Home / Complaints ( Toyota Tacoma 2011 )

TOYOTA TACOMA 2011

Tacoma

Since its introduction greater than a decade ago, the Toyota Tacoma is a mainstay from the compact-pickup segment. Typical advantages to a different or used Tacoma include a number of body styles to select from, helpful off-road capabilities, solid quality along with a better-than-average status for reliability and sturdiness.


Date Complaint Filed: 02/15/2011

Component(s): SUSPENSION

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 01/20/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 844225

Squish VIN: 5TFJU4GN8BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

MY 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA 7188 IS VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE IN WINDY CONDITIONS. AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS (70MPH) IT LOOSES DIRECTIONAL STABILITY DURING WINDY CONDITIONS. MY 2006 TACOMA 7114 WAS SOLID AS A ROCK IN ANY CONDITIONS. I FEEL THAT THE HEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE CAUSES WIND TO RAISE THE VEHICLE EVER SO SLIGHT CAUSING A VERY DANGEROUS DRIVABILITY SITUATION. SADLY I HAVE SPOKEN TO OTHER OWNERS AND THEY EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEMS. THIS IS MY 12TH TOYOTA OF WHICH 6 HAVE BEEN TACOMAS. IT IS MY VERY WORST NIGHTMARE TO DRIVE. I FEAR MY ONLY OPTION IS TO FILE A FORMAL REPORT TO THE NTSB AS THIS A DESIGN FLAW AND CANNOT BE CORRECTED AT ANY DEALERSHIP. [XXX] NOTE THERE IS NO SELECTION FOR A 2011 TACOMA IN THE VEHICLE DESCRIPTION SO I SELECTED A 2010 AS THEY ARE VIRTUALLY THE SAME. PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/14/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 853639

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 TOYOTA TACOMA - BRAKES ARE VERY INCONSISTENT. ONE TIME THEY WORK JUST AS INTENDED AND THE NEXT TIME YOU DEPRESS THE PEDAL, YOU FEEL PRESSURE TRYING TO PUSH THE PEDAL BACK TO YOU AND THE BRAKING IS ENHANCED TO THE POINT THAT YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE GOING TO HIT THE STEERING WHEEL. TOYOTA SAYS THAT IS THE NATURE OF THE BRAKES. IF THIS IS THE CASE TOYOTA HAS A REAL PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 06/21/2011

Component(s): SEAT BELTS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/13/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 864804

Squish VIN: 5TFTU4GN3BX

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 2

Number Of Deaths: 2

Summary:

TL*THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, A VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE RIGHT REAR OF THEM. THE FRONT AND REAR PASSENGER SEAT BELTS FAILED TO RESTRAIN. THE FRONT PASSENGER STRUCK THEIR HEAD ON THE DASHBOARD AND THE REAR PASSENGER STRUCK THEIR HEAD ON THE FRONT PASSENGERS SEAT. THEY WERE BOTH INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND A CLAIM WAS FILED. THE SEAT BELTS WERE FURTHER EXAMINED BY A TOYOTA ENGINEER WHO ADVISED THAT THE SEAT BELT OPERATED AS DESIGNED. THE SEAT BELTS WERE NOT REPLACED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 386 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,800. UPDATED 8/29/11 *CN UPDATED 09/21/11

Date Complaint Filed: 06/22/2011

Component(s): TIRES

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/22/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 865135

Squish VIN: 5TFKU4HN5BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA EQUIPPED WITH DUNLOP GRAND TREK TIRES, SIZE P265/65/R17, DOT C8ER2610. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED THE CONTACT NOTICED THE TIRE TREAD HAD SPLIT ON THE OUTER EDGE OF THE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIANS STATED THE TIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH THE SPARE TIRE AND A REPLACEMENT TIRE WAS ORDERED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000. UPDATED 07/27/11*LJ UPDATED 08/01/11

Date Complaint Filed: 08/04/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/07/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 873540

Squish VIN: 3TMJU4GNXBM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A FAILURE WITH THE WARPED GLAZED ROTORS AND DRUMS AT A VERY LOW MILEAGE, CAUSING DIFFICULTY IN STOPPING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER MADE FOUR ATTEMPTS TO CORRECT THE FAILURE BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, BUT WOULD NOT ACKNOWLEDGE A PROBLEM WITH THE ROTORS AND DRUMS. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE FAILURE TO BE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND A SAFETY HAZARD. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT HE EXPERIENCED AN IDENTICAL FAILURE WITH THE TRADED 2010 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,300 AND THE CURRENT WAS UNKNOWN.

