 2012. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DRIVABLE AND WAS CONCERNED WITH THE TIME FRAME OF THE AVAILABLE PART NEEDED FOR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000. UPDATED 11/16/11 *BF THE CONSUMER STATED THE COOLING A/C CORE RUPTURED, RELEASING FREON AND OIL INTO THE PASSENGER CABIN. UPDATED 11/18/11

Date Complaint Filed: 11/09/2011

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/03/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 891344

Squish VIN: 1FMCU0C72BK

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE REAR ENDED WHILE IN COMMUTE TRAFFIC AND PUSHED FORWARD INTO 2 ADDITIONAL VEHICLES. FRONT RADIATOR PUSHED IN, FRONT FENDERS BOWED OUT AT A PILLARS. PAINT TRANSFER FROM OTHER VEHICLES SHOWS ON BOTH FRONT AND REAR BUMPERS. VEHICLE AIRBAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/10/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/09/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 891456

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

REAR WINDSHIELD EXPLODED WHEN MY COLLEAGUE WAS PUTTING HIS BELONGINGS IN THE BACK OF MY SUV. BRAND NEW CAR AND THE THE CAR WASN'T TURNED FOR MORE THAN 5 MINUTES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/10/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/09/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 891457

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

REAR WINDSHIELD EXPLODED WHEN MY COLLEAGUE WAS PUTTING HIS BELONGINGS IN THE BACK OF MY SUV. BRAND NEW CAR AND THE THE CAR WASN'T TURNED FOR MORE THAN 5 MINUTES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/10/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/09/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 891458

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

REAR WINDSHIELD EXPLODED WHEN MY COLLEAGUE WAS PUTTING HIS BELONGINGS IN THE BACK OF MY SUV. BRAND NEW CAR AND THE THE CAR WASN'T TURNED FOR MORE THAN 5 MINUTES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/22/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY:GLASS, SIDE/REAR

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/21/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893338

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG0BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE CLOSING THE REAR HATCH, THE GLASS/HATCH EXPLODED INTO AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR HITTING MY DAUGHTER IN THE FACE. THERE WAS NOT UNUSUAL TENSION OR BINDING WHILE CLOSING THE REAR GLASS HATCH. DID NOT REQUIRE ADDITIONAL EFFORT TO CLOSE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK, THE ENGINE WAS OFF,TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE APPROX 50 DEGREES. VEHICLE WAS WARM AS IT HAD BEEN PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN UPDATED 11/28/11 *BF *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 11/22/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY:HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/21/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 893339

Squish VIN: 1FMCU9EG0BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

WHILE CLOSING THE REAR HATCH, THE GLASS/HATCH EXPLODED INTO AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR HITTING MY DAUGHTER IN THE FACE. THERE WAS NOT UNUSUAL TENSION OR BINDING WHILE CLOSING THE REAR GLASS HATCH. DID NOT REQUIRE ADDITIONAL EFFORT TO CLOSE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK, THE ENGINE WAS OFF,TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE APPROX 50 DEGREES. VEHICLE WAS WARM AS IT HAD BEEN PREVIOUSLY DRIVEN UPDATED 11/28/11 *BF *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/05/2011

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895435

Squish VIN: 1FMCU4K30BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AS I WAS EXITING A HIGHWAY, MY CAR MESSAGE CENTER ALERTED ME TO SAFELY COME TO A STOP. AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO GET INTO A PARKING LOT, THE CAR SHUT OFF. I RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO GET INTO PARKING LOT ON ELECTRIC, I GUESS. IT WAS TOWED TO UTTER FORD, IN SHERMAN, TX. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND TOLD ME IT HAD TO DO WITH THE FUEL PUMP AND THE ELECTRICAL. THEY KEPT IT OVERNIGHT AND SAID THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP. I PICKED IT UP ON 12/3 AROUND 2:30PM. I GOT 40 MILES AND THE CAR WENT INTO FAIL/SAFE MODE AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT SAFELY TO A PARKING LOT. AFTER THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN BACK ON, THE ACCELERATOR STUCK. HITTING THE BREAK DID NOT HELP. THE CAR HAD TO BE TURNED OFF TO KEEP THE ENGINE FROM REVVING. IT WAS TOWED TO DAVID MCDAVID LINCOLN IN PLANO, TEXAS. THE SERVICE TECH SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING REGISTERING ON THE DIAGNOSTIC. ON THEIR SECOND TEST DRIVE, THE CAR TURNED OFF WHILE THE DRIVER WAS ON THE HIGHWAY. THEY HAD TO SEND A TOW TRUCK TO GET HIM. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/05/2011

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: FORD MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 12/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 895436

Squish VIN: 1FMCU4K30BK

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

AS I WAS EXITING A HIGHWAY, MY CAR MESSAGE CENTER ALERTED ME TO SAFELY COME TO A STOP. AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO GET INTO A PARKING LOT, THE CAR SHUT OFF. I RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO GET INTO PARKING LOT ON ELECTRIC, I GUESS. IT WAS TOWED TO UTTER FORD, IN SHERMAN, TX. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND TOLD ME IT HAD TO DO WITH THE FUEL PUMP AND THE ELECTRICAL. THEY KEPT IT OVERNIGHT AND SAID THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP. I PICKED IT UP ON 12/3 AROUND 2:30PM. I GOT 40 MILES AND THE CAR WENT INTO FAIL/SAFE MODE AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT SAFELY TO A PARKING LOT. AFTER THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN BACK ON, THE ACCELERATOR STUCK. HITTING THE BREAK DID NOT HELP. THE CAR HAD TO BE TURNED OFF TO KEEP THE ENGINE FROM REVVING. IT WAS TOWED TO DAVID MCDAVID LINCOLN IN PLANO, TEXAS. THE SERVICE TECH SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING REGISTERING ON THE DIAGNOSTIC. ON THEIR SECOND TEST DRIVE, THE CAR TURNED OFF WHILE THE DRIVER WAS ON THE HIGHWAY. THEY HAD TO SEND A TOW TRUCK TO GET HIM. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode