Home / Complaints ( VOLVO XC60 2014 )

VOLVO XC60 2014

XC60

Crossover Sports utility vehicles, because of their mixture of utility and carlike handling, have grown to be the mainstream option for many motorists. The Volvo XC60 may be the Swedish manufacturer's latest entry. Seating five, the XC60 competes within the growing small luxury crossover segment.


Date Complaint Filed: 09/17/2013

Component(s): EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/27/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1011457

Squish VIN: YV4952DL5E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING SIGNAL IS EXTREMELY SOFT AND LARGELY UNDETECTABLE WITH BACKGROUND ROAD NOISES. THIS PRESENTS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE DRIVER IS NOT ALERTED TO INADVERTENT LANE CHANGES AS HE/SHE SHOULD BE. I CAME PRETTY CLOSE TO HAVING AN ACCIDENT SINCE I HAD EXPECTED THE ALERT AND IT DID NOT OCCUR AT A VOLUME LEVEL THAT I COULD HEAR. (I HAD A 2010 VOLVO XC60 WITH THIS SAME FEATURE BUT THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING WAS MUCH LOUDER). THE VOLVO DEALER CONFIRMS THAT THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING IS NOT USER NOR DEALER ADJUSTABLE; IT WILL REQUIRE A SOFTWARE UPGRADE BY VOLVO. I HAVE INFORMED VOLVO CUSTOMER SERVICE OF THIS ISSUE. THEY SAY THEY ARE AWARE, BUT COULD NOT PROVIDE ANY DATE FOR THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE TO FIX THIS IMPORTANT ISSUE. SOME URGENCY NEEDS TO BE PROVIDED IN FIXING THIS AS IT IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/13/2014

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/05/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1046598

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ7E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING MY 2014 VOLVO XC60, I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT AND STARTED TO FEEL A VIBRATION IN THE CAR. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR AND A WARNING CAME UP THAT I NEEDED TO EITHER SLOW DOWN OR DOWN SHIFT. I BEGAN TO MOVE TO THE RIGHT LANE AND THEN MY CAR STOPPED. AFTER RECEIVING A TOW TO THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A SOFTWARE PROBLEM THAT CAUSED MY CAR TO NOT DISPLAY AN ACCURATE AMOUNT OF FUEL AND I WAS OUT OF GAS. THEY UPGRADED MY SOFTWARE AND IT FIXED THE PROBLEM, BUT IT WAS NOT A MANDATORY UPGRADE AND WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF IT UNTIL THE PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 03/13/2014

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 03/05/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1046599

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ7E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING MY 2014 VOLVO XC60, I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT AND STARTED TO FEEL A VIBRATION IN THE CAR. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR AND A WARNING CAME UP THAT I NEEDED TO EITHER SLOW DOWN OR DOWN SHIFT. I BEGAN TO MOVE TO THE RIGHT LANE AND THEN MY CAR STOPPED. AFTER RECEIVING A TOW TO THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A SOFTWARE PROBLEM THAT CAUSED MY CAR TO NOT DISPLAY AN ACCURATE AMOUNT OF FUEL AND I WAS OUT OF GAS. THEY UPGRADED MY SOFTWARE AND IT FIXED THE PROBLEM, BUT IT WAS NOT A MANDATORY UPGRADE AND WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF IT UNTIL THE PROBLEM. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 05/27/2014

Component(s): FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 05/24/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1070095

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ7E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

WHILE DRIVING MY 2014 VOLVO XC60. I COULD FEEL THE CAR STOPPING. LUCKILY I WAS ON A LOCAL ROAD AND WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE VOLVO HAD RUN OUT OF GAS, BUT THE FUEL GAUGE WAS SHOWING THAT MY TANK WAS MORE THAN HALF WAY FULL. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT I HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE CAR, AND THIS IS MY SECOND REPORT. THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER FROM MY PREVIOUS COMPLAINT WAS 10569092. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/22/2014

Component(s): ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1090010

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ9E2

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

I AM COMPLAINING ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION RECENTLY EXPERIENCED WHILE PARKING MY CAR IN A PARKING LOT AND THE MANUFACTURING CANNOT TELL ME IF AND WHEN ANY RECALLS WERE UPDATED ON MY CAR PRIOR TO PURCHASE. THE CAR STARTED ACCELERATING AFTER I REMOVED MY FOOT FROM ACCELERATOR AND STARTED TO BREAK INTO A STOP SO I COULD PARK THE CAR IN THE PARKING LOT. BECAUSE THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD IN FULL THROTTLE IT CAUSED ME TO CRASH INTO THE BRICK BUILDING. THE HIGH VROOM NOISE STARTED AS SOON AS I TURNED INTO THE PARKING SPOT AND STARTED TO BREAK. THE AUTOMATIC BREAKING SYSTEM NEVER ENGAGED WHICH IN THIS MODEL SHOULD HAVE PREVENTED THE CRASH. THE BREAKS WERE OF NO USE SINCE THE HIGH SPEED IN LESS THAN 4 FEET OF THE PARKING SPOT AND WALL. THE CAR IS NEW WITH ONLY ABOUT 1200-1300 MILES AND I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT WAS MY FAULT WHEN I KNOW IT WAS ELECTRONIC FAILURE CONTROLLING THE ACCELERATION. THE DAY BEFORE IN A PARK POSITION ON A SUNNY DAY THE WIPERS WENT ON AUTOMATICALLY AND I HAD TROUBLE MAKING THEM STOP. WEDNESDAY AND THURSDAY PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT THE SIDE MIRRORS KEPT AUTOMATICALLY ON THEIR OWN MOVE TO A DOWNWARD POSITION MAKING IT DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AND I HAD TO MANUALLY OVERRIDE IT SEVERAL TIMES TO BE IN THE RIGHT POSITION. EVEN WHEN I ADJUSTED THE SIDE MIRRORS THEY WOULD MOVE DOWNWARD WHILE I DROVE FORCING ME TO READJUST THE MIRRORS. IN ADDITION MY FRONT SEAT WOULD GET REPROGRAMMED WHEN I EXITED THE CAR AT LEAST EVERY OTHER TIME I WOULD EXIT. I WAS PLANNING ON TAKING THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER THE HOLIDAY WEEKEND BUT THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED THAT WEEKEND. PLEASE INVESTIGATE SINCE THE PRIOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS COULD BE INDICATORS TO FUTURE PROBLEMS THOUGH THE PROBLEMS WERE INTERMITTENT - WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON WHEN NOT INTENDED, SIDE MIRRORS MOVING WHEN NOT INTENDED AND MY FRONT SEAT REPROGRAMMING WHEN NOT INTENDED. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/06/2014

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 06/25/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1107405

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ1E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

JUNE 25 NEW CAR, MILEAGE 6844. ENGINE OIL LIGHT ON. DOWN 1.5 QT. OIL DEALER LOOKS FOR LEAKS FINDS NONE PERFORMS OIL CHANGE. SCHEDULES VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTICS. CAR SERVICED JULY 7 UNTIL JULY 14 MILEAGE 7313 TWO PAGES OF PARTS REPLACED. SEPTEMBER 3 CAR RETURNED TO DEALER ENGINE OIL LIGHT ON AGAIN MILEAGE BETWEEN TWO PAGE REPAIR AND 3 RD REPAIR LESS THAN 2000 MILES. VEHICLE IN AT 9384 . SUGGESTED REPAIR BY VOLVO NEW ENGINE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 09/15/2014

Component(s): FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/20/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1110418

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ9E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

MY WIFE WAS OPERATING A VERY BRAND NEW 2014 XC - OWNED FOR 6 WEEKS - WHEN DRIVING IT ON A HIGHWAY IT BEGAN TO FRIGHTENINGLY SLOW DOWN AND SPUTTER. SHE WAS ABLE TO GET IT OFF THE HIGHWAY, AND IT TURNED OUT THE CAR HAD RUN OUT OF GAS. HOWEVER: THE COMPUTER FUEL GAUGE STILL SHOWED ALMOST HALF A TANK REMAINING. THIS WAS OBVIOUSLY A SCARY INCIDENT. THE CAR WAS THEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR, REPLACING THE GAUGE DID NOT WORK, AND THEN THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE GAS TANK IN ITS ENTIRETY TO REPAIR THE ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 12/21/2015

Component(s): ENGINE

Manufacturer: Volvo Car USA LLC

Date Of Incident: 09/22/2015

NHTSA ID Number: 1247434

Squish VIN: YV4940DL2E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: -

Number Of Deaths: -

Summary:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 VOLVO XC60. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING WHILE THE GEAR WAS SHIFTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPGRADE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,219.

Date Complaint Filed: 09/17/2013

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 08/27/2013

NHTSA ID Number: 1011458

Squish VIN: YV4952DL5E2

Crash: No

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 0

Number Of Deaths: 0

Summary:

THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING SIGNAL IS EXTREMELY SOFT AND LARGELY UNDETECTABLE WITH BACKGROUND ROAD NOISES. THIS PRESENTS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE DRIVER IS NOT ALERTED TO INADVERTENT LANE CHANGES AS HE/SHE SHOULD BE. I CAME PRETTY CLOSE TO HAVING AN ACCIDENT SINCE I HAD EXPECTED THE ALERT AND IT DID NOT OCCUR AT A VOLUME LEVEL THAT I COULD HEAR. (I HAD A 2010 VOLVO XC60 WITH THIS SAME FEATURE BUT THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING WAS MUCH LOUDER). THE VOLVO DEALER CONFIRMS THAT THE VOLUME LEVEL OF THE LANE CHANGE WARNING IS NOT USER NOR DEALER ADJUSTABLE; IT WILL REQUIRE A SOFTWARE UPGRADE BY VOLVO. I HAVE INFORMED VOLVO CUSTOMER SERVICE OF THIS ISSUE. THEY SAY THEY ARE AWARE, BUT COULD NOT PROVIDE ANY DATE FOR THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE TO FIX THIS IMPORTANT ISSUE. SOME URGENCY NEEDS TO BE PROVIDED IN FIXING THIS AS IT IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. *TR

Date Complaint Filed: 07/22/2014

Component(s): VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

Manufacturer: Volvo Cars of N.A., LLC

Date Of Incident: 07/06/2014

NHTSA ID Number: 1090011

Squish VIN: YV4902DZ9E2

Crash: Yes

Fire: No

Number Of Injuries: 1

Number Of Deaths: 1

Summary:

I AM COMPLAINING ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION RECENTLY EXPERIENCED WHILE PARKING MY CAR IN A PARKING LOT AND THE MANUFACTURING CANNOT TELL ME IF AND WHEN ANY RECALLS WERE UPDATED ON MY CAR PRIOR TO PURCHASE. THE CAR STARTED ACCELERATING AFTER I REMOVED MY FOOT FROM ACCELERATOR AND STARTED TO BREAK INTO A STOP SO I COULD PARK THE CAR IN THE PARKING LOT. BECAUSE THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD IN FULL THROTTLE IT CAUSED ME TO CRASH INTO THE BRICK BUILDING. THE HIGH VROOM NOISE STARTED AS SOON AS I TURNED INTO THE PARKING SPOT AND STARTED TO BREAK. THE AUTOMATIC BREAKING SYSTEM NEVER ENGAGED WHICH IN THIS MODEL SHOULD HAVE PREVENTED THE CRASH. THE BREAKS WERE OF NO USE SINCE THE HIGH SPEED IN LESS THAN 4 FEET OF THE PARKING SPOT AND WALL. THE CAR IS NEW WITH ONLY ABOUT 1200-1300 MILES AND I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT WAS MY FAULT WHEN I KNOW IT WAS ELECTRONIC FAILURE CONTROLLING THE ACCELERATION. THE DAY BEFORE IN A PARK POSITION ON A SUNNY DAY THE WIPERS WENT ON AUTOMATICALLY AND I HAD TROUBLE MAKING THEM STOP. WEDNESDAY AND THURSDAY PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT THE SIDE MIRRORS KEPT AUTOMATICALLY ON THEIR OWN MOVE TO A DOWNWARD POSITION MAKING IT DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AND I HAD TO MANUALLY OVERRIDE IT SEVERAL TIMES TO BE IN THE RIGHT POSITION. EVEN WHEN I ADJUSTED THE SIDE MIRRORS THEY WOULD MOVE DOWNWARD WHILE I DROVE FORCING ME TO READJUST THE MIRRORS. IN ADDITION MY FRONT SEAT WOULD GET REPROGRAMMED WHEN I EXITED THE CAR AT LEAST EVERY OTHER TIME I WOULD EXIT. I WAS PLANNING ON TAKING THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER THE HOLIDAY WEEKEND BUT THE ACCIDENT HAPPENED THAT WEEKEND. PLEASE INVESTIGATE SINCE THE PRIOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS COULD BE INDICATORS TO FUTURE PROBLEMS THOUGH THE PROBLEMS WERE INTERMITTENT - WINDSHIELD WIPERS ON WHEN NOT INTENDED, SIDE MIRRORS MOVING WHEN NOT INTENDED AND MY FRONT SEAT REPROGRAMMING WHEN NOT INTENDED. *TR

Get A Free VIN Check
  • Vehicle History
  • Salvage Title Information
  • Flood Damage
  • Car Specification
  • VIN Decode