Date Complaint Filed: 08/30/2011

Component(s): POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 878578

Squish VIN: 5TFNX4CN2BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE BEGAN SHAKING ABNORMALLY WHILE DOWNSHIFTING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT THE SHAKING WAS NORMAL FOR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT AGREE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/07/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 02/07/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 879843

Squish VIN: 5TFJU4GN2BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD INTERMITTENTLY STALL AFTER ACCELERATING FROM STOPS. AFTER STALLING, THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART ON ITS OWN AND RESUME AS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS A KNOWN ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2011

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 886019

Squish VIN: 3TMLU4EN1BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON 10/1/2011 WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT, SLIGHT CURVE, PU BEEP IN DASH AS IT WENT INTO ONCOMING LANE TO LEFT QUICK, I HIT BRAKES "CLUNK" TOOK BOTH HANDS TO PULL TO RIGHT AND OFF THE ROAD. FELT LIKE POWER STEERING WENT OR LOST A WHEEL. WOULD OF HIT SOMEONE HEAD ON IF WAS MEETING A CAR OR TRUCK. NO CELL SERVICE, SO DECIDED TO SLOWLY TURN AROUND, AND TRY TO GET HOME==1 MI. OR LESS. PARKED. CALLED DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TOWED, BUT IF THEY FIND NOTHING I HAVE TO PAY. I DROVE UP TUES., THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG. PROBABLY LEVELING--BECAUSE I PUT A 3" LIFT ON IT. I NOW AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY NEW PU. 2,600 MI. THEY SAID THEY PUT ON MACHINE, BUT NO PRINT OUT AS IT SHOWED NOTHING WRONG????? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2011

Component(s): STEERING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 886020

Squish VIN: 3TMLU4EN1BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON 10/1/2011 WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT, SLIGHT CURVE, PU BEEP IN DASH AS IT WENT INTO ONCOMING LANE TO LEFT QUICK, I HIT BRAKES "CLUNK" TOOK BOTH HANDS TO PULL TO RIGHT AND OFF THE ROAD. FELT LIKE POWER STEERING WENT OR LOST A WHEEL. WOULD OF HIT SOMEONE HEAD ON IF WAS MEETING A CAR OR TRUCK. NO CELL SERVICE, SO DECIDED TO SLOWLY TURN AROUND, AND TRY TO GET HOME==1 MI. OR LESS. PARKED. CALLED DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TOWED, BUT IF THEY FIND NOTHING I HAVE TO PAY. I DROVE UP TUES., THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG. PROBABLY LEVELING--BECAUSE I PUT A 3" LIFT ON IT. I NOW AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY NEW PU. 2,600 MI. THEY SAID THEY PUT ON MACHINE, BUT NO PRINT OUT AS IT SHOWED NOTHING WRONG????? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 10/09/2011

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 886021

Squish VIN: 3TMLU4EN1BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

ON 10/1/2011 WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT, SLIGHT CURVE, PU BEEP IN DASH AS IT WENT INTO ONCOMING LANE TO LEFT QUICK, I HIT BRAKES "CLUNK" TOOK BOTH HANDS TO PULL TO RIGHT AND OFF THE ROAD. FELT LIKE POWER STEERING WENT OR LOST A WHEEL. WOULD OF HIT SOMEONE HEAD ON IF WAS MEETING A CAR OR TRUCK. NO CELL SERVICE, SO DECIDED TO SLOWLY TURN AROUND, AND TRY TO GET HOME==1 MI. OR LESS. PARKED. CALLED DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TOWED, BUT IF THEY FIND NOTHING I HAVE TO PAY. I DROVE UP TUES., THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG. PROBABLY LEVELING--BECAUSE I PUT A 3" LIFT ON IT. I NOW AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY NEW PU. 2,600 MI. THEY SAID THEY PUT ON MACHINE, BUT NO PRINT OUT AS IT SHOWED NOTHING WRONG????? *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/01/2011

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/01/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 894750

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 TOYOTA TACOMA TRUCK. CONSUMER STATES PROBLEM WITH FACTORY INSTALLED RUNNING BOARDS *TGW THE CONSUMER STATED THE RUNNING BOARDS WERE TOO CLOSE TO THE BODY ALLOWING ONLY A SMALL PORTION OF ONES HEEL TO CONTACT THE BOARD WHEN EXITING THE TRUCK. IF THE BOARDS WERE WET, ONE COULD EASILY SLIP WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE. ALSO, IF THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON AN UNEVEN SURFACE, IT WOULD BE DIFFICULT FOR SOMEONE TO GET THEIR FOOT ON THE BOARD WHEN ENTERING FROM A SLOPING GRADE. *JB

Date Complaint Filed: 12/13/2011

Component(s): VISIBILITY

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 12/13/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 896685

Squish VIN: 3TMMU4FN0BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

THE LOCATION OF THE CENTER REAR VIEW MIRROR ON THE 2011 (AND MAYBE PREVIOUS MODELS) OF TOYOTA TACOMA COMES IN THE WAY OF THE FRONT VIEW. THIS IS ESPECIALLY TRUE WHEN YOU ARE ABOUT TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE LOW HANGING REAR VIEW MIRROR COMPLETELY BLOCKS THE VIEW AND IT IS REALLY HARD TO SEE THE PEDESTRIANS CROSSING THE STREET, CAUSING A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD. THE LOW REAR VIEW MIRROR ALSO BECOMES PROBLEMATIC, IF THE ROAD GOES DOWN AND THEN UP ON A RIGHT TURN CURVE, AS IT BECOMES IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE THE ROAD AHEAD DUE TO THE LOCATION OF THE MIRROR. FOR ANYONE WHO IS TALLER THAN 5'10", THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE, AS DISCUSSED ON SEVERAL ONLINE FORUMS. I AM HAVING TO CONSTANTLY DUCK UNDER THE MIRROR TO SEE THE ROAD, AND I FEEL THAT THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/14/2011

Component(s): ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 12/07/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 896905

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNED A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY APPROXIMATELY 6-8 FEET FROM THE RESIDENCE WITH THE ENGINE TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE AND QUICKLY SPREAD TO THE RESIDENCE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND THE FIRE WAS EVENTUALLY EXTINGUISHED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT DETERMINED THAT THE FIRE ORIGINATED FROM THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED AND AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE OWNER OF THE RESIDENCE WAS KILLED AS A RESULT OF THE FIRE. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VIN WAS ALSO UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 01/04/12 *BF COMAPLAINT WAS SENT IN BY CONCERNED CITIZEN. UPDATED 01/12/12

Date Complaint Filed: 03/01/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/02/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 909357

Squish VIN: 5TFTX4CNXBX

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. TIME WAS 6:55 AM. I WAS ON WORK PROPERTY HAVING JUST TURNED LEFT FROM A LIGHT. I WAS 5 TH CAR IN LINE TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN. ALL CARS WERE STOPPED. MY FOOT WAS LIGHTLY PRESSING BREAK. THE NEXT THING I KNOW, MY TRUCK WAS RAMMING THE SUV IN FRONT OF ME. NO WAY MY FOOT COULD HAVE TOUCHED GAS PEDAL...IT WAS A TRAFFIC JAM. IT'S LIKE THIS EVERY MORNING. I CONTACTED TOYOTA RIGHT AWAY. THEY DENIED IT, BUT SENT OUT AN ENG TO GET BLACK BOX DATA. I NEVER HEARD FROM THEM AGAIN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/01/2012

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/02/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 909358

Squish VIN: 5TFTX4CNXBX

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. TIME WAS 6:55 AM. I WAS ON WORK PROPERTY HAVING JUST TURNED LEFT FROM A LIGHT. I WAS 5 TH CAR IN LINE TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN. ALL CARS WERE STOPPED. MY FOOT WAS LIGHTLY PRESSING BREAK. THE NEXT THING I KNOW, MY TRUCK WAS RAMMING THE SUV IN FRONT OF ME. NO WAY MY FOOT COULD HAVE TOUCHED GAS PEDAL...IT WAS A TRAFFIC JAM. IT'S LIKE THIS EVERY MORNING. I CONTACTED TOYOTA RIGHT AWAY. THEY DENIED IT, BUT SENT OUT AN ENG TO GET BLACK BOX DATA. I NEVER HEARD FROM THEM AGAIN. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 04/17/2012

Component(s): POWER TRAIN

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/30/2011

NHTSA ID Number: 916453

Squish VIN: 3TMLU4EN1BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

INTERMITTENT PROBLEM. WHEN COMING TO A STOP, A HARSH BUMP/LUNGE IS FELT IN THE TRANSMISSION. AT TIMES TO THE POINT WHERE I FEEL AS THOUGH, I HAVE BEEN BUMPED FROM A VEHICLE FROM BEHIND. IF THE BRAKE IS NOT FIRMLY PRESSED, THE VEHICLE WILL MOVE FORWARD. HAVE BEEN TOLD THIS IS NORMAL AND OK. HAVE BEEN TOLD A TSB EXISTS FOR THE PROBLEM. HAVE HAD THE ECU MEMORY CLEARED TO TRY TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. *JS

Date Complaint Filed: 04/24/2012

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/24/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 917359

Squish VIN: 5TFJX4GN8BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WHEN THERE WAS A RAPID INCREASE IN ACCELERATION AND ENGINE RPMS. THE MALFUNCTION OCCURRED UNEXPECTEDLY WHEN THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS IN ACTIVATION. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP ONCE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED AND THEN RESUMED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 07/25/2012

Component(s): AIR BAGS

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/14/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 931751

Squish VIN: 5TFUX4EN7BX

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A DEER. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVABLE AFTER THE CRASH HOWEVER, THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A CONTUSION TO LEFT ELBOW AND A BROKEN LEFT WRIST. THERE WERE NO PASSENGERS IN VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED FOR THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

Date Complaint Filed: 06/18/2012

Component(s): STRUCTURE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 06/01/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 925201

Squish VIN: 3TMJU4GN5BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THERE IS A HIGH PITCHED WHINING NOISE FROM THE WINDSHIELD STARTING AT 72 MPH. THERE MUST BE A CROSS WIND. THE NOISE IS AT A PITCH SO HIGH THAT VEHICLE OPERATION IS DIFFICULT, AND AT BEST HIGHLY DISTRACTING TO SAFE OPERATION OF THE VEHICLE. VEHICLE SPEED MUST BE REDUCED TO A SPEED THAT IS BELOW THE FLOW OF NORMAL TRAFFIC FLOW.

Date Complaint Filed: 10/19/2012

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 10/19/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 946850

Squish VIN: 5TFJX4GN8BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS MELTING, MAY CAUSE POSSIBLE FIRE TO VEHICLE. SEVERAL TOYOTA TACOMA TRUCK OWNER'S AT WORKPLACE HAVE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR DRL. TOYOTA DEALER STATING UNAWARE OF PROBLEMS AND THEY NEVER HEARD OF ANY ISSUES REGARDING THE DRL MELTING. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/16/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 01/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 959634

Squish VIN: 3TMMU4FN9BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND SECURITY SYSTEM IN VEHICLE. . *SMD THE CONSUMER STATED ONE DAY AS SHE WAS LEAVING WORK, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. IT SEEMED AS THOUGH THE VEHICLE DIDN'T RECOGNIZE THE KEY AND SHE WAS UNSUCCESSFUL AT JUMP STARTING IT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THE PROBLEM WAS DETERMINED TO BE WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM, WHICH HAD BEEN INSTALLED AND HAD NOT BEEN REMOVED COMPLETELY. SHE ALSO STATED THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WAS NOT SHIFTING CORRECTLY, PARTICULARLY WHEN SHIFTING UP HILLS, IT REQUIRED HER TO FORCEFUL APPLY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TO GET THE VEHICLE TO GO APPROPRIATELY. AGAIN, SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THE COMPUTER STATED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. THE PROBLEM SEEMED TO BE GETTING WORSE, WHEN IN EARLY DECEMBER THE CONSUMER WAS IN ROUTE OVER A DOUBLE LANE ROAD OVER A MOUNTAIN, WHEN THE TRUCK SUDDENLY FELT AS THOUGH IT HAD SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR, THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE DRIVE TRAIN AND THERE WAS A GRINDING SENSATION FROM THE GAS PEDAL. THE CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, THEN DRIVE AND PROCEEDED AGAIN. A SIMILAR EVENT OCCURRED AS SHE MADE HER WAY BACK OVER THE MOUNTAIN AT THE END OF THE DAY. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AGAIN AND IT DID NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, BUT IT ALSO MADE A VERY FAST CLICKING SOUND. THE CONSUMER WENT BACK TO THE DEALER, ONLY TO BE TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. THE MECHANIC DECIDED TO TEST DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND NOTED THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE SLUGGISH IN THE AUTOMATIC DRIVE POSITION, BUT SEEMED TO FUNCTION MORE RESPONSIVELY IN THE 4TH POSITION.

Date Complaint Filed: 01/25/2013

Component(s): ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 01/24/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 961089

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES, WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 20 AND 40 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT, SLIGHT CURVE, A BEEP IN DASH, SHAKING IN RIGHT FRONT WHEEL, AS IT PULLED INTO ONCOMING LANE TO THE LEFT, I HIT BRAKES "CLUNK" IT TOOK BOTH HANDS TO PULL BACK INTO MY LANE. POWER WAS LOWERED, FELT LIKE POWER STEERING WENT OR LOST A WHEEL. AFTER OUT OF CURVE EVERYTHING FINE. WOULD HAVE HIT SOMEONE HEAD ON IF A CAR HAD BEEN IN THE OTHER LANE. CALLED DEALERSHIP, THEY STATED IT WAS NORMAL. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON AND OFF ABOUT 10 OR 12 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 41000 AND STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/25/2013

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 01/24/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 961090

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES, WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 20 AND 40 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT, SLIGHT CURVE, A BEEP IN DASH, SHAKING IN RIGHT FRONT WHEEL, AS IT PULLED INTO ONCOMING LANE TO THE LEFT, I HIT BRAKES "CLUNK" IT TOOK BOTH HANDS TO PULL BACK INTO MY LANE. POWER WAS LOWERED, FELT LIKE POWER STEERING WENT OR LOST A WHEEL. AFTER OUT OF CURVE EVERYTHING FINE. WOULD HAVE HIT SOMEONE HEAD ON IF A CAR HAD BEEN IN THE OTHER LANE. CALLED DEALERSHIP, THEY STATED IT WAS NORMAL. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON AND OFF ABOUT 10 OR 12 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 41000 AND STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/12/2013

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 03/04/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 969197

Squish VIN: 5TFPX4EN3BX

Crash: No

Fire: Yes

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, HE COULD SMELL A BURNING ODOR COMING FROM UNDER THE DASHBOARD AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SHOULDER AND SUDDENLY BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED, WHO ARRIVED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE ORIGIN OF THE FIRE WAS UNKNOWN. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,500.

Date Complaint Filed: 04/15/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:ACCELERATOR PEDAL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 04/01/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 975150

Squish VIN: 5TFTX4CN2BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

LETTER FROM SENATOR MARTIN HEINRICH RE CONSTITUENT REGARDING SAFETY OF HIS 2011 TOYOTA TACOMA (REPLY TO NEW MEXICO OFFICE). *SMD THE CONSUMER STATED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS EXTREMELY SENSITIVE, AND AT THE SLIGHTEST TOUCH THE VEHICLE WOULD PROCEED WITH FULL SPEED. THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP, INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE CORRECTED.

Date Complaint Filed: 05/27/2013

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 07/03/2012

NHTSA ID Number: 982960

Squish VIN: 3TMJU4GNXBM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE VEHICLE'S ENGINE MAKES A STRONG GURGLING SOUND, LOSES POWER AND RUNS SLUGGISH AT TIMES. TOYOTA CLAIMS THAT THE VEHICLE IS RUNNING THE WAY IT WAS DESIGNED. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT FIXED, BUT THEY CLAIM THAT THE COMPUTER IS UNABLE TO FIND ANY DEFECTS, THEREFORE THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE REQUESTED A TOYOTA ENGINEER TO INSPECT MY VEHICLE BUT IT HAS BEEN TWO YEARS LATER, AND I STILL HAVEN'T HEARD FROM TOYOTA. THEY ALSO CLAIM THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ALREADY INSPECTED BY A SPECIALIST (ENGINEER), BUT IT'S A LIE, I HAVE ZERO DOCUMENTATION STATING SO. PLEASE HELP ME. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/29/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 09/23/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1013988

Squish VIN: 3TMMU4FN7BM

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

HAVE NOTICED THIS ISSUE EVER SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE NEW, BUT IT WAS MOST OBVIOUS ON THE FIRST LONG MOUNTAINOUS ROAD TRIP THIS WEEK: WITH CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED WHEN BEGINNING UP STEEP INCLINES, THE CRUISE CONTROL GUNS THE ENGINE, PUSHING THE VEHICLE TO SPEEDS NEARLY 5MPH OVER THE CRUISE CONTROL SET SPEED. WAS TRAVELING INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS, SO BY "STEEP" I MEAN NOTHING MORE THAN INTERSTATE STANDARDS. IT IS AN UNEXPECTED INCREASE IN SPEED AND DANGEROUS TO THE POINT THAT I EVENTUALLY STARTED DISENGAGING CRUISE CONTROL GOING UP INCLINES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/08/2014

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 12/18/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1032203

Squish VIN: -

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

NOTED DURING WASH THAT THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS HAVE A QUARTER SIZE MELTED SPOT DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE BULB AND ONE LENS HAS CRACKED APPARENTLY FROM HEAT AND THE NEAR PROXIMITY OF THE BULB TO LENS. POTENTIAL MAY EXIST WHERE THIS COULD CAUSE A FIRE. IT APPEARS THAT NO RECALL IS BEING PROCESSED TO ADDRESS THIS MANUFACTURER ISSUE AND MANY PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM FORM THE 2008/9 YEAR THROUGH 2011. TOYOTA MAY HAVE CORRECTED THE ISSUE IN 2012/13 YEAR TIME FRAME YET THEY STILL HAVE MANY VEHICLES OPERATING WITH THE THREATENING PROBLEM WHICH COULD IMPACT LIVES. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/10/2014

Component(s): EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 01/08/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1032525

Squish VIN: 5TFJU4GN8BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

TOOK VEHICLE IN TO DEALER FOR OTHER WORK. WAS TOLD BY SERVICE ADVISOR THAT TECHNICIAN FOUND MY HEADLIGHTS TO BE MELTING. SERVICE ADVISOR SHOWED ME PROBLEM AND SAID IT WAS DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHTS. THEY WERE CRACKED AND BURNED AS WAS THE ASSEMBLY. I WAS QUOTED A PRICE OF $1300 TO REPLACE THEM. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE NEW AND HAVE HAD IT FOR 2 1/2 YEARS. THIS IS A HAZARD AND A DANGER AND THEY SHOULD BE REPLACED BY TOYOTA AT THEIR COST. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 01/21/2014

Component(s): SERVICE BRAKES

Manufacturer: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Date Of Incident: 11/26/2010

NHTSA ID Number: 1034627

Squish VIN: 5TFTX4GN5BX

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

BRAKE PEDAL BEGAN TO NEVER BE FIRM AND PEDAL GIVES WAY UNDER FOOT WHILE STOPPED. THE POSITION OF ENGAGEMENT OF BRAKES IS NOT CONSISTENT EITHER. HAVE BEEN TO DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND CONTACTED TOYOTA CORP AS WELL. I AM TOLD IT IS NORMAL AND NOT TO BE CONCERNED WITH ITS SAFETY. EVEN THOUGH THEY TELL ME THE COMPUTER IS NOT COMMUNICATING CORRECTLY. BRAKES CONTINUALLY SQUEAL AND STAMMER EVEN AFTER RECENTLY REPLACING THE ROTORS. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode