Home / Complaints ( Jeep Wrangler 2015 )

JEEP WRANGLER 2015

Wrangler

Possibly the essential niche vehicle, the Jeep Wrangler has held the crown of ultimate off-roader since it had been provided to everyone. This SUV's lineage dates back greater than 60 several years to the initial military "Jeep," the now-legendary 4x4 that moved The Second World War soldiers and supplies over very rough terrain. Throughout time the Wrangler's off-road prowess and hard-guy image haven't wavered, but nor has it been probably the most civilized vehicle in the world.


Date Complaint Filed: 12/29/2014

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Chrysler Group LLC

Date Of Incident: 12/23/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1143527

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG0FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE RIGHT AND SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/28/2015

Component(s): LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:HOOD:LATCH

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 12/15/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1152561

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG0FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SAFETY LATCH WAS ABLE TO KEEP THE HOOD FROM OPENING COMPLETELY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180. UPDATED 3/31/15*CN

Date Complaint Filed: 03/09/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 02/07/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1164726

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG9FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHES WHEN GOING UPHILL. DEALER CLAIMS TO BE UNABLE TO READ THE CODE IF ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT STAY ON. HAS BEEN IN FOR SERVICE 4 TIMES FOR SAME ISSUE. ONCE, DEALER REPLACED A SINGLE ENGINE COIL AFTER READING A P300 MISFIRE CODE. ENGINE LOSES POWER AND FREEWAY SPEED BECOMES IMPOSSIBLE TO MAINTAIN FOR SEVERAL MINUTES EVEN AFTER CRESTING HILL AND DRIVING ON LEVEL SURFACE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/09/2015

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 02/07/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1164727

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG9FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHES WHEN GOING UPHILL. DEALER CLAIMS TO BE UNABLE TO READ THE CODE IF ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT STAY ON. HAS BEEN IN FOR SERVICE 4 TIMES FOR SAME ISSUE. ONCE, DEALER REPLACED A SINGLE ENGINE COIL AFTER READING A P300 MISFIRE CODE. ENGINE LOSES POWER AND FREEWAY SPEED BECOMES IMPOSSIBLE TO MAINTAIN FOR SEVERAL MINUTES EVEN AFTER CRESTING HILL AND DRIVING ON LEVEL SURFACE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/17/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY:DOOR

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 12/16/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1167197

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFG2FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER OR AFTER WASHING THE VEHICLE, WATER LEAKED INTO THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE DOORS. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,060.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1177574

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWEG2FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW ON APRIL 16, 2015. MY WIFE DROVE 8 MILES TO SCHOOL AND THEN 6 MILES TO HER AUNT'S HOUSE. WHEN SHE PARKED SHE NOTICED CAR WAS SMOKING AND THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE SECONDS LATER. FIRE CONSUMED THE FRONT END OF JEEP BEFORE FIRE DEPARTMENT COULD GET HERE. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE HOOD ON THE RIGHT SIDE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1177575

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWEG2FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW ON APRIL 16, 2015. MY WIFE DROVE 8 MILES TO SCHOOL AND THEN 6 MILES TO HER AUNT'S HOUSE. WHEN SHE PARKED SHE NOTICED CAR WAS SMOKING AND THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE SECONDS LATER. FIRE CONSUMED THE FRONT END OF JEEP BEFORE FIRE DEPARTMENT COULD GET HERE. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE HOOD ON THE RIGHT SIDE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/22/2015

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 04/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1177576

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWEG2FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW ON APRIL 16, 2015. MY WIFE DROVE 8 MILES TO SCHOOL AND THEN 6 MILES TO HER AUNT'S HOUSE. WHEN SHE PARKED SHE NOTICED CAR WAS SMOKING AND THE CAR CAUGHT FIRE SECONDS LATER. FIRE CONSUMED THE FRONT END OF JEEP BEFORE FIRE DEPARTMENT COULD GET HERE. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE HOOD ON THE RIGHT SIDE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/24/2015

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 06/17/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1193907

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFG3FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I RECENTLY PURCHASED A NEW JEEP RUBICON UNLIMITED AND HAD THE DEALER INSTALL A MOPAR 4 INCH FACTORY APPROVED LIFT KIT. THE KIT HAS A LOT OF ISSUES WITH IT AND NOT A WHOLE LOT OF ANSWERS TO FIX THEM. I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE PASSENGER SEAT WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY AND WE HEADED INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I WAS ABLE TO GET CONTROL OF THE JEEP ONLY BY SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES AND TURNING AWAY FROM THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN VERY HELPFUL WITH TRYING TO ANSWER MY QUESTIONS BUT THEY ARE NOW SAYING THIS IS A MOPAR PARTS ISSUE AND THEY ARE IN A HOLDING PATTERN UNTIL THEY CAN GET SOME ANSWERS. I CALLED MOPAR AND THEY SAID IT IS THE DEALERS RESPONSIBILITY AND CHRYSLER HAS THE FINAL SAY ABOUT THE REPAIR PROCESS. THE JEEP HAS LESS THAN 800 MILES ON IT AND I�M IN A RENTAL MINIVAN. TOO COOL !!!!!! LIST OF ISSUES : ALIGNMENT CASTOR CANNOT BE CORRECTED TO FACTORY SPECS DUE TO LACK OF ADJUSTMENT. FRONT AXLE IS NOT CENTERED DUE TO LACK OF ADJUSTMENT STEERING DRAG LINK DIGS INTO INSIDE OF WHEEL AND KNOCKS OFF THE BALANCE WEIGHTS. THE TRACK BAR BRACKET IS NOT STRONG ENOUGH AND HAS BENT ALLOWING THE STABILIZER AND TRACK BAR TO HAVE EXCESSIVE PLAY. THESE ISSUES ALL DEAL WITH THE STEERING COMPONENTS AND WAS CAUSED BY THE INSTALLATION OF THIS LIFT KIT.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/25/2015

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:DRIVELINE:DRIVESHAFT

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1194345

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG5FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS EXTREMELY CORRODED AND THAT THE ENTIRE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING THE NUTS AND BOLTS WERE CORRODED AS WELL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE UNDERCARRIAGE NEEDED TO BE REPAINTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15. MA 09/03/15 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER COVERED UP THE RUST AND CORROSION WITH AN UNDERCOATING. THE CONSUMER BELIEVES THE VEHICLE SAT IN WATER. ALL OF THE JEEP WRANGLERS ON THE LOT HAD THE SAME CONDITION. UPDATED 12/9/2015 *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 06/25/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS:UNDERBODY SHIELDS

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 05/05/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1194346

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG5FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS EXTREMELY CORRODED AND THAT THE ENTIRE FRAME OF THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING THE NUTS AND BOLTS WERE CORRODED AS WELL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE UNDERCARRIAGE NEEDED TO BE REPAINTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15. MA 09/03/15 THE CONSUMER STATED THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER COVERED UP THE RUST AND CORROSION WITH AN UNDERCOATING. THE CONSUMER BELIEVES THE VEHICLE SAT IN WATER. ALL OF THE JEEP WRANGLERS ON THE LOT HAD THE SAME CONDITION. UPDATED 12/9/2015 *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 07/03/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1196274

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DRIVING ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY AROUND 2PM. I HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR A SOLID HOUR ON THE SAME HIGHWAY WHEN MY JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDAL PROCEEDED TO THE FLOOR EVEN WHILE I TAPPED AND PRESSED PUMPING MY BRAKES. I RECALL AN INITIAL ODD FEELING UNDERFOOT PRIOR TO THE CLIMBING ACCELERATION. I FELT THE PEDAL PULL AWAY DIRECTLY AFTER I FELT A VIBRATION UNDERFOOT. I WAS NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL NOR WAS IT ENGAGED . THE ENGINE WAS CYCLING LOUDLY AND THE RPM GAUGE WAS CLIMBING IN THE RED, I HAD NO CAR MAT IN PLACE BECAUSE I SPILLED A PROTEIN SHAKE A WEEK EARLIER AND IT STILL SMELLED. I STILL CHECKED VISUALLY TO SEE IF SOMETHING SOMEHOW WAS OBSTRUCTING THE PEDAL. I HAD MY HANDS ON THE TOP OF THE WHEEL PER USUAL COMFORT SPOTS. I WAS LIKE, WAIT...WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING?? I HAD TO PRESS AS HARD AS I COULD ON THE BRAKES WHILE PULLING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE UP SLOWLY TO BRING THE OPEN THROTTLED CAR TO A STOP. I NOTICED JUST BEFORE TURNING OFF THE CAR A RED LIGHTNING BOLT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. MY NEW CAR WAS 4 WEEKS NEW TO OUR FAMILY. I AM AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER WHO OWNED JEEPS BEFORE IN 1989. THE GAS PEDAL WAS SO TIGHTLY PRESSED INTO THE FLOOR I COULD NOT GET THE TIP OF MY SHOE UNDER TO PULL IT UP. I WAS TAKEN FOR A DEATH RIDE FOR 10 MINUTES. THE CAR SMELLED LIKE BURNING MOTOR! IF THERE WAS TRAFFIC THIS DAY I CANNOT THINK OF THE REPERCUSSIONS .

Date Complaint Filed: 07/03/2015

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1196275

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DRIVING ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY AROUND 2PM. I HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR A SOLID HOUR ON THE SAME HIGHWAY WHEN MY JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDAL PROCEEDED TO THE FLOOR EVEN WHILE I TAPPED AND PRESSED PUMPING MY BRAKES. I RECALL AN INITIAL ODD FEELING UNDERFOOT PRIOR TO THE CLIMBING ACCELERATION. I FELT THE PEDAL PULL AWAY DIRECTLY AFTER I FELT A VIBRATION UNDERFOOT. I WAS NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL NOR WAS IT ENGAGED . THE ENGINE WAS CYCLING LOUDLY AND THE RPM GAUGE WAS CLIMBING IN THE RED, I HAD NO CAR MAT IN PLACE BECAUSE I SPILLED A PROTEIN SHAKE A WEEK EARLIER AND IT STILL SMELLED. I STILL CHECKED VISUALLY TO SEE IF SOMETHING SOMEHOW WAS OBSTRUCTING THE PEDAL. I HAD MY HANDS ON THE TOP OF THE WHEEL PER USUAL COMFORT SPOTS. I WAS LIKE, WAIT...WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING?? I HAD TO PRESS AS HARD AS I COULD ON THE BRAKES WHILE PULLING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE UP SLOWLY TO BRING THE OPEN THROTTLED CAR TO A STOP. I NOTICED JUST BEFORE TURNING OFF THE CAR A RED LIGHTNING BOLT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. MY NEW CAR WAS 4 WEEKS NEW TO OUR FAMILY. I AM AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER WHO OWNED JEEPS BEFORE IN 1989. THE GAS PEDAL WAS SO TIGHTLY PRESSED INTO THE FLOOR I COULD NOT GET THE TIP OF MY SHOE UNDER TO PULL IT UP. I WAS TAKEN FOR A DEATH RIDE FOR 10 MINUTES. THE CAR SMELLED LIKE BURNING MOTOR! IF THERE WAS TRAFFIC THIS DAY I CANNOT THINK OF THE REPERCUSSIONS .

Date Complaint Filed: 07/03/2015

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1196276

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DRIVING ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY AROUND 2PM. I HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR A SOLID HOUR ON THE SAME HIGHWAY WHEN MY JEEP SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE GAS PEDAL PROCEEDED TO THE FLOOR EVEN WHILE I TAPPED AND PRESSED PUMPING MY BRAKES. I RECALL AN INITIAL ODD FEELING UNDERFOOT PRIOR TO THE CLIMBING ACCELERATION. I FELT THE PEDAL PULL AWAY DIRECTLY AFTER I FELT A VIBRATION UNDERFOOT. I WAS NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL NOR WAS IT ENGAGED . THE ENGINE WAS CYCLING LOUDLY AND THE RPM GAUGE WAS CLIMBING IN THE RED, I HAD NO CAR MAT IN PLACE BECAUSE I SPILLED A PROTEIN SHAKE A WEEK EARLIER AND IT STILL SMELLED. I STILL CHECKED VISUALLY TO SEE IF SOMETHING SOMEHOW WAS OBSTRUCTING THE PEDAL. I HAD MY HANDS ON THE TOP OF THE WHEEL PER USUAL COMFORT SPOTS. I WAS LIKE, WAIT...WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING?? I HAD TO PRESS AS HARD AS I COULD ON THE BRAKES WHILE PULLING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE UP SLOWLY TO BRING THE OPEN THROTTLED CAR TO A STOP. I NOTICED JUST BEFORE TURNING OFF THE CAR A RED LIGHTNING BOLT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD. MY NEW CAR WAS 4 WEEKS NEW TO OUR FAMILY. I AM AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER WHO OWNED JEEPS BEFORE IN 1989. THE GAS PEDAL WAS SO TIGHTLY PRESSED INTO THE FLOOR I COULD NOT GET THE TIP OF MY SHOE UNDER TO PULL IT UP. I WAS TAKEN FOR A DEATH RIDE FOR 10 MINUTES. THE CAR SMELLED LIKE BURNING MOTOR! IF THERE WAS TRAFFIC THIS DAY I CANNOT THINK OF THE REPERCUSSIONS .

Date Complaint Filed: 07/09/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 06/29/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1197944

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFGXFL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

6-SPEED MANUAL: WHILE STOPPED AT LIGHTS, CROSSING INTERSECTIONS, AND NORMAL DRIVING ON ROADS, DAY/NIGHT AND WARM/COLD, ENGINE STOPS FOR 2-10 SECONDS. IT HAS STOPPED WHEN PASSING OTHER VEHICLES REQUIRING FULL BREAK APPLICATION TO AVOID ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IN INTERSECTIONS AND WHEN THE CLUTCH WAS PUSHED IN TO HELP COAST THROUGH INTERSECTION, THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING TO HELP TURN THE WHEELS! THE DEALERSHIPS INSIST THAT THERE IS NO PROBLEM AND ENGINE COULD NOT CUT OUT WHILE DRIVING? THIS ENGINE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 30-40 TIMES.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/09/2015

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 06/29/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1197945

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWFGXFL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

6-SPEED MANUAL: WHILE STOPPED AT LIGHTS, CROSSING INTERSECTIONS, AND NORMAL DRIVING ON ROADS, DAY/NIGHT AND WARM/COLD, ENGINE STOPS FOR 2-10 SECONDS. IT HAS STOPPED WHEN PASSING OTHER VEHICLES REQUIRING FULL BREAK APPLICATION TO AVOID ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IN INTERSECTIONS AND WHEN THE CLUTCH WAS PUSHED IN TO HELP COAST THROUGH INTERSECTION, THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING TO HELP TURN THE WHEELS! THE DEALERSHIPS INSIST THAT THERE IS NO PROBLEM AND ENGINE COULD NOT CUT OUT WHILE DRIVING? THIS ENGINE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 30-40 TIMES.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/28/2015

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1203525

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I WAS DRIVING MY JEEP ON MY PROPERTY AND HAD STOPPED FOR A MOMENT. NEXT THING I KNOW IT WAS ON FIRE AND IT SPREAD SO QUICKLY I HAD NO CHOICE BUT LEAVE THE VEHICLE AND CALL THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. I WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO GET OUT.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/30/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1205040

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG0FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT THE JEEP APRIL 4, 2015. ON JULY 19, 2015 I PARKED MY CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY AND 3 HOURS LATER AT 5:30 MY DOG WORK ME UP AND I LOOK OUTSIDE AND THE WHOLE FRONT END OF THE JEEP WAS IN FLAMES. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE FIRE OUT BUT IT WAS A TOTAL LOSS.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/30/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1205041

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG0FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT THE JEEP APRIL 4, 2015. ON JULY 19, 2015 I PARKED MY CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY AND 3 HOURS LATER AT 5:30 MY DOG WORK ME UP AND I LOOK OUTSIDE AND THE WHOLE FRONT END OF THE JEEP WAS IN FLAMES. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE FIRE OUT BUT IT WAS A TOTAL LOSS.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/30/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1205042

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG0FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I BOUGHT THE JEEP APRIL 4, 2015. ON JULY 19, 2015 I PARKED MY CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY AND 3 HOURS LATER AT 5:30 MY DOG WORK ME UP AND I LOOK OUTSIDE AND THE WHOLE FRONT END OF THE JEEP WAS IN FLAMES. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE FIRE OUT BUT IT WAS A TOTAL LOSS.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/13/2015

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1209576

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG6FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BETWEEN THE DATES OF 3/20 AND 8/1 MY 2015 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED (4DR, 4X4) HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING INTERMITTENT CEL P0340 WHILE PULLING A GRADE. WHEN THE CEL OCCUR THE VEHICLE LOSES SIGNIFICANT POWER AND IS UNABLE TO MAINTAIN SPEED. THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM LIGHTS COME ON INDICATING AN ERROR. DURING THIS TIME THE VEHICLE WILL NOT ACCELERATE TO A SAFE SPEED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEMS ARE NOT FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WILL RETURN TO NORMAL OPERATION AFTER TURNING THE KEY TO OFF THEN BACK ON. IF THIS IS DONE WHILE MOVING INTERMITTENTLY THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM WILL ENGAGE AND THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START BACK UP. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR WARRANTY REPAIR 5 TIMES WITH THIS ISSUE. EACH TIME THE PROBLEM IS SAID TO BE RESOLVED, BUT OCCURS ALMOST IMMEDIATELY.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/13/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 08/01/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1209578

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFG6FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BETWEEN THE DATES OF 3/20 AND 8/1 MY 2015 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED (4DR, 4X4) HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING INTERMITTENT CEL P0340 WHILE PULLING A GRADE. WHEN THE CEL OCCUR THE VEHICLE LOSES SIGNIFICANT POWER AND IS UNABLE TO MAINTAIN SPEED. THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM LIGHTS COME ON INDICATING AN ERROR. DURING THIS TIME THE VEHICLE WILL NOT ACCELERATE TO A SAFE SPEED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEMS ARE NOT FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WILL RETURN TO NORMAL OPERATION AFTER TURNING THE KEY TO OFF THEN BACK ON. IF THIS IS DONE WHILE MOVING INTERMITTENTLY THE CAR'S SECURITY SYSTEM WILL ENGAGE AND THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START BACK UP. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR WARRANTY REPAIR 5 TIMES WITH THIS ISSUE. EACH TIME THE PROBLEM IS SAID TO BE RESOLVED, BUT OCCURS ALMOST IMMEDIATELY.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/24/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 06/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1212838

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWBG2FL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER OR AFTER WASHING THE VEHICLE, WATER LEAKED INTO THE VEHICLE AND SOAKED THE CARPET. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 581.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/18/2015

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 09/17/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1220832

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAGXFL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

ABOUT 30 MINUTES AFTER MIDNIGHT ON A THURSDAY MORNING I WAS AWOKE BY THE SOUND OF MY DOG BARKING AND MY SISTER WALKING INTO MY ROOM TELLING ME THERE WAS A LARGE GLOW IN THE DRIVEWAY. AFTER WALKING OUTSIDE, WE FOUND MY BRAND NEW 2015 WRANGLER ON FIRE WITH VERY LARGE FLAMES ERUPTING FROM THE HOOD. WE QUICKLY WOKE THE REST OF MY FAMILY AND RUSHED FRANTICALLY TO PUT IT OUT. AN HOUR LATER, AFTER NEARBY NEIGHBORS ARRIVED TO HELP, AND EMERGENCY SERVICES ARRIVED TO PUT OUT THE FIRE (LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE) THE VEHICLE FIRE WAS DOUSED AND THE JEEP WAS HAULED OFF MY PROPERTY TO A LOCAL TOWING YARD. THE FIRE SEEMED TO HAVE STARTED AROUND THE BATTERY AREA, BUT THE SOURCE HAS YET TO BE DETERMINED. THE FIRE CLAIMED THE ENTIRE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, MOST OF THE DRIVERS DASH BOARD AND DRIVERS INTERIOR, AND THE ENTIRE FRONT LEFT TIRE/TRIM.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/23/2015

Component(s): SEATS

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1222276

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG5FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I DID GET INTO A MINOR ACCIDENT WHILE DRIVING ONTO A ON RAMP AND MY VEHICLE SKIDDED THE GUARD RAIL. I EXITED THE VEHICLE TO CHECK FOR DAMAGE AND SAW A FLAME NEAR THE HOOD OF THE CAR AND IMMEDIATELY EXITED. THE GAS TANK WAS NEVER HIT NOR DID I HAVE A MAJOR DIRECT COLLISION IN THE ACCIDENT HOWEVER WITHIN SECONDS THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND MY PERSONAL CONTENTS INSIDE MELTED INTO NOTHING. I LOVED JEEPS BUT THE INCIDENT HAS PERSUADED ME TO AVOID PURCHASING THEM FOR THE NEAR FUTURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/23/2015

Component(s): WHEELS

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1222277

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG5FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I DID GET INTO A MINOR ACCIDENT WHILE DRIVING ONTO A ON RAMP AND MY VEHICLE SKIDDED THE GUARD RAIL. I EXITED THE VEHICLE TO CHECK FOR DAMAGE AND SAW A FLAME NEAR THE HOOD OF THE CAR AND IMMEDIATELY EXITED. THE GAS TANK WAS NEVER HIT NOR DID I HAVE A MAJOR DIRECT COLLISION IN THE ACCIDENT HOWEVER WITHIN SECONDS THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND MY PERSONAL CONTENTS INSIDE MELTED INTO NOTHING. I LOVED JEEPS BUT THE INCIDENT HAS PERSUADED ME TO AVOID PURCHASING THEM FOR THE NEAR FUTURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/23/2015

Component(s): STRUCTURE:BODY

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 07/25/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1222278

Squish VIN: 1C4BJWDG5FL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

I DID GET INTO A MINOR ACCIDENT WHILE DRIVING ONTO A ON RAMP AND MY VEHICLE SKIDDED THE GUARD RAIL. I EXITED THE VEHICLE TO CHECK FOR DAMAGE AND SAW A FLAME NEAR THE HOOD OF THE CAR AND IMMEDIATELY EXITED. THE GAS TANK WAS NEVER HIT NOR DID I HAVE A MAJOR DIRECT COLLISION IN THE ACCIDENT HOWEVER WITHIN SECONDS THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES AND WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE ENTIRE VEHICLE AND MY PERSONAL CONTENTS INSIDE MELTED INTO NOTHING. I LOVED JEEPS BUT THE INCIDENT HAS PERSUADED ME TO AVOID PURCHASING THEM FOR THE NEAR FUTURE.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/08/2015

Component(s): UNKNOWN OR OTHER

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1227425

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAG1DL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ENGINE PROBLEMS: STARTING SUMMER 2015 ENGINE SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING, ACCELERATING, SLOWING DOWN, STOPPED ENGINE WILL NOT GO BACK INTO GEAR ENGINE LOSES POWER WHEN ACCELERATING OR CRUISING BROUGHT INTO DEALERSHIP (PURCHASE LOCATION) APPROXIMATELY AUGUST 19TH 2015 RELEASED SEPTEMBER 2ND 2015 PROBLEMS PERSISTED BROUGHT INTO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP APPROXIMATELY SEPTEMBER 14TH 2015 RELEASED APPROXIMATELY SEPTEMBER 26TH PROBLEMS PERSISTED BROUGHT INTO DEALERSHIP SEPTEMBER 30TH 2015 STILL IN CUSTODY AS OF OCTOBER 8TH ON SEPTEMBER 29TH, I WAS TAKING AN ON RAMP FOR AN INTERSTATE. THE RAMP IS AN UPHILL, HAIR PIN TURN THAT THEN TURNS INTO AN OFF-RAMP FOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED AN ISSUE ACCELERATING AND MERGING INTO THE INTERSTATE TRAFFIC HERE. HOWEVER, THIS AFTERNOON I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE ACCELERATION THAT I EXPECTED. WHEN I RAN OUT OF RAMP ROOM, I WOULD HAVE NEEDED TO SLOW DOWN SIGNIFICANTLY IN ORDER TO ALLOW THE SIDE BY SIDE TRACTOR TRAILERS TO GO BY. HOWEVER, BECAUSE OF OTHER CARS THAT WERE BEHIND ME ON THE ON-RAMP, THAT WAS NOT AN OPTION WITHOUT POSSIBLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. SO I MERGED WITH AS MUCH POWER AS I COULD GET, WHICH WAS NOT ENOUGH. THE CLOSEST TRACTOR TRAILING CAME BARRELING DOWN UPON ME QUICKLY WITH HORN BLARING. ON SEPTEMBER 30TH, JUST A COUPLE MILES AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP, I WAS THE FIRST IN LINE AT A RED LIGHT. THE JEEP SHUT OFF. I COULD NOT GET IT BACK INTO GEAR. IT JUST REMAINED IN NEUTRAL NO MATTER WHICH GEAR I TRIED TO PUT IT IN. I SHIFTED IN AND OUT OF PARK AND OTHER GEARS TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON MANY TIMES. A FEW TIMES DRIVE WOULD ENGAGE BUT THEN THE ENGINE WOULD SHUT OFF AGAIN AFTER A FEW FEET. I FINALLY GOT IT INTO GEAR AND ACCELERATED QUICKLY HOPING TO COVER A GREATER DISTANCE AND IT WORKED. I WAS ABLE TO FINISH MY TRIP TO THE DEALERSHIP.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/23/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 10/19/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1232218

Squish VIN: 1C4HJWFGXFL

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

I TURNED THE KEY TO START MY VEHICLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED, NO LIGHTS ON THE DASH, NO 'DING', NOTHING. DEALERSHIP MECHANICS AND TECHNICIANS WORKED FOR TWO DAYS TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND FINALLY DISCOVERED THAT IT WAS A FAULTY TIPM.

Date Complaint Filed: 11/11/2015

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

Date Of Incident: 10/09/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1237740

Squish VIN: 1C4AJWAGXFL

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2015 JEEP WRANGLER ONLY HAD 10,000 MILES CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED TOTAL LOSS JUST PULLED INTO DRIVEWAY AT RESIDENCE

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode