Home / Complaints ( Hyundai Tucson 2006 )

HYUNDAI TUCSON 2006

Tucson

Once the Hyundai Tucson first showed for that 2005 model year, it symbolized Hyundai's first entry within the lengthy-established small crossover Vehicle segment. The very first-generation Tucson grew to become Hyundai's official "entry-level" Vehicle, also it offered a good mixture of characteristics, including an available V6 engine, an ample listing of standard equipment along with a extended warranty. However, this Tucson looked rather dowdy, were built with a decidedly low-budget feel to the cabin rather than really registered of all consumers' radar like a mainstream option.


Date Complaint Filed: 05/10/2006

Component(s): SEAT BELTS:REAR

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 04/19/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 588007

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

THE RETRACTABLE SEAT BELTS FROM THE CEILING OF THE 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON ARE DANGEROUS TO CHILDREN. MY 7 YEAR OLD SON RELEASED BOTH ATTACHMENTS AT THE BUCKLE AREA AND IT RETRACTED AND ON ITS WAY UP HIT MY 5 YR OLD NIECE IN BELOW THE EYE SHE HAD A VERY BIG BLACK EYE FROM THIS INCIDENT I HAVE PICTURES TO SHOW THE INJURY THAT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE IF IT HAD ACTUALLY HIT HER IN THE EYE. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 11/15/2006

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/10/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 609279

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D66U

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

MY 2006 TUSCON (6 MONTHS OLD) WAS STRUCK IN THE DRIVER'S SIDE BETWEEN THE DRIVER AND REAR SEATS BY A 2002 CADILLAC. THE DRIVER OF THE OTHER VEHICLE WAS CITED FOR FAILURE TO YIELD AND TRAVELING AT AN ESTIMATED 35-40 MPH. I WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH. MY TUSCON FLIPPED OVER 4 TIMES. OF 6 AIRBAGS, NOT 1 DEPLOYED. THE SIDE IMPACT DID NOT DEPLOY UPON IMPACT. THE ROOF-MOUNTED SIDE-CURTAIN DID NOT DEPLOY UPON IMPACT OR WHEN IT ROLLED. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 01/05/2007

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 12/31/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 614702

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D36U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

FAILURE OF 'NEW' 2006 TUCSON GLS V6 2.7L DOHC 24 VALVE ENGINE TO MEET 20-26 MPG. I GET ONLY 8-12 MPG, DRIVING CONSERVATIVELY. I CONTACTED LAMAR HYUNDAI WERE I PURCHASED IT UNDER STRESS & DURESS OF MY MOTHER'S DYING, ON 12-30-06. THEY SAID TO CONTACT THE MFG, AS THEY SELL THE CARS & HAVE NO SOLUTION. PLEASE HELP. I PAID MORE THAN ONLINE MSR PRICE. *NM

Date Complaint Filed: 03/27/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 10/16/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 624236

Squish VIN: KM8JM12B76U

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUSCON. WHILE DRIVING 5-10 MPH THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK ON THE FRONT AND BACK DRIVE'SR SIDE DOORS. THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. THERE WERE A TOTAL OF FOUR OCCUPANTS IN THE VEHICLE AND ALL WERE BELTED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED SERIOUS INJURIES. THE CONTACT HAS A POLICE REPORT AND PICTURES OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVABLE, BUT WAS TOWED AWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE CRASH WAS NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO DEPLOY THE AIRBAGS AND DENIED THE CLAIM. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE AIRBAG MODULE APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH AGO. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,000.AK

Date Complaint Filed: 03/30/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/30/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 624616

Squish VIN: KM8JN72D16U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I HAVE A 2006 HYUNDAI TUSCON PURCHASED NEW. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG INDICATOR GOES OFF 70% OF THE TIME THAT AN ADULT WEIGHING 102 POUNDS IS SEATED. THE DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM, DENIED KNOWING THAT THERE IS HISTORY OF PROBLEMS WITH THE HYUNDAI AIRBAGS, AND GAVE ME THE COMPANY LINE THAT THE PASSENGER HAD TO BE SEATED A PARTICULAR WAY. I HAVE VIDEO TAPED THE SITUATION WITH THE LIGHT ON WHILE A PASSENGER IS SEATED WITH A NEWSPAPER IN THE VIDEO. I WILL AGAIN REQUEST THE DEALER TO REPLACE THE SENSOR. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 04/09/2007

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC:ROTOR

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/05/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 625698

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NEW 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON V6 4WD. SHAKING / VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL AT AROUND 45 MPH. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO THE HYUNDAI, DEALER 3 TIMES TO HAVE IT FIXED, BUT SHAKING STILL PERSISTED. EACH VISIT TOOK LONGER, LAST ONE THEY HAD VEHICLE FOR A FEW DAYS. MECHANICS WORKED WITH THE FACTORY REPAIR REPRESENTATIVE , AND USED DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER, BUT THEY STILL COULDN'T FIGURE OUT THE CAUSE. WORK PERFORMED OVER 3 VISITS. BALANCED TIRES, SWAPPED OUT TIRES, LOOKED AT AXLES, REPLACED FAULTY COUPLING ASSEMBLY, MACHINED THE BRAKE WARPED DISCS, AND SOLVED THE SHAKING WHEN BRAKING. BUT PROBLEM STILL EXISTED WHEN DRIVING. THIS IS ON A BRAND NEW VEHICLE FROM THE FACTORY. *AK

Date Complaint Filed: 05/30/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/12/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 631630

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D96U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. IN MARCH 2006, THE CONTACT RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE # 06V445000 (AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE). SHE STATED THAT THE MODULE IS STILL ON BACK ORDER. THE CONTACT HAS NOT EXPERIENCED ANY FAILURES AT THIS TIME. THE ENGINE SIZE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 14,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RECALL HAS SINCE BEEN COMPLETED. UPDATED 07/06/07. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 05/30/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/09/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 631677

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D96U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED TO CRANK START APPROXIMATELY TEN TIMES. THE HYUNDAI DEALER HAS REPLACED THE BATTERY THREE TIMES BESIDES THE ORIGINAL BATTERY IN THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS AT THE TIME OF FAILURE. PRESENTLY, THE VEHICLE FAILS TO CRANK START AGAIN. THE ENGINE SIZE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 3,600 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START 4 TIMES BEFORE 1,489 AND 10 TIMES BEFORE 3,500 MILES. THE DEALER STATED DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG COVER REPLACED. THE CONSUMER PROVIDED VARIOUS REPAIR INVOICES FOR DEFECT. UPDATED 07/12/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/30/2007

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/09/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 631678

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D96U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED TO CRANK START APPROXIMATELY TEN TIMES. THE HYUNDAI DEALER HAS REPLACED THE BATTERY THREE TIMES BESIDES THE ORIGINAL BATTERY IN THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS AT THE TIME OF FAILURE. PRESENTLY, THE VEHICLE FAILS TO CRANK START AGAIN. THE ENGINE SIZE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 3,600 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START 4 TIMES BEFORE 1,489 AND 10 TIMES BEFORE 3,500 MILES. THE DEALER STATED DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG COVER REPLACED. THE CONSUMER PROVIDED VARIOUS REPAIR INVOICES FOR DEFECT. UPDATED 07/12/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/21/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/07/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 633814

Squish VIN: KM8JM12B76U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE # 06V445000 (AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER DOES NOT HAVE THE PART AND WILL NOT NOTIFY HIM WHEN IT BECOMES AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAS BEEN TRYING TO HAVE THE RECALL REPAIR DONE SINCE JANUARY OF 2007. NO FAILURES HAVE OCCURRED AT THIS TIME. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 18,000 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE IS INAPPLICABLE.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/12/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 636141

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D96U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE # 06V445000 (AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE). THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ILLUMINATED FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS WHILE A PASSENGER IS IN THE FRONT SEAT. THE HYUNDAI DEALER STATED THAT THEY HAD THE PART, BUT FIFTEEN MINUTES LATER THEY STATED THAT THE PART WAS ON BACK ORDER. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE DEALER TO OBTAIN THE PARTS FROM A DIFFERENT DEALER IN ORDER TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 7,500 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/01/2007

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 11/15/2006

NHTSA ID Number: 646476

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D26U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

PURCHASED A NEW HYUNDAI, TUCSON, FROM MONROE HYUNDAI A YEAR AGO. AFTER A BREAK-IN PERIOD, I STARTED CHECKING THE MILEAGE. I QUICKLY FOUND OUT THAT NO MATTER HOW I DROVE MY CAR, THE MILEAGE DIDN'T VARY. ONE HUNDRED MILES AN HOUR OR 35 MILES AN HOUR AND YOU GET 22 MPG IN EITHER CASE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND DID EVERYTHING THEY TOLD ME. A MILEAGE STUDY DONE BY HYUNDAI RESULTED IN THE SAME CONCLUSION. I'VE TALKED TO OTHER OWNERS OF THE SAME MODEL AND THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. EXPERTS IN THE AUTO FIELD HAVE TOLD ME THAT THE PROBLEM HAS TO BE THE COMPUTER THAT CONTROLS IDLING, AND THE PUMPING OF FUEL HAS A PROBLEM. HYUNDAI HAS RECENTLY STATED THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO, AND BASICALLY STATED I'M STUCK. I'M RETIRED AND I WANTED THIS VEHICLE TO LAST FOR SOME TIME. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO ASSIST ME IN CONTACTING HYUNDAI ENGINEERING, TO DISCUSS THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP! I CAN'T AFFORD TO TRADE THIS SUV IN, AND I WOULD LIKE TO SEE IT REPAIRED SO MY MILEAGE IS PROPORTIONATE TO HOW I DRIVE. GENERALLY 10 - 15% MILEAGE DIFFERENCE SHOULD BE EXPECTED BETWEEN AROUND TOWN VS HIGHWAY DRIVING. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/15/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/21/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 647800

Squish VIN: KM8JN12DX6U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RED AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWELVE OCCASIONS REGARDING THIS FAILURE. THE DEALER DEACTIVATED THE AIR BAG. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PART OF THE STEERING COLUMN FELL OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE FRONT SEAT AND ONE REAR SEAT TRAC COVER WERE REPLACED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,617 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35. UPDATED 10/25/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/15/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE INFLATOR MODULE

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/21/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 647801

Squish VIN: KM8JN12DX6U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RED AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWELVE OCCASIONS REGARDING THIS FAILURE. THE DEALER DEACTIVATED THE AIR BAG. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PART OF THE STEERING COLUMN FELL OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE FRONT SEAT AND ONE REAR SEAT TRAC COVER WERE REPLACED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,617 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35. UPDATED 10/25/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/15/2007

Component(s): STEERING:COLUMN

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 05/21/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 647802

Squish VIN: KM8JN12DX6U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RED AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWELVE OCCASIONS REGARDING THIS FAILURE. THE DEALER DEACTIVATED THE AIR BAG. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PART OF THE STEERING COLUMN FELL OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE FRONT SEAT AND ONE REAR SEAT TRAC COVER WERE REPLACED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,617 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35. UPDATED 10/25/07 *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/30/2007

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 649788

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON WITH SEVERAL SAFETY ISSUES. CUSTOMER STATES THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WORKED ON FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS. SHE ALSO STATES THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE WITH AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS, AND OTHER THINGS. *KB THERE WAS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING COLUMN.*JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/30/2007

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 649789

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON WITH SEVERAL SAFETY ISSUES. CUSTOMER STATES THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WORKED ON FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS. SHE ALSO STATES THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE WITH AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS, AND OTHER THINGS. *KB THERE WAS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING COLUMN.*JB

Date Complaint Filed: 10/30/2007

Component(s): STEERING:COLUMN

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/1901

NHTSA ID Number: 649790

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON WITH SEVERAL SAFETY ISSUES. CUSTOMER STATES THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN WORKED ON FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS. SHE ALSO STATES THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE WITH AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS, AND OTHER THINGS. *KB THERE WAS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING COLUMN.*JB

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2007

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 654574

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. WITHIN A MONTH OF PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH LESS THAN 1,000 MILES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THE HAZARD AND TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS FAILED ALSO AND WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER. TWO DAYS LATER, THE LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AGAIN. THEY WERE REPLACED A SECOND TIME, BUT THEN FAILED AGAIN. THE LIGHTS HAVE FAILED APPROXIMATELY SIX TIMES AND HAVE NOT BEEN PROPERLY REPAIRED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE USES HIS DIRECTIONALS TOO MUCH AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS TOO LONG. THE VIN, ENGINE SIZE, AND NUMBER OF CYLINDERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNDER 1,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,100.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2007

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:TURN SIGNAL

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 654575

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. WITHIN A MONTH OF PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH LESS THAN 1,000 MILES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THE HAZARD AND TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS FAILED ALSO AND WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER. TWO DAYS LATER, THE LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AGAIN. THEY WERE REPLACED A SECOND TIME, BUT THEN FAILED AGAIN. THE LIGHTS HAVE FAILED APPROXIMATELY SIX TIMES AND HAVE NOT BEEN PROPERLY REPAIRED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE USES HIS DIRECTIONALS TOO MUCH AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS TOO LONG. THE VIN, ENGINE SIZE, AND NUMBER OF CYLINDERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNDER 1,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,100.

Date Complaint Filed: 12/07/2007

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING:HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 654576

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. WITHIN A MONTH OF PURCHASING THE VEHICLE, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WITH LESS THAN 1,000 MILES. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION. THE HAZARD AND TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS FAILED ALSO AND WERE REPLACED BY THE DEALER. TWO DAYS LATER, THE LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AGAIN. THEY WERE REPLACED A SECOND TIME, BUT THEN FAILED AGAIN. THE LIGHTS HAVE FAILED APPROXIMATELY SIX TIMES AND HAVE NOT BEEN PROPERLY REPAIRED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE USES HIS DIRECTIONALS TOO MUCH AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS TOO LONG. THE VIN, ENGINE SIZE, AND NUMBER OF CYLINDERS WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNDER 1,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,100.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/30/2008

Component(s): EQUIPMENT:MECHANICAL:JACKS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 661165

Squish VIN: KM8JN72DX6U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

SREW JACK FAILURE. IN A HEATED GARAGE ON A LEVEL CONCRETE FLOOR WITH THE CAR IN PARK AND THE BRAKE SET, THE JACK PROVIDED FAILED. UNDER THE WEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE IT TWISTED AND COLLAPSED ALLOWING THE 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON TO FALL BACK TO THE FLOOR. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/23/2008

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 03/10/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 668166

Squish VIN: KM8JN12DX6U

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

DRIVER OF VEHICLE RAN OFF THE ROAD, DOWN AN EMBANKMENT, AND INTO TREES; VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS; FRONT BUMPER OF VEHICLE BROKEN IN TWO AND SEPARATED FROM VEHICLE; NEITHER FRONT NOR SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED; DRIVER SUFFERED FRACTURED VERTEBRA, FOOT AND HAND INJURIES, AND NUMEROUS BRUISES AND SCRAPES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/08/2008

Component(s): AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 670235

Squish VIN: KM8JM12B76U

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WHICH I WAS HIT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. THE SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE AIR BAGS IS WAY I BROUGHT THIS VEHICLE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/11/2008

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:SWITCHES:BRAKE LIGHT

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 07/11/2007

NHTSA ID Number: 682859

Squish VIN: KM8JN72D56U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHEN I PUT ON MY BRAKE TO SHIFT THE CAR INTO GEAR, THE ESC OFF LIGHT ILLUMINATES. THIS IS CAUSED BY A FAULTY BRAKE SWITCH. WHEN THE BRAKE SWITCH IS FAULTY, I HAVE NO BRAKE LIGHTS AT ALL. I HAVE HAD THREE BRAKE SWITCHES REPLACED IN THIS CAR. TODAY WAS THE LATEST INCIDENT AND THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR SWITCH #4. THIS OCCURS ABOUT EVERY 6 MONTHS. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2008

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/02/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 685431

Squish VIN: KM8JN72D86U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH AND ABOVE, THE VEHICLE WOULD SHIMMY AND COME UP THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER APPROXIMATELY SIX DIFFERENT TIMES AND THEY CHANGED ALL FOUR TIRES ON THREE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE STILL SHAKES. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,108 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/02/2009

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/27/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 710677

Squish VIN: KM8JM12B06U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TRACTION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DECELERATE OR STOP. SEVERAL MINUTES LATER, THE VEHICLE STALLED. NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DURING THE FAILURE. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE OR PROVIDE A REMEDY. HE CALLED THE MANUFACTURER IN REFERENCE TO TSB NUMBER 10019123 AND WAS NOT PROVIDED ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,400 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 60,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 02/04/2009

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 02/01/2008

NHTSA ID Number: 710971

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D66U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HYUNDAI TUCSON. THE DRIVER WENT TO START THE VEHICLE, BUT IT WOULD NOT START. HE OBSERVED THAT THE BATTERY FAILED AND HAD IT REPLACED. THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY AFTER THE REPLACEMENT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED NINE MONTHS LATER. HE CONNECTED THE BATTERY TO A GAUGE, WHICH INDICATED THAT IT FAILED AGAIN. SINCE THE BATTERY WAS LESS THAN A YEAR OLD, HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PARKED FOR 2-3 DAYS, IT CAUSES THE BATTERY TO DRAIN . THE MECHANIC ALSO STATED THAT THE BATTERY FAILS BECAUSE THE RADIO IS CAUSING IT TO DRAIN, AS IF IT WERE STILL ACTIVATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING. THIS IS WHY THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO NOT LET THE VEHICLE IDLE FOR MORE THAN TWO DAYS. THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THIS FAILURE; HOWEVER, IT COULD BE COVERED UNDER THE THREE YEARS/30,000 MILE WARRANTY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,000. UPDATED 3/5/09 *CN THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED A TSB HAD BEEN ISSUED REGARDING THE PROBLEM. THE REMEDY WAS TO PULL THE POWER CONNECTOR. UPDATED 03/10/09. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 02/04/2009

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 711051

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D16U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2006 TUCSON HYUNDAI-11,000 MI AND HAD TO REPLACE REAR TIRES DUE TO TIRE WEAR. COMPLETELY BALD. COST-$300.00. DEALER STATES IT MAY BE DUE TO NEEDING ALIGNMENT OR DEFECT IN FRAME. WILL NOT HONOR BUMPER TO BUMPER 5 YEAR 60,000 MI WARRANTY. REFUSES TO PAY FOR ALIGNMENT OR TO SEE IF IT IS A FRAME PROBLEM. WILL NOT REIMBURSE FOR TIRES, EVEN THOUGH THE TIRE DEALER STATED THE MEASUREMENTS AND HOW IT WAS NOT RIGHT TO HAVE THEM THAT BALD. BUYING THE CAR BRAND NEW-I NOW AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. IT WAS BOUGHT JUNE 2006, I HAVE BABIED IT AND DROVE ONLY FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS AND VACATIONS. YET NOW I FEEL IT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COULD BE A FRAME PROBLEM, AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO INVESTIGATE. I AM HAVING TO TAKE IT TO A ALIGNMENT SHOP MYSELF TO HAVE IT CHECKED. YOUR SITE ONLY GIVES ME THE OPTION OF ONE TIRE REPORT. BUT BOTH TIRES WERE BALD! THANK YOU. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 02/04/2009

Component(s): STRUCTURE:FRAME AND MEMBERS

Manufacturer: HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY

Date Of Incident: 01/19/2009

NHTSA ID Number: 711052

Squish VIN: KM8JN12D16U

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2006 TUCSON HYUNDAI-11,000 MI AND HAD TO REPLACE REAR TIRES DUE TO TIRE WEAR. COMPLETELY BALD. COST-$300.00. DEALER STATES IT MAY BE DUE TO NEEDING ALIGNMENT OR DEFECT IN FRAME. WILL NOT HONOR BUMPER TO BUMPER 5 YEAR 60,000 MI WARRANTY. REFUSES TO PAY FOR ALIGNMENT OR TO SEE IF IT IS A FRAME PROBLEM. WILL NOT REIMBURSE FOR TIRES, EVEN THOUGH THE TIRE DEALER STATED THE MEASUREMENTS AND HOW IT WAS NOT RIGHT TO HAVE THEM THAT BALD. BUYING THE CAR BRAND NEW-I NOW AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. IT WAS BOUGHT JUNE 2006, I HAVE BABIED IT AND DROVE ONLY FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS AND VACATIONS. YET NOW I FEEL IT IS DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COULD BE A FRAME PROBLEM, AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO INVESTIGATE. I AM HAVING TO TAKE IT TO A ALIGNMENT SHOP MYSELF TO HAVE IT CHECKED. YOUR SITE ONLY GIVES ME THE OPTION OF ONE TIRE REPORT. BUT BOTH TIRES WERE BALD! THANK YOU. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